5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

casual bike talk..

ThE DaReDeViL
post Dec 1 2020, 10:30 AM

QUOTE(RicoT @ Nov 30 2020, 10:32 PM)
I'm considering Dominar 400 too, but wondering whether the facelifted version will be here or not. How's the reliability?

Being 400cc, the interest rate will be lower too right?
I think now the price is already lowered, and with some shops offer free 3boxes, it is already a great bargain... I think the new facelift version is not much different and the price probably will be higher than current one... I considered to buy one for daily commute before, too bad that I travel mostly highway and already used to 650cc cruising speed, so end up ditched my idea...
ThE DaReDeViL
post Feb 22 2021, 09:40 AM

Finally, it's time to fully overhaul my bike @ 100k km... Was actually planning to do it by 120k km coz just done VC @ 80k km...But due to waterpump faulty 2-3 months back and radiator fluid went into engine, am forced to do it earlier... Some power loss, high fuel consumption, and 2 parts leaking EO...
Have actually been told that after overhaul, it would work as new... Anyone experienced this? I mean overhaul... To be honest, I really wish to keep this bike coz it ticks almost all of my checklist... So changing bike is really my last preference... If my bike can restore it's power and FC consumption, I will be more than happy to keep it for another decade or more...
ThE DaReDeViL
post Feb 22 2021, 07:22 PM

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 22 2021, 01:46 PM)
power loss? high FC? sounds like due for VC.
Overhaul need to see the foreman experience. Some foreman can mess up with original parts, while some do just fine with clone parts. There are foreman specialize in rebuild classic bikes, those will know who to overhaul engine.
Nope bro, VC done @ 80k last year.. That's why I plan to do top overhaul @ 120k.. These problem started right after done servicing my bike after EO went in engine.. Was told probably piston ring worn out coz EO mixed with coolant.. And since there are EO leakage at the bottom part (was told that part need to disassemble engine to replace the gasket) so I decide to just do a full overhaul.. Am just worried about durability and performance after overhaul since it's not cheap to service..
ThE DaReDeViL
post Feb 22 2021, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 22 2021, 08:14 PM)
EO went into engine? I think you mean EO went into piston top side, which can be easy fix (valve seat or valve seal) that doesn't require full overhaul.
For coolant mix with EO, how was that diagnosed? You have oily coolant? Usually it's EO going into coolant system and not the other way around. Head gasket could be due to bad head torque after the VC was done. And what about the water pump? Can share more info?

In your case, you might not need a full overhaul just the engine head that needs some diagnosis and work done. No big deal but make sure to get an experienced fella to do it right.
It's coolant went into engine.. all of it and plus I top up another 1L+ water... haha... When my bike stalled, 1st I check radiator.. I thought it dries out, so I refill back to full.. After letting it run for a while then saw the coolant gone again.. Then only realised all went into engine... doh.gif Yeap, actually can just do top overhaul.. But as I said, there's leaking at the bottom part which requires to take off the whole engine, so if just do top means I need leave the bottom part leaking... sweat.gif Hence I just ask to do full overhaul la.. Price not too much different anyway...

Btw, bike is already 13years and clocking near 100k km... Guess it's about time?

This post has been edited by ThE DaReDeViL: Feb 22 2021, 11:10 PM
ThE DaReDeViL
post Feb 23 2021, 10:04 AM

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 23 2021, 08:51 AM)
So coolant mix with EO?

If that's the case, can choose to do full engine split overhaul, or just replace the waterpump seal and flush the engine oil. Waterpump seal leak is small issue but requires immediate attention.

For engine head, not sure if it is related to anything at all. If suspect oil leak at head, can check the with open head cover no need open engine head since no oil went into coolant. Monitor this after the waterpump leak is fixed. Solve one at a time, unless they are really related issues. Spark plug also affects fuel consumption.

Look for "ER6 waterpump" and you'll find replacement kit and videos.
Your bike's year mileage is considered medium. My bikes are 10+ years and 20+ years so far so good.
Oh I think you misunderstood a bit bro.. the waterpump case already fixed.. Have flushed 3 times, then use cheaper EO let it run for 1k to be safe, then now already using my normal EO and already run for few around 4k. The bike is still running now, just that having power and fuel issue like I mentioned earlier..
ThE DaReDeViL
post Jul 28 2021, 10:57 PM

QUOTE(Spitzer @ Jul 16 2021, 02:15 PM)
You should be glad, i bought a bike just for fun late last year, and it's just being use to tapau food, and for the occasional rempit who thinks they want to race me by purposely speeding or cornering dangerously around me.

I'm not even kidding that i've indirectly caused 2 accidents since i got the bike because these rempit feel there's a need to "chase" or "show" their power, and couldn't stop in time. No - i did not even stop to care about them, but kesian the car that is innocent. While i could stop just fine & safely for my speed with my twin 330mm rotor, stylema calipers.
LoLz... Seems like it was either you are too sensitive or there's something about you that triggered them... I rode my 650 for 2 years no such problem, and few days on my friends 1L bike also no problem... I don't see much reason anyone wanna race someone who ride gently...
ThE DaReDeViL
post Aug 2 2021, 01:19 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 31 2021, 12:22 PM)
People can do many things without any reasons at all and MCO makes it worse.

That, and wearing gear (not a "norm" in Malaysia if I may add) gets people too, like my own experience at many traffic light stops since I wear full leathers a huge majority of my rides (even on kapchai) and people associates full leather = race suit = racing
Nope, still it's not doing things without any reason.. If you digest what I commented early..
1) Might be over sensitive - Because you're wearing full gear, you assume that everyone who speed around you trying to race you because you think they bias against your suit..
2) There's something about you that triggered them - Or maybe yes, they do make some assumption base on your suit, and that's what triggered them..

Anyway, I'm not trying to say that you should ditch your suit.. Just no need get offended and join them doing stupid things if these do occurs.. And some of the time, yes we triggered them without us realizing.. Examples that I have seen some bad habits of big bike riders are revving at the traffic light, aggressive pick up at traffic lights, overtaking others in high speed..

I know we wanted to have some fun with our bike sometimes, but I believe that there will be better occasions where there are less or no others present.. No need to show off what we can do in front of others.. For us, we see them as wannabees who wanna race us.. Vise versa, for them we are some arrogant show off fellas..
ThE DaReDeViL
post Aug 2 2021, 11:01 AM

QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 2 2021, 08:05 AM)
haha, nobody will admit here that they are an aggressive rider on the streets
I ride two stroke bikes, that will trigger many already, but it's fun between two gentlemen and ends with a thumbs up
We all humans, sometimes we let our actions get the better of us, it takes experience to man up and slow down
Totally agreed... And the least honorable thing to do is feel good for other's misfortune and brag about how good you or your ride performs...
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 1 2021, 05:34 PM

Hello, since I know many sifus here always wear full gear, hopefully can get help here regarding riding jacket.. My cheapo jacket actually produce some very strong turbulence to the helmet, so I wonder what to look for in buying jackets ya? Planning to get original ones but budget at entry level maybe 5-6hundred? Current ones I don't know why deflecting wind into helmet probably thru neck roll.. Old helmet loose a bit, will shake.. New helmet fits nice, but then made my head shake pulak.. haha.. I've limited budget so scare if bought same prob then dunno need how long to have the budget again.. Thanks in advance..
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 2 2021, 11:17 AM

QUOTE(Flyinghighaero @ Sep 1 2021, 07:49 PM)
What bike do you ride? How fast? 1st time I hear jacket deflect wind to helmet. Usually helmet shaking from wind is because I'll fitting helmet. Or riding naked bike really fast. Helmet with better aero will be better in cutting air. Some will only properly work if youre in tuck in position.

If you are still concern about your jacket. Some adv jacket have high neck collar. But most racing suit and sport jacket have low collar. Maybe it's the collar height.
You're right, I'm on naked ER6.. In that riding jacket, my head will start shaking once I go 150 and above.. But most of the times I wear my sports jacket no problem even at higher speed.. That's why I'm suspecting the riding jacket is the culprit.. But yeah, even if I asked my friends also they say jacket never affect helmet, that's why I'm blurred now.. Haha.. sweat.gif
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 2 2021, 02:28 PM

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 2 2021, 12:14 PM)
What does your riding jacket look like? Is it loose on the body and arm, and very pliable (lipat2 and flappy) when you ride fast, compared to your sports jacket?

If the riding jacket is creating more turbulence, then it can be a reason to the headshake.
So far I use RS Taichi mesh around 500 can handle my speed sitting upright.

Cheap original jacket will at least have protective material and minimum padding without back protector.
Basic original jacket may have thicker material, zipper cuffs, and CE back protector, at around 1k above.

For the jacket material and zipper, button, and waist belt, adding the CE2 back protector (RM150-200 if bought separately) I think it's better to get it straight.
Its the cheapest copy Alpinestars that shop give free.. Both of the jackets fits tightly.. To be exact, very tight coz have gained a lot of weights during these MCO.. Haha.. doh.gif Yeah, am aware at the legit protective it provide, that's why planning to get one soon.. Helmet also just have the budget early this year after 1year+ using cheapo China helmet... sweat.gif Anyway, as the previous bro replied, how big is the difference of adv jacket and race/sport jacket ya? I actually only wear for convoy or long trip, or maybe if just after rain when I go to work (midnight worker).. Daily ride I just wear my sport jacket.. Meanwhile I'll try Google 1st, haha...
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 2 2021, 03:36 PM

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 2 2021, 03:29 PM)
I suspect it's your helmet design which is not stable .  And also it is loose.

What helmet are you wearing?
LS2 Metro Evo.. Like I mentioned before, if wearing non riding jacket is no problem.. Further more helmet is very fit, hence I said it make my head shaking now... Coz the helmet can't wobble, it makes my whole head wobbles..The feel is like ppl pushing the neck roll...
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 2 2021, 08:43 PM

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 2 2021, 03:57 PM)
I wearing this.  Komine jk103
No issues.

Can't seem to find your model in Shopee... sad.gif Anyway, just saw an adv jacket, but not much to my liking and looks like it's heavier? Maybe find one day go see physically and try out see how.. It's a bit over my budget so might need wait a while more... sweat.gif

ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 2 2021, 09:51 PM

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 2 2021, 09:20 PM)
That jacket I'm wearing should be already end of sales.  I started wearing it in 2016.

The jacket you were looking at may not be suitable for hot weather riding. Look for mesh models with full protection.

Also.  There are many fakes on shopee.  If it is too cheap, it is most probably take.
But from reputable shops.  A decent safety jackets will be priced around rm500 or rm600 and above.

My advice is to test out the sizes and fitting.  You wouldn't want to get the wrong size or wrong cutting.
Too big, then the amours are not being held in the right places, it will move around.  This is not what you want.

Safety jacket should fit snugly.
The adv jacket is mesh actually.. Yea, am browsing in reputable shop, one of it is Motoworld.. Decided to go see the adv one see how.. If don't like then I can always go for others.. Anyway thanks a lot bro for the advices... notworthy.gif
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 3 2021, 10:28 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 2 2021, 10:44 PM)
Confirm helmet issue, not jacket issue
But then why does the problem doesn't occur when I'm wearing other jacket? hmm.gif Anyway, advice noted.. Am planning to get another lighter fullface for long ride when I have the budget anyway.. Will still start with a proper jacket 1st.. Thanks bro... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 2 2021, 11:47 PM)
No problem.
Happy shopping.
And remember.... ATGATT.
I've tried wearing it all the times, but the heat really unbearable for me.. So I just wear it when I'm going for ride with friends or long journey.. sweat.gif Hopefully if the new jacket not too bad then might wear it daily...
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 3 2021, 02:54 PM

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 3 2021, 10:41 AM)
Choose one
Bleed/injured or sweat

Your next jacket should be full mesh, meant for hot weather/summer.
So that you can wear it all the time.
Up to date regretfully i choose no sweat... sweat.gif But like I said, if the new jacket is have good ventilation I'll be willing to wear all the time la...

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 3 2021, 02:24 PM)
Could you be wearing cotton shirt on the inside?
Try sweat wicking and quick drying materials.

Ventilation for jacket also tricky. Some cannot wear backpack becoz block the exit airflow.
For mesh jacket, if it comes with EVA back padding also may block air passage.
Helmet ventilation also... some helmet got air vents but it's blocked due to poor assembly.
Or, are your riding buddies going too fast and it makes you push harder to try to keep up?

Rest more and keep hydrated. Wearing gears but get riding fatigue too quickly also no fun.
My inner shirt is either cotton or polyester, but both same, feels very hot inside.. As for the helmet, luckily mine got many vents, so totally won't suffocate inside... tongue.gif
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 3 2021, 04:36 PM

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 3 2021, 02:57 PM)
er6 right? look into windshields that can better direct the air away from ur chest and helmet

i suspect materials of the jackets are having different effect on the air flow causing the turbulence.

if ur running with the peak then the peak on the LS2 Metro Evo helmet also isnt helping things no matter how much they claim to have designed it to help air flow not get stuck under it.

nakeds need real good aerodynamic helmet....unfortunately most airflow tests are done behind bikes with windshields (sports, touring bikes). get something with a sharp front that can cut the air properly... something like the AGV K series designs (k1, K6, k3sv etc etc)
I'm not too sure, but I think mine is called textile jacket? Next I'll try the mesh and see how.. But since it's not a common prob for all, so I guess I'll just need to try and error la.. sweat.gif BTW, my model hard to find windshield nowadays d.. Saw some friends install universal type, but looks weird and don't match for my eyes... Haha...

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 3 2021, 04:14 PM)
No worries, it's a compromise especially where we at - hot and humid.

Make sure to find the most comfortable protection. It's a journey.
Some people only realized after spending 2~3k on flagship helmet only to realize it's not suitable for their head shape.
I haven't quite find the perfect helmet, so fingers crossed.

With MCO, trying on jackets is proving difficult. Good luck and hope you find it soon.
To be honest, this helmet also not really 100% suits my head, think it's more to oval whereas mine is round.. I took one size up.. Very tight at 1st, after break in then feels fit d.. Unfortunately after went for one long ride, discovered that there's pressure at side of the head which made me forced to stop and rest after 2-3 hours as the uncomfort is really unbearable.. What I did was I trim the side of the foam padding by 1-2mm .. So far still ok la, but don't know how about longer rides...And also I need to adjust the helmet to certain position, else my chin will be touching the chin area or the helmet.. sweat.gif Even after adjust, if I talk or sing my chin will still be touching that part.. haha.. Anyway, it's still works well for daily ride with no major prob.. Only I think better find a lighter and better fit full face for long rides..
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 4 2021, 07:54 AM

QUOTE(Flyinghighaero @ Sep 3 2021, 08:41 PM)
This is my personal opinion and from my own experience. I notice different wind noise using the same helmet when wearing 3 different type of jacket.

1-thick cotton hoodie
2-cheap benkia jacket (adv style squarish shape)
3- my alpinestar (road sport type cutting)

What I found is my body posture during riding is different when wearing different jacket. I ride mostly upright but I have to hunch over a bit to reach the handle. When I just using the hoodie I slouch like I'm on my PC. My alpinestar makes my upper body a bit stiff so I lean forward more. So what I think is my head is in different position depending on what I wear. As I use a mid size windshield on a naked bike mainly for deflecting wind from my chest, my head hit different part of the air turbulence. What I found is using my hoodie I get more wind noise than with any jacket.
Woah, u really pay a lot attention on your own riding.. I didn't really noticed la, but naked bike is almost always slight lean forward.. I usually will hunch a bit la, but when I noticed I will correct myself to straighten up my back.. But never paid attention on which positions these occurs la.. So I guess after all it's just jacket character? Just try and error la, no choice.. But I guess adv jacket is the safest bet as mentioned by the 1st former who reply? Since both my jacket difference Is the material and collar only... Anyway, who else wears different jacket for different occassion ya? Good to have both sports riding and adv jacket?
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 4 2021, 04:08 PM

QUOTE(kahtsin @ Sep 4 2021, 03:05 PM)
I always wear my mostly-complete-gears  (Dainese Dinamica Air D-Dry, riding jeans, Daytona Arrowsports boots and Shoei fullface helmet) even when I go tapao Shawarma 3km away from my house. Quite heavy with the added paddings and protection but as someone who sweats EASILY it's not too badand quite bearable for me. I feel naked if I don't wear those when riding.

Also I wear those uniqlo Airism shirt as base layer, so it helps a bit. But if you got budget can get those Nike/Adidas/Under Armour punya baselayer clothings. HELPS A LOT. Tights leggings goes best with leather pants!
Means u need to ride faster. The faster you ride the cooler it gets. jkjk pls ride responsibly within your own limit.
Haha, unfortunately I'm running at the limit of my bike d.. pushed it to 70% everyday d.. push harder my bike need to go icu soon.. haha... biggrin.gif Anyway, I do aware it's good to have full gear habit.. I've tried one whole month but it's really unbearable for me, so I end up back to comfort wears.. And secondly is really tight of budget due to current economic situation.. Tried the fake Komine riding pants, torn within a month.. So I told myself if buy sure go for ori next, which eventually not so soon la.. sweat.gif
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 10 2021, 05:41 PM

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 10 2021, 04:39 PM)
70% of that bike is like... 140~150km/h? Hope you can upgrade soon when things get better.
Thanks for sharing the Komine pants, was wondering about their reliability as well.
Yea, that's my average daily speed la coz mostly highway and I work midnight shift.. Was earlier thought of getting 250 only coz I blown my 150 kips engine.. After some small talk with the shop salesman, he told me I'll need at least 600cc onwards because I told him my average riding speed.. Also thankfully for his recommendation I end up getting this er6.. Else I think I've already blown another 250 engine.. Haha.. Anyway, the riding pants I mentioned is fake Komine ya, not the ori ones.. Don't get confused... sweat.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.2003sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:03 PM