Is there Options trading for Malaysian equities?
Option Strategies, Option Strategies
Apr 7 2017, 04:25 PM
653 posts Joined: Dec 2015 |
Is there Options trading for Malaysian equities?
Apr 12 2017, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 11 2017, 05:04 PM) Sell spreads aka verticals I would like to ask a question as I am relatively new to Options. I have an idea but I am not sure if this will work. Using your same example on FB: Sell Put $140 1 contract Buy Put $130 1 contract = Margin required $10 spread *100 OR Sell Put $140 1 contract Buy Put $135 1 contract = Margin required $5 spread *100 Let's put it this way. current price of the underlying stock is ~$100 Buy Call at $100 Buy Put at $100 At the end of the timeframe or in the middle of it, the price must have moved considerably away from the $100 (in any direction), hence making us profits. My question is, is this feasible? |
Apr 13 2017, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 12 2017, 07:08 PM) hehe - think cost of time decay or Theta Thanks.When U BUY an option, U are buying the TIME + CONTRACTUAL RIGHT (extrinsic value) As the time of the contract passes, what do U think will happen to the cost or premium of the option, assuming the underlying doesn't move? ALSO - when U Buy an option AND don't have the $ to exercise the option (which is usually the case -100 units of FB, imagine) - how to make $? U turn around & sell your option right? By the time U sell your option, the contract DTE (Days to Expiry) is shorter than when U bought right? So.. the value of the option, again assuming all else being the same like no movement in underlying, U can sell for higher or lower premium than your BUY cost? If U can answer the above clearly, U will have answered your own Q whether feasible or not Sorry ar - i usually ask Qs for clarity or leading one to find one's own answer coz i ain't no sifu, still big L (learner) plate Regarding the bolded part. Doesn't the intrinsic value only lost when we have not purchased it. Once it is purchased it's not relevant anymore. Am I right? In my case, I will buy at the beginning of the week/month and sell them when a profit in achieved (when the market has moves either way profitably). |
| Change to: | 0.0154sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:29 PM |