Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V31, Speed Upgrade Coming Slowly

ClarenceT
post May 13 2017, 12:24 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ May 13 2017, 10:58 AM)
TM seriously not fair...I dont know if they will come with better promo in the future.

They have to reduce the price if not many ppl wont subsribe to future 200Mbps - 500Mbps speed.
For premium products, pricing and affordability are not really an issue to those people. Some may feel privileged to be able to pay the premium price.
10-30Mbps is already good for normal users, ie mass market category.
ClarenceT
post Jun 19 2017, 02:30 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Jun 19 2017, 12:59 PM)
Just got a potentially good news rumor. TM will reduce broadband price to 50% next year for new & existing customers.

Well it's too soon to believe, possibly it'll be announced before general election.
Double the speed and Half the price in 2019, according to Budget 2017.
ClarenceT
post Jul 7 2017, 10:27 AM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(Hanford @ Jul 7 2017, 09:59 AM)
im using streamyx,
but TM force me to change to unifi bcz they want close all streamyx account.

problem is, my house tel underground pipe jammed, cannot install.

Force to drill a few holes to pass my house wall from outside to inside.

last yrs i call maxis n TM technician to come discussion, this is only way to install.

can i maintenance streamyx ? why the TM force ppl to use unifi ?
TM is retiring ADSL (Streamyx) at your area. You should be the last few customers still staying with old technology in your neighbourhood.
ClarenceT
post Jul 8 2017, 02:42 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jul 8 2017, 02:14 PM)
if throughout Malaysia, talk about Perak,  i think takes years years years to go
HSBB2 & SUBB projects take 10 years from 2015/6. But majority of HSBB2/SUBB areas will be upgraded by 2019. TM can offer VDSL2 (Unifi) to replace Streamyx ADSL, with existing copper networks.
ClarenceT
post Jul 8 2017, 02:55 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jul 8 2017, 02:46 PM)
there is limitation on speedĀ  if unifi run on VDSL.
If users require higher than that the limitation speed. users will face frustration
True. But beyond a distance limit (1.5km?) VDSL2 speed will be almost same as ADSL. So they can introduce a new low-speed Unifi package to replace Streamyx. Go wireless is another way to phase out ADSL.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Jul 8 2017, 02:56 PM
ClarenceT
post Jul 8 2017, 03:44 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jul 8 2017, 03:20 PM)
not really on distance, is more on the device on VDSL boots up the speed which have limitation.
besides the residence, if business unit require high bandwidth to support to run their business, VDSL cannot cope with it.
Note: copper wire a lot of  attenuation if compare with fiber
Ya I know. But I was saying FTTH/FTTP + VDSL + Wireless can retire ADSL (Streamyx).
But unfortunately, due to the cost and affordability, not all the areas can be upgraded to FTTH/FTTP (>100Mbps), For Malaysia, only at HSBB/HSBB2 urban areas. Even other developed nations (Australia, UK) are having same problem.
ClarenceT
post Jul 8 2017, 04:00 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jul 8 2017, 03:48 PM)
by the way what kind of wireless are you discuss here?
http://www.nbnco.com.au/learn-about-the-nb...-explained.html

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Jul 8 2017, 04:01 PM
ClarenceT
post Jul 8 2017, 09:07 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jul 8 2017, 08:00 PM)
TNB will handle the dark fibre.
http://www.fibrecomm.net.my/
ClarenceT
post Jul 11 2017, 07:49 AM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 11 2017, 07:39 AM)
Dude I've been using unifi since it's 5mbps, so do you think I'm loyal or not ? 5>10>20>30>50>100 which each vertical have 2 years tenure. You do the math whether it's loyal or not.
Downgrade to Unifi Lite 10. Wait for TM's new/telemarketer's offer to get upgrade at cheaper price.
ClarenceT
post Jul 18 2017, 11:56 AM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jul 18 2017, 11:24 AM)
Sorry, another case of Sarawakians getting a raw deal on broadband.

My home town, Sarikei with a population of about 65,000, still only has streamyx. My brother tried to get Unifi, tak ada. Tried to upgrade from 1 Mbps to 4 Mbps, told to wait at home while TM did their part at the TM center, only to be told they did not have any spare 4 Mbps port!

Hope someone in TM or Sarawak govt staff is reading this.  Progress is not as rosy on Unifi front as what the newspapers are reporting and govt's target to have 1 Gbps in the coming years.

My free upgrade from 30 to 50 Mbps was supposed to be in Feb, later changed to Jun and now still nothing.

Wish we have other broadband providers in my town!
Sarikei town area should be under TM's SUBB project,you should be able to get up to 20Mbps (VDSL2) by 2019.
ClarenceT
post Jul 18 2017, 11:59 AM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(stephantsen @ Jul 18 2017, 11:46 AM)
streamyx got free upgrade? i though only for unifi
you can request to upgrade to 2x speed but paying the same price, or migrate to Unifi Lite but paying more or less.
ClarenceT
post Jul 18 2017, 12:17 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Jul 18 2017, 12:14 PM)
How about 4Mbps with RM88? Can get free upgrade to 8Mbps?
You can upgrade from RM88 to RM140. But if Unifi is already or coming to your area, you will not keep the streamyx service for too long.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Jul 18 2017, 12:19 PM
ClarenceT
post Jul 18 2017, 12:49 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jul 18 2017, 12:24 PM)

You are involved in the project?

Aiyo, only up to 20 Mbps! Really feel discriminated.
https://www.tm.com.my/investorrelations/Pag...-March-2017.pdf
Please refer to Pg12.

TM (partly funded by Federal Government) can afford to provide fibre to the street cabinet (FTTC) only due to cost and return (market demand).
Though Sacofa may use State Government's fund (RM1bil) to build a better network, but I don't know if a new Internet Service Provider (other than TM) will provide alternative last mile service to mass market, maybe Sacofa itself (currently they provide service to Government and big corp only), Celcom (15% shareholding in Sacofa), just wait and see how it goes.
ClarenceT
post Jul 18 2017, 12:56 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Jul 18 2017, 12:43 PM)
Then that is not worth upgrading to RM140 for 8Mbps. My area already covered with UniFi many years back ohmy.gif
Then you will be offered to migrate to Unifi soon. TM starts to remove Streamyx service at some Unifi-ready areas.
ClarenceT
post Jul 18 2017, 02:33 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Jul 18 2017, 01:55 PM)
I occasionally receiving calls from TM telemarketer offering me UniFi Advance 30Mbps @ RM179 but I rejected cus I'm not ready for the extra commitment yet, unless there is some plan with similar pricing.
Haha then wait till PRU14 and they will offer Unifi Lite at less than RM100 to kill Streamyx 256/512/1/2/4/8.
Already mentioned in Bajet 2017.
FYI, some of my friends using 4Mbps @ RM88 willingly and already upgrade to Unifi Lite @ RM129.
ClarenceT
post Jul 18 2017, 04:36 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(ocyrus @ Jul 18 2017, 04:24 PM)
Just got my first bill for Unifi...why do I need to pay for 2 months when I've only installed it for 1 month now?
Look at your bills at occ.unifi.my
First bill - RM0 as TM didn't know when the installation would be completed, so TM didn't charge you till next bill.
Second bill - 1st month pro-rated + 2nd month in full + RM10 stamping for agreement.
Third bill - 3rd month in full...

ClarenceT
post Jul 21 2017, 02:43 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Jul 21 2017, 02:12 PM)
If it was me, i would just ask for it. They should provide the modem since u just registered. so u are entitled new set of BTU, router, STB and phone.
Lifetime warranty for BTU. There is no need for you to buy or keep the extra unit. It has no market value.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Jul 21 2017, 02:45 PM
ClarenceT
post Aug 3 2017, 02:40 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Aug 3 2017, 12:51 PM)
"Besides that, the Prime Minister also stated that within the next two years, the very package that he said would go into effect in January would have its speed doubled while having its price cut by 50%."

Meaning by next year all the foc upgrades still entitle 50% price cut ? Or not
Wait for BN's PRU14 manifesto.
ClarenceT
post Aug 5 2017, 12:33 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Aug 5 2017, 12:00 AM)
I think the following is more realistic,

50mbps ---> RM129

100mbps--->RM159

200mbps--->RM199

500mbps--> RM299

most people then will choose 50 and 100 mbps
I prefer they charge by quota (GB) instead by Mbps.
eg 50GB RM50, 100GB RM100, 200GB RM150, 500GB RM200, 1000GB RM250, unlimited RM300. Speed uncapped.
ClarenceT
post Aug 5 2017, 06:52 PM

14,913 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Aug 5 2017, 05:41 PM)
LOLz  download speed 50GB upload speed 50GB ah  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
There should be a low end or jimat package for non-active users. Active users should consume 100-500GB. Only a small percentage of users can go beyond 500GB per month.

0.0615sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:12 AM