casual bike talk..

ZintanthraX
post Jul 18 2017, 11:45 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

saw the new yamaha nvx on my way to work yesterday. hella fast scooter to be honest, and quite big too.

luckily i am not really into all these modern looking scooters, so i'll pass. will continue riding slow to work with my current kuda besi lol.
ZintanthraX
post Jul 18 2017, 11:50 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(wshazi @ Jul 18 2017, 11:47 AM)
It's already at the showroom? Where?
no idea. saw that guy in PJ, using Kelantan plate no. iinm.
ZintanthraX
post Jul 20 2017, 09:38 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Jul 20 2017, 01:05 AM)
what is ur kuda besi?
lol my vespa lx 150. sleeper bike.
ZintanthraX
post Jul 20 2017, 03:03 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Jul 20 2017, 11:44 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  i thought its smth like C70... laugh.gif  laugh.gif

planning to find a C70 for leisure purpose.. icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
wow c70. go for it bro. if i have extra i cash i would definitely get one too, ride to mamak or somewhere nearby.
ZintanthraX
post Feb 5 2024, 07:55 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

hey guys would like to get some inputs here.

i’m planning to upgrade my current bike to either a triumph trident, street triple rs or suzuki gsx-8s, but having a dilemma.

anybody here have tried all 3?

i have yet to try all 3 (on my way upgrading my license lol) but my experience from viewing the bike:
- trident: most comfy, able to almost flat foot, my second option in terms of look, within my monthly budget
- street triple rs: my dream bike for few years now, a little tall so i need to jengket a bit, slightly aggressive in terms of ergo, a little too expensive on the monthly payment
- gsx8s: didnt manage to view yet but the look is not really my cup of tea. only considering because it is the cheapest of the bunch while having good specs.

main usage will be for daily commute of 80km (to and fro) and weekend rides.
ZintanthraX
post Feb 5 2024, 10:12 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 5 2024, 08:06 PM)
for highway, riding at 120kph
triple - 6250
trident - 5750
8s - 5200
MT09 - 5000

after a while, you may be bored with a screaming engine for daily rides
lol that is possible, but since i’ve never owned anything that is super loud so far, something new for sure.

1st bike - Suzuki TRX150, 2nd bike - Vespa LX150, current bike - Yamaha Xmax

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 5 2024, 09:53 PM)
Think you have a good list of choice for daily commute of 80km.
If based on youtube the gsx 8s is the #1 on revzilla daily commute list

Looks like you already decided the street triple as your choice  laugh.gif
maybe can look at the 2nd hand market for used models
my hearts says go for street triple, but my pocket says otherwise lol.

if i go for trident or gsx8s, i’m just afraid that the feeling of upgrading come super soon.

was looking for used street triple but none came with the new headlights (and the cosmic yellow colorway is sooooooo lovely)

ZintanthraX
post Feb 5 2024, 10:15 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Feb 5 2024, 10:10 PM)
havent tried the 8s but from what im told, its very nice in town and got more than enough power. it apparently feels alot lighter and nimble than its weight on paper may suggest.

if u ask me, if budget isnt an issue, i dont see a point in compromising. get what u want, otherwise forever in the back of your mind, you may be thinking bout the ones u really liked.
this is the thing that i worry the most. i’m not the type that upgrade frequently (all of my bikes are owned for at least 5 years) so it is painful to cough up the loses if i were to sell.

if the price diff is around 5-10k then i don’t mind but in this case, close to 20k between the trident and the RS.

This post has been edited by ZintanthraX: Feb 5 2024, 10:16 PM
ZintanthraX
post Feb 6 2024, 12:04 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 5 2024, 10:28 PM)
the secret to not feel you need to upgrade is... never test 1000cc bikes after you buy  laugh.gif
lol managed to borrow my friend’s cbr rabbit few years back and luckily i don’t have the itch for that, at least for now. 😂

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 5 2024, 10:46 PM)
+1
it's not the noise, it's how the bike feels

do you mean TXR150?
how fast can Xmax go comfortably? is it good for 120? or should it be slower?

even the 765RS is good... for a while
there's the Triumph buzz, not sure how you soak up to that
one thing good, with the Moto2 homologation, this engine will be supported for a while, just like the old CBR600RR

if you like those literbikes, they cruise at 120 at lower rpm than most, around 5250... and older ones even below 5k RPM, albeit 4 cylinder
modern performance oriented bikes are geared lower, as you can see with the Trident vs Street Triple

I will just get >900cc bikes, with MT09 as bare minimum

"with more power is easier to go slow"
yes TXR150 pardon my typo.

for xmax, 100-120 is the sweet spot with the speed cut at around 140-150.

heard about the triumph buzz but since nobody around me owns a triumph, its a bit hard for me to imagine 😅.

another thing that i wonder is how good are these bike in low speed, manouvering KL traffic.

0.1947sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:15 AM