125 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

PlayStation 3 Community V2, Firmware 1.81 OUT NOW!

rx330
post Mar 21 2007, 10:18 AM

11,808 posts

ah boey, u mau ke tak mau?

ah jiau, dl simi game?
Ninja
post Mar 21 2007, 11:17 AM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

More 1.60 Update Details

In addition to Remote Play support for 20GB models, an on-screen QWERTY keyboard and a zoom function for the web browser, the ability to run Folding@Home and basic background downloading, there will be a handful of other features included.

A disc auto-start option will allow users to choose whether they want their PS3 to automatically play a disc when it's inserted or the machine is turned on. Support for rewriteable Blu-ray discs has been added, as well as the ability to use Bluetooth keyboards and mice.

Most of all though, the US press release shed more details on the all-important background downloading feature for the PlayStation Store. Users will be able to queue up to six downloads at one time, which coincidentally matches the Xbox 360's maximum queue. Progress of these downloads can be followed under a new Download Management section that will reside under the Cross Media Bar's Network icon. You will be able to watch video, view images, listen to music and browse the web at the same time.

UPDATE: We've received word from Sony that you will indeed be able to play games while downloading content in the background. Similar to how downloads on the Xbox 360 works, you'll be able to play games offline while downloads work in the background, and if you hop online your queue will simply pause until you disconnect.

Source: IGN.com

QUOTE(Ninja @ Mar 20 2007, 10:46 AM)
Firmware 1.60 Update this Thursday (22nd March 2006)

Sony of Japan dropped a press release yesterday regarding the upcoming PS3 Firmware Update v1.60. The new firmware will be released on March 22, 2007. The press release mentions it'll be released in the afternoon. So, I guess we will get the update the same time in the afternoon, coz you know as always, Japan will get the update first. biggrin.gif

Details of the firmware update are as follows:

Folding @Home: Now you can participate in the worldwide distributed computing protein folding experiments from Standford University, in hopes to further understand human genetics. You can access the Folding @Home application under Network on the XMB

Internet Browser Pinpoint Zoom and Resolution Settings: You can now choose to zoom into a portion of a website if you have a huge display and can't read things, or you can set the browser resolution to a different size so everything can be viewed easier

Full size on-screen keyboard: Makes it easier to type messages and web addresses with the controller

Remote Play via Wireless Access Point: People with a 20GB PS3 can now utilize the Remote Play feature with a PSP by using any wireless access point. (No official word if you will be able to use the PSP to access your PS3 at home from anywhere, maybe in a future update)

Background Downloading from the PlayStation Store: This one is cool. It'll make a big difference when downloading things on the PS3. No longer do you have to sit and wait at the download screen forever. No official word if you can queue up downloads, or if you can load games from disc while downloading.

Source: http://www.jp.playstation.com/info/release...19_ps3_160.html

More screenshots of Folding@Home:

rx330
post Mar 21 2007, 11:52 AM

11,808 posts

so wat time can i get tis? tonite12 am?
Ninja
post Mar 21 2007, 11:56 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 21 2007, 11:52 AM)
so wat time can i get tis? tonite12 am?
Tomorrow afternoon tongue.gif Sony will release this update for Japan first, then only the rest of the world.
rx330
post Mar 21 2007, 12:03 PM

11,808 posts

im using an SG set, so can i dl it from jp site? or get it from Hk site better?
Gahleon
post Mar 21 2007, 12:08 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 21 2007, 12:03 PM)
Upate file have no region IIRC,i always dl the Japan update file for update my Asia(HK) PSP.
Not sure if that was the same case with PS3 then.
So far the only way i update my PS3 is the one which come with game.(don't have a router)Must get 1.60 also.

This post has been edited by Gahleon: Mar 21 2007, 12:09 PM
rx330
post Mar 21 2007, 12:11 PM

11,808 posts

mine 1.54 was taken of HK website, i think 1.60 is a must for a lot of users
Ninja
post Mar 21 2007, 12:13 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 21 2007, 12:03 PM)
If you're updating automatically from PS3, it will download the update files specifically to your PS3 region. If you want to update manually (download update file from website, and use external device to transfer/update your PS3), I suggest you download it from HK/SG website.

At the moment, we're not quite sure whether the firmware update files is the same for different region. Unlike PSP. laugh.gif
rx330
post Mar 21 2007, 12:19 PM

11,808 posts

i prefer to go manually , safer, faster, more relaible biggrin.gif

tommorow, the traffic sure kaw kaw one, lucky europe only get their sets the day after, dunno is theirs version 1.6 liao or not?
Ninja
post Mar 21 2007, 01:39 PM

1,764 posts

Yeah, thats why they release it one day earlier than PS3 Europe release. Thank god they finally add the 'background downloading', with the rest of the world population finally get their PS3.

Last time when I first bought my PS3, it was already pre-installed with 1.3 firmware update. I'm guessing European will have their PS3 pre-installed with 1.6 firmware also. hmm.gif
mikelee
post Mar 21 2007, 02:23 PM

1,419 posts

Sorry to interrupt guys, but I want to ask whether PS3 is able to upscale DVD movies?
acougan
post Mar 21 2007, 02:34 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Mar 21 2007, 02:23 PM)
Sorry to interrupt guys, but I want to ask whether PS3 is able to upscale DVD movies?
at this moment, NO. but they'll keep adding features and say it might come in a future firmware smile.gif
rx330
post Mar 21 2007, 04:16 PM

11,808 posts

yeap, hopefully it does upscaling biggrin.gif
kiathoong
post Mar 21 2007, 05:03 PM

545 posts

hey guyz how long i could on my ps3?
the women from marioshop said not to on too long.. and i dont want my ps3 burn easily.. lolz..
and have you guyz try to update the firmware?
is it very risky?aikz
and who can fix our ps3?
lolz

This post has been edited by kiathoong: Mar 21 2007, 05:03 PM
rx330
post Mar 21 2007, 05:37 PM

11,808 posts

kiathoong, prepare to update tomorrows 1.60 FW

wen ur PS3 burn, u will know who can fix it biggrin.gif
Gahleon
post Mar 21 2007, 05:45 PM

230 posts

I haven't play more then 3 hours so far,unless there is one good RPG come out heh.The only game i have now are Genji and Gundam Musou.
But how if dl stuff slow and must wait like 8 to 10 hours?
Can resume the dl like those resume program on PC?

This post has been edited by Gahleon: Mar 21 2007, 05:45 PM
kiathoong
post Mar 21 2007, 05:50 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 21 2007, 05:37 PM)
kiathoong, prepare to update tomorrows 1.60 FW

wen ur PS3 burn, u will know who can fix it biggrin.gif
gosh tell me who!
hahahah so i just wait tomorrow ya.. drool.gif what time?!how ?thanks

Ninja
post Mar 21 2007, 05:52 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Mar 21 2007, 05:45 PM)
I haven't play more then 3 hours so far,unless there is one good RPG come out heh.The only game i have now are Genji and Gundam Musou.
But how if dl stuff slow and must wait like 8 to 10 hours?
Can resume the dl like those resume program on PC?
Tomorrow's firmware update will include 'background downloading' feature. So, I assume that includes 'download resume' also, hopefully.
rx330
post Mar 21 2007, 06:09 PM

11,808 posts

wen its burn, u will know lah, now i also dunno who can repair
botakai
post Mar 21 2007, 06:24 PM

43 posts

hey can a psp works as a controller not a remote player?
the remote player also cannot launch game 1... only open web browerser...

125 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0140sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:56 AM