19 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 >Bottom

Chat PROTON CAR ACCIDENT - COMPILATION REAL WORLD CRASH, Preve, Suprima, Iriz, Persona (2nd Gen)

TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 5 2017, 06:05 AM

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ May 14 2017, 10:07 PM)
Proton cars ugly as shiet
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 5 2017, 06:42 AM

QUOTE(sam60 @ Jun 5 2017, 06:20 AM)
regardless so much improvement..im still not gonna waste my money on proton. Had enough. Not even a safe car for me or for my kids.
What Proton car you were using?
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 5 2017, 07:32 AM

QUOTE(Kneel2Me @ Jun 3 2017, 08:46 AM)
Misuse of kopitiam, should have post in more serious subforum. Here we empty talked. laugh.gif
The more the merrier grin.gif
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 5 2017, 08:25 PM

QUOTE(sam60 @ Jun 5 2017, 08:20 PM)
2012 bought preve, sold it 2013. full of crap.

It's OK if your intention is merely to bash. I have dealt with plenty of these for a long time.

But this is what you said:

QUOTE(sam60 @ Jun 5 2017, 06:20 AM)
[...] Not even a safe car for me or for my kids.
Have you or any of your family member had involved in a serious accident in that "crap" PREVE before?

This post has been edited by syafiqsm: Jun 5 2017, 08:34 PM
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 5 2017, 09:07 PM

Proton Persona (2nd Gen) AND a Motorcycle

TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 5 2017, 10:46 PM

This post has been edited by syafiqsm: Jun 5 2017, 11:04 PM
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 5 2017, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(sam60 @ Jun 5 2017, 10:23 PM)
yes i did...like i said not a safe car. the quality like shit.
Show me the after-crash photos of your PREVE

You bought it in 2012, you sold in 2013. Roughly a year of ownership.

You already got into SERIOUS ACCIDENT?

Have you or any of your family members SERIOUSLY INJURED or DIED in that accident?

The data that I have shows that there was NO SERIOUS ACCIDENT happened between the year 2012-2013 involving PROTON PREVE.

I'm interested to hear your story.

This post has been edited by syafiqsm: Jun 6 2017, 02:33 AM
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 5 2017, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jun 5 2017, 11:09 PM)
he jus proton hater..dont value his life je..biar la
Oh I see. Thanks mate. thumbsup.gif
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 6 2017, 12:00 AM

TS COMMENTARY

Proton Iriz’s Side Airbags - a safety feature that may be useless to some people

SUMMARY:

A close scrutiny of Proton Iriz’s side airbags reveals its devastating flaw that could have a grave repercussion to occupants’ safety in severe side impact collision.

Today, I visited Youtube to see a couple of side impact tests produced by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS). My eyes were drawn to the unique design of side/curtain airbags, which is different from one model to another. After watching a few videos, I then remembered this side impact accident that had claimed lives of two young women in a Premium Proton Iriz.

QUOTE(syafiqsm @ May 18 2017, 09:30 PM)
Proton Iriz AND an Audi
2 deaths reported
After watching a few videos that showed Iriz's side impact crash on Youtube, I was shocked to see the flaw in the airbag’s design.

The side airbag's design is so flawed that it doesn’t properly protect the head of the occupant if the occupant has shorter height than the crash test dummy. The part of the airbag that was supposed to cushion the impact is located way too high, while the part underneath has no cushioning effect on occupants’ head. Such design renders the airbag useless to some people. You have to be tall enough to actually be properly protected with the airbag.

The average heights of Malaysians or Asians are much shorter than say the Europeans. I’m not sure the exact height of the dummy used in Iriz’s side impact crash test. But it seems to be very tall, judging by the headrest that was pulled up high.

Even if the occupants' height is as high as the dummy, they have to maintain an upright position all the time to actually benefit from the side airbags. This is even critical to women occupants which are generally shorter than men.

The human's height that will benefit from the side airbags:

The human's height that WILL NOT benefit from the side airbags:

How typical Malaysian ladies usually sit in Proton Iriz:

According to IIHS's studies, in the US, the usage of side airbags has cut fatality rate by almost 50%.

TAG: daresBoy96

This post has been edited by syafiqsm: Jun 6 2017, 07:50 PM
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 6 2017, 02:14 AM

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 6 2017, 12:53 AM)
Yes the Iriz curtain airbags could be bigger.

The seating position of the two ladies in your example is screwed up. The driver is seated too low and too far from the wheel. The front passenger is reclined too much that she'll submarine in a front collision.

I would be more concerned about children in the rear seats that are too big for child seats, but not tall enough that their head may miss the curtain airbag.
Chances are, many petite ladies who drive Iriz Premium going to miss the side airbags. Unless as a driver, she adjusted the seat to be in high position. Unfortunately, the front passenger seat is non-adjustable, so as the rear ones.

Kia Rio which is a budget B-segment car also doesn't have many cushion parts (the parts that are inflated) on its side airbags. But the good thing is, those critical cushion parts are located at the right place. Especially, for the rear passengers.

CLEARLY, the side airbag's design in Iriz has a flaw that needs rectification.

This post has been edited by syafiqsm: Jun 6 2017, 02:19 AM
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 6 2017, 08:25 PM

This post has been edited by syafiqsm: Jun 7 2017, 06:08 AM
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 6 2017, 08:38 PM

This post has been edited by syafiqsm: Jun 6 2017, 10:41 PM
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 6 2017, 08:42 PM

QUOTE(ELinawa @ Jun 3 2017, 04:26 PM)
This mimos design is not really will be implimented by proton, they just wanna show all what mimos can do only..
Real design donno what proton will do..
Just curious what power train it will use..
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 6 2017, 10:33 PM

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jun 6 2017, 08:57 PM)
Good observation ts on the iriz curtain airbags. Hopefully they rectify it soon.

Anyway my sitting position also quite far from steering wheel. If too close, it wont be confortable as i have a very quite long pair of arm. Am i in trouble?
Cars which are equipped with airbags will have these written on its manuals: "DO NOT SIT UNNECESSARILY CLOSE TO THE STEERING WHEEL".

Sitting far from the steering wheel is actually a very good practice. The further, the better. As practicality requires.

This post has been edited by syafiqsm: Jun 8 2017, 12:25 AM
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 6 2017, 11:40 PM

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Jun 3 2017, 03:43 PM)
I think TS,s job is surveyor...
grin.gif

I would like to describe my job as a legal professional by day, and a car's safety activist by night. I can be found "roaming" around the area of Putrajaya, especially in and around the Palace of Justice and the Attorney General's Chamber. I can also be found around Bangi/Kajang, where my alma mater is located.
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 6 2017, 11:55 PM

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jun 6 2017, 10:46 PM)

The last one. I often saw people put phone mount holder too close tl where the airbags will potentially deploy. I once put it near the most right hand side of the windscreen and realised it was mounted too close to the curtain airbag "hole"

Cant imagine if the airbag deploys and the holder hit the driver. Cause of death = phone holder and airbag, that wud be pointless to have many airbags if that kind of object kill us insted
You mean this hole as pointed by the red pointer here?

Oh that "hole". I just realized that the side airbags in Iriz is not "full on" or complete. That hole was there for a reason. I need to do more research on this.

Iriz's side airbags are not just VERTICALLY short, it also HORIZONTALLY short too.

This post has been edited by syafiqsm: Jun 7 2017, 01:30 AM
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 7 2017, 12:09 AM

This post has been edited by syafiqsm: Jun 7 2017, 01:04 AM
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 7 2017, 01:06 AM

QUOTE(Toyoi @ Jun 6 2017, 10:58 AM)
I prefer more on Qoros 3 SUV design...

BLIMEY!

You know. For someone who's coming from P.E.R.O.D.U.A, you do have a good taste.

This post has been edited by syafiqsm: Jun 7 2017, 02:03 AM
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 7 2017, 01:59 AM

QUOTE(-Aktan- @ Jun 3 2017, 04:05 PM)
-7 airbags
- ABD EBD VSC BA TRC
- HPF. Steel Body
- Build as a tank
- 19 inch rims
- Top Speed 270KM/h
- Euro NCAP 5 stars at 150KM Crash
Would people want this safe car? Who is going to pay for its fc, maintenance? Yup the buyers.

People would prefer a
Good basic reliable cheap maintenance and good fc car. Cap weight at 900-1000KGs. Dont build tank that sucks petrol. Safety is important, but make sure your car can sell first, Mr Proton.

Market no money to afford Proton tank already.
TSsyafiqsm
post Jun 7 2017, 02:14 AM

NEXT:

Proton Preve's Side Airbags - Does it live up to the industry's standards?

19 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 >Top

0.0471sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:39 AM