post Mar 10 2007, 09:51 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

well for stds i think the hard case will come bundled
sean392
post Mar 10 2007, 10:11 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

be sure to always look for damages on the body, the fret condition, the pickup switch selector condition, the finishing and most important its acoustic sound
if u like it then u know wat to do
=]

if he gives u one with old strings, play till it breaks then request for a change

if u think the price he gives is still to expensive make him throw in spare strings as well

wat time u'll be there?
i'll be in kl so may drop by woh fatt
sean392
post Mar 10 2007, 10:34 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

yea
pretty sure
i remember the tag "with hard case"

wah 4/5 ar
lol
well
i maybe there at that time
anyway goodluck

i'll be wearing a brown adidas shirt
n if i see a dude with his dad bargaining for an lp i'll say hi
lol

off to kl now
bai
sean392
post Mar 10 2007, 05:59 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

technics???
sean392
post Mar 10 2007, 06:21 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Mar 10 2007, 06:02 PM)
Yeah should be Technics, that shop with some pianos inside, when i saw that LP Std, it was next to a SX LP Custom.

Not quite sure if its still available, and since its old stock chances are its MIK which IMHO is way better than MIC
i was testing once this lp std and classic in yamaha
MIC
when i held it i thought WOW this is heavy stuff!!! could it be honduras mahogany?

i turned to the back, and i saw alder doh.gif
sean392
post Mar 10 2007, 06:32 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 10 2007, 06:28 PM)
if MIC / or even MIK, how do you see the alder?
the recent epiphones i all seen were 3 piece mahagony bodies, with a mahagony laminate at the back to make it look 1 piece.
the alder is normally in place of the maple cap, and then of cos the maple laminate on top.

even my 2002 MIK epi is built the same way.
well, the backs of the lps didnt have any grain similar to mahogany [as in its was really clean looking, like alder]
if im wrong i stand corrected. smile.gif

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 10 2007, 06:30 PM)
Actually, the Rm1750 Hamer, double cutaway, neck thru that I tested out at CK Music wasn't that bad...... especially for a neck thru....

I would instantly change the pickups though....
the one with alot of inlays?

This post has been edited by sean392: Mar 10 2007, 06:33 PM
sean392
post Mar 11 2007, 01:08 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 11 2007, 12:04 AM)
ok i was just at one utama, and checked out whatever that shop is above toys r us.

they got 3 epi LPs.
2 are limited edition standards with glitter tops, red and purple or something, RM2200 or so.
1 is a classic, ie with open coil pickups, RM1900.

further questions shall be ignored by me.
you have google.
glitter tops are fugly imo
and the classic is well priced
sean392
post Mar 11 2007, 07:35 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Mar 11 2007, 05:23 PM)
IMO nothing much except cosmetics
pickups and neck profile are different
pickups on the classic are hotter
the neck profile is slimmer

i have a classic plus and im loving it =p
just that i wud change the pickups if i had the cash
as it is kind of muddy
sean392
post Mar 11 2007, 10:28 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

well that sucks

><
but the MIC ones i tried i yamaha [the one that looks like its not made out of mahogany] had a baseball bat neck ><
sean392
post Mar 11 2007, 10:32 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 11 2007, 10:31 PM)
which yamaha?
in subang parade
all the lespauls are gone now though

the one in kl plaza
i tried a MIC epi lp custom
baseball neck oso ><
as with the stds
sean392
post Mar 11 2007, 10:50 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 11 2007, 10:36 PM)
far as i know, no epi lp's have baseball necks.
definitely nowhere near as close as on a 50s lp neck.

maybe if you can, find someone who has a gibson lp standard then try it.
cos my epi lp custom neck feels only slightly thicker than my '61 reissue SG.
holy crap
then the 50's neck ain't a baseball bat, its a freaking cannon barrel !
aihz.... having short fingers suck

btw i think the shop in summit usj is selling fake guitars
the so called MIK lp classic there was obscenely light, and it was kinda thin
the epiphone inlays were really thick
and the MIK sticker was fishy looking. as well as no serial no.

the epiphone acoustics there oso fake i think cuz the headstock looks like wat u would get on a martin
lol

sean392
post Mar 11 2007, 11:34 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 11 2007, 10:57 PM)
summit now has a proper guitar shop? i know there was one selling pianos and crappy electrics on the ground floor.
and thats the shop lol
sean392
post Mar 12 2007, 12:42 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 11 2007, 11:56 PM)
I don't think Yamaha would DARE sell a fake guitar.

But yeah... I read that the Supreme's are chambered bodies..... which means that they ARE lighter then average.

But still..... the damn humbuckers..... sigh..... try it out for yourself.
thing is the yamaha is not the one selling the fakes
some music school in summit

the yamaha in parade used to have MIC lps which the woods doesnt have much grain [thats y i said it looks like alder]
sean392
post Mar 12 2007, 12:55 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Mar 12 2007, 12:52 AM)
AFAIK, Epiphone Classics to Customs have all the same specs i.e. neck, pu and etc except the plain top which has got all mahogany instead of mahogany/alder.

Their main difference should be cosmetic wise only
aye
ur knowledge surpasses mine
><

my guitars is built the way everdying mentioned
minus the laminate
i can see the 3piece mahogany body VERY clearly
lol
sean392
post Mar 12 2007, 12:58 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

according to the serial no. which u told me
lol
sean392
post Mar 12 2007, 01:05 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 12 2007, 01:02 AM)
ah, guess the MIK standards never bothered with that extra step.

waitin for the full invasion of MII, then see if the MIK's will raise in value more.
the MIK custom plus before in SG was selling for SGD800, sometime late last yr they increased price to SGD1000.
omg MII???
lol
anyway off to bed now

sean392
post Mar 16 2007, 03:36 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 15 2007, 10:43 PM)
who was the guy who said there was no LP-100 in woh fatt?
i was just there, got my EMG SLV.

the LP-100 has always been in the same place in the glass cabinet since god knows when.
RM1500 with case, before discount.

apart from all the glitter top LPs, there is also a natural birdseye maple top epi LP for RM2100 or so.
what color is the birdseyemaple ?
sean392
post Mar 16 2007, 03:43 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 16 2007, 03:38 PM)
are you color blind you dunno what natural is? or are you just blind?

tongue.gif
awwww
ceh
tot wat
sean392
post Mar 17 2007, 12:27 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 16 2007, 03:46 PM)
but it does look nice and different.
IIRC, the birdseye maple LP's were only made around mid-late 90s.
ueh??
my lp has a birdseye maple top wo
but the serial says its made in 02

dam i got one confused guitar
lol =p

0.1111sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:19 PM