Anyway.....I make a few assumptions on your targeted customers' portfolio threshold....please feel free to correct the assumptions if they are not accurate.
QUOTE(robincflee @ Sep 11 2017, 09:17 PM)
Every income group has a need for diversification. The one that is most commonly used is investment portfolio diversification. In that sense, you are right - the market that we want to serve is unlikely to have an investment portfolio
1. I disagree every income group has a need for diversification. When the low income group's salary is not even enough to make ends meet every month, they are not in the position to diversify. They don't even have money to invest. So these type of customers cannot buy the "insurance" as you propose.2. For those who can afford RM100-RM200 per month, their portfolio should be less risky with more stable and reasonable returns. PNB products come to mind. ASx is a good choice for them at around 5%-6% pa (7+% for bumi). Gold on the other hand, has no return other than capital gains. As prices of gold is very volatile, gold is too high risk an investment for them.
3. And when they grow their investment portfolio to a higher level, they can consider diversifying into other vehicles like unit trust, shares, gold etc. However, as paper gold from banks are more cost effective, it is less likely they will buy from you. Except for a small number of ignorant people who never compare the cost of gold investment
Unless you bring your cost down to a level comparable to your competitors, how can your business grow ?
QUOTE(robincflee @ Sep 11 2017, 09:17 PM)
But they do need diversification. Their income/asset portfolio is long ringgit denominated risk - salary, savings, EPF etc. Whereas a lot of their costs are US$-denominated - petrol, food etc are typically priced in the markets in US$. In the event of a devaluation, their portfolio will be positively correlated and there will be a mismatch between their income/assets and their costs. They need to have something else that gives them the ability to diversify out of a long ringgit exposure. I believe that gold can provide that diversification for them and also enable them to have a inflation-linked return.
If they need to hedge their expenses against US$, why should they buy gold instead of buy US$ itself ?1. Gold / US$ has typically an inverse relationship. Ie. when gold is up, US$ is down. When US$ is up, gold is down. So gold is not a good hedge against US$. It is a good diversification from US$ though.
2. US$ is easily available from money changer in shopping centre. And US$ is very competitive especially like the one in Mid-Valley. Their spread is typically below 1%. No other charges and fees. Buy and keep and hedge against US$ expense pure and simple in your scenario.
3. Whereas if they invest in your gold, they have to pay 2% each way for buy and sell, and subject to 2% annual management fee. Total = 6% already. That is even before your spread. Let's assume you have a spread of 2%, the cost is already 8% (correct me if the numbers are wrong). If they buy at RM190 per gram from you, 1 year later gold price must increase more than RM204 just to break even. If gold price remain the same at RM190, they already lose 8% on their investment.
So if they want to hedge against US$ expenses, buy US$ note directly will be a more straight forward method. Gold is an alternative, provided the cost is low, which is not the case with the fees involved.
Feel free to correct my numbers...
Sep 14 2017, 08:24 PM

0.0307sec