Credit Cards Credit Card v20, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

LostAndFound
post Jan 24 2019, 01:31 PM

6,265 posts

It doesn't seem like there's any thread to discuss sign-up rewards. This can be one of the most lucrative part of having a CC (such that some people cancel cards just to wait out the 6 month period for re-application).

'Normal' rewards are luggage bag etc., but sometimes there are things like Lazada/Shopee vouchers, handphones, smartwatches, electronics etc.

What's the best CC sign-up reward you yourself have obtained? Including through ringgitplus/comparehero etc. website sign up?
LostAndFound
post Jul 21 2021, 08:48 AM

6,265 posts

Am planning to buy a laptop, which credit cards give extended warranty protection? Here's my list of cards:-

MBB - Maybank2Kard Amex only, Barcelona Visa Signature
PBB - Visa Signature, Quantum Master/Visa, PIB Islamic Master/Visa
UOB - YOLO
HSBC - Amanah Mpower
SCB - JustOne Platinum, Liverpool
Affin - Duo
OCBC - 365, CashFlo

This post has been edited by LostAndFound: Jul 21 2021, 08:56 AM
LostAndFound
post Jul 21 2021, 01:59 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jul 21 2021, 09:21 AM)
I used Affin Duo Visa to pay Lazada, RM5000+ (cashback RM80) on 7/7.
(No extended warranty protection)
Yeah I got no issue finding cashback. Looking for any card with extended warranty.
LostAndFound
post Jul 21 2021, 11:34 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(powind @ Jul 21 2021, 08:05 PM)
How much is the interest normally? Late payment fee how much? How is it calculate?
Wrong question. If you ever regularly pay these fees you're using your cards wrong. Only rich people can afford to pay these fees. The rest of us better not have card rather than subsidise the banks.
LostAndFound
post Jul 22 2021, 08:53 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jul 22 2021, 08:25 AM)
We must thank the card users who are paying high CC interest, otherwise banks are not so kind to give us high rebate!
Two ways of looking at it:-

1. What the bank earn from those defaulters they 'give back' to other customers through rebate. So if everyone pay on time we won't get any rewards.

2. Banks always want to encourage more spending, so the LESS people pay on time, the MORE they will give rebate to 'force' people to spend more.

I'm not in the industry so how I know. But I think 2 is possible at least.
LostAndFound
post Sep 11 2021, 04:58 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(imcrazyz @ Sep 11 2021, 03:09 PM)
Question: For those of you who shop Lazada and Shopee casually (not hardcore), do you get the Lazada Citibank CC / Maybank Shopee CC or go for a more general CC like Public Bank Quantum MC?

Mainly for cashback purposes and overall cheaper payment. I'm contemplating which card(s) to get.
Maybank Shopee card is useless because you can't get free shipping with it.

General CC always better, because can use for other things as well (e.g. ewallet reload).
LostAndFound
post Sep 13 2021, 05:30 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(CoronaV @ Sep 13 2021, 09:53 AM)
Ocbc mastercard titanium no more 1% cash back for e wallet top up?

Gets 0.1% for e wallet top up rm5k ~ rm5
Also is this your first month with OCBC Titanium? I am not a holder but I think their thread got mention the 0.9% comes later.
LostAndFound
post Nov 25 2021, 08:05 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ Nov 24 2021, 03:24 PM)
Hi guys,

I cancelled 2 credit cards 3-4 months ago and no longer have any cc at my hand. Before this, I have the habit of apply and cancel cc in a short time.

So I start to apply again a new credit card. So far I have applied 2 credit cards and both of the banks rejected my application.
Can I know why I always received this feedback?

Is it because is it too early for me to apply for a new card? or is it because due to my past history of keep applying and cancel in a very short time? Bank considered I'm not a serious user of CC?
First question is why you have this habit? Your credit history will show everything you do regarding to CC, don't you think banks will take note?
LostAndFound
post Feb 25 2022, 02:28 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(CoolStoryWriter @ Feb 23 2022, 03:15 PM)
hi sifus, I hope this is not a dumb question;

Say I earn SGD5000 in singapore, can I convert it back to RM (so its RM15k) and apply for credit card with this income requirements?

So basically in this scenario, I earn SGD5k but want to apply a credit card in Malaysia with min. income reqirement of RM150k per annum.

I am malaysian
I have not experience, but previously seen it posted in LYN that banks will consider your SGD income dollar-for-RM. So you probably don't qualify for that card. Doesn't make sense to me, but just what was previously mentioned.
LostAndFound
post Apr 12 2022, 09:55 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(kiwifruit0 @ Apr 11 2022, 10:02 PM)
If already have Public Bank Visa signature, is there any point getting the PBB Quantum and Mastercard as well? Hope this is not a stupid question lol
The Quantum Visa can earn you cashback on items Visa Signature don't (wave RM30 an above, doesn't depend on type of spend unlike Visa Signature.

The Quantum Mastercard is practically useful for online, so if you spend above the RM633.33 cap for Visa Signature in a month, why not? Just need to see your usage pattern and plan accordingly.
LostAndFound
post Apr 30 2022, 07:01 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 30 2022, 12:36 AM)
Any credit card recommendations for insurance payment and TNG reload? I currently own PBB Quantum Mastercard and Visa, Visa Signature, and Islamic Platinum. Perhaps Affin Duo but the application is damn slow... I applied last month and til now I haven't got it.
The PBB Quantum Master and Visa Signature do not give any benefit for TNG reload (according to TNC), can check their threads for more details. Only Islamic Platinum does.

Affin Duo is a reliable one. Other than that can consider HSBC Amanah (they still have FCFS promo for RM15 cashback on TNG reload, but damn competitive at midnight on first day of month). Also can consider UOB YOLO (min spend RM600, 5% cashback but ewallet capped at RM15 so you need RM300 'other spend' to get 5%).
LostAndFound
post May 31 2022, 01:29 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(H3artBreakKid @ May 31 2022, 12:23 PM)
Hi guys.

Wanna check with you folks if anyone tried the tng Rfid shell refuel method already and linked their petrol cash back eligible CCs for quick payment.

Do you guys get cash back from the transaction?
Not tried because I suspect its just ewallet....
LostAndFound
post Jun 4 2022, 11:23 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 3 2022, 01:44 PM)
Even zero tax, still can declare income to lhdn right?
'zero tax' not the same as 'not declare tax' tongue.gif
LostAndFound
post Jun 16 2022, 05:01 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(vicng93 @ Jun 16 2022, 03:34 PM)
hey guys, which cc in market nowadays that offer decent cb for contactless/dining w/ or w/o min spend and w/o min spend cb tier? so far only one is visa signature affin bank, wondering if there are other options as their application is quite strict
For contactless the Public Bank Quantum Visa card is pretty good I think. Quite hassle free as long as minimum spend RM30 per tap, capped at RM600 spend (RM30 cashback).

Dining you can consider the "10%" from citi cashback cards, but that one got minimum spend overall. And its very low cap generally.
LostAndFound
post Jun 17 2022, 08:47 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(vicng93 @ Jun 17 2022, 07:32 AM)
i already have pb quantum, issue is with the rm30 min spend (prefer without min spend for daily meals usually less than rm20  sweat.gif ) citi cb have min overall spend, can't reach that amount just for the applicable categories (dining,petrol,groceries)  cry.gif

so still can't beat affin visa signature/duo+ as they have rm50 cap + no min spend and no min overall spend.  cry.gif perhaps ill just have to keep trying
For dining less than RM20, go for Citi Cashback Mastercard (not platinum)

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jun 17 2022, 08:09 AM)
You may consider HLB Wise.
1%(weekday) / 8% (weekend) on Dining, Rebate capped at RM15/month.
1%(weekday) / 8% (weekend) on Grabpay, TNG wallet, Shopee/ShopeePay, Rebate capped at RM15/month.
1%(weekday) / 8% (weekend) on Groceries, Rebate capped at RM15/month.

Subject to monthly posted transactions >RM500.

Annual Fee RM98, not waivable. But worth it.
The Citi Cashback Mastercard (not platinum) can be better

Subject to monthly >RM500

10% on dining capped at RM10 a month
10% on grabpay (only) capped at RM10 a month
10% on groceries capped at RM10 a month
10% on petrol capped at RM10 a month

So higher cashback rate at lower cap. For those who don't spend much (no matter what need to hit 500 also) can just dump the excess in an ewallet. Of course if able to spend 187.5 on dining and 187.5 on grocery per month on weekends Wise is better. But Citi is everyday.
LostAndFound
post Jun 29 2022, 04:42 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(kakumei @ Jun 28 2022, 10:28 PM)
Hi, i'm noob here.
Just wondering if my main bank account is with Bank A but if i'm interested to get a credit card with Bank B; how do i view my balance and what is the best way to pay the dues?

I am currently using a CC linked with my salary account. It is convenient to pay the dues but what if i'm interested with CC from other banks? Is there any convenient way of paying the bills?
You can view balance in bank B web portal (or app, not all bank got app though). Most banks also will send e-statement to your email.

Payment is a bit less convenient. In particular you cannot just automatically select 'pay statement balance' in bank A (because bank A don't know how much the balance).

Best practice is, save the CC number as a fund transfer target in bank A. Then when statement released (check amount in bank B or from email) just transfer to that account from bank A.

If you are the kind of consumer want to maximize repayment days, then for the transfer can set as future transfer (on statement due date, you may want to do it 2 days earlier so you can double check the funds are received, bank B don't care if bank A got problem, you still get charged).
LostAndFound
post Jun 29 2022, 10:32 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(1mr3tard3d @ Jun 29 2022, 09:54 AM)

unable to allow standing instruction (recurring) on Public Bank to pay statement balance on certain date
(the standing instruction is more of a scheduled future transfer, which must input the amount and date every time sad.gif )
did that with Maybank classic
not sure about other banks
IMO standing instruction to pay CC bill cross-bank is not very useful.

Firstly amount must always be input. This is obvious la, sure change month to month.

Secondly unless your statement date is first 10 days of the month, the due date is always different day anyway. If you're not worried about optimising interest free days then can just set a safe date of course.

With both together? May as well I just every month do scheduled transfer once.
LostAndFound
post Jul 25 2022, 03:06 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(1stLaksamana @ Jul 25 2022, 03:01 PM)
hi all, im new to credit cards. recently i got my new maybank2 cards, amex & visa.

i got a noob question, can i pay my car loan monthly installment with credit card? i can pay cash or online transfer, its just i was thinking to earn points by paying with cc.

can i use cc for housing loan too? ( for future reference )

Thank you in advance!
General rule - not allowed to pay loan with loan (except special instrument like balance transfer etc). Banks aren't stupid, once you have a loan it is no longer discretionary spending di (you HAVE to pay it to avoid being charged insane interest rates). So they got no reason to encourage you to spend by giving you points/cashback. Those are reserved for discretionary spend (where you can choose to spend or not) which potentially can earn them money.
LostAndFound
post Jul 26 2022, 12:11 AM

6,265 posts

Hi all, this is my list of currently held cards:-
Maybank2Kard Platinum (Amex only)
Maybank Barcelona
Affin Duo Cashback Visa
Affin Duo Rewards Master
RHB Shell Visa
Citi Cashback Mastercard
HSBC Amanah M-Power
SCB JustOne Platinum
SCB Liverpool FC
Public Bank Visa Signature
Public Bank Quantum Visa
Public Bank Quantum Master
Public Islamic Bank Visa Platinum
Public Islamic Bank Mastercard Platinum
OCBC 365

Now I want to do a big swipe (Master/Visa only) of around 70k (ignore credit limit, that one can settle). Which card would give me the best rewards? Am I right to assume that OCBC 365 unlimited 0.5% would be the best? Would Public Bank points be worth more than 0.5%?

LostAndFound
post Jul 26 2022, 07:03 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 26 2022, 01:07 AM)
Ocbc titanium would give unlimited 1‰ cb for online trans if u have it.
Sorry its an in-store transaction. And I haven't had Titanium since the good old 5% days =(

0.1544sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:26 PM