Guide How to make Windows XP be like Windows Vista, [Now with even MORE visual mods]

cyew86
post May 2 2007, 11:59 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

Any idea why all my fonts in title bar are plain white in colour? it will be fine after i re-apply the skin but the problem comes back after i restart my system
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
[attachmentid=225756]

using vista48px by jemaho

This post has been edited by cyew86: May 2 2007, 12:00 PM
cyew86
post May 2 2007, 03:27 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

even when i select it, it is still white
i guess its a bug ... sad.gif
cyew86
post May 7 2007, 08:50 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

[attachmentid=227832]

Greetings,
any idea how to rename that "My Recent Documents" to "Recent Items"?
and I am using the vista icon pack, but i can't get the WMP icon just like the one in Vista, is this normal? any other method to get that icon?

Thanks nod.gif
cyew86
post May 8 2007, 03:24 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(CBC888 @ May 8 2007, 01:09 AM)
If you are using the latest XP version of Windows Media Player 11(11.0.5721.5145), then you can use the WMP11 Skin Pack for XP by ~pierdelp (http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/52704429/).

I installed it (copied the files) manually in Safe Mode, instead of using the included Replacer utility.  It does not include the transparent Vista skin (impossible for XP), but it does update your Windows Media Player with the new Vista-version icons and offers 3 skins: Black, White and Vista Basic.  I am very pleased with the results.

Hope this helps!  smile.gif
it's perfect, thank you notworthy.gif J-Slade should include this in front page
and i had to install in safe mode too, i dunno how to use the replacer sweat.gif
so now left with renaming "My Recent Document" hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cyew86: May 8 2007, 03:30 AM
cyew86
post May 10 2007, 04:27 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

http://fastaero.wordpress.com/

for those without WB, can try it out, but it is still buggy. I never try it myself personally but there are people who claim the program to be:

Very smart blur algorithm with low cpu load.
* Works fast
* Works without any other tools , such as WindowBlinds , StyleXP...
* You don't need to install any thing or uninstall anything.
* You can visit : FastAero.wordpress.com for any new updates.

**WILL NOT WORK WITH WINDOWBLINDS INSTALLED**

hope that helps

This post has been edited by cyew86: May 10 2007, 05:08 PM
cyew86
post May 10 2007, 11:43 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

that is why i never install sidebar ... and never install stuff that i think unnecessary, like visual tooltip and flip3d ... i only have 512MB Ram, dun wan my pc to be laggy
cyew86
post May 12 2007, 03:03 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ May 11 2007, 08:02 AM)
Greetings ~

I have tried using this transformation pack but what I notice is the Internet Explorer Icons and Bars on top of the application somewhere near the address bar .. seems to be corrupted. Cant configure the settings as well .. what can I do ? unsure.gif

Regards,
HughiE
try rebuilding icon cache or reinstall the pack
i customized my desktop using separate programs, not VTP

btw, anyone care to share what is wrong with vista? my bro's AMD X2 rig seems to run it just fine
cyew86
post May 16 2007, 11:51 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

tried it, but think i wudnt want to burden up my memory with lotsa startup items ... i have 512MB only sad.gif
cyew86
post May 21 2007, 09:09 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

but of course, it wont be 100% the same. but it gives u the freedom to customize what u like from vista and ditch those stuff that u dun like. like me, i ditched the sidebar and visual tooltip. the Flip3D is buggy and resources hogging, so i never install it oso.
cyew86
post May 24 2007, 04:01 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

use this
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/44129576/
cyew86
post Jun 3 2007, 02:26 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

but u wud have to make extra efforts to google out those programs.
cyew86
post Jun 3 2007, 08:20 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

erm, tot this thread is abt xp mod to vista? why suddenly talk abt vista?
cyew86
post Jun 5 2007, 06:24 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Jun 4 2007, 11:25 PM)
I demand for screenshots!! C'mon guys.. those that managed to use this guide... post something !
let me entertain u then

dislikes clutters, so u won't see any icon my desktop except for Recycle Bin
followed the advanced customization method, no VTP for me
i used
- Vista Icon Pack
- Vista Misc Pack
- Vista Boot Screen
- WMP11 Vista Skin (notice the Vista style WMP11 icon on the player itself?)
- Vista Perfection X4 WindowBlinds Skin
never install Visual Tooltip, Sidebar and Flip3D, hogs lotsa resources icon_rolleyes.gif
cyew86
post Jun 13 2007, 08:31 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

revert back to original luna theme, all the mods slow down my system
cyew86
post Jun 18 2007, 10:12 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(haka @ Jun 17 2007, 12:10 AM)
any1 can teach me how to change the logon look? plz... thx..
google for LogonUI program, then u can browse for the skins at wincustomize.com

QUOTE(choyster @ Jun 18 2007, 10:18 AM)
hays guys,which icon pack you guys used to show the hard disk bar in the harddisk icon
u can try the vista icon pack
cyew86
post Jun 23 2007, 01:09 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

that will have to request the mod to do it
i think it wud be a good idea too
cyew86
post Jul 1 2007, 05:53 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(kayap00 @ Jun 26 2007, 09:49 AM)
P4 2.6 / 256mb ram / integrated vga .. enough for running those Vista looks in XP ??
shud be no problem, but dun expect ur system will be as smooth as the original theme. even my 512MB RAM choke running all those mods
cyew86
post Jul 3 2007, 07:35 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

customize 1 by 1 is better if u dun wan all the programs in VTP7, and apparently the sidebar in VTP7 is buggy
cyew86
post Jul 20 2007, 09:03 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

but if u still using old win95/98, i wud assume u are using a very old system which has around 256MB RAM and a P3. so its better to stick to the original theme for better performance
correct me if i am wrong wink.gif
cyew86
post Jul 21 2007, 12:18 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

512MB would be enough, but u would notice slight slow down in performance

0.0292sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:32 AM