Guitars LYN Classical and Acoustic Guitars Thread, Kapok, Kayu, Wood everything here !
Mar 21 2007, 11:21 AM
155 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
wow , this interest me, i always want to be a unplug player. im playing classical here, is there anyway i can join? i try to post here since u say anyone can join
Apr 6 2007, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 28 2007, 08:31 PM) as starter, my budget is around 400.yamaha really has cheap classical guitars lol.n i prefer nylon strings...possible whole set 400 you can get a C70. if you like maple maybe u can look around in lelong.com.my, some guys selling vietnamese guitar there with cheap price but how the quality i dont know. lots of ppl dont recomend it. to mention my liking..i would want a beige or maple colour like surface..what wood is that? 400 cant get much of choice, spain made guitars are $$$ . Yamaha classical sound projection is good if u play without pickup. Added on April 11, 2007, 1:25 pmany wise guys can give me review on Yamaha CG 201S ? or recomendations ? Added on April 28, 2007, 5:01 pmcan anyone give advise on this 2 classical guitar? manuel Rodriguez and yamaha 201S both cost around 2K . which is better. or what is the sound preference ? This post has been edited by michly: Apr 28 2007, 05:01 PM |
May 1 2007, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(ReeveX.com @ May 1 2007, 12:48 PM) here to bring back some old topics....hehe... Thanks finally someone answer me. yep the 201 doesnt give the spanish sound but why not worth for MR ? because of its built quality ? online lots of ppl comment about the built quality . Alhambra is $$$ man .. 2K i think i only can get the cheapest model. . how much is a Jose ramirez? if its really good.for those two guitars....yup...i've tried them both b4....thou yamaha 201s is a full solid but somehow it just dont give a very spanish type classical tone....same as manuel rodriguez.....infact....2k for MR guitars are not worth it... If u spending 2k on classical guitar...i would like to recommend other brands like alhambra....madrigal....or admira....anytime better than yamaha 201s or the 2k manuel rodriguez If ur willing to spend more....go for Jose ramirez,Esteve....haha |
May 2 2007, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ May 2 2007, 05:29 PM) ic ic but if you going for the spanish tone might as well get a flamenco guitar? wahhh.. 12K MR. i tot MR also made in spain ? ya my teacher also say if happen or relative to go spain get one. but i think thats not possible in near time.and has anyone tried bringing in a guitar from spain? i knew a teacher who had his classical guitar from spain. . . cost less than 4k and sounds better than his 12k MR. . . lolz. . . |
May 3 2007, 01:35 PM
never know that guitar is customized. normally ppl buy flamenco and normal classical separately. even gypsy king using separate guitar in their fast and slow song.
whats the air ticket price to spain now ??? hahahahhahaa. and kapok never exitst in spain. lol. back to topic.. is mahogany can get a good price for classical ? i heard the guitars there is quite expensive. |
May 4 2007, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(ReeveX.com @ May 3 2007, 11:30 PM) the word "good price" doesn't exist in mahogany.....guitar collection and the guitar store would be a better choice....if ur budget is around 2k....juz try out the guitar i recommend in the early post.... yeaa, im using C70 now. just changed to Daddario 46 hard tension string. man i cant believe its only a 400 bucks guitar. the sound is so much diff after the change. no point go to spain n buy la....when u calculate back the travel n lodging expenses....the price would be juz the same or maybe more than here....if kena tax from custom u haf to pay another 10%-15% so....juz get a decent guitar will fo....2k guitar consider very nice liao.....more importantly is practice ur playing lo....like my guitar teacher....he is the runner up for classical guitar competetition back in 10 or 20yrs.....he now using yamaha c-70 only which cost less 400 bucks.... thanks for ur advice between 2K a entry level spanish or a highest end yamah 201S. |
May 5 2007, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(ReeveX.com @ May 5 2007, 12:48 AM) hey man.....pls dont post ur sales here....u can put it in the garage sales thread n link it to here.... ok dude. ill pay a visit there as for the guitar u'r looking for....u can go for martin's OM,Taylor GC or GS,Maton BG808, if u'r willing to spend 4k n above.... lower range would be Taylor Big Baby,Seagull S6 folk for abt 1.7k if u want custom made guitar can go for Freeman guitars....the luthier is my teacher...so if interested can let me know lo.... Added on May 5, 2007, 1:02 am 201s is juz the highest end among all the yamaha factory made guitars...y spend 2k on a factory made guitar,thou it's a full solid wood guitar but still the sound is nothing impressing.... so.muz well u spend 2k on a hand-made spanish guitar...thou with laminated back&sides but the sound can beat 201s anytime...for 2k can get a guitar together with a hard case lo.... i've tried 201s....the guitar looks very nice indeed but the sound is juz fair...actually guitar collection at ttdi got alot of good choices...i kinda know the boss there....very helpful....he maybe can to give u a 10-15% discount.... |
Jun 25 2007, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(jdreamer @ Jun 22 2007, 10:18 PM) I'm planning to get myself a new classical guitar. Budget around RM400-500 as I started to dislike my cheap RM100 guitar's sound. I prefer the sound to be something thicker and rounder. Any recommendations? I don't mind spending a little more but not more than RM600. I know that its not big money that I'm forking out but I'm just trying to get the best from that price range. 600, you dont have much choice unless you go to Woh Fatt, choose the best china made guitar , u might find your sound there . Otherwise get a Yamaha C80 , which fit ur budget. Thanks. thicker or rouder sound can easily archive with solid top guitar, but will cost u. Dont forget, the String does matter as well eg tension , brand etc. .. |
Jun 28 2007, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(ReeveX.com @ Jun 27 2007, 01:21 AM) there's alot of good strings around....d'addario,la bella,augustine,savarez....the best string tension to use is normal tension...coz high tension will make ut top buldge at the bride n will be the action higher....this case will even happen on a rm8k guitar(mostly refer to solid top guitars)....unless u modified the bracing n add reinforcement to the bridge part like i did to my alhambra 1P....now sound even better n louder...so that i can now use hard tension without much worries... hmm.. i never know that.. i ask the woh fatt boss he said hard tension is still ok but not the extra hard tension . im using savarez string .. very nice string.. daddario is nothing compare to it. Do u mean i should change to use normal tension ? the sound wont be as loud already if ur looking for a classical guitar withing ur budget....try out valencia(can get in woh fatt)...with ur budget i think can get a solid top wan edi....or go for yamaha 111C....it's abt rm700...c-80 looks nice but not worthy to buy....111C/S i think is the best for u at the moment....but give valencia a try too....the got some decent guitar within ur budget... |
Sep 27 2007, 07:54 PM
i hereby mark the end of classical music era in Malaysia. sop sop....i will still pursue classical ..
Oct 5 2007, 01:55 AM
Still not supporting the buying kapok at first guitar. Start with good instrument most probably will keep the student go on but not with lousy instrument which doesnt sounds good. In fact , most of the musician will recomend to start with a decent instrument, even the books say that.
Oct 7 2007, 03:41 AM
http://www.cuencaguitars.com/
for classical & flamenco folks. so far i know only woh fatt carry this brand. Superb guitar. this brand has been exist for very long time and quite popular in Spain. This website is newly built not long ago. |
Oct 10 2007, 05:32 AM
QUOTE(ReeveX.com @ Oct 9 2007, 02:55 PM) come on man....dun ever go for cuenca....not really nice guitars...esteve is way better than cuenca...yet reasonanle.... haha. no point argue.. we all know its all up to the player . i admit cuenca built quality is not so good but im kinda like it . sweet mellow cedar sound. im owning a 50R which around Rm2300. Do you know that its actually share the same factory for Alhambra?? hehehe.. they just brand it differently. esteve is a good guitar as well but with my budget and my requirement i chose cuenca. |
Nov 10 2007, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Nov 10 2007, 01:14 AM) Hey guys, just found this thread. Classical/flamenco guitarist reporting in. I'll be taking Yamaha grade 6 next year march. Passing that, i should be teacher level. gosh.. finally someone like you appear Currently using a Valencia Custom Limited. You don't get many of those lol heres what it looks like Valencia Custom LTD Mine is number 109 xD I plan to sell this later on and buy a better classical lol Anyone tried playing romance d'amour with tremolo? it sounds 10x better than the original. A real spanish feel to it lol. Btw, Kapok suck, period. Never consider buying them as your first guitar. NEVER!!!! You want a cheap and decent one, yamaha offers those. I think about RM200 or so you can get a cheap, decent guitar. If you don't think its worth the money, then don't learn it. I always say, Music is not a cheap thing, it takes money, time and effort to master. Heck, there are even RM50k guitars. Conde Hermanos for example. Ive even tried it, and its NOTHING like any of your guitars. Totally on a different level man. Imagine, RM50k can even buy kancil, thats how much this classical guitar is worth @_@ yea kapok sux.. im having a Cuenca cost around 4K and yeaaa.. still nothing compare to a 50k guitar. |
Nov 15 2007, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Nov 15 2007, 01:03 AM) Reeve.X: hehehe true true... i guess we can start with small group of people first. i can join also Ryuuga: hmm, whoose place can we jam in? or do u know of any public places where we can rent an empty room to practice? some music schools offers this as far as i know. |
Nov 16 2007, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Nov 16 2007, 09:02 PM) haha ryuuga then u look for a spot in subang la.. just see roughly where lo.. how many pieces per-person? gotta start practicing lo.. lol... Guys like run out of topic already leh . i tot we gonna jam classical one ??? hahahaha.. Cap ayam nvm . i got an extra yamaha classical to borrow. im sure everyone here sure got extra cheap guitar. and ya, Romanza is not easy to play perfectly . im learning the tremolo for Romanza and blardy hard. so bila mau jam ??? anyone got Etude in full ?? .. anyway play some duet or any song , modern also can as long as we can all play together... thats why i said need a good composer to combine us all and obviously im not the one. Added on November 16, 2007, 9:41 pmand one more thing , im not youngster also leh .. next year 28 liau loh ... working like a freaking dog in IBM now. i bet some of us here also working adult. This post has been edited by michly: Nov 16 2007, 09:41 PM |
Nov 17 2007, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(ReeveX.com @ Nov 17 2007, 09:42 AM) I'll let u know something....of coz in order to play good u muz enjoy the music...but when u meet up ppl with professional view they will mostly pin point technical parts n some how i felt that they r neglecting the music itself...so still back to the beginning lo...as long u enjoy playing it...it's good music... I strongly agree.. by the way . where is 3C ?? haha.. can meet up somewhere in the middle ? like SS2 or something coz im staying at Kepong. Simple duet will be good.. or everyone play Romanza together.. also very stunning. Added on November 17, 2007, 10:59 am QUOTE(chyap99 @ Nov 16 2007, 11:12 PM) jam for classical song? so beginning level also can join ah? Try out both for yourselve.. see which tone u like Added on November 16, 2007, 11:36 pm my friend own a esteve, i think around RM4k the time.. so if compare 4k esteve vs 4k cuenca which better? beside around 3k can get which model for cuence? 70R? any good recommand within this range, now saving money hope can get a nice guitar in future. This post has been edited by michly: Nov 17 2007, 10:59 AM |
Nov 19 2007, 08:14 AM
yeaa.. they still over priced.
Nov 20 2007, 04:44 PM
Nov 21 2007, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Nov 20 2007, 07:09 PM) you can search classical or any piece of english songs there.. that page contains GTP files and others file format. your classtab is all in TAB lehh pal. i dont know how to read tab and never learn in my class before. hehe. |
| Change to: | 0.0383sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:36 PM |