Credit Cards Credit Card v20, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

hustlerism
post Aug 9 2017, 02:37 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(chubbyqq @ Aug 9 2017, 02:34 PM)
Is it risky to have 9 credit cards on hands?

Actively I am using several cards
- Maybank 2 cards plat (weekend dining cashback)
- cimb cash back plat (online purchase)
- maybank islamic plat petronas ikhwan (8% weekend cashback for petronas)
- maybank islamic gold ikhwan (lazy upgrade to plat, same benefit, friday sat cashback)
- public bank petron gold visa (ringgitplus rm200 lazada promo, cancel soon)
- aeon gold visa (travel insuracen & PPL access)
- hsbc amanah (gobear rm300 lazada promo, cancel soon)
- standard chartered justone plat (smarttag + rm50 from ringgitplus, cancel soon)

taking out 3 cards cancelling soon, I still have 6 cards tho. Ppl always ask me why I so many cards, I blame them dono utilize the benefits that is out there.  shakehead.gif
Can we apply cc then after approved, cancel the card straightaway?
hustlerism
post Feb 28 2018, 03:58 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

What will happen if credit card expired?

Need to re-apply for same card?
hustlerism
post Feb 28 2018, 04:04 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(stargate8 @ Feb 28 2018, 04:01 PM)
usually 1 or 2 months before expiry bank will send you new card, no need to re-apply
Thanks for the quick response. icon_rolleyes.gif
hustlerism
post Mar 4 2018, 11:17 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

Is this card good?

https://www.sc.com/my/credit-cards/visa-platinum/
hustlerism
post May 9 2021, 06:50 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

Is there any caashback/point cards that I can use to pump fuel at Caltex?

I'm currently using Maybank Petronas Ikhwan card to pump at Petronas.
hustlerism
post May 9 2021, 10:17 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ May 9 2021, 07:21 PM)
Since you already have a credit line from Maybank Islamic, you can add Ikhwan Mastercard, 5% cashback at any petrol stations on Friday and Saturday.

For the time being, you can use ShopeePay ewallet at Caltex/Petron/BhP, pump RM15 to get RM3 cashback, 1x only per day till 30-6-21.
Am I able to use Maybank 2 Gold card AMEX at Caltex?

Tried it just now but seems like transaction getting declined
hustlerism
post May 10 2021, 10:12 AM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ May 10 2021, 07:01 AM)
Your existing credit line is granted by Maybank Islamic. It is not easy to get another credit line from Maybank (conventional banking). M2 Amex is under Maybank, not Maybank Islamic.
I actually have both credit line.
hustlerism
post Mar 7 2022, 01:45 AM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

Are there any other cards that are better than m2 gold, pb quantum card?
hustlerism
post Mar 7 2022, 06:06 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 7 2022, 06:33 AM)
How you define "Better than"? In which category?
Frankly speaking, Maybank M2 Amex, PB Quantum Visa/MC are good cards. PB Visa Signature is slightly better than PB Quantum Visa and Quantum Mastercard.
Not like SC Just-one Platinum, RHB-Shell Visa, HLB Wise, Affin Duo Visa which require monthly spending of RM1500/2500, 800/1500/2500, 500, 3080 respectively.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 7 2022, 09:18 AM)
Be more specific please. TQ.
Better in terms of what?
Apologize for not being that specific in my previous post.

I would say in terms of Cashbacks since both of these cc are for cashbacks.
hustlerism
post Nov 30 2022, 04:48 AM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

Hi Sifus,

Im currently looking for other cc to replace the PBB Quantum 2 cards.

Does Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Platinum Card-i & AFFIN DUO Visa Cash Back a good option to consider?
hustlerism
post Nov 30 2022, 12:51 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(1mr3tard3d @ Nov 30 2022, 10:52 AM)
Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Platinum Card-i is limited to petrol and grocery only, so might need other card to supplement
UOB One or Hong Leong Wise are more of all-rounder card

PBQV
Affin Duo+ unless u r able to schedule them on 1st of every month YOLO?

PBQM
PB Islamic Visa Platinum/Affin Duo?
but who knows when will be the next revision on TNC
Seems like Affin duo is the better option to replace PBQ cards.

Do I still need PB Islamic Visa Plat? PBIV gives 4% cb but does it accept auto billing & e-wallet reloads as well like Affin duo?

This post has been edited by hustlerism: Nov 30 2022, 02:32 PM
hustlerism
post Nov 30 2022, 03:01 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(1mr3tard3d @ Nov 30 2022, 02:40 PM)
please take note that it's actually duo and duo+
so they will come in 4 cards

apparently, might not be charged SST on the mastercard if unactivated but might be charged in the future

PB Islamic Visa provides higher effective rate 4% than 3%
but with lower cap at RM 30 instead of RM 50/RM 80
and no, recurring transaction is not entitled to cash back
Thanks for highlighting this.

So, Duo is more to e-Commerce/Online Transactions, eWallet Reloads/Transactions & Auto-Billing while Duo+ is for contactless transaction.

I already have M2 Gold AMEX card but I think Duo+ can act as a backup if AMEX is not accepted by the merchant.
hustlerism
post Jun 6 2024, 01:32 AM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

I'm curious.

Is it possible for me to take Cash Advance from Bank A CC and BT to another bank?
hustlerism
post Jun 6 2024, 11:32 AM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 6 2024, 07:14 AM)
Yes u can, but normally cash advance has high charges.
There are better waya to take out money from CC.
Can share what are the better ways?
hustlerism
post Aug 2 2024, 08:16 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

Which bank would usually give highest credit limit?
hustlerism
post Oct 29 2024, 10:41 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

If I wanted to use my credit cards overseas, do I need to call bank to activate it or no issue?

PB and MB CC
hustlerism
post Oct 30 2024, 11:24 AM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Oct 30 2024, 08:39 AM)
Be safe, best you call and tell the bank that when you intend to use your cards overseas.

There are banks who are not bothered, they say don't need to inform the bank. In any case, you don't want to find out when you are overseas your card has been declined. rclxub.gif
QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2024, 11:10 AM)
MBB no need.
I'm planning to have it as backup since im going to use Wise.
hustlerism
post Oct 30 2024, 12:33 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Oct 30 2024, 11:59 AM)
What I was toldlar...

For WISE, use at least once locally before you travel. Also, in some countries WISE may not be widely accepted.

Have fund and stay safe abroad! cool2.gif
Really? I never use wise locally also...
hustlerism
post Oct 30 2024, 03:09 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2024, 01:17 PM)
I used Wise in Thailand, Philippines, Japan, HK and Europe all OK.
So you never use it locally? Do you use physical card or apple wallet? Im planning to use apple wallet only.

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Oct 30 2024, 02:02 PM)
Not too sure, I just over-heard my colleagues who use wise, I choose to use my trusty credit card and hard cash to power through my trip.
https://exiap.com.my/guides/how-to-use-wise-card-in-malaysia
Nice info

hustlerism
post Oct 30 2024, 03:14 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 30 2024, 03:13 PM)
I think many years ago, I activated it by simply transacting it at a local McD's for a sundae cone. I use the physical card only, but I have it in my Apple Wallet. I don't foresee any issue with using it on my Apple Wallet.
Planning to use the non-physical card only. Should not be any problem right?

0.1796sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:30 PM