Blu-Ray wins the HD format War, Sony's gamble with Blu-ray on the PS3

silencer
post Mar 16 2007, 10:36 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Mar 16 2007, 08:17 PM)
It seems like sony decision to include Blu-ray on the PS3 has finally pay off.

PS3 PUSH GIVES EDGE IN VIDEO FORMAT WAR
Dudes..thats obsolete news >>" In Casey's view, the many studios providing movies on Blu-ray, along with its inclusion in the PS3 (listing for $500, about the same as the cheapest HD DVD player) gives it an insurmountable advantage over HD DVD. (An attachment to play HD DVD discs is available as a $200 add-on for Xbox.)"<<< Take notes that the cheapest HD-DVD player costs less than US$300 now..so, next time, gather the info bfore posting here...

There's no doubt that Blueray has the edge....but having two different formats...will definitely benefits the customers....and there is no clear winner yet...
silencer
post Jun 22 2007, 08:48 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jun 22 2007, 01:18 PM)
got two brothers in singapore. should get them to smuggle some too tongue.gif
By the rime u reach JB...u will get robbed there....hehehehhe..just kidding... notworthy.gif
silencer
post Jun 25 2007, 10:59 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Jun 25 2007, 10:25 PM)
HMV Singapore selling most BD movies for S$51....quite good price there thumbup.gif
If only they sell it here at the same price...tough luck...still th ebest option is amazon.com
silencer
post Jun 26 2007, 09:40 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jun 26 2007, 08:46 PM)
gosh.... Universal is churning out alot of HD movies lately.  cool.gif
Yup..its a turning around from the HD-DVD consortium...even thoug it is a rumours..i believe the dedicated HD-DVD player that cost a little bit more than RM1k will be released next month.....
silencer
post Jun 28 2007, 12:33 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Woot...sorry about the confusion on the final pricing..even if they sell it at $149....those 2 million units will be gone in a matter of seconds.....I wonder how low that sony is willing to sacrifice again to lower down the final pricing of it lower-priced BD player......

This post has been edited by silencer: Jun 28 2007, 12:34 AM
silencer
post Jun 29 2007, 10:32 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jun 29 2007, 08:10 PM)
LOL. the same. cause i already have a ps3. if ever because of the media wars.. developers might lose interest in it. ai. why cant thy harmonize like the DVD media?
"It's a SONY"
Betamax (Sony) vx VHS
Atrac (Sony) vs MP3
SACD (Sony) vs DVD-Audio
Bluray (Sony) vs HD-DVD

Hmmmmm..... doh.gif
silencer
post Jul 25 2007, 03:09 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Jul 24 2007, 07:46 PM)
Here you go, I've even been nice enough to provide the links for you smile.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blu-ray
now scroll down to the number of exclusive movie studios with blu-ray vs. hd-dvd, sure beats the only one the hd-dvd camp has -- Universal Studios (yawn). There are also more computer manufacturers  backing blu-ray. MS has pulled their support for HD-DVD but their x-box add-on has not been stellar; they had the add-on only to compete with the PS3 on the gaming front.

Heres are more recent article:

http://www.t3.co.uk/news/247/entertainment..._the_format_war

http://www.current.com.au/2007/06/14/article/RXJGTXFTAR.html

http://www.usnews.com/usnews/biztech/artic...070624/2dvd.htm
There are hundreds more articles on the web -- they all the same thing -- BLU-RAY IS WINNING THE BATTLE.

But hey, don't follow the crowd, do what you gotta do man, and if you really wanna buy a HD-DVD, go ahead; noone's stopping you. I'm just saying, at this stage, I would recommend you stick with DVD if you don't trust the numbers. I got a PS3 because I'm confident blu-ray win the battle.

So where are your articles stating that hd-dvd is winning?
Hahaha...let me quote here on one of the link that u had listed here...an interesting reading..... http://www.usnews.com/usnews/biztech/artic...070624/2dvd.htm

"HD DVD advocates say it's too early to suggest either format has the upper hand. For one, Blockbuster's business is primarily rentals-sales of disks at retailers like Wal-Mart are more important, says Kevin Collins, spokesman for a group promoting Toshiba's format. And so far, the new high-def disks account for less than 1 percent of today's DVD sales.

Sony last year boosted Blu-ray by including the drives in its PlayStation 3 game console. That resulted in a steep, $600 price that has hurt its gaming sales but put Blu-ray players in about 1.4 million U.S. homes. Sony gambled that sales of Blu-ray disks would more than offset a loss in games share, says Michael Pachter of Wedbush Morgan Securities. The advantage might widen as studios loyal to Blu-ray have potential big sellers in Spider-Man 3 and Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End.

But the HD DVD camp notes it has sold about 150,000 stand-alone players, compared with Blu-ray's 90,000. Consumers with those players will eventually buy more movies than those with game consoles, Collins argues. Those Sony drives, the theory goes, will eventually get busy with PS3 games, which so far are lacking, and those consumers will rent fewer movies or buy a separate player.

Also, as sales volume picks up, the cheaper cost of producing HD DVD drives and disks could become more important. Already, Taiwanese manufacturers are racing to produce cheap HD DVD players under licensing deals with Toshiba. Toshiba now sells one for $300, versus $500 for the least-expensive Blu-ray. A $200 player would appeal to Wal-Mart shoppers, who also buy more than 40 percent of all DVDs. That would be a far bigger "get" than winning over Blockbuster. Then there is online movie rental giant Netflix, which has yet to pick sides.

The HD DVD folks have taken to suggesting the two formats can coexist, much as three game consoles share most of that industry's $12.5 billion in retail sales. They're talking less of vanquishing the competition. For now, at least, the smack is left to Blu-ray."

And the keywords here is cheaper players for HD-DVD will be released soon...and this will be a determining factor in HD war...
By the way, if u go for the current figure...should I say for gaming industry....people shouldnt go for PS3 as it now far far behind than the no of xbox 360....ccc...light up dude....it is still too early to say that HD-DVD is a dead format especially when the new high-def disks account for less than 1 percent of today's DVD sales.....no ofense whistling.gif

This post has been edited by silencer: Jul 25 2007, 03:12 AM
silencer
post Jul 25 2007, 07:13 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Wow..never expected that reply....if the price of HD-DVD add on for xbox 360 is cost less than US$100, I cant imagine how many PC users will grab it to enjoy the HD movies...and plus with cheapo standalone HD-DVD player, chrtsmas is looking good for HD-DVD camp. Bear in mind that the disk itself wont be useful without the player.....and cant wait for my HD-DVD copy of 300 to be arrived here with A FULL INTERNET INTERACTIVE FEATURES....yehaaaa
silencer
post Jul 25 2007, 07:14 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

hahahaha...another googling master..lantaklah kau labu....

Added on July 25, 2007, 7:25 pm
QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Jul 25 2007, 06:39 PM)
Costs go down over time buddy. BD is more expensive right now b/c of the better technology and specs than HD-DVD. Btw, you can get a blu-ray player for 1000 RM -- its the PS3 20 GB model.
Games take time to develop. But we're not talking about that, we're talking about total blu-ray discs sales. World-wide sales point to blu-ray as being the winner.
Porn is on blu-ray already, but it doesn't matter. Unlike the betamax vs. vhs battle porn is now available on the internet so it won't have as much impact on sales. Betamax lost the battle last time (even though it was the superior format) because it didn't allow porn on its system.
i dont' really care about a production plant in malaysia because i buy all of my blu-rays on amazon. btw, check the top seller lists -- not many hd-dvd titles up there eh? Look at the xbox, might be doing well in the states, but the ps3 is catching up and the xbox 360 sales in japan are still PITYFUL.
uh....theres a deal going on right now where you get 5 free blu-rays when you purchase a blu-ray player. I buy my blu-rays for $19.99, i guess you have no idea where to shop.  The free shipping, and tax is only to the U.S. -- but hey, when I was living in the states most of the products I ordered online was already tax free and had free shipping; so i don't really see where you're going.
What makes blu-ray a winner is the exclusive studio support. What is the point of buying a player when theres no content? I guess you can go watch your Universal titles (lol) over and over again.

But again, I'm going to reiterate, if you're happy with your hd-dvd, hey I'm happy for you too. Just stop spreading FUD. I just don't think HD-DVD is going to win the format war. Here are the numbers to back it up:

By The Numbers - Why the HD DVD/Blu-Ray War Is Over
http://blog.pixelperfectproductions.com/?p=54

Let me comment on the bold words....: -
1) better technology - or higher licensing fees dude...let me enjoy the hd-dvd interactive features first
2) Games take time to develop....how long dude???? Or most ps3 r cross-platform to xbox 360
3) availability on the internet - even all HD-DVD and BD ripped files r widely available..apa punya cakap ni???
4) blu rays on amazon only?... how about 2 options r better than one.... doh.gif
5) might be doing well in states...weak in Japan...any co that succesfull in states will always lead the market...and in japan case...even if they sale the atomic bomb for japanese market..it would be a hit..anything fron japanese co for japanese people....
6) the exclusive studio support ...with less titles release....and just the announcement..i guess..its wait n c attitude...

And...again no one said that BD is going to die..just like games..both can co-exist...but HD-DVD will never die...

and last sekali ..pepatah for u.. It's a Sony ..Master od Dead Format..suit with your name too..Master of Googling.... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by silencer: Jul 25 2007, 07:35 PM
silencer
post Aug 1 2007, 03:26 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Aug 1 2007, 03:17 AM)
LOL, you took the bait didn't you.  You don't gettit do you? It was a tit-for-tat approach for your FUD posting on every it-bit move on the HD-DVD camp (which is why I posted an article which also included information in DEFENSE of HD-DVD) and to prove my point that you'll jump at every moment to post inflammatory comments --

Here:
Here:
And Here:
But hey, I guess desperate times count for desperate measures. For the new readers following this thread, as I've said before, read the LONG post I made a couple pages back explaining why blu-ray will win and the numbers to back it up and please for God sake, stop listening to all the FUD being spewed out. 

g5sim, you're just making yourself look more like a fool everyday. You're now on my permanent ignore list.
macam budak2...bila argue a bit....terus masuk permanent ignore list..apalh punya orang...

0.0240sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:44 PM