Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Xiaomi Wireless Router Pro, Budget yet with great performance (Review)

flubear
post Sep 6 2018, 12:58 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 157

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Seri Kembangan


Finally got it working, error was wrong password given!!!! The router will still say successfully dialed despite having faulty password!

jefflai2
post Oct 25 2018, 09:29 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 42

Joined: Sep 2004
From: KL, Cheras


QUOTE(qzplx @ Sep 4 2017, 10:28 PM)
Hello,

Please find below from what I have done.
The reason I bought 8 port switch is due to I have maximize my 5 port switch, so upgrading to VLAN switch is worthwhile for me as I have Xiaomi R3P.

I bought TP-Link TL-SG108E. others VLAN switch should be the same, except if you use Cisco, the term will be abit differ.

The configuration as follow:
1. Login to web interface of TP-link router on 192.168.0.1, username and password would be admin admin (default) if you havent change it

2. Goto 802.1Q VLAN and set the VLAN settings as follow:
Make VLAN for Unifi
2a. Enable the 802.1Q VLAN click yes then click apply
2b. On VLAN ID type 500 and on the desc type unifi
2c. Then Port 1 set to tagged port 2 - 6 set to untag
2d. click add/modify

Make VLAN for Hypptv (still not working yet)
2e. On VLAN ID type 600 and on the desc type hypptv
2f. Then Port 1 set to tagged port 7 set to untag
2g. click add/modify

Click save config

3. Setting up the Port VLAN ID goto 802.1Q VLAN PVID Setting
PVID for Unifi
3a. On PVID type 500
3b. Tick port 2 - 6
3c. Click apply

PVID for Hypptv
3d. On PVID type 600
3e. Tick port 7
3f. Click apply

Click save config

On your switch
Port 1 connect it to port 1 on Unifi BTU
Port 2 connect to Xiaomi R3P router WAN Port (blue color)
Port 3 connect to Xiaomi R3P router Switch Port (any)
Port 4 Up to you
Port 5 Up to you
Port 6 Up to you
Port 7 connect to hypptv

Now, goto your router
Login to your R3P web interface 192.168.31.1
Goto connection, internet, and choose PPPoe
Type username and password
Choose custom MTU, change it to 1492
Safe

Now this should work.
Please post if you have further question.

In the mean time, I would appreciate if anyone could share to me how the hypptv works ?
The problem now, Hypptv can connect, but all the channel is black and I got sattelite icon.

Seems like it doesnt get any IP / internet for this.
Maybe its due to on BTU it has merging 2 VLAN in 1 port while I separate 2 vlan in 2 different port.
*
Works like a charm, thanks!
Now my home WiFi has great coverage and soeed.
scott-lim
post Nov 1 2018, 01:29 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 137

Joined: Mar 2011


interesting topic discussion here. Im on a junction here trying to figure out which router to get.


1) xiaomi Wireless Router Pro
2) Asus AC66U B1.. ( got great deal on ezbuy now)

now im on unifi 10mb - turbo 100mb with basic package. (No Hypptv)

stay at 2 stories landed property and need better coverage. (Stock Dlink DIR850L very bad on wifi)

xperiaVuser
post Nov 1 2018, 01:38 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 854

Joined: Jul 2013
Should have bought this router since it works with unifi, 4x4 mu-mimo, it's selling for RM280 now on shopee hmmmm


AlexMax
post Nov 4 2018, 01:40 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 18

Joined: Apr 2005


This router's wifi range is awesome! Replaced the TIME Archer c1200 + TP-Link repeater
The beamforming and mu-mimo is great on this router.

Buy it if your existing router has issues with weak signal due to wall.
abe24
post Nov 8 2018, 06:19 PM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 19

Joined: Jun 2017
QUOTE(qzplx @ Sep 4 2017, 10:28 PM)
Hello,

Please find below from what I have done.
The reason I bought 8 port switch is due to I have maximize my 5 port switch, so upgrading to VLAN switch is worthwhile for me as I have Xiaomi R3P.

I bought TP-Link TL-SG108E. others VLAN switch should be the same, except if you use Cisco, the term will be abit differ.

The configuration as follow:
1. Login to web interface of TP-link router on 192.168.0.1, username and password would be admin admin (default) if you havent change it

2. Goto 802.1Q VLAN and set the VLAN settings as follow:
Make VLAN for Unifi
2a. Enable the 802.1Q VLAN click yes then click apply
2b. On VLAN ID type 500 and on the desc type unifi
2c. Then Port 1 set to tagged port 2 - 6 set to untag
2d. click add/modify

Make VLAN for Hypptv (still not working yet)
2e. On VLAN ID type 600 and on the desc type hypptv
2f. Then Port 1 set to tagged port 7 set to untag
2g. click add/modify

Click save config

3. Setting up the Port VLAN ID goto 802.1Q VLAN PVID Setting
PVID for Unifi
3a. On PVID type 500
3b. Tick port 2 - 6
3c. Click apply

PVID for Hypptv
3d. On PVID type 600
3e. Tick port 7
3f. Click apply

Click save config

On your switch
Port 1 connect it to port 1 on Unifi BTU
Port 2 connect to Xiaomi R3P router WAN Port (blue color)
Port 3 connect to Xiaomi R3P router Switch Port (any)
Port 4 Up to you
Port 5 Up to you
Port 6 Up to you
Port 7 connect to hypptv

Now, goto your router
Login to your R3P web interface 192.168.31.1
Goto connection, internet, and choose PPPoe
Type username and password
Choose custom MTU, change it to 1492
Safe

Now this should work.
Please post if you have further question.

In the mean time, I would appreciate if anyone could share to me how the hypptv works ?
The problem now, Hypptv can connect, but all the channel is black and I got sattelite icon.

Seems like it doesnt get any IP / internet for this.
Maybe its due to on BTU it has merging 2 VLAN in 1 port while I separate 2 vlan in 2 different port.
*
Update edit**********

Switch for hypptv and modem dialer PPPoE

On your switch
Port 1 connect it to port 1 on Unifi BTU
Port 2 connect to Xiaomi R3P router WAN Port (blue color)
Port 3 X
Port 4 X
Port 5 connect to hypptv

this will work but Port 3 and Port 4 not in use..

This post has been edited by abe24: Yesterday, 04:50 PM
keewah
post Nov 10 2018, 12:38 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 208

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Nov 1 2018, 01:38 PM)
Should have bought this router since it works with unifi, 4x4 mu-mimo, it's selling for RM280 now on shopee hmmmm
*
you need additional smart switch to do the vlan tagging job , else only can function as router , but not a modem dialer.
xperiaVuser
post Nov 10 2018, 01:55 AM

Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 854

Joined: Jul 2013
QUOTE(keewah @ Nov 10 2018, 12:38 AM)
you need additional smart switch to do the vlan tagging job , else only can function as router , but not a modem dialer.
*
yup just saw that... I'm only using unmanaged switch currently.
Trizzz1989
post Nov 11 2018, 11:32 AM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 3

Joined: Oct 2014
QUOTE(AlexMax @ Nov 4 2018, 01:40 AM)
This router's wifi range is awesome! Replaced the TIME Archer c1200 + TP-Link repeater
The beamforming and mu-mimo is great on this router.

Buy it if your existing router has issues with weak signal due to wall.
*
I also using time fiber with c2100 tp link router. Do we need to change the setting to make it work other then time username and password?
AlexMax
post Nov 14 2018, 10:42 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 18

Joined: Apr 2005


QUOTE(Trizzz1989 @ Nov 11 2018, 11:32 AM)
I also using time fiber with c2100 tp link router. Do we need to change the setting to make it work other then time username and password?
*
No settings needed, just the time username and password.
Good thing is TIME don't use VLANs

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0431sec    4.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th November 2018 - 07:25 PM