PlayStation 4™ Community Official Thread | V16, PlayStation 4™ Pro AVAILABLE NOW

r2t2
post Aug 29 2017, 12:47 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(garywind @ Aug 27 2017, 03:07 AM)
hi just want to ask

PS Slim, how to connect to my pc 5.1 speaker?

PS: my monitor does not support 5.1.

thanks in advance
Since PS4 Slim don't have optical audio output, and assuming your 5.1 PC Speaker got optical input, then maybe you need something like this:-

Else, sell off your PS4 Slim and buy PS4 Pro, got optical port, yo! smile.gif
r2t2
post Oct 6 2017, 11:02 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Sep 25 2017, 11:18 PM)
Any xcom 2 kaki here? Highly recommend the xcom 2 war of the chosen 2 expansion pack. Just finished playing it over the weekend. Worth the extra money
Also completed MVC Infinite story mode over the long weekend.. Want to sell it off smile.gif
Got X-COM 2 from Humble Bundle ... not yet start to really play coz wanna finish X-COM:Enemy Within on PS3 first, heheh. So, not buying expansion yet; can wait till sales.
X-COM definitely among my top fav series ...

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Sep 27 2017, 08:09 PM)
I don't think this is the first time the exact bundle was released. I did get this beforehand and yeah it works.
Ya, it's a repeat of the THQ Nordic Humble Bundle sales (hence the encore) ... the 2nd one for PS4/PS3 (1st was Capcom, 2nd THQ, 3rd 2K/Firaxis, 4th THQ again). It's slightly higher priced, iinm, but can adjust more for charity, easier to justify the purchase thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(Shin-Jin @ Sep 30 2017, 04:55 PM)
Anyone here own an OLED TV?
Is the LG's OLED TV worth buying for the PS4 Pro?
QUOTE(Shin-Jin @ Oct 3 2017, 10:53 AM)
Don't think the C7 is considered a flagship model but it has gotten a lot of good reviews and definitely the cheapest one I can find currently.
Got a friend playing his PS4 Pro on LG B7; I tried HZD, and GT Sport Beta ... the HDR (Dolby Vision & HDR10 both supported) effect quite nice. The colour, plasma like, black is really black, white is white.
If got money, go for it, heheh.
Or wait till LG Nanocell TVs are here? Supposedly better for gaming (low input lag, etc.) even tho colour not as nice as OLED.
For me, if can find a LG C6 old stock with discount, I might be tempted ... (I still wish to watch 3D on 4K curved screen)

QUOTE(MonsterJ9 @ Oct 2 2017, 12:05 AM)
Found the problem.
The problem with amplifier hdmi port.
Now connected with optical cable and sound is good and dolby digital.
Hdmi or optical better?
Optical max is 5.1 only lor ... if your amp only supported Dolby AC3 and DTS, and only 5.1 speakers, then optical is good enuf ... sound quality shouldn't be different from HDMI.
Otherwise, 7.1 or more, need HDMI.
r2t2
post Oct 21 2017, 09:17 AM

155 posts

Eh? You mean swap your current 500GB or 1TB HDD to 2TB 2.5" 9mm HDD? Just swap it oh. Straightforward. Format/Initialize. Restore if you've backup to another middleman hdd.

Most who bought PS4 first or 2nd year (2013 & 2014) would've changed hdd to 2TB already, before the firmware update that allows external hdd; game & update sizes are too big, too many PS+ Plus games, etc. ...
r2t2
post Oct 22 2017, 12:41 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 21 2017, 07:36 PM)
At most only 2tb? Can fit 4tb? laugh.gif
If got 9mm or less in height 2.5" 4TB or 6TB HDD, sure ... they've tested modding and connected with 6TB HDD, which works. Don't know what's the maximum supported size, haven't googled.
9mm coz got a bit of space for more airflow, maybe ... 12mm, it'll be quite tight to slot in the PS4 HDD slot. Mine is PS4 base tho, not sure about PS4 Pro and PS4 Slim.
r2t2
post Oct 22 2017, 12:11 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 22 2017, 10:02 AM)
Noted bro. Thanks

If not too much to ask, any idea where to get games at reasonable price ? Am looking at the soon to be launched NFS  . Some shop quoted 259 but from PSN only 219. Is it physical disc more expensive ?
Usually, coz of distribution, shipping, handling, etc., but sometimes digital version also same price as physical version.

Reasonable price ... maybe other forumers can answer this better ... afaik, Lazada/11street/etc. can be cheaper due to some voucher codes if you can get them.
If you pre-order from the usual sellers e.g. Maxlink, Impulse, HeavyArm, GH, etc., then you'll save on postage lor.
r2t2
post Oct 31 2017, 03:39 PM

155 posts

Some already mentioned earlier .... change your Telekom DNS to Google DNS ... most probably that's the cause.
r2t2
post Oct 31 2017, 08:53 PM

155 posts

Not sure ... some changes that doesn't fit with Telekom's DNS setting or something? dunno oo ...
r2t2
post Nov 1 2017, 11:34 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Nov 1 2017, 08:46 AM)
go router page to change right
Either change at router modem, or manual network setting on PS4.

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Nov 1 2017, 12:28 AM)
any suggestion for external HDD for ps4 slim?
Game Drive for PS4™
Overprice a bit maybe, but let us know the performance. biggrin.gif

Jk ... got many other choices, if external.

QUOTE(Sahibus Samahah @ Nov 1 2017, 09:36 AM)
Guys, game like Tropico 5 cant find at local shop and ps store, any other way to buy ?
Too bad, it was free on PS Plus US previously...should be free on PS Plus Asia also.
Why can't find on MY PSN Store?
https://store.playstation.com/#!/en-my/...SIA000000000000
Anyway, it's RM179.
r2t2
post Nov 4 2017, 11:15 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(playxboxwii @ Nov 4 2017, 07:43 PM)
Is there any big difference between seagate hdd ps4 and other hdd brand? Like wd passport
biggrin.gif We don't know why it's priced higher ... more expensive just because of PS4 branding? ... those who bought it, let us know if got any difference in performance tongue.gif

Hard to find a 2.5" portable hdd with 7200rpm ... mostly 5400rpm maybe due to lack of stable power from USB only (not sure, just speculating) ... even WD Passport Ultra official site didn't say the platter speed.
Anyone who found 7,200rpm 2.5" hdd, can post and inform us here lor ... (no need to mention SSD coz size too small for console games). Maybe buy a 2.5" hybrid hdd such as Seagate Firecuda, and put in external casing?
https://www.seagate.com/as/en/internal-hard...s/hdd/firecuda/

If not moving your external hdd often, then 3.5" 7200rpm external hdd with power adaptor generally would be cheaper.
r2t2
post Nov 5 2017, 03:01 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 5 2017, 03:09 AM)
I'm willing to bet full price for that external "PS4" seagate HDD to just be a standard 5400rpm HDD.

For me, I'm basically running a 512GB SSD on the PS4 Pro + 3TB external HDD. Only frequently played games I'll put on the SSD, everything else move to the external drive.

You can basically just get the cheapest second hand 512GB SSD you can find, doesn't matter what NAND it uses either because the PS4/PS4 Pro has no way to leverage the full speed of the slowest SSD on the market.
Most probably is ... else they would've advertised and emphasized the 7200rpm speed.

512GB SSD internally plus a bigger standard external hdd ... I guess that's the best compromise for better performance vs size ...
the only thing keeping me back from following what you've done, is the thought of 2TB 2.5" SSHD for around RM600 vs the cheapest new 512GB SSD for around RM700.

I think I'll do that for next gen console, or if I get a PS4 Pro, heheh.
r2t2
post Nov 5 2017, 07:41 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 5 2017, 06:44 PM)
I got a Transcend 370s 512gb second hand for RM550 late last year. It's really not that difficult to find one.

Yes the next best thing is the 2TB firecuda. But understand that if you switch between more than 1 game, its performance really isn't that much faster than a 7200RPM 1TB drive. The 8GB NAND in it is simply too small.
Wokay, will keep that in mind.

8GB NAND in Seagate Firecuda, ya, knew about that limitation ... if buy also, will only expect better performance when frequently loading save games after "YOU'VE DIED" (looking at Bloodborne) laugh.gif
r2t2
post Nov 16 2017, 11:44 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(capix @ Nov 16 2017, 06:59 AM)
Hi...plan to buy ps4 real soon...500gb enough? Or 1 tera?

Pro n normal graphic not big different if we use normal HD ltv right
500GB not enuf for long term ... especially if you'll get PS Plus next time, you'll be trying out the 'free' games.
1TB also not enuf ... 2TB still ok.

Like SSJBen suggested, for better performance, get a 500GB SSD for internal, and a 2TB/3TB for external (less played games).

Price difference in Pro and Base unit, not that much eh ... around RM300/400? Worth getting Pro, if you're more than a casual player. Not only for 4K TV, the double GPU power will smoothen the game performance. And if you decide to get PSVR in the near future, PS4 Pro is almost a must.
r2t2
post Dec 1 2017, 06:13 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(hellfye @ Nov 30 2017, 08:52 AM)
Morning. I bought a PS4 2 days ago but due to work commitment, i think i can only set it up tonight.

So any advise for a newbie? Haven't played games in a long time. My last console was a PS3.
In addition to BobThe Builder's points,

- try all the free demos that interested you. Some Free 2 Play games are quite alright as well.

- if you think you'll buy games but will only play it once in a while becoz busy, and doesn't really matter what games to play (as long as got games), then maybe better to subscribe to PS Plus (Malaysia/Asia or US); which will cost around RM120 or RM160 only per year but you'll get at least 2 PS4 digital games per month. The 'free' games will be playable as long as your subscription is active. Plus, you'll be able to access online multiplayer with PS4, for most games that requires it.

- physical games (disc) vs digital games ... the former, you can trade in or sell off once you finished the game; the latter, more convenient, no need to change disc, but can't lend to friends. 2nd hand physical games can be cheap from various sources e.g. LYN Garage Sales, while digital games normally can get up to 70% discount during sales, or look out for Humble-Bundle charity packages.

- create more than one PSN account; some digital games are not available on Malaysia PSN.

- after a while, if you get bored with even AAA PS4 games becoz pretty games don't interested you anymore, try PSVR ... considered a new gaming experience (if can withstand the nausea).

- personal practice, I tend to put my PS4 in rest mode after I wanna stop playing, rather than shutdown the PS4; 2 benefits, the fan will keep spinning until the temperature is lower (for me, I like to think that the hot air will be gone for longer electronic lifespan), and in standby mode, with PS Plus, any game updates will be downloaded in the background. When I go to work, then only I'll shutdown the PS4.
r2t2
post Dec 1 2017, 07:16 PM

155 posts

Google Search

Not sure, but you can try pulling out the hardisk, and reinsert it back again, see how.

If not working, then maybe try to go into safe mode and rebuild database.

"Once the PlayStation 4 is off, press and hold the power button. Release it after you've heard two beeps: one when you initially press, and another 7 seconds later. Connect the DualShock 4 controller with the provided USB cable and press the PS button on the controller. Rebuild Database."
r2t2
post Dec 4 2017, 12:37 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(hellfye @ Dec 3 2017, 06:24 PM)
Ok when we bought the Pro. The guy selling told me to make an asian PSN account for warranty reason. On my PS3, I mainly used US account using some US address. So to add another PSN account, do I create a new user? I will get a PS Plus due to the fact sometime I play online, depending on workload.

Got it. Same idea goes as when I had my PS3. Any differences with digital games for PS4? Snooping around garage sales, I saw tier 1 and tier 2. What are those?

Again. How? Create 2 users? Do I need 2 seperate PS Plus subscription, as currently Im on a Malaysian PSN account.

Add another PSN account, ya, considered create a new profile/user. Some local multiplayer games e.g. Diablo III even require 2 profiles if adding another player/Dualshock4.
Only need one active PS Plus subscription, doesn't matter which region, then all other PSN account/profile/user on your PS4 can play multiplayer. Just activate all accounts as primary on your PS4.

The Tier 1 and 2 game sharing digital ... that I never try ... don't intend to. Not much difference for PS3 and PS4 digitals ... except maybe PS4 games nowadays got quite frequent updates, DLC (paid or free), and season pass (packs of DLCs) ... then, after 1 year or so, those games with DLCs might be re-released as Game of the Year Edition (with all DLCs included, at same price) or something like that. Physical games also similar.
r2t2
post Dec 19 2017, 07:37 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(sebastianchan @ Dec 19 2017, 05:10 PM)
Hi all, Would like to ask if anyone bought the game Overcooked?
I am unable to redeem the code for extra DLC stages.
Does anyone have any solution for this?

Also I do not understand what is R1, R2 and R3?

Sorry, new PS4 Pro owner.
Most Playstation gamers know the regions ...

After googling, I think it actually might follow the BD/DVD Region Codes.

Region code Country/Area
0 Informal term meaning "playable in all regions". Region 0 discs will play on any DVD player.
1 Bermuda, Canada, United States and U.S. territories
2 The Middle East, Western Europe, Central Europe, Egypt, French overseas territories, Greenland, Japan, Lesotho, South Africa and Swaziland
3 Southeast Asia, Hong Kong, Macau, South Korea and Taiwan
4 Australasia, Central America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Oceania, South America
5 The rest of Africa, Former Soviet Union, the Indian subcontinent, Mongolia, North Korea
6 Mainland China
8 International venues such as aircraft, cruise ships, etc.

http://www.world-import.com/world_region_code_map.htm
https://community.playstation.com/content/p...codes-QJvH.html

Anyway, to answer why you couldn't redeem the game DLC code, most probably the game is different region from your PSN account region.
So, just create a PSN account according to that game's region, go to its PSN Store, redeem the code, download if needed. Then go back to your main PSN account, the DLCs should be there too.
r2t2
post Dec 22 2017, 10:17 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Dec 22 2017, 08:07 AM)
Hi guys!

New PS4 owner here! I got a noob question to ask. My PSN ID is currently registered under the US region. This was done back in the days (PSP or was it PS3 era) when it is more beneficial to do so due to US region getting more goodies from the PSN store. The question is, will it be possible for me to change region now say to the Asia region?

Thanks in advance.
Sorry to say, nope.

Easier / Have to create new Asia PSN ID.

If it's a matter of bringing over your trophies, achievements ... someone online says maybe able to edit, but at the risk of Sony banning your PSN ID, so not worth it, I think.

If it's a matter of playing your US PSN ID's purchased games, your new Asia ID also can play those purchased games; just activate as Primary PS4 in all your PSN IDs.
r2t2
post Dec 23 2017, 12:28 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Dec 22 2017, 11:30 AM)
Nah, I'm not the type of player who is concerned with trophies. My main concern is that I will most likely have to pay more for PSN+ subscription if I were to stay on the US region compare to if I were to switch to the Asia region.
In that case, a new Asia or MY PSN will do, if nothing holding you back. You still can maintain and keep your US PSN (without PS+), just maybe to try demos or free games not available in Asia PSN Store.
r2t2
post Dec 25 2017, 01:15 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(lemonhihi @ Dec 23 2017, 10:44 PM)
Sifu, wanted to buy a ps4.. but got no internet at home. Impossible for me to topup my prepaid digi to update the games.. Anyone using any broadband with unlimited data currently? Can recommend me ?
Digi Infinite 150 plan ... unlimited data for RM150++ per month, if Digi signal is strong at your home.
Maxis also got, but expensive coz need to subscribe to the Maxis Home Fiber plan as well.
Celcom ... unlimited? Dunno ...
UniFi mobile (previously known as Webe) ... don't have unlimited hotspot, which PS4 needs.

Who else got other suggestions?
r2t2
post Jan 1 2018, 07:48 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ Jan 1 2018, 11:09 AM)
Which version of PS4 pro in Malaysia still has old firmware installed? less than 4.05 to be exact.
tongue.gif
Aiya ... play original lah ...

0.0888sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:59 PM