Tyre Reviews, What brand of tyres have you used?

pacer
post Mar 22 2007, 03:30 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 22 2007, 03:26 PM)
Why so less people using Toyo tires?
becoz they are getting worse...
was a toyo fan till i came upon the T1R soft sidewalls and a funny compound. LOL... the worse tire choice i made... haha
my previous Vimode and GU:WN was much better.

but now i am happy with my neova's tongue.gif
pacer
post Mar 22 2007, 03:57 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Mar 22 2007, 03:45 PM)
ooo.. bro... u should haf reply earlier...

juz got my toyo t1r onli... sigh.. i saw the vimode @ tek ming, sunway.. but it has been shelf for more than a year.. tats y i didn't take it... sad.gif sad.gif
how much u paid for them? how old now? but don worry, if u drive like me then it will only last u 20-25K km's.... hehe... so something to look forward to
pacer
post Mar 22 2007, 04:04 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Mar 22 2007, 03:59 PM)
i bought mine for rm209 @ tek ming.. reasonable?
i not too sure coz i changed them in JB last time... and also with trade in
BTW, what size?

pacer
post Mar 22 2007, 04:11 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Mar 22 2007, 04:08 PM)
rm209 + installation+balancing.. excluding allignment

ermmm.. it's 195/50/15
should be ard there i think. in jb i paid 230 for 195 55 15, well less after trade in of course, but that was a year back

This post has been edited by pacer: Mar 22 2007, 04:12 PM
pacer
post Mar 22 2007, 04:26 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Mar 22 2007, 04:20 PM)
ooo.. ok ok.. this tek ming's variety is very limited.. u can go lelong.com.my n search for their contact n details.. call them b4 u g0..
ya. i know... thats y i went to hin leong (kedai papan) kland for my neova's, they had them but price wise was about rm15-20 more, so i decided to go to klang since i had the time... save abt rm60-80 why not tongue.gif
pacer
post Mar 23 2007, 02:57 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Mar 23 2007, 11:52 AM)
Im using GIII 185/60/R14 for about 18 months, so far so good (to whack) tongue.gif

eh, Dunlop SP9000 stop production redy??
G111. urs ok ahhh... my dads was ok till about 15000K, then start to harden liau.

to those who asked tongue.gif
my neovas are 195/55/15
but at hin leong (kedai papan) in dec 2006/jan 2007 (forgot liau la) at RM240 each. trade in my bald T1R (23000Km) for rm15 each (dont care lah, to me its a bonus) so paid rm900 and a bit for alighment (forgot how much)

FC ahh, haiyo, dont think much difference la... if compare High performance tires to another then it can be neglectable bit if compare with comfort and economical tires that has low resistance then there is a bit la. (but personally never used comfort tires b4)...

just off topic since i am free, just wanna give a summary of the tires i have used b4 in the past few years, may be a lot coz i got 2 cars to play with (currently a waja and a gen2)
1. falken 512 (good but thread will harden and will lose grip after 10K)
2. Brigestone re711, japan (the best tires i have ever used b4 neova's, threadwear was quite good, to me at least, and the thead did not harden that much over time which made it very consistant over time
3. brigestone G111, thailand, mixed feeling about this, good but then when u compare to RE711 which it was suppost to replace, i consider it a failure
4. yoko ES100, average tires, comfort level is still there but then it lets u trash it when needed, LOL
5. toyo gu:wn, character comparable with re711, abeit lesser in terms of grip in wet and dry but predictable
6. toyo Vimode, at last toyo came out with something like the RE711, the best toyo has ever made in my vocabulary
7. Eagle F1 gsd3 (thatland), hmmm. all i can say is good in wet... didnt quite like it
9. Avan neova, no need to say la... tongue.gif

got one or two more i think but forgot the model, michelin's, but nvm la tongue.gif
my waja is due for a change soon. thinking of yoko s drive.... any comment

pacer
post Mar 23 2007, 03:44 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(CFS @ Mar 23 2007, 03:34 PM)
orh my neova was baught around last year nov 2006 around rm250...s drive ar? y not a drive r1? or mayb bridgestone RE001 which recently just featured in hypertune mag seems like the thread design got abit like RE01R
any idea how much for 205/50/16??
A)s drive
B)r1
C)RE001 (but anyhow i think its a bit over my budget... hehe)
pacer
post Mar 25 2007, 06:43 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Mar 24 2007, 01:21 AM)
bro pacer..

what is the thing u dislike about the t1r? less grip? hehe smile.gif
soft sidewalls and the compound is a bit hard. smile.gif

R1 are made in philipines la, so i dont trust it, haha, just a personal preference, and u know what, r1 are cheaper than S drive which are made in japan, LOL, and R1 compound is a bit harder... so... didnt like that fact.

anyway changed to S drive in YHI singapore yesterday, i have to say they are not cheap compared to KL... but then again they are really fresh off the oven paid ard RM310 for them... in jb asked ard was abt rm320-340, guess kl will be ard 250-280

so far so good, need to run them in first, will give a short review after 500km's or so... heehee, initial findings compared to the neova's on the waja was that the sidewalls are a but softer but still allows spirited driving.
pacer
post Mar 27 2007, 01:05 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Mar 26 2007, 10:56 PM)
He he.. Must haf been some missunderstood. He he.. It's actually toyo t1r... smile.gif
erm.. a bit cofusion la... haha

was answering CFS question on the yokohama R1....
pacer
post Mar 27 2007, 03:42 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(CFS @ Mar 27 2007, 01:49 PM)
haha yealo R1 can last dem long....i have used it for 3 month then downgrade it to 15" then using neova lolz but amazingly the R1 still look like when i just baught it....hehe anyway how's ur s drive? good ar? how's the hydroplanting of the tyres? duno whether neova got 14" or not...have to ask those with 14" or mayb u can go to thier website & search ba...... thumbup.gif
s drive still dunno how is it in the wet, no rain lah here, damn hot
hahaha
but in the dry is of course not as good as neova la, sidewalls are a bit softer but not as soft as t1R. i would say comparable to ES100, brigestone RE711. compound wise is not too bad. dry handling is good, but not great. sast sweeping corners taken at 130 in neova's could only manage 110-120 on S drives. overall not too bad for the price. but got to note that it is quite silent

why u want 14's? for what car
pacer
post Apr 3 2007, 02:45 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Apr 2 2007, 08:17 PM)
Feel like trying Neova AD07, but abit expensive RM250/piece. Additional RM40/piece. RM160.  tongue.gif

How long this Neova can last? Anyone? Count by mileage.
abt 25K of NORMAL driving

0.0621sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:17 PM