4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

casual bike talk..

JustForFun
post Jan 5 2022, 03:45 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Guys, what's the experience of buying a used sport bike like in Malaysia?

Granted that when you buy the motor the engine can start and run smooth, is there no chance of you getting a lemon unit?

If I don't have a mechanic friend to inspect the bike with me, is it safe to get a used bike? Let's say 2-5 years of age Japanese made.
JustForFun
post Jan 31 2022, 10:00 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Do you guys know if any driving school would actually offer up to L license only?

I don't want to commit myself to a full license as I may be moving to another state soon (depending on if WFH policy changes), called a few schools and seem like they don't want to do it even though they technically can?
JustForFun
post Feb 21 2022, 01:47 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Guys, few questions on renewing dead insurance/roadtax on kapchai:

1. Do you need to get insurance renewed before inspection?
2. Just head straight to JPJ, not PUSPAKOM right?
3. I tried to get online quotation via MyEG and Loanstreet but both couldn't retrieve my vehicle. My only choice now is to head to nearby pos office?
JustForFun
post Feb 21 2022, 03:12 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 21 2022, 02:12 PM)
If > 1 year mati, need inspection before buy insurance and roadtax.
Go JPJ ask for permit to travel for inspection. Otherwise, may kena saman.
Bring bike to Puspakom for inspection.
After done, go JPJ buy insurance and renew roadtax.
Thanks, quite a lot of conflicting information out there.

Surprising to hear that you get insurance directly from JPJ for motorcycle, as I have always only dealt with insurance companies like Takaful for cars.
JustForFun
post Feb 21 2022, 04:35 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 21 2022, 03:25 PM)
Over here, there are insurance agents (offices, booths, mobile trucks, photostat centers) outside JPJ office. If you willing to travel more and get as much rebate as possible, then direct deal with the insurance offices of course.

Then, some ppl also just drop the bike at garage and they do everything for you, for a fee.

What is the condition of your bike? Fully original? Lights, brakes, color, exhaust, side mirror etc etc... if not, better employ runner/garage to do it.
A fully stock interchanged unit of EX5 (2008) with only 300km on it. I have restored it fully recently and planning to use it for longer distance, so decided to restore the insurance and roadtax as well. The forks are leaking though, but I think that's not one of the things they inspect.

When you say getting insurance from JPJ, do you mean from the insurance agents outside JPJ or JPJ offers insurance themselves (which I don't think so?)
JustForFun
post Feb 23 2022, 10:55 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(genesiscopy @ Feb 22 2022, 10:37 PM)
My insurance and roadtax expired more than 1 year (Dec 2020). Managed to renew with etiqa takaful online and then renew the roadrax on myeg (Jan 2022).

Previously all those portals (myeg, loanstreet, bjak) etc dont want to renew my bike's insurance so i need to go direct to the insurance provider.

I read somewhere if roadtax not dead more than 3 years no need to go to puspakom, maybe due to covid.
Yes, dead road tax expiry has been extended to 3 years back in 2020 but unfortunately my road tax s dead way longer than that.
JustForFun
post Feb 23 2022, 05:44 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 23 2022, 11:09 AM)
i hear pipu sed can do at jpj, jpj fler will jz inspect d enjin + chasis no, then kautim, free, no nid puspakom, i think is outstation? not klang valley mebe..
I saw a few videos as well saying for motorcycle inspection it can be done at JPJ itself for free without going to PUSPAKOM, will probably make inquiries when I go there to get temporary driving permit.
JustForFun
post Feb 28 2022, 04:03 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Seeing as I just went through the process, thought I would share on how to renew motorcycle roadtax that is dead for more than 3 years. For motorcycle, the inspection can be done at JPJ instead of PUSPAKOM and it will save you RM20.

Documents needed (all of which can be prepared at/outside JPJ):
1. 2 copies of IC front/back
2. 2 copies of geran
3. Insurance policy
4. Borang Perjalanan Sementara (BPS)

Steps:
1. Download BPS on JPJ website, fill in whatever you could (you can also request for this at JPJ but you will have to queue).
2. Decide on your preferred insurance company, walk to the insurance agent booths outside JPJ and pick one that has that company listed on their booth (or go in and ask).
3. Ask for first party coverage, so you can claim in case of your motorcycle being stolen. (The agent was going to do third party for me until I stopped her and asked for more details, plus it was only RM20 more expensive in my case which was definitely worth it).
4. While doing the insurance renewal, request for the agents to photocopy 2 sets of your IC front/back and motorcycle geran, they should happily do it for you for free given that you've purchased insurance from them.
5. Fill in the newly purchased insurance details on BPS, head to the reception and show the receptionist all documents that you have prepared and you will be given a queue number.
6. When it's your turn, the officer will ask you when will you be available from next day onward, negotiate a convenient date and time slot that suits you and he/she will process it and you will be given a permit perjalanan sementara which is effective for 3 days. At this point, one set of your IC and geran will be taken away.
7. Attend the inspection at JPJ as per arranged with all the remaining documents and the involved motorcycle, do not come earlier if you are the first slot of the day as JPJ will not allow entry until then (you can come earlier if you are on 2nd slot or later).
8. Depending on the JPJ you went to, it could be a small workshop or as basic as a parking lot, JPJ Penang was a parking lot painted yellow with a small signboard attached on the pillar next to it.
9. The officer in charge will come with a toolbox and inspect your engine no/chassis no/plate no, after that you may be asked to start the motorcycle and show that all indicators are working (headlight, brake lights, signal lights, horn, engine runs smoothly)
10. Once inspection is done, the other set of IC/geran will be taken away and you will be given a form indicating successful inspection, head to reception to get a queue ticket for renewing road tax and voilà, your motorcycle is now road legal.

PS: You must be the owner of said vehicle.
PS: Don't risk riding to JPJ without Permit Perjalanan Sementara, you will be asked to show your pick-up truck and will be fined if you fail to comply.
PS: You can't ride there and have it processed the same day, as permit will only take effect next day onward.
PS: Have confirmed with JPJ officer that all JPJ with its own landed buildings are able to perform such inspection (which means JPJ at UTC are not able to), apply common sense.

This post has been edited by JustForFun: Mar 1 2022, 02:21 PM
JustForFun
post Feb 28 2022, 06:13 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 28 2022, 04:26 PM)
which jpj  u went?
JPJ Penang. I have also seen people done it in Ipoh and Kuala Lumpur and I heard the receptionist herself mentioning to another visitor that motorcycle inspection does not need PUSPAKOM, so I believe it's most likely applicable nationwide.
JustForFun
post Feb 28 2022, 08:21 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Maybe, but if ulu state like Perlis JPJ also can do then I have no reason to believe JPJ in KL can't do it... Plus the checklist for motorcycle is also relatively small, about five to six items if I'm not mistaken which I think is the reason why JPJ also can handle it.

Anyway, the legal way would have been to get the permit perjalanan sementara which means you must go to JPJ first regardless, then you can ask if they offer the service, unless of course you have a pick-up truck or is willing to spend to hire one.
JustForFun
post Mar 5 2022, 07:12 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

So I've been doing research on protective gears and it seems that people very rarely recommend elbow/knee guards over riding jacket/pants, anyone can enlighten me on why is that? It seems like a more logical choice for me as you can buy a set and wear it everyday compared to riding pants where you'd have to have a couple at least to alternate?
JustForFun
post Mar 5 2022, 11:14 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 5 2022, 09:09 AM)
After re reading your post, are you referring to those plastic looking pieces that you tend to see more on Moto cross riders use?

Assuming yes

1) cheap ones WILL move away from their intended spot
2) assuming even if they do not move, you don't get full coverage on other spots from abrasion injury (look up road rash)
3) proper guards those moto cross guys use, are very bulky and expensive.
4) the cheaper and more casual road going ones, like Komine that I also own and use, are also quite inconvenient to put on and they will not protect other locations on abrasion like my thigh shins and bums. Which I actually lost a lot of skin on one of my fall. one of the knee protector strap abrasion ate through it and the protector gotten loose. And even this fact wouldn't matter because the locations I got injured, the knee protector wouldn't cover it anyways.
Yea, I was referring those indeed:

Looking for a pair that is CE certified. I do understand that there are risks of them loosening and they do not cover other parts of your exposed legs if you are on shorts, what I value is the impact protection and when combined with a thick pair of jeans/chinos that should somehow mitigate the abrasion damage I assume.

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Mar 5 2022, 10:54 AM)
I recommend a few times here.
But no one is keen.
I think as long as you can put up with the hassle of putting them on, the knee guards are much more cost-effective and maintenance free than riding pants. For jacket however I can see a reason for buying them as they block wind/rain/elements and you usually won't wear something as thick as denim for top when you are in our tropical weather, and a good leather jacket does look cool too, unlike riding pants...
JustForFun
post Mar 5 2022, 12:18 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Mar 5 2022, 11:33 AM)
It's not a hassle to put on all the protection gears if you compare to the hassle when you crash and get injured when not wearing any.   This is how I look at it.

I ride to work and ATGATT.  Including wearing this komine knee guard and a proper riding shoes.
Definitely, I would prefer to ATGATT too. My question was on why most in this thread seem to prefer riding pants over knee guard.

For the normal riding pants, it would smell if you wear the same pair to office 5 days a week, so you need to get a couple at least, and they are much more expensive than just a set of knee guards. This cost snowballs even further if we consider equipments degrading or tearing over time, probably you have to change an entire set again 5 years down the road when the seams and threads start giving way.

Over pants would probably be closer to knee guard but they are gonna be quite warm when you wear a pair long pants within. The impact protection also do not seem as good as a proper pair of knee guards, so the only advantages here are that they stay on your legs and protect against abrasion and have water resistance but are worse in every other way.

This post has been edited by JustForFun: Mar 5 2022, 12:18 PM
JustForFun
post Jun 2 2022, 06:36 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Meanwhile still waiting for Modenas to release the god damn Ninja 250... :zzz
JustForFun
post Dec 2 2022, 05:40 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

I only lane split if I found myself in the wrong lane, otherwise I stick to the side and let the cars do their own things. I know full well that my kapcai lacks the power and brakes to get me out of tricky situations, and the way Malaysian drivers drive, you just won't know when somebody has a brain fart leading to an accident...

Bike is a tool to get me through traffic during peak hours, but not at the expense of my safety.
JustForFun
post Jan 19 2023, 11:01 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Guys, for the purpose of daily commute into KLCC from Kajang, and a weekly weekend ride back to hometown (Merlimau, Melaka but close to Johor), would Dominar 400 or Pulsar NS200 make more sense?

Having done some research myself, my thoughts on the bikes:

1. Dominar 400 - should be good for the weekly ride home, but given it's 182KG weight and size, would it be too much to handle in daily KL traffic? If it helps, I will be departing home at around 9AM everyday, and leaving work at 7.
2. Pulsar NS200 - This seems much more manouvreable in traffic, but still have just enough for me to cruise back to hometown at comfortable speed? (I don't ride fast, guess no more than 120kmph). Only front ABS though.

I was looking at ER6F initially, loved the looks, but too bad there's no ABS. Feel free to recommend alternatives up to 15K new or used.
JustForFun
post Jan 19 2023, 04:33 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 19 2023, 11:44 AM)
As someone that commutes on a Dominar in KL traffic, I will chime in.

In general, the Dominar will handle traffic just as long as you accept that it wont be able to cilok like a kapchai. The Dominar is a bit top heavy for the weight and has a longer wheelbase so tight turns are tougher. Again, that depends on your riding experience and skill. In that respect, the Pulsar is a better option. However both has about the same width so filtering through traffic would be similar. You will eventually get used to the bulk.

For highway travel, other than the stronger engine, there is little to differentiate a pulsar and dominar in terms of comfort. Both are single cyc engines and will buzz when taken up high RPM. However, if you keep the speeds in check, say 110-120, they are relatively capable bikes. The dominar will be the more stable of the 2 given the long wheelbase and heavier weight. I do Ipoh - KL twice a month, so longer distance travel on the Dominar is ok not stellar as you really need more than 1 cyc to do long distance travel comfortably, but once you get used to the buzziness (sprocketing down helps keeps rpms lower for a given speed) it is something you can live with.

the larger and heavier 650s although heavier actually tend to be a bit more balanced than the Dominar due to lower centre of mass.
For used bikes, a possible option would be a z250 with the twin. They are lighter, shorter and less buzzy than either of the above bikes, with similar power to the dominar.
QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 19 2023, 12:01 PM)
with that budget you can find used z250 with ABS
i also saw some benelli leoncino 500 used around that price in mudah
Good call on the Z250, I did think of it, but wasn't sure if the pre-Modenas version had ABS. Quite surprised to find that for a 250cc, it has 37HP which is close to D400's 40HP, albeit at a much higher RPM, though that is to be expected with 2 cylinders.
JustForFun
post Feb 13 2023, 01:22 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Feb 9 2023, 01:23 PM)
Third times the charm, I passed my JPJ today.

Was so stressful coz I got badluk and gotten a motor that keep on dying whenever I stop even when i try to turn the throttle a bit.

Asked to change bike but the staff don't allowed, luckily the JPJ guy not so strict.
Penang JPJ officers very kind one, last time I did 6.6 secs + on titi also they close one eye let me pass my B full biggrin.gif

As long as not so ridiculous like jatuh motor all that there's room for negotiation one.
JustForFun
post Feb 28 2023, 01:48 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Probably a good thing to alleviate traffic problem, with more people encouraged to take up riding.
JustForFun
post Feb 28 2023, 02:31 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 28 2023, 02:02 PM)
Huh? So in the end only abolish RM37 ringgit test fee?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2726sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:03 AM