Would you, or are you spending more than 60% of your net income for home loan, and why?
How much would your ideal % of income be tucked away for home loan?

Would you spend over 60% of your income?, For home loan
Apr 12 2017, 08:22 PM, updated 9y ago
4,546 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Selangor / Sarawak / New York |
As per title, just for the purpose of discussion.
Would you, or are you spending more than 60% of your net income for home loan, and why? How much would your ideal % of income be tucked away for home loan? ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Apr 12 2017, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(8sg9ft @ Apr 12 2017, 08:26 PM) Anything above 50% of nett income just for loan repayments, for me that's living close to the edge already. QUOTE(heavensea @ Apr 12 2017, 08:38 PM) But for starters, generally the millenials are having tough time, tend to fall into the 60+% bracket.Salary will go up in time, maybe suffer for 2 years, then as salary goes up, things will be better? This post has been edited by Michaelbyz23: Apr 12 2017, 08:52 PM |
Apr 12 2017, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(Nikmon @ Apr 12 2017, 08:44 PM) firstly, your question is wrong and not making any sense, please this close this thread and google DSR.... Mind further your explanation? My question was simple and simply for discussion purpose, on whether will you be willing to spend 60% of net income for home loan. Do I need to close my topic as per ordered by you, simply because I posted a discussion thread? Please advise me, sifu If it's wrong, or offensive, I apologize, you are free to hit the report button as well. |
Apr 12 2017, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(Kicimiao66cc @ Apr 12 2017, 09:02 PM) Haha, you must be earning 20k to qualify for that! QUOTE(FuNks @ Apr 12 2017, 09:06 PM) Another top earner! Haha.. But I cant imagine that, surely very love and clingy to your job. QUOTE(selinix @ Apr 12 2017, 09:10 PM) Depends on the total net income, haha. Bank got their bracket I think, if above 20k can loan up to 90%.QUOTE(Nikmon @ Apr 12 2017, 09:18 PM) if you want to gauge how many rich and poor pp in this forum, than your poll's question is make sense. True, Thanks sifu for clarifying. I should have asked more specifically. To qualify for 60% and above, I think net income need to be at least 5k and above.. correct me if I am wrong.60% is affordable for high income but not low income. QUOTE(-/00\- @ Apr 12 2017, 09:22 PM) i believe in work hard now relax later.. first few year is abit harder but at least at later age we can relax more.. if we dint give a go now with high commitments, then few years later our life will be more difficult.. I totally agree on this. Too relax-ed when you are young, sure tough life awaits when you grow older, when you have more commitments creeping in. Wife, kids, insurance, parents, etc. |
Apr 12 2017, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(intoxicat @ Apr 12 2017, 09:28 PM) This is a very subjective question, if your annual income is like Lim Kok Thay, then you can well afford to spend more than 60% of your income on a home loan, as the balance income (after minus the home loan) is still tens of millions, and a small fraction of this is sufficient for you to sustain your living expenses. But my friends and I myself, managed to secure up to 70% of loan to our net income. It is kind of odd, I am kind of worried too whether should go for it or not. Apparently banks are still approving loan installment of 60-70% of income.On the other hand, if you income is 2k a month, if you pay 60% for home loan, the balance income is hardly sufficient to sustain a living. In any event, please note that Bank Negara only allows around 30%-40% of one's income for payment of home loan, so even if you wish to use 60% of your income to pay your home loan, no bank will agree to this. QUOTE(heavensea @ Apr 12 2017, 09:39 PM) imno, You are right, even the most stable job also can crumble down. Everything comes with a risk. What about you? Do you put 50% and less of your net income into housing loan?everyone have to anticipate adverse future such as retrenchment, losing ability to work (touch wood) and etc. don't say 60%, 50% also considered risky as putting own-self in the edge of cliff already; especially in current malai bole land economy/market which is bleak like Death Metal music. |
Apr 12 2017, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(David_77 @ Apr 12 2017, 09:48 PM) QUOTE(Tankimher @ Apr 12 2017, 09:50 PM) You'll be surprised.. my banker told me he dealt with many 20+ years old kids.. but buy 800k house... FAMA got alot of FD .. Got some case they actually put in 70-80% or more of the loan amount into flexi account, and pay monthly instalment just ngam ngam 3 years to escape from lock in periodThis post has been edited by Michaelbyz23: Apr 12 2017, 09:54 PM |
Apr 12 2017, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(IVL @ Apr 12 2017, 10:04 PM) My house is 36% and car is 14% of my nett income (both acquire this year) Young and single, but also dont dare to press the pedal too hard Good job bro, Nowadays not easy to press below 50% considering the fact that salary has been stagnating and house prices go up like crazy. |
Apr 12 2017, 10:09 PM
Apr 12 2017, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(IVL @ Apr 12 2017, 10:45 PM) Yeah salary stagnating +1 Yea, still manageable. Still got roughly 2.5 years ahead before paying full amount right? I opt for 100% full installment payment straight away. Sakit..Lucky for me paying 11% (progressive int.) only out of the 36% at the monent. QUOTE(akemwarhead @ Apr 12 2017, 10:49 PM) Spent on mortgage? |
Apr 12 2017, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Apr 12 2017, 11:19 PM) Very simple question but yet, has stir up quite some contrasting views and opinions. For me, yes, technically on paper, I’ve more than 70% of my nett employment income for home loan. But at the same time, from this 60% that goes to home loan, I do get back a fair amount of money from the rental generated. The 60% is also spread out among few home loans (few properties). Thank you very much Sifu for your words of encouragement and constructive comment. If I were to consider rental income as part of my total income, then the figure drops to about 50%. Why am I leveraging so much? Isn’t 70% dangerous one might ask? Well, I would still consider myself young (early 30’s) and about to start a family. Rather take the risk (meticulously calculated risk), and hopefully make it big through properties than regretting later in life. So far, things are good. My only worry moving forward is not about having insufficient properties, but rather not being able to further increase this DSR figure of mine which is currently at the 70% level. I have not done the detailed calculations yet, but with a 20% pay rise, I am hoping that I can further push this 70%++ figure to 80%. Noticed that another forummer commented on this thread and told you to close the thread as the topic is irrelevant. The DSR can also be googled up easily. Not sure what is his/her level of involvement or experience in property investment but it pretty much shows that he doesn’t have it both. For seasoned investor who have an impressive portfolio (and also very deep pockets), DSR can go easily cross 60% and way more than that. I’ve known of individuals who have breached the 100% mark. Imagine an individual having a nett worth of RM20mil (properties, securities, cash), borrowing a RM3mil home loan but with a monthly repayment that will clock his/her DSR at 100%. With the right and relevant supporting documents, chances of the home loan getting approved is very high. Of course, this policy differs from bank to bank. Each financial institution have their own risk appetite and evaluate opportunities differently. Anyway, good luck in your investment journey! Really exciting journey ahead awaits, lots of homeworks need to be done, and assess on risks as well. I've decided to put 60% of net income into mortgage, I'd rather take the calculated risk, than regret later too. |
Apr 12 2017, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(akemwarhead @ Apr 12 2017, 11:00 PM) Im so sad when I read this post, people can ask whether spend 60% of their income on property, with my income right now, i dont even have the allocation for it. Need to find better job and side income. Don't worry, you will find you way there one day bro. Abit of luck and hard work, keep finding! For TS question, if you could afford it, why not, it's a good investment. |
Apr 13 2017, 09:16 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Apr 13 2017, 12:29 AM) U will be assessed under net worth category Yea. But my banker friend also said nowadays FD means nothing..They will not take it into consideration when approving loan, cuz you can run anytime with FD. Unless you put big downpayment?Probably the bank will need tou to pledge fd against the housing loan. |
Apr 13 2017, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 13 2017, 09:32 AM) Bank could tell borrower to pledge FD as collateral. I see. Btw just wondering, when they say 6 months of living expenses savings, they mean 6 months of savings equivalent to 6 months of income right?According to bnm, only about 6% of people have saving to support over 6 months of living expenses mean only a minority have substantial FD. QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Apr 13 2017, 09:33 AM) used to be 60% two years ago.... now already gone way below that.... so its either you improve your income or you dont get one.... especially nowadays millennial salary vs house price... Yea, imagine the way forward, salary will stagnant, and price of houses go way up. 10 years ago, and today, the basic salary hasnt really changed much. |
Apr 13 2017, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 13 2017, 11:13 AM) Uptown punya boss sudah spoken. Now no dare to flip flip.. buy for own stay Problem is people always buy into hype believing it's a good investment while they themselves did not take the effort to study the idea of the project or etc. Later when VP time kenot flip, then emo Liao. Cash flow stuck on a stagnant piece of property. Time to earn more. QUOTE(Rinth @ Apr 13 2017, 11:17 AM) For me currently was 12% house loan & 14% car loan. However recently bought new launched property which would wiped out additional 44% of my net salary. However consider that the property will only complete in 3-4years time hope my salary can cope up to reduce the ratio. And currently rental income was 11% of nett income. Very well managed, keeping monthly commitment way below 40%. QUOTE(Megatronika @ Apr 13 2017, 12:01 PM) Yes I would spend 60% of my nett income to home loan, if got opportunity. Can start hunting again boss. Now 14% home, 12% car and 8% personal. So I have another 26% to spend to another home. |
| Change to: | 0.0577sec
8 queries
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:50 AM |