Rakuten Trade, A new online trading platform

Cubalagi
post Aug 6 2019, 02:19 AM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(aeonsakura @ Aug 6 2019, 01:19 AM)
can i apply for both, now i have rakuten account, but wish to open maybank acc??
what is the difference if i only want to buy reits?
Can. The only rule is that u can only have 1 direct account per broker.

N there is no difference between reits n stocks.

Cubalagi
post Aug 7 2019, 10:58 AM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(JadenFongV @ Aug 7 2019, 09:08 AM)
Guys, If my order execute and matched today, dividend ex date is tomorrow date, am i still entitle to get the dividend? Am using Rakuten platform
Yes u should get the dividends.

Cubalagi
post Aug 14 2019, 04:53 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(JadenFongV @ Aug 14 2019, 10:30 AM)
Rakuten doesn't charge us stamp duty for buying order?
Certain securities are currently exempted from stamp duty. These are mid-cap stocks, structured warrants (C and H warrants) and etfs. Ths exemption is not for Rakuten only but by all brokerages.

Maybe you are referring to this?

Cubalagi
post Sep 3 2019, 08:46 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(aeonsakura @ Sep 3 2019, 11:36 AM)
how many days until i get my bonus shares? same as entitlement date or few days later?
Usually 1-2 days after entitlement date. Double check on the ompany announcement.
Cubalagi
post Oct 23 2019, 01:37 AM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(Juan86 @ Oct 22 2019, 09:04 PM)
this platform can be trust ? the web and apps interface , looks so outdated
It's legit. Joint venture between Kenanga and Rakuten of Japan. Licensed by the SC.

Out of curiosity, which Malaysian broker website or app look advanced to you?

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Oct 23 2019, 03:35 AM
Cubalagi
post Oct 23 2019, 11:24 AM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(Dratini @ Oct 23 2019, 10:41 AM)
The plaform is legit, but yeah, I do agree the interface look lame.
Take ETORO for example, it look way better than Rakuten.
ETORO is not licensed in Malaysia, so u don't get any Malaysian investor protection laws like asset security, claims n compensation. U take that risk.

Cubalagi
post Oct 23 2019, 01:39 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(Juan86 @ Oct 23 2019, 12:06 PM)
i see maybank investment looks cooler , just personal opinion
Most Malaysian brokers uses the same 2 IT vendors for their retail broking front end. Excel force or N2N. Maybank I think uses Excelforce. I prefer the Excelforce look as well.

I think Rakuten uses their own system.

Cubalagi
post Oct 27 2019, 12:43 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(tiptop3999 @ Oct 27 2019, 10:04 AM)
Hi, all. I work outside malaysia. When i sign up the rakuten trade account, do i nned to provide pay slip ?
I didn't give my payslip. Just scanned my Malaysian bank account.

QUOTE(tiptop3999 @ Oct 27 2019, 10:12 AM)
Where to get the trading pin and the proof of bank account ?
I can't really recall about the pin, whether u get a default first, But you set it yourself.

U can call their hotline or wassap them if u have any Q. Quite fast response (not sure abt this long weekend though).

Cubalagi
post Oct 27 2019, 04:12 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(zenjiazenjia @ Oct 27 2019, 01:09 PM)
Can I trade foreign stocks like Hong Kong or US stocks from takut end trade?
Takut end.. 😆

Only Bursa Malaysia.
Cubalagi
post Nov 8 2019, 10:13 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Nov 8 2019, 07:14 PM)
Newbie with totally 0 knowledge here;

Want to know use Rakuten or the bank better?
Which Bank? N what do u mean by 0 knowlege? 0 knowledge of stock market?

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Nov 8 2019, 10:48 PM
Cubalagi
post Nov 11 2019, 01:19 AM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Nov 10 2019, 10:20 PM)
Hi. Can I trade US stock with rakutan?
Not Rakuten Malaysia.
Cubalagi
post Nov 17 2019, 01:24 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(puremage111 @ Nov 17 2019, 12:30 PM)
Errr actually for dividend ah
Do we get a cut from our dividend if we use Rakuten?
U mean dividend handling charges? No, its free.

Cubalagi
post Nov 20 2019, 07:28 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(nickocinde @ Nov 20 2019, 06:11 PM)
Hi all sifus. I am new to this platform. May I know how long it takes to credit the contra gain into my account? I hv some gains yesterday but didnt see it in account today.
I haven't traded contra in Rakuten. But I think should be by end of tomorrow, T+2.
Cubalagi
post Dec 8 2019, 07:49 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Dec 8 2019, 06:57 PM)
Hi everyone, I have a question regarding DCA and broker fees.
Lets say I got shares for companies A,B and C.

and now every month I buy shares like this:

A - RM300
B - RM400
C - RM200

so I pay rm21 broker fees per month

Is it better if i do like this:

this month buy A - RM850
next month buy B - RM900
third month buy C - RM870

Three months only pay RM21 fee

On one hand, in the long run I would be saving a lot on the broker fees. But then wouldnt the effect of DCA for each share would be lesser because I buy from each company less often (once every 3 months)?

But also, given how volatile share prices can be, DCA may not be impacted as much anyway I suppose?
I will put in RM2620 in one stock every 3 months for RM7 brokerage.

Cubalagi
post Dec 20 2019, 06:43 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Dec 20 2019, 10:40 AM)
guys, if i want to use this to purchase goldetf, need to give them a call? Will that count as offline trade and the fee will be RM30+?
Ask them to be sure, but I think it should still be considered an online trade.
Cubalagi
post Jan 1 2020, 06:28 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(Rakuten Trade @ Jan 1 2020, 04:28 PM)
Hi everyone! Just want to announce one of a few campaigns that we are running this year.

We will be collaborating with HelloGold, the world’s first Shariah-compliant mobile application that allows you to buy, save, sell and redeem in physical gold. In case you haven't heard to HelloGold before, here's a thread about them.

HelloGold Lowyat Thread

For more info of our campaign, click on the link below!

RT x HelloGold Campaign

Wishing all forumers here a Happy New Year ahead!

[attachmentid=10386044]
I rather Rakuten figure out how I can buy Goldetf without having to call and wait for two hours.
Cubalagi
post Jan 17 2020, 03:09 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(Havoc Knightmare @ Jan 17 2020, 01:10 PM)
Malacca Securities.. I was using them for years but switched to Rakuten after the FPX transfer made transferring money in hassle free. But Rakuten raising fees when everyone else has been reducing over the years has made me decide to go back to Malacca.
I guess Rakuten want to encourage more contra trading nowadays. Their contra brokerage is same as cash upfront.
Cubalagi
post Apr 1 2020, 11:57 AM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(isaac.y @ Mar 31 2020, 02:56 PM)
is Malacca Securities just the same like Rakuten Trade whereby you can register for an account online(and perform all transactions on their platform) without the hassle of physically going to a bank? Coz for other major banks, we have to appear in person at the branch in order to register for an account etc.
No, you need to met face-face. Either go to the branch or arrange an appointment for a rep to meet u somewhere.
Cubalagi
post Apr 1 2020, 11:58 AM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(TruboXL @ Apr 1 2020, 11:47 AM)
so I sold some stock... but the amount credited to trading limit and not withdrawable? hmm.gif

new here to trd...
U wait for the trade to settle, and then request for withdrawal.
Cubalagi
post Apr 12 2020, 09:51 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Apr 12 2020, 06:25 PM)
I’ve been using Rakuten Trade since the end of 2017 and I just realized today that it’s not under Bursa’s list of registered brokers (trading participants) here: https://www.bursamalaysia.com/trade/trading...ng_participants

It is said that to be 100% risk-free it’s best that your trading platform is included on the above list. In the case of an unlikely event, such as the bankruptcy of your brokerage company, at least your investment are protected (similar to how PIDM protect a bank’s customer).

I understand that Kenanga Futures Sdn Bhd is in the list but it’s an entirely different company if we look at the corporate structure of Kenanga Investment Bank Bhd: https://kenanga.com.my/who-we-are/corporate-structure/

How safe are we in a highly unlikely event (remember Lehman Brothers in 2008)?
Any thoughts on that? Thank you in advance for any valuable input!
PS: Would love to upload some images to illustrate my points but the uploading server is currently down.
Firstly u are using the wrong list. Trading Particpaints refer to Futures Trading brokers. For equities broker, find the list called Participating Organisations, this is where u will find all the IBs and other securities broker.

Having said that Rakuten is not on the PO list too as it is not a full fledged PO. Rakuten has a special license granted by the SC, and is a JV between Kenanga IB and Rakuten Japan.

How safe is ur money if this JV go bust? I think reasonably safe coz Malaysian securities laws are pretty strict when it comes to client money and shares. The same law applies to Rakuten.

Also Lehman went bust because a lot of prop trading positions. Rakuten is pure execution broker.

P/S I do have Rakuten account, but it's not my primary brokering acount.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Apr 12 2020, 09:51 PM

0.0413sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:51 PM