Guitars LYN Classical and Acoustic Guitars Thread, Kapok, Kayu, Wood everything here !

lchee
post May 20 2006, 12:46 AM

511 posts

Anyone here owns a Norman guitar B18? It's supposedly canadian hand made guitar with solid cedar top and 3 layer laminated cherry-mahogany-cherry side and back. Thinking of getting this guitar with the pick up version. The Guitar Shop is retailing it at RM1690. Should got discount for it qua. Any comments?
lchee
post Jun 7 2006, 09:23 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(bumz @ May 21 2006, 12:29 PM)
I tried other norman models as well, b20 and even the st68, but i still like my b18. Maybe becos I've been playing it for a year, and it's starting to season..

I am heading down to Guitar Shop this weekend to try out the Norman Guitar. Right now only B18 fits my budget of around RM1500, the rest are too expensive. I might wanna try the B18 with built in pickup. Thanks for the info. Any particular branch i should visit? The cheras one or the one near One Utama?
lchee
post Jun 8 2006, 09:25 AM

511 posts

I tried most of the ibanez at bentley. They are not that nice to me. The pickup on ibanez is not that good either. That's my humble opinion.
lchee
post Jun 10 2006, 02:30 AM

511 posts

I have just bought the Norman B18 with pickup at The Guitar Store Damansara branch. The store manager Steven was very helpful and sincere. It was a nice purchase experience at that store. Highly recommended to go there. I got the deal with guitar + case for RM1700. Plus some freebies that Steven is generous enough to offer me.

I tried the Norman B20 too. It really sounded solid. The tune is different from B18. Though I liked B20 more, but for the price difference, B18 is a much more better buy. Plus, the tune for B18 is nice too. Really satisifed with my purchase.
lchee
post Jun 12 2006, 11:09 AM

511 posts

Would post a few pics of it up once I got a camera. Haha. I'm loving the guitar more and more now.
lchee
post Jun 13 2006, 11:34 AM

511 posts

mine is B18 with pickup tobacco sunburst finish. B20 without pickup is 1590, with pickup is 2190. But I'm sure can bargain with the shop. If u purchase more stuff better offer and got free gifts.
lchee
post Jun 14 2006, 11:23 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 13 2006, 03:58 PM)
I've tried those guitars at the Guitar Store in Damansara Perdana. I do agree with you that the owner there is very friendly and help. They almost convinced me to get a Maton guitar which cost about RM3.5k but I settled for a 2nd hand Taylor guitar instead. Cheaper and the sustain is nicer.
They got second hand taylor there? How much did you get urs for and what model is it?

How is garrison guitar? I never tried, but it's made in USA rite? I thought the price of Garrison is usually over 3K. How could you get one so cheap? I agree that the neck of B18 is the weakest point of the guitar. The neck could be better with other choice of wood.
lchee
post Jun 15 2006, 10:32 AM

511 posts

IC, a canadian brand but made in china guitar. But never underestimate china made guitar. I've tried a Farida made in china which sounds super solid. very well balanced sound. and of course, it's a full solid guitar (meaning solid top, side and back). But the price is well over 2k. Just for your information, B18 is only a solid cedar top, but laminated 3 layer cherry-mahogany-cherry side and back.
lchee
post Jun 15 2006, 12:55 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(bumz @ Jun 15 2006, 12:18 PM)
Wow! B18 naik harga oledy? I bought mine last year for RM900 + RM200++ for the EPP case from guitar store cheras. It was a burgundy model.
Not naik harga lah. Your B18 is acoustic, mine is electro-acoustic. It comes with pickup. So more expensive. Steven of guitar store damansara told me the pickup is FIshman Classic 4T. If buy off the shelf cost RM800, and wanna install on guitar another RM150 for labour. So he advised me to buy the B18 that comes with the pickup. Just add another RM600. I took up his advice. The pickup sounded really nice. I plugged it into my pc via the Audigy drive and the sound was clear, though not very loud due to the limitations of my PC speaker. If i upgrade my PC speakers, it would really sound almost similar to amp ady.

The case I bought is not the EPP case. Didn't like the look of it. I bought a farida black case. Those that seems more like ppl hide sniper gun inside one. haha.
lchee
post Aug 29 2006, 11:31 AM

511 posts

This is the late post of pictures of the guitar that I bought. Norman B18 acoustic tobacco sunburst finish with Fishman Classic 4T pickup.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

0.0431sec    1.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:13 PM