QUOTE(Subang Nuclear Reactor @ May 16 2017, 03:01 AM)
'aren't necessarily the norm', it meant it is not normal
'it isnt rare' because it is a problem due to be fixed by these car makers in a high speed crash
and, i myself is an engineer holding M.Eng from world top 100 university, and currently a PhD candidate, i believe in datas. Until proton's engineer show us the simulation or mathematical model, it's just syiok sendiri self claimed since the engine didnt hit anyone, they can get away with it
Also, it doesn't take an engineer to figure out that a flying 200kg metal block is dangerous.
https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/1862727/woman...d-horror-smash/
It should be detached, yes, but guided at an angle, below the car. It can only be easily achieved when your engine is built with a decline towards the undercarriage as shown
below is subaru's design

this is mercedes's design

another approach to detached engine is like volvo, build the engine as part of shock absorbent and just let it crumble between the firewalls
Proton is the first car maker that is proud of their running wild flying engine, when it hit someone, the CEO is going to be in deep shit
I can sense a lot of boullshits going on here. You hold Master of Engineering? Currently pursuing a doctorate degree? You can't even differentiate between a single "datum" and a plural "data". How many of your publications have appeared in Q1 journals? or at least in Q2? 'it isnt rare' because it is a problem due to be fixed by these car makers in a high speed crash
and, i myself is an engineer holding M.Eng from world top 100 university, and currently a PhD candidate, i believe in datas. Until proton's engineer show us the simulation or mathematical model, it's just syiok sendiri self claimed since the engine didnt hit anyone, they can get away with it
Also, it doesn't take an engineer to figure out that a flying 200kg metal block is dangerous.
https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/1862727/woman...d-horror-smash/
It should be detached, yes, but guided at an angle, below the car. It can only be easily achieved when your engine is built with a decline towards the undercarriage as shown
below is subaru's design

this is mercedes's design
another approach to detached engine is like volvo, build the engine as part of shock absorbent and just let it crumble between the firewalls
Proton is the first car maker that is proud of their running wild flying engine, when it hit someone, the CEO is going to be in deep shit
This article that you have cited:http://www.roadandtrack.com/car-culture/features/a4916/features-web-originals-anatomy-of-a-high-speed-car-crash/. IIHS never said such engine ejection is ABNORMAL. It was the conclusion of the article's author himself. It was not coming from IIHS. Even your comprehension is problematic. You, a PhD student?
'aren't necessarily the norm', it meant it is not normal
'it isnt rare' because it is a problem due to be fixed by these car makers in a high speed crash
Your attempt at English semantics is comical: "While engine ejections and explosions aren't necessarily the norm, they aren't as rare as most of us would guess." - As someone who has to deal with hundreds of English-written legal documents every single day as part of my job, what this line basically means is that engine ejection doesn't always occur, but it does occur anyway, albeit in small numbers. It has nothing to do with abnormality. This interpretation is consistent with existing "data". Within the context of our discussion, there were only two reported cases of engine ejection ever happened. It's not an ANOMALY that needs solution.
You have taken this discussion out of context. You choose to ignore the main thrust of my points: "ROLL-OVER" and "SPINNING" accidents.
Your answers and the direction they are going are the classic example of "if you can't convince them, then confuse them"
All of your replies never dealt with these keywords "ROLL-OVER" and "SPINNING".
All the things you were whining about were "FRONTAL COLLISION"

All of these photos referred to "FRONTAL COLLISION" - what happened in the accidents involving two Preves in which their engines ejected, was not just about FRONTAL COLLISION:
1. This Preve's engine ejected after it hit a big tree (FRONTAL COLLISION), then the car spun (SPINNING). Due to this spun, the engine was thrown to the other side of the road.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4286441&view=findpost&p=84941248
2. In this case, the Preve hit highway's divider (FRONTAL COLLISION), then the car turned upside down (ROLL-OVER) a few times. This had caused the engine to detach and it landed a few meters away.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4286441&view=findpost&p=84941284
Newest Proton cars have the same break-apart mechanism as those samples you showed here.
I have posted this video twice. Why do you keep ignoring it?
"Passive safety nombor satu, dia punya “COLLAPSIBLE ENGINE MOUNTING”
enjin dia berat, lebih daripada 200 kilo
so, kalau ada frontal collision, kalau enjin tak jatuh ke bawah, dia akan masuk dalam kabin
itu pasal kereta-kereta lama dulu, KAKI PUTUS
sekarang tak
collapsible engine mounting tu memang design terbaru, kalau tengok kereta Jerman, kereta-kereta moden semua, itu yang pertama"
enjin dia berat, lebih daripada 200 kilo
so, kalau ada frontal collision, kalau enjin tak jatuh ke bawah, dia akan masuk dalam kabin
itu pasal kereta-kereta lama dulu, KAKI PUTUS
sekarang tak
collapsible engine mounting tu memang design terbaru, kalau tengok kereta Jerman, kereta-kereta moden semua, itu yang pertama"
A question to Sifu dares, is engine ejection in serious accident "a problem due to be fixed by these car makers"?
This post has been edited by syafiqsm: May 17 2017, 11:32 PM
May 17 2017, 08:25 PM

0.0198sec