Sleep Study At Government Hospital, price?

TSKathrynpeterson94
post Apr 18 2017, 10:43 PM, updated 9y ago

47 posts

So my doctor just got me, an appointment at the government hospital for sleep study to confirm if I have Obstructive Sleep Apnea and the cause of my high blood pressure. I'm curious about the charges though. The doctor said it will be less than RM 100.Is it true? Any help will be appreciated.Thanks in advance
MiLKTea
post Apr 18 2017, 11:06 PM

942 posts

your doctor told you that your hbp is because of your sleep disorder?
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 18 2017, 11:18 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Kathrynpeterson94 @ Apr 18 2017, 10:43 PM)
So my doctor just got me, an appointment at the government hospital for sleep study to confirm if I have Obstructive Sleep Apnea and the cause of my high blood pressure. I'm curious about the charges though. The doctor said it will be less than RM 100.Is it true? Any help will be appreciated.Thanks in advance
i think they gonna give u a machine to wear and record your breathing and voice/noise.
tbh it doesnt even worth so much, they charge high because its still rather not many places doing it.
i cant remember how much i paid last 1-2 years ago for that test..iinm around rm200-rm300

but kinda weird if apnea cause high blood pressure.
might be affect a little? assuming doc claim ur body cant get enough of sleep and ur body is 'distress' due to that.
but usually apnea are not the main cause of high blood pressure.

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Apr 18 2017, 11:20 PM
TSKathrynpeterson94
post Apr 18 2017, 11:25 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Apr 18 2017, 11:06 PM)
your doctor told you that your hbp is because of your sleep disorder?
Yes. He said its whether my high blood pressure is causing my sleeping disorder or the other way around.
TSKathrynpeterson94
post Apr 18 2017, 11:28 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 18 2017, 11:18 PM)
i think they gonna give u a machine to wear and record your breathing and voice/noise.
tbh it doesnt even worth so much, they charge high because its still rather not many places doing it.
i cant remember how much i paid last 1-2 years ago for that test..iinm around rm200-rm300

might be affect a little? assuming doc claim ur body cant get enough of sleep and ur body is 'distress' due to that.
Did you do the test at a government hospital or private hospital?

I'm not sure about that. He said according to all the test that I did for over a year, everything is fine but my high blood pressure is still high. I told him about my breathing problem that is causing me to wake up then he suspects that I might have OSA.
MiLKTea
post Apr 19 2017, 01:31 AM

942 posts

QUOTE(Kathrynpeterson94 @ Apr 18 2017, 11:25 PM)
Yes. He said its whether my high blood pressure is causing my sleeping disorder or the other way around.
QUOTE(Kathrynpeterson94 @ Apr 18 2017, 11:28 PM)

I'm not sure about that. He said according to all the test that I did for over a year, everything is fine but my high blood pressure is still high. I told him about my breathing problem that is causing me to wake up then he suspects that I might have OSA.
did you check your kidney function?

kidney problem may not cause sleeping disorder...
however kidney failure may cause high blood pressure and vice versa...

but if your kidney function is fine then please ignore my replies...

This post has been edited by MiLKTea: Apr 19 2017, 01:33 AM
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 19 2017, 09:37 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Kathrynpeterson94 @ Apr 18 2017, 11:28 PM)

Did it at private clinic. the clinic is at Bangsar South.

IReallyNeed Answers
post Apr 20 2017, 11:14 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(Kathrynpeterson94 @ Apr 18 2017, 10:43 PM)
Where you located?

Price should be arnd 2-400 la.

100 too cheap Liao.

TSKathrynpeterson94
post Apr 27 2017, 03:52 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Apr 20 2017, 11:14 AM)
Where you located?

100 too cheap Liao.
I was referred to government hospital.

I know that its highly expensive if I go to a private clinic.
IReallyNeed Answers
post Apr 27 2017, 11:42 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(Kathrynpeterson94 @ Apr 27 2017, 03:52 PM)

Hope all work out fine for you👍🏼
max_cjs0101
post Apr 28 2017, 04:37 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Kathrynpeterson94 @ Apr 27 2017, 03:52 PM)

You can try UMSC. They do sleep studies there and i think they should be cheaper than normal rates.
Babba
post Mar 18 2018, 08:34 AM

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 18 2017, 11:18 PM)

A third out of the people with sleep apnea have high blood pressure and research has shown a strong corelation. It is also very strongly related to problems of the brain and heart especially but generally effects the whole body. Brain and heart affected more because they are more sensitive to drop in oxygen when you have apnea.
The damage is slow and steady if you do not seek treatment for sleep apnea - something like diabetes which also has no effect on you if not treated but one fine day 10-15 years later you are going blind, kidneys need dialysis, foot needs to be cut etc
Babba
post Mar 18 2018, 08:42 AM

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Apr 20 2017, 11:14 AM)
Where you located?

100 too cheap Liao.
There are two types of sleep studies:
1) Full attended sleep study - you go to hospital at night and sleep overnight and next morning on waking up can go home/work straight away. Cost < 100 in government hospital but in private can be anywhere from 1000 - 3000.
2) Partial sleep study - done at your home. Information obtained is not complete but good enough to know if you have sleep apnea or not but deficient in a number of aspects depending on the type of partial study done. Costs 250-350. Mostly done by private set-ups ( hospitals or companies dealing with CPAPs). They hardly do partial sleep study in government hospitals.

0.0171sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:42 PM