Ive heard they threw in a hardcase together with an epip lp 100 for someone...thts sweet
So please share you skills of bargaining ... Im trying to get them to throw in a bag and strap .
The Art Of Bargaining ... in Woh Fatt lol
Mar 10 2007, 09:08 AM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
157 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Hey , I am planning to get a epiphone les paul standard from woh fatt soon . Some people have said that you can bargain in Woh Fatt... one guy said that i should bargain like my life's on the line.
Ive heard they threw in a hardcase together with an epip lp 100 for someone...thts sweet So please share you skills of bargaining ... Im trying to get them to throw in a bag and strap . |
Mar 10 2007, 09:29 AM
6,788 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
say that you are a regular if you think the price is too high,
woh fatt is your first place to shop when buying equipments ask for a discount first. if the price is still not to your liking, name a lower price than your expected price, he will most likely counter with a middle value and hopefully that is nearer to your expectation. for the higher price than expectation, ask him to throw in some gifts, of course he will decline but keep on insisting this should word for most sellers |
Mar 10 2007, 09:41 AM
3,396 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: KL |
They'll sure give you the strap and bag if you ask for them. Extra picks as well. You plan to get an epi? Wow, ask them for a hard case then. LOL
Mar 10 2007, 09:42 AM
hard case? can get or not ... hard case are pretty expensive... any chance of lowering price to 1900?
Mar 10 2007, 09:51 AM
6,339 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
well for stds i think the hard case will come bundled
Mar 10 2007, 09:53 AM
Sweet !!! I sure hope it comes bundled... planning to go there today ...so must be prepared...
Any other tips when buying a new guitar? like checking the finish...bargaining... |
Mar 10 2007, 10:11 AM
be sure to always look for damages on the body, the fret condition, the pickup switch selector condition, the finishing and most important its acoustic sound
if u like it then u know wat to do =] if he gives u one with old strings, play till it breaks then request for a change if u think the price he gives is still to expensive make him throw in spare strings as well wat time u'll be there? i'll be in kl so may drop by woh fatt |
Mar 10 2007, 10:16 AM
15,903 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri |
i think cry cry a bit also can
Mar 10 2007, 10:18 AM
not sure yet... have to check with my dad...hohoho atleast my dad is good at bargaining...if i go i probably go like 4 or 5
acoustic sound? you mean play it without pluggging to an amp... man... if he throws in the hard case , strap and all tht .. id already be a happy dude .... if got even more discount then id be the happiest dude alive Added on March 10, 2007, 10:19 amI just hope they got the model and colour i want .... do they stock up on epiphone guitar? This post has been edited by svrockstar: Mar 10 2007, 10:19 AM |
Mar 10 2007, 10:19 AM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
When I bought my LP-100.... I went with my dad.
We just said..... ok..... How Much? RM1600. Are you sure no more discount on that? Nope. Ok. We'll take it. Ohh-kaay! And we also throw in a hard case for you! Oh that's great. BTW..... will need to buy some picks and a new pack of strings. How much will that cost? Nevermind lah..... I throw in for free... ...... that's was basically how the conversation went. And I came back with an LP-100, a Hard Case, Lots of picks (most of them Dunlops!), and a fresh set of Gibson strings. Yup.... all that for RM1600..... |
Mar 10 2007, 10:21 AM
Nice... think i can get a hard case with a STD ? sean392 said it should come bundled with the guitar... true?
Mar 10 2007, 10:34 AM
yea
pretty sure i remember the tag "with hard case" wah 4/5 ar lol well i maybe there at that time anyway goodluck i'll be wearing a brown adidas shirt n if i see a dude with his dad bargaining for an lp i'll say hi lol off to kl now bai |
Mar 10 2007, 12:05 PM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
all epiphones do not come bundled with hardcase.
so certain shops just bundle a hardcase but at a really marked up price. i think when blacktrix bought his LP-100, that was possibly old stock lying around in woh fatt (pre-2004/2005 model). lets wait and see what yr it is from him. then when the prices increased, they also simply increased thats why they could afford to throw in a hardcase. i remember seeing epi LP standards jump from RM1800 to RM2200 around then too. and i dont remember seeing woh fatt having new epi's for quite awhile. how to tell if old stock? of cos via the serial number. This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 10 2007, 12:14 PM |
Mar 10 2007, 01:16 PM
4,765 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
epi LPs dont come with hardcase? mine came with hardcase(but i didnt get from woh fatt)
Mar 10 2007, 02:43 PM
Mar 10 2007, 03:56 PM
4,765 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
i thought last time all epiphone LP comes with hardcase. only a few years back did they stop and that u have to get the casings seperately.
Mar 10 2007, 03:57 PM
556 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
how much would a custom cost?im jz too afraid of its gold hardware getting ugle because of time pfactor and daily use..
Mar 10 2007, 05:44 PM
dang couldnt go today , looks like have to go on weekdays...
gonna call Woh Fatt now and ask whether they have stock Added on March 10, 2007, 5:47 pmOMG this cant be happening.... they said they don't have anymore LP STD.....what the hell am i gonna do now This post has been edited by svrockstar: Mar 10 2007, 05:49 PM |
Mar 10 2007, 05:54 PM
You can pay premium at The Curve???
Mar 10 2007, 05:56 PM
curve? how much is it there?
Mar 10 2007, 05:58 PM
777 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I guess i saw some LP Standard in Subang Summit, if i am not mistaken its Yamaha.
Else try One Utama, not Guitar Collection tho, its another shop at the corner which i forgotten its name. |
Mar 10 2007, 05:59 PM
technics???
Mar 10 2007, 06:02 PM
Yeah should be Technics, that shop with some pianos inside, when i saw that LP Std, it was next to a SX LP Custom.
Not quite sure if its still available, and since its old stock chances are its MIK which IMHO is way better than MIC |
Mar 10 2007, 06:02 PM
Nah...the 1 on OU are SX...
this suks.... im lost now |
Mar 10 2007, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Mar 10 2007, 06:02 PM) Yeah should be Technics, that shop with some pianos inside, when i saw that LP Std, it was next to a SX LP Custom. i was testing once this lp std and classic in yamahaNot quite sure if its still available, and since its old stock chances are its MIK which IMHO is way better than MIC MIC when i held it i thought WOW this is heavy stuff!!! could it be honduras mahogany? i turned to the back, and i saw alder |
Mar 10 2007, 06:25 PM
Actually, that Technics store DOES have an Epi Standard LP. about RM2500 also.
Mar 10 2007, 06:28 PM
if MIC / or even MIK, how do you see the alder?
the recent epiphones i all seen were 3 piece mahagony bodies, with a mahagony laminate at the back to make it look 1 piece. the alder is normally in place of the maple cap, and then of cos the maple laminate on top. even my 2002 MIK epi is built the same way. |
Mar 10 2007, 06:30 PM
Actually, the Rm1750 Hamer, double cutaway, neck thru that I tested out at CK Music wasn't that bad...... especially for a neck thru....
I would instantly change the pickups though.... |
Mar 10 2007, 06:31 PM
hamer double cutaway? there is a neck thru version? thought all were set necks?
Mar 10 2007, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 10 2007, 06:28 PM) if MIC / or even MIK, how do you see the alder? well, the backs of the lps didnt have any grain similar to mahogany [as in its was really clean looking, like alder]the recent epiphones i all seen were 3 piece mahagony bodies, with a mahagony laminate at the back to make it look 1 piece. the alder is normally in place of the maple cap, and then of cos the maple laminate on top. even my 2002 MIK epi is built the same way. if im wrong i stand corrected. QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 10 2007, 06:30 PM) Actually, the Rm1750 Hamer, double cutaway, neck thru that I tested out at CK Music wasn't that bad...... especially for a neck thru.... the one with alot of inlays?I would instantly change the pickups though.... This post has been edited by sean392: Mar 10 2007, 06:33 PM |
Mar 10 2007, 06:49 PM
what the hell.... I cant get the guitar now... cheers to malaysia
Mar 10 2007, 06:59 PM
Yup. I was as surprised as you. I flipped the guitar over..... and low and behold...... not a screw in sight!
Mar 10 2007, 07:37 PM
1,782 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Hi guys , hope this information help
Harmony Damansara Utama is selling Epiphone LP standard (cherry burst) for RM20XX before discount and Epiphone LP Custom (cherry burst) for RM26XX before discount . that would be very comparable to U.S price .. standard : 499 USD Custom : 699 USD so you guys know where to get your epiphones now and please..check the reviews for LP-100 before buying it , you will change your mind This post has been edited by gapnap: Mar 10 2007, 07:39 PM |
Mar 11 2007, 12:04 AM
ok i was just at one utama, and checked out whatever that shop is above toys r us.
they got 3 epi LPs. 2 are limited edition standards with glitter tops, red and purple or something, RM2200 or so. 1 is a classic, ie with open coil pickups, RM1900. further questions shall be ignored by me. you have google. |
Mar 11 2007, 01:08 AM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 11 2007, 12:04 AM) ok i was just at one utama, and checked out whatever that shop is above toys r us. glitter tops are fugly imothey got 3 epi LPs. 2 are limited edition standards with glitter tops, red and purple or something, RM2200 or so. 1 is a classic, ie with open coil pickups, RM1900. further questions shall be ignored by me. you have google. and the classic is well priced |
Mar 11 2007, 01:30 PM
thx for your help guys ... probably go check out harmony in damansara uptown .... ill also check out the 1 in ou...
but if no lp std then i guess ill have to go for lp 100 ... woh fatt still have those.. Can I some how order lp std from woh fatt? How is LP 100 compared to the std Added on March 11, 2007, 1:33 pmIf not i can also get maybe Epip SG 400 are they good for rock / blues ? This post has been edited by svrockstar: Mar 11 2007, 01:33 PM |
Mar 11 2007, 01:40 PM
any guitar with the proper setup can be used for anything.
as for G-400, been awhile since i seen one new here, unless its from a certain reseller who marks it up way high. |
Mar 11 2007, 01:44 PM
anyway i can ask woh fatt to order lp std for me from sweelee?
Mar 11 2007, 01:53 PM
thought i posted somewhere that woh fatt still has LP STD?
its in the glass cabinet behind the cash machine. |
Mar 11 2007, 01:59 PM
the hell ? i called them yesterday and they say they dont have anymore and dont stock up
Mar 11 2007, 02:13 PM
well, they definitely wont stock up.
but i do recall seeing one in that glass cabinet. along with the cool discontinued epi LP special double cutaway with 2 P-90 pickups, RM1600 iirc. yea, see thats how long their stock has been lying around. that guitar has been discontinued for a few yrs already anyway, just go 1u and check out the LP classic for RM1900. This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 11 2007, 02:14 PM |
Mar 11 2007, 02:32 PM
yea cool... gonna go there later
Added on March 11, 2007, 2:34 pmHows LP classic campared to LP std This post has been edited by svrockstar: Mar 11 2007, 02:34 PM |
Mar 11 2007, 05:23 PM
IMO nothing much except cosmetics
Mar 11 2007, 07:35 PM
Mar 11 2007, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 11 2007, 07:35 PM) pickups and neck profile are different not really.pickups on the classic are hotter the neck profile is slimmer i have a classic plus and im loving it =p just that i wud change the pickups if i had the cash as it is kind of muddy epiphone models are not like gibson where they have different neck profiles. the necks are all almost similar. even my epi lp custom, which on a gibson has a baseball bat neck, has a neck thats almost like a 60s slim taper. |
Mar 11 2007, 10:28 PM
well that sucks
>< but the MIC ones i tried i yamaha [the one that looks like its not made out of mahogany] had a baseball bat neck >< |
Mar 11 2007, 10:31 PM
which yamaha?
Mar 11 2007, 10:32 PM
Mar 11 2007, 10:36 PM
far as i know, no epi lp's have baseball necks.
definitely nowhere near as close as on a 50s lp neck. maybe if you can, find someone who has a gibson lp standard then try it. cos my epi lp custom neck feels only slightly thicker than my '61 reissue SG. |
Mar 11 2007, 10:38 PM
i dropped by to the guitar/piano shop in 1u above toys r us and i saw two epip lp std with glitter top ( yucks ) 2000++ and a lp classic with sunburst finish for 1900 without case...
trying to find std with ebony finish ... hope harmony in damansara uptown will have it ... does woh fatt take orders ? |
Mar 11 2007, 10:40 PM
harmony definitely has no ebony finish.
they only have one MIC sunburst standard, and a MIC custom plus. |
Mar 11 2007, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 11 2007, 10:36 PM) far as i know, no epi lp's have baseball necks. holy crapdefinitely nowhere near as close as on a 50s lp neck. maybe if you can, find someone who has a gibson lp standard then try it. cos my epi lp custom neck feels only slightly thicker than my '61 reissue SG. then the 50's neck ain't a baseball bat, its a freaking cannon barrel ! aihz.... having short fingers suck btw i think the shop in summit usj is selling fake guitars the so called MIK lp classic there was obscenely light, and it was kinda thin the epiphone inlays were really thick and the MIK sticker was fishy looking. as well as no serial no. the epiphone acoustics there oso fake i think cuz the headstock looks like wat u would get on a martin lol |
Mar 11 2007, 10:54 PM
does woh fatt take orders ... ? im gonna go there tomorrow so i need to know
Mar 11 2007, 10:57 PM
summit now has a proper guitar shop? i know there was one selling pianos and crappy electrics on the ground floor.
Mar 11 2007, 11:34 PM
Mar 11 2007, 11:38 PM
damn, something must be done about these MIC 'specials'.
wonder how many kids have been ripped off already. now that LP supreme at the curve which i suspect is also a MIC 'special'. i gotta go check it out next weekend. |
Mar 11 2007, 11:56 PM
I don't think Yamaha would DARE sell a fake guitar.
But yeah... I read that the Supreme's are chambered bodies..... which means that they ARE lighter then average. But still..... the damn humbuckers..... sigh..... try it out for yourself. |
Mar 11 2007, 11:59 PM
you wouldnt know.
plus not as if yamaha will lose something they never had in the first place, ie. gibson dealership. even SG standards have the exact same pickups as the supreme. they definitely dont sound like crap. This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 12 2007, 12:01 AM |
Mar 12 2007, 12:26 AM
1,782 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(svrockstar @ Mar 11 2007, 10:38 PM) i dropped by to the guitar/piano shop in 1u above toys r us and i saw two epip lp std with glitter top ( yucks ) 2000++ and a lp classic with sunburst finish for 1900 without case... Hi , Harmony Music doesn't have ebony finish (i trying to save your petrol here)trying to find std with ebony finish ... hope harmony in damansara uptown will have it ... does woh fatt take orders ? and PM strinq , he has a used Epi LP ebony finish for sale |
Mar 12 2007, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 11 2007, 11:56 PM) I don't think Yamaha would DARE sell a fake guitar. thing is the yamaha is not the one selling the fakesBut yeah... I read that the Supreme's are chambered bodies..... which means that they ARE lighter then average. But still..... the damn humbuckers..... sigh..... try it out for yourself. some music school in summit the yamaha in parade used to have MIC lps which the woods doesnt have much grain [thats y i said it looks like alder] |
Mar 12 2007, 12:52 AM
QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 11 2007, 07:35 PM) pickups and neck profile are different AFAIK, Epiphone Classics to Customs have all the same specs i.e. neck, pu and etc except the plain top which has got all mahogany instead of mahogany/alder.pickups on the classic are hotter the neck profile is slimmer i have a classic plus and im loving it =p just that i wud change the pickups if i had the cash as it is kind of muddy Their main difference should be cosmetic wise only |
Mar 12 2007, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Mar 12 2007, 12:52 AM) AFAIK, Epiphone Classics to Customs have all the same specs i.e. neck, pu and etc except the plain top which has got all mahogany instead of mahogany/alder. ayeTheir main difference should be cosmetic wise only ur knowledge surpasses mine >< my guitars is built the way everdying mentioned minus the laminate i can see the 3piece mahogany body VERY clearly lol |
Mar 12 2007, 12:57 AM
wat yr is your epi?
i know MIC standards are being built that way. my MIK custom is also the same way. maybe they didnt bother with that extra step for MIK standards. |
Mar 12 2007, 12:58 AM
QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 12 2007, 12:55 AM) aye Naw i googled too much ur knowledge surpasses mine >< my guitars is built the way everdying mentioned minus the laminate i can see the 3piece mahogany body VERY clearly lol I was researching for my guitar hence i came across those comparison some where else, most probably UG But then if its a Gibson, you nailed it correctly tho |
Mar 12 2007, 12:58 AM
according to the serial no. which u told me lol |
Mar 12 2007, 01:02 AM
ah, guess the MIK standards never bothered with that extra step.
waitin for the full invasion of MII, then see if the MIK's will raise in value more. the MIK custom plus before in SG was selling for SGD800, sometime late last yr they increased price to SGD1000. |
Mar 12 2007, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 12 2007, 01:02 AM) ah, guess the MIK standards never bothered with that extra step. omg MII???waitin for the full invasion of MII, then see if the MIK's will raise in value more. the MIK custom plus before in SG was selling for SGD800, sometime late last yr they increased price to SGD1000. lol anyway off to bed now |
Mar 12 2007, 01:06 AM
eh you not following up much here?
MII started producing LP Standards since last yr, but looks like most of them end up in the US. they also produce the LP-100 now. |
Mar 12 2007, 02:53 PM
what the hell...just came back from woh fatt ... apparently they have epip lp stds but its all in glitter top like pink , purple , green glitter top....
why cant they just have the normal ones....haih...so now im really lost on where to get good deal for epip lp std |
Mar 12 2007, 03:07 PM
The best deal?
Buy a bus ticket to singapore.... buy the guitar... and then ride the bus back to KL. Easier but more expensive way? Head down Yamaha, and suck it up and buy a MIC LP Standard. |
Mar 12 2007, 04:17 PM
WOOOO.....!!! just called harmony music ... guess what? they have epip lp std and they stock up!! its rm2060 without bag before discount i think...
Mar 12 2007, 06:25 PM
That's a good deal man...... Go for it!
And take nice pics of your beauty! |
Mar 12 2007, 06:45 PM
just have to convince my dad that its worth every penny
Mar 12 2007, 10:24 PM
2,347 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
btrix,izzit cheaper to buy in SG or izzit easier to find in SG???
Mar 13 2007, 05:10 PM
1,179 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: SS2, Petaling Jaya, Selangor |
Just went to Woh Fatt and got myself a set of dean markley's blue steel bass
Its a pity that they don't stock up medium gauge though.. Anyway the people there are very friendly even though they are very busy According to someone there, Epiphone LP-100 is currently out of stock |
Mar 14 2007, 04:36 PM
Just came back from harmony music in damansara uptown... they have 1 epiphone lp std cherry sunburst finish real nice except one of the tone knobs were loose...
the guy said they import from sweelee and they take orders without extra charge ... so which colour is the best? im thinking of getting the transparent blue 1 or maybe black |
Mar 14 2007, 04:38 PM
import from sweelee eh?
no extra charge cos its already marked up so much. |
Mar 14 2007, 04:40 PM
yea ... but 2060 before discount is ok
Mar 14 2007, 04:52 PM
if you bug the harmony boss mr tan enough, he can give you 10% off.
This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 14 2007, 04:52 PM |
Mar 14 2007, 05:08 PM
err...i just ask him and he said i can give you...thts all
Added on March 14, 2007, 5:08 pmnow i have to decide what colour .... damn is the transparent blue colour nice? This post has been edited by svrockstar: Mar 14 2007, 05:09 PM |
Mar 14 2007, 05:10 PM
if you yourself dunno what color, then perhaps you need to recheck your sexuality
Mar 14 2007, 05:24 PM
well the heritage cherry sunburst is sweet but just wanna know whether the transparent blue will look as good real life as the picture...
http://www.zzounds.com/item--EPILPSTDPL |
Mar 14 2007, 05:26 PM
the first question you should ask first is whether sweelee still has blue in stock, which i doubt they do.
and that is a standard plus, ie more expensive. |
Mar 14 2007, 05:33 PM
wth... on sweelee website it states tht std plus is s$640 while std is s$740.. if they they dont have blue then still have honey burst and ebony
Mar 14 2007, 05:40 PM
if im not mistaken, that std is new stock.
previously IIRC was $600. notice also how the epi lp custom is now $1080 on sweelee. before was $800. |
Mar 15 2007, 11:15 AM
4,423 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
if u say u pay cash, confirm can lower the price or get free stuff wan.. ahahhaah
Cash is like the magic word |
Mar 15 2007, 10:43 PM
who was the guy who said there was no LP-100 in woh fatt?
i was just there, got my EMG SLV. the LP-100 has always been in the same place in the glass cabinet since god knows when. RM1500 with case, before discount. apart from all the glitter top LPs, there is also a natural birdseye maple top epi LP for RM2100 or so. |
Mar 16 2007, 02:03 PM
Everdying, have you ever tested that funky SG Junior(izzit?) in the glass cabinet? looks pretty sweet..
Mar 16 2007, 03:04 PM
the gibson ones? with single humbucker? those are SG-X, priced at RM3300 right?
discontinued long time ago, and way overpriced as its new very old stock. i see them going on ebay for around USD400. This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 16 2007, 03:23 PM |
Mar 16 2007, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 15 2007, 10:43 PM) who was the guy who said there was no LP-100 in woh fatt? what color is the birdseyemaple ?i was just there, got my EMG SLV. the LP-100 has always been in the same place in the glass cabinet since god knows when. RM1500 with case, before discount. apart from all the glitter top LPs, there is also a natural birdseye maple top epi LP for RM2100 or so. |
Mar 16 2007, 03:38 PM
are you color blind you dunno what natural is? or are you just blind?
Mar 16 2007, 03:43 PM
Mar 16 2007, 03:46 PM
but it does look nice and different.
IIRC, the birdseye maple LP's were only made around mid-late 90s. |
Mar 16 2007, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 16 2007, 03:04 PM) Yeah that one. Hmm.. Woh Fatt is the sole Gibson dealer here right? Why not any other shops bring in their guitars as well? Then we should see more competitive price, no??Anyway IMO the natural birdseye top is very nice looking. |
Mar 16 2007, 06:34 PM
Correct me if i am wrong, AFAIK, they are no longer the distri for Gibson and Epi
Mar 16 2007, 07:35 PM
Yup. Woh Fatt loss the license. Only luck is with Swee Lee..... Yamaha is their partner and brings in Epi/Gibson as well.
Mar 16 2007, 08:30 PM
Yeah saw some Epis and Gibbys including Gibby's hardcases but no Epi amps =(
Mar 16 2007, 08:34 PM
Mar 17 2007, 12:27 AM
Mar 18 2007, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(quarantined @ Mar 16 2007, 08:34 PM) I think Yamaha sells epi lp stds for 2500++ which is way expensive... You can check out Harmony music in damansara utama uptown... they import from sweelee 2 and epi lp stds are rm2060 without case before discount.. planning to get from there |
Mar 18 2007, 03:39 PM
i went to yamaha in curve yesterday.
the guy there said he can sell MIC LP's for RM1700+. the MIK's are more expensive. |
Mar 19 2007, 10:24 PM
Holy mother !! MIC LP STD ? for 1700++ ?? isnt tht like real good ? what about MIK LP STD ? do they sell in yamaha curve ?
all epiphones now are MIC rite...so the stock in sweelee are new MIC or old stock MIK |
Mar 19 2007, 10:31 PM
the MIC ones, dunno what to say.
very very light body, thin neck also. its like sweelee sends them stock that cant sell. |
Mar 19 2007, 10:38 PM
so would you rather pay more for MIK or less for MIC
Mar 19 2007, 10:40 PM
i would rather pay more for a real gibson.
Mar 19 2007, 10:49 PM
yea like 10000 more
Mar 19 2007, 11:08 PM
Or pay 20% of that and get a MIJ Epi =)
This post has been edited by ^Hobbes^: Mar 19 2007, 11:11 PM |
Mar 19 2007, 11:16 PM
i rather pay for a MIJ Orville by Gibson LP, rather than the Epi.
both are essentially the same, cept the Orville by Gibson has a nitro finish. i already have a Orville by Gibson SG anyway. |
Mar 19 2007, 11:19 PM
But then the MIJ comes with lacquer finish, not sure if the Orville comes with lacquer or not tho
Btw how much did you pay for your Orville ? This post has been edited by ^Hobbes^: Mar 19 2007, 11:20 PM |
Mar 19 2007, 11:32 PM
uhhh of cos lacquer la, but what lacquer? most are poly finishes.
the orville by gibsons are nitro, ie. same as US gibsons, so they age gracefully. also easier to fix, refinish, touchup etc etc. orvilles are cheaper, those have poly finishes. mine i paid RM2.5k. ![]() This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 19 2007, 11:33 PM |
Mar 19 2007, 11:39 PM
Too bad i cant read nor understand jap, i bought it through ishibashi with the translated thing, all i know its lacquer whether its poly or nitro i have no idea =(
I paid RM1.9k for my MIJ Epi, probably i should take some pics and you might be able to help me identify whether its poly or nitro |
Mar 19 2007, 11:49 PM
can i have some of the drugs you're on?
there isnt anyone in this world who can tell from pics whether its a poly or nitro finish, unless of cos there are dings and stuff in it. cos poly will crack, nitro will just dent. your MIJ epi is most probably a poly finish. the price you paid also is about the same price as the orville only LPs, which is what eventually became epiphone japan in 98, so same thing different name. what yr is your epi from anyway? anyway let edroman explain the differences http://www.edromanguitars.com/tech/polyvsnitro.htm |
Mar 19 2007, 11:56 PM
Hehe, heard you are the Gibson/Epi expert here, so i thought u might be able to
As i have no idea how to differentiate poly and nitro apart Mine's 2005 by Fujigen factory Further Googling yields some result according to this forum its varnish nitro ? http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=e...nitro%26hl%3Den This post has been edited by ^Hobbes^: Mar 20 2007, 12:02 AM |
Oct 20 2007, 02:57 AM
316 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
Hey, need some help... Do you have wo fatt's phone number??? I am looking for a blue fender squire... Any idea how much is it??? The cheap one....
Which should I get btw??? SX or Squire??? With a budget of around RM500 |
Oct 20 2007, 04:29 AM
2,650 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE Woh Fatt Woh Fatt Music House Sdn Bhd 37, Jalan Tun Tan Siew Sin 50050 Kuala Lumpur tel.: 03 - 2070 5968 fax: 03 - 2070 2145 Email: wfmh@streamyx.com stickies are there for a reason. |
Oct 22 2007, 06:01 PM
21 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Oct 22 2007, 06:44 PM
^Any reasons why??
Oct 23 2007, 01:05 AM
972 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
isnt that epi S-310 is the semi holo body ?
Oct 23 2007, 11:08 AM
S-310 is epi's strat shape guitar that was recently re-introduced again after a long time.
but uhh, get a SX. i got one now among all my gibsons...i just got some work to do on it to make it really really playable. |
| Change to: | 0.0361sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:38 AM |