Choosing Life Insurance, Advice Please!!!

mtsen
post Jul 21 2009, 01:06 PM

1,473 posts

yes agent should service client
insured should also learn to survive without agents

can anyone help ? I am looking for H&S coverage for
38 yo male
37 yo female
9 yo female
4 yo female
1 yo female

right now, I only have this at hand ...

annual limit 150k
lifetime limit 10x
no Co-insurance
got card
room rate $300

38 yo male $751.20
37 yo female $1,102.80

I don't even know who the underwriter is ...

updated : I am quite sure above is from Allianz now.

This post has been edited by mtsen: Jul 22 2009, 12:26 PM
mtsen
post Jul 22 2009, 12:23 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(c.o.o.l @ Jul 21 2009, 01:26 PM)
Looks like your current medical card quite enough for you already. Are you looking for an additional top up ? e.g. outpatient benefits?
If you wish to know more about Prudential product, feel free to PM me your contact.
oh no, these are my NEW needs. I got quotes from Prudential. The price is almost double. And I am guessing what I can get back is ease of understanding ie. they have the least rules or limits, as if they will try their best to pay 'all' claims.

QUOTE(garagesell @ Jul 21 2009, 05:54 PM)
very headache with insurance stfuff
medical or H&S is the most headache, OMG ...

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 21 2009, 07:09 PM)
mtsen,

didnt know you are looking too wink.gif

i think before anyone can offer anything we should know what you expect from the package, how long you want to get insurance, what are your special requirements and last but not least how much do you want / can you spend on the premium. not just today but when you are 70 or 80 or 90 even.
I wasn't but after reading all your posts, now I am topping up too smile.gif
I may just want to cover myself up to 55 or 60.

QUOTE(3536837 @ Jul 22 2009, 01:59 AM)
for me , all the insurance company is the same....

the most important 1 is choose for the "Reliable" agent

thats all...
QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 22 2009, 08:57 AM)
hmmm,

i always try to eliminate the agent and reduce my premium through direct insurance. the savings are massive and claiming is not terribly complicated. also some of the extras offered are really attractive smile.gif i find agents tend to sell you too much insurance, wrong insurance which is more profitable to them, are biased to the companies they represent and in general can give little actual advice. at least i have yet to meet an agent that gives impartial advice.
i usually 'try' to eliminate agent too, but I may need to give exception in medical plans, I don't know yet ... still analyzing ...

QUOTE(Vitorbarbosa @ Jul 22 2009, 11:12 AM)
Yeah, too many agents out there who don't even know what they are selling. They only know a few products of their company, and pushing products instead of getting to know the prospects needs.
like wise, more buyers do not know what they are buying smile.gif

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 22 2009, 11:45 AM)
Vitorbarbosa,

- personally i believe the comission is way to high. a recurring comission of 15% of my premium or more is just disproportionate to the work done. a comission of 10% might be acceptable if you have a good agent but more? my share my car insurance comission, health insurance comission and i enjoy full agent discounts on houseowner, householder, PA (25%! - mind you),
I have been paying 40% commissions to agents in my traditional policies half of my life, todays' 15% - 25% seems like a good rate or good trend to me smile.gif if the agent does nothing, then its too high. but if the agent pamper me well, its ok to pay smile.gif
mtsen
post Jul 22 2009, 09:58 PM

1,473 posts

agent commissions not entirely a bad thing geh ... without the comm, only the mother company becomes filty rich and when they become rich enough, they pay themselves big bonus despite company collapse like AIG now.

As for commissions system, at least some of our friends may get some shares. You know quite a lot of my x-school mates who didn't make it to higher education, at least they didn't join the gang and get killed, instead they work very hard running around like mad dogs and today they are very much settled down lor ...

ya eventually everything online and direct to consumer, but I also suggest at least we should have 'online' agent who cut smaller commission, less work to do mah. By then, we pay for intellectual services and not the running around part, then whole society improve lor ...

vote me lah to become finance minister, everyone can eat ... ha ha

I didn't dig deep to PruMed sorry, other lower quotes draw my attention away *sorry* but I also think that by some tuning using an ILP, I may receive better quotes. I think I was asking for stand alone and then ended up with a quote with a build in 50k term life etc. Or I was just browsing some brochures to get those quotes myself ... I will share that here once I find that again ...

Added on July 22, 2009, 10:02 pm
QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 22 2009, 05:49 PM)
it's just a matter of time. in europe allianz opened allianz24 just like many others. no agents, direct internet - and guess what: premiums are around 30% below the regular rate. and this is the same for most other insurers too. i look forward to this beeing just an agent for one company is not good enough. i guess there will only be a future for impartial insurance advisers. at least i would love to pay one to do all the comparison work me. at my hourly rate i am investing several annual premiums into the research alone *sigh* i rather pay someone else a few hundred bucks or so to do it for me on a regular basis.
wei wei, serious or not, my comparison is growing lor ... may be you let me know what your priorities are then while I am doing mine, I keep another copy for you .. then you look at it, if you like it, u pay me lor. if not like it then at least I know where I can improve smile.gif

Added on July 22, 2009, 10:53 pmhave found where I got the Pru rates, its from this link

http://www2.prudential.com.my/corporate/li...es/pmm5_eng.pdf

I choose the cheapest one, which is "Annual Premium Rates for Traditional Policies"

Hope this is useful for Pru Experts, and in terms help me back smile.gif ie. to choose a package fast. else tomorrow I kena hospitalize and didn't die, then die lor .... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mtsen: Jul 22 2009, 10:53 PM
mtsen
post Jul 25 2009, 12:31 AM

1,473 posts

my personal theory of old age medical plan is, keep a minimum plan coz by then

1. rich n famous - up to u, do whatever u want
2. poor - GH

at old age, chances to hospitalize and die is high, so may as well load up CI and life.

But this part is personal, everyone make their own decision on how they view their lives or want their lives to be.

0.0139sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:48 PM