Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V18, 5% with M2 Amex on ALL WEEKEND spend

ZeroSOFInfinity
post Apr 19 2017, 10:57 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(jay2you @ Apr 19 2017, 10:43 AM)
Is't harder to apply Maybank 2 Platinum Card for first time CC holder although I meet basic requirement? Or have to go through Maybank 2 Gold Card first?

* Got reject for the application of Maybank 2 Platinum Card.  dry.gif
QUOTE(laymank @ Apr 19 2017, 10:52 AM)
the banks always look up your other commitments, i.e. loans repayments , to see your payment behaviour in order to judge your reliability to qualify for credit card.

If you don't have commitment, probably can try with the easiest card with the least income requirement, then build your credit history from there.
but no harm trying with gold card, too.
I also tried to apply for a Platinum one, but got rejected without any reason. Possibly as what laymank said above....

But I also learned from IMoney that Maybank has one of the toughest (and even lowest) CC approval.... this is why they are not promoting them anymore now. Is that true?
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Apr 19 2017, 01:41 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Apr 19 2017, 01:39 PM)
if you have a good payment record and CCRIS rating is good, every bank welcomes you.
My CTOS is around 550-600 at the moment. Shouldn't be a problem... right.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Apr 19 2017, 02:51 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Apr 19 2017, 02:08 PM)
550-600 is pretty below Average, no? Mine is 750+
I thought 700 is the max?
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Apr 19 2017, 04:41 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(hlng08 @ Apr 19 2017, 02:53 PM)
i think is below average

[attachmentid=8745651]
Ah I was wrong then. I recheck the report and it's in the 697 onwards range.

This post has been edited by ZeroSOFInfinity: Apr 19 2017, 04:42 PM
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Jun 27 2017, 03:15 PM

3,703 posts

Guys, what must I do just to get a CC with Maybank? I tried applying twice but got rejected.... looks like the reason for the rejection is because I over commitment in CTOS..? But I got CC easily from PBB.....

Maybe opening a new acccount with Maybank and put in a significant sum to "convince" them that I have enough money to pay?
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Jun 27 2017, 04:52 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 27 2017, 04:32 PM)
Most airlines online payment gateway is in the US, so they all follow US time zone. This also applies to Malaysia Airlines, Singapore Airlines, Japan Airlines, EVA Air etc online booking. If you want to book a Malaysia Airlines ticket online on a Saturday with your MBB2 AMEX and get 5% cash back, always buy your ticket after 2pm on Saturday Malaysian time. But to be absolutely safe, buy it after 6pm on Saturday.
Tell them you want to apply for a credit card by pledging fixed deposit. You can't withdraw the fixed deposit as long as your credit card is active. This is what we call a secured credit card by fixed deposit.
Pledging an FD? Like a guarantee? This looks interesting... is there a time limit for that? I mean like after a year you can withdraw your FD and remain using the card? And will the FD get interest?
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Jun 27 2017, 05:15 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 27 2017, 04:55 PM)
Pledging FD is a guarantee basically bank is not offering you any limit. Well, once you uplift, your card will be cancelled too. So, in a way you will need to keep the FD for your card to stay active.
Yes, you will earn interest based on board rate.
Any benefit using that AmEx?
Ah I see. That would help very much. Thanks.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Jun 28 2017, 11:27 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jun 28 2017, 05:24 AM)
Better calculate properly whether FD is worth it. You're tying up (let's say) 30k of your money with the bank in order to get a credit card which max cashback is RM50x12 per year if fully utilize (ignore TP for easier calculation). RM600 total.

The difference between interest rate for the FD you're tying up (board rate) and promotional FD rates may be about 1+%. At 1%, that means it 'costs' you 300 ringgit per year in lost interest. Not to mention the lack of flexibility because you tie up your liquidity there.

Effectively you're halving your cashback in the best case scenario (fully utilize RM1000 on the dot every month). Once you count it as 2.5% cashback not so attractive anymore. Can still be worth it, especially if you're targeting categories that no other card can give cashback, but definitely needs thinking.
Actually, after knowing that I can use a FD to "gain" a credit card, I am looking for one which would maximize my cashback, or earn lots of points for redemption purposes. It seems that CIMB Cashback, Wise by Hong Leong and HSBC Platinum fits my criteria, and Maybank 2 cards looks very unattractive now.

Besides, I need to put some cash in FD for about 5 years, so the liquidity is not a problem for the moment.

0.0204sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:44 PM