559 posts

Xiaomi Router 3 2.4ghz can output more than 500mbps? I'm a 50MBps unifi user

This post has been edited by zhihao4456: Jul 12 2017, 10:56 AM
zhihao4456
post Jul 12 2017, 01:01 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Jul 12 2017, 11:17 AM)
First of all you can't hit 500Mbps over 2.4GHz Wifi unless you have higher both router and adapter that has 256-QAM capability. So far, only router and adapter rated 802.11ac Wave 2 comes with this feature. Since you already purchase a 802.11ac, it's pointless to use 2.4GHz unless your 5GHz signal strength is too weak for reliable transmission.

There's no 50MBps yet in Malaysia, I think you are referring to 50Mbps right?
Oops sorry, yes 50Mbps~ Im somehow felt 5ghz strength is weak that is why~ I think router like TPLink Archer AC2600 at the specs shows that the 2.4ghz is up to 800mbps
zhihao4456
post Jul 27 2017, 06:50 PM

559 posts

I flashed the Mi Router 3 into Padavan and got it working with Unifi~ But there is one problem for me, my speed is capped at 30mbps no matter on 2.4ghz or 5ghz~ why like this ar?
zhihao4456
post Jul 28 2017, 04:56 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Jul 28 2017, 04:17 PM)
Is that possible the interference around your house is strong?
i don't think so~ with the stock DIR-850L i can even get 80+mbps on 2.4ghz and 100+mbps on 5ghz... is there any latest firmware for me to flash?

like this firmware:
https://mega.nz/#!dVAnBZ4A!V5A26H1a...bDYz673suwhnWnU

i got it from this thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3828356/+400
zhihao4456
post Jul 28 2017, 05:51 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Jul 28 2017, 05:20 PM)
Not sure about that. Why not build your own firmware. It's easy.
huh? how to build? will i brick my router?

This post has been edited by zhihao4456: Jul 28 2017, 05:52 PM
zhihao4456
post Aug 9 2017, 07:59 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Aug 8 2017, 11:26 PM)
Hi guys, im using stock English version and everything is ok, just that i cant connect to the internet.

Using PPOE, i put in my unifi username and password, after that leaving everything default. What is the setting i missing ??
stock firmware with Unifi doesn't work~ you have to flash your router to custom firmware in order to gain Vlan functionality that required by Unifi
zhihao4456
post Aug 9 2017, 10:02 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Aug 9 2017, 09:54 AM)
Then the online vendor saying support Unifi is tipu one lah  vmad.gif

Flashing will then void the warranty also  wink.gif
no really tipu you~ can use with Unifi only if you flash with custom firmware~ if you do not want to flash then get a smart switch but not worth to get it~ your warranty how long?

won't so easy spoil 1 la~
zhihao4456
post Aug 9 2017, 12:17 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(tertiary @ Aug 9 2017, 11:23 AM)
No need to build Padavan if running already, just flash the new .trx from the web GUI. I don't know if it will solve your wifi problem, though. Maybe first try using an app on your phone like Wifi Analyzer to find which channels are interfering.
flashed that firmware already and tried all countries the channels also not use~ still capped at 30mbps for my wifi on 2.4ghz and 5ghz~ sux feeling that only happen on me~
zhihao4456
post Aug 9 2017, 01:11 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(tertiary @ Aug 9 2017, 12:29 PM)
Have you done a site survey with Wifi Analyzer app?

Have you tried expanding channel width to 20/40MHz in the 2.4GHz settings?
yes, i did use the app~ find for the best channel~

tried changing the 20/40mhz of different mode "n", "g", "b/g" etc

tried disable WMM

tried disable TRX bursting
zhihao4456
post Aug 11 2017, 01:56 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Aug 11 2017, 10:09 AM)
WTF 2 hours wait  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  ?  Why no body mention this long hours ? Why so troublesome this flashing process, i also spend few hours figuring out the VM things still not yet complete  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif 

Do you need extra router ? Can i sell to anyone here for RM100 ?  Or exchange with similar model ? sweat.gif  sweat.gif
why you no buy from me? i selling mine flashed ready sweat.gif
zhihao4456
post Aug 11 2017, 07:38 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Aug 11 2017, 02:17 PM)
Exchange with you can ar ? Why u selling ?
i dunno why it capped my internet speed on wifi~ maybe because my surroundings~ anyway the coverage also not enough for my 3 storey house~ going to change to another 1
zhihao4456
post Aug 12 2017, 11:53 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Aug 12 2017, 11:49 AM)
Still available?
yes

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4376044&hl=
zhihao4456
post Aug 12 2017, 06:41 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Aug 12 2017, 05:54 PM)
i had the padavan 5aa2a75 on mi3 sets maxis user name n pwd pppoe and vlan tagged 621. removed the thomson from huawei hg8240h port 1 and connected to mi3 WAN. still not able to connect Internet. not sure what's missing, pls help.
screenshot wan settings here
zhihao4456
post Aug 28 2017, 08:32 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 27 2017, 04:54 PM)
No problem. TM is just trying to be helpful by allowing us to connect even with a wrong password or username. It would have been more helpful if they just left things alone and and allowed the router to say authentication failed.

If you didn't have custom DNS, you would have seen this.
wow, i didnt know they even have this before~ not bad not bad sweat.gif

0.0984sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:05 AM