Tyre Reviews, What brand of tyres have you used?

nd_4ever
post Nov 20 2007, 02:16 PM

Vision is my Destination & Mission is my Journey!
586 posts

QUOTE(RyanTham @ Nov 20 2007, 11:23 AM)
any ppl here know how to check out the type producing date?
there is 4 figure on the tyre rite?then it is count on week or month or year?
For example, if the tyre state 1007 that means the tyre is manufactured on the 10th week of year 2007.
nd_4ever
post Nov 20 2007, 03:29 PM

586 posts

U r welcome Ryan! Just sharing with u guys here on what i know. wink.gif
nd_4ever
post Nov 23 2007, 06:04 PM

586 posts

Let me post up my reviews here:

1) Continental SportsContact 1 (CSC1) - 215/45/17
-> Dry road handling is up to my expectation & able to cater to my crazy-mode driving style. High speed cruising is great with these rubbers.
-> I would rate these tyres as silent compared to other same range rubbers brands.
-> Wet road handling is good enough for me & tried cruising along hiway around 150 km/h during downpour.
-> Threadwear is pretty good as well.

2) Continental SportsContact 2 (CSC 2) - 225/40/18
-> Superb wet & dry road handling.... thumbs up & recommendable to those who doesnt have budget constraints on tyres.
-> Very silent tyre as well even during spirited driving, doesnt screech during heavy cornering.
-> Cons is thread wear is pretty fast for its thread.

3) Yokohama A Drive-R1 - 205/40/17
-> Great for those looking for value-for-money performance tyres.
-> Able to give superb dry with moderate wet road handling.
-> Noisy type of tyres bcoz of the threads pattern design.
nd_4ever
post Nov 28 2007, 05:52 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(dotcom @ Nov 28 2007, 04:16 PM)
anyone on Yoko A-Drive R1 and Conti tire b4?
looking for a quiet ride.....any recommendation?
Read my review which is just 2 posts above your reply.
nd_4ever
post Nov 29 2007, 03:26 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(dotcom @ Nov 29 2007, 12:24 AM)
how much are they cost for the conti csc1 and csc2?
i'm on 215/45/17... current hmm.gif
I can get a very good price for both the Continental CSC1 & 2 from my friend's tyre shop in Sg.Besi area. If it's still under promotional price, then CSC 215/45/17 will be selling ard RM280 (Made in Malaysia) & CSC2 will be going for RM370 for made in Germany ones.

If u would like to go for CSC1 Made In Germany, then it'll be the region of RM320 for the same size as above. Not much difference for CSC1 Made in M'sia & Germany as used both before this.

If budget is not limited then go for CSC2 as u'll love it during spirited driving & also during raining season.
nd_4ever
post Dec 3 2007, 09:55 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(tkytky @ Nov 30 2007, 11:51 AM)
bro, CSC2 got 205/45/16 size?
If i'm not mistaken, CSC2 only comes in sizes after 17". Smallest size i was informed is 215/45/17 for CSC2. If u want 205/45/16 then go for CSC1 which is the same thread pattern as Satria Neo original tyres from factory.

Added on December 3, 2007, 10:02 am
QUOTE(dotcom @ Dec 3 2007, 09:35 AM)
got any diff CC na CSC model?.....RM280 is a good price also... the tyre shop near where in sg.besi?
Difference are the grip handling capability between the 2 thread designs. U can notice that both tyres has different thread patterns.... CSC range is more onto performance with comfort matched driving mostly for executive sports range of cars.

Yes, this shop belongs to an old friend of mine & i can get good price compared to others. It's worth it for me as dont have to drive down to Klang just for new tyres. smile.gif

This post has been edited by nd_4ever: Dec 3 2007, 10:02 AM
nd_4ever
post Dec 3 2007, 12:15 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(dotcom @ Dec 3 2007, 11:37 AM)
cool bro...can look for u or ur fren when i'm going to change my tire... brows.gif
Sure, go pay a visit to his shop in Sg.Besi area when u wanna change new tyres. PM me by then ok. cool.gif
nd_4ever
post Dec 3 2007, 04:53 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(tkytky @ Dec 3 2007, 04:06 PM)
thanks bro......i was informed that 16" tyre and below are made in malaysia. 17" above is made germany....am i correct? smile.gif
Nope, even 17" Continentals now available in Made in M'sia threads especially for CSC1.
nd_4ever
post Dec 4 2007, 06:46 PM

586 posts

The most silent tyre i've used is the Azenis ST115 but dammit, it only lasted me less than 5 months from the day i replaced it new onto my car. vmad.gif

Firenza ST-03 made in Japan tyres are also very silent since it's categorized as comfort+performance designed oriented tyres. wink.gif It's also very affordable as well but dont mistaken it for ST-05 which is made in Indonesia & this thread is the same as Falken Ziex 322.
nd_4ever
post Dec 5 2007, 10:28 AM

586 posts

Firenza ST-03 (215/45/17) should be around RM320 +/- now i guessed. It's been long time since i checked on Firenza tyres. smile.gif
nd_4ever
post Dec 5 2007, 11:41 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(fstrader @ Dec 5 2007, 10:31 AM)
5 months edi finish cos ur engine tarik fast maa unker andy  brows.gif  laugh.gif
Aiyo, my car slow mai bai...... how to tarik wor? It's only a 1.5 nia? brows.gif laugh.gif blush.gif But ST115 along with AD07 is the tyres which i wont be replacing onto my cars anymore as the thread wear is too fast for me to digest lor. hmm.gif
nd_4ever
post Apr 18 2008, 12:40 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Apr 18 2008, 03:08 AM)
What tyre is grippy on dry and okok silent? My GY GSD3 damn noisy,..
Try giving Falken Ziex 912 (latest thread design) that's going for RM180-190 (195/55/15) in Klang Valley tyre shops. It's made in Thailand & very silent as well..... even more silent compared to Continental Comfort Contact.
nd_4ever
post Apr 19 2008, 10:45 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Apr 18 2008, 05:19 PM)
How about performance?
Performance not bad for me after tested for bout 2000km since new. Reasonable priced tyres with above-average performance level suitable for daily driving style with some spirited driving once in a while. U'll know what's the tyres' limit once tried running with it. smile.gif
nd_4ever
post Oct 22 2008, 12:34 PM

586 posts

Dunlop FM901 (Made in Indonesia) also not bad for both dry & wet road conditions. I've been running with it for the past 4-5 months until it burst during cruising along NSE last month. Some retards slashed its sidewalls with a blade. Makehai betul...... costs me RM 390 each for 225/45/18 Dunlop FM901.

Currently running with the new brand of tyre, known as Pinso Tyres from Indonesia. I'm impressed by its performance during dry road conditions as it exceed Dunlop FM901, Continental CSC-1, Falken Ziex 912 that I've used previously. As for wet road conditions, be slightly more cautious. It's pretty cheap priced for 18" as I paid RM350 each for 225/40/18-93W.
nd_4ever
post Dec 18 2008, 03:20 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 22 2008, 05:59 PM)
^

You have enemies er?
Nope, I don't go make enemies as I'm into business deals bro. It seems that the retards envied my ride running on 18" with wide tyres kua. Who knows? The retard is lucky as he got away with it, if I caught them..... then it's celebration time for me. brows.gif drool.gif
nd_4ever
post Apr 19 2011, 02:57 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Apr 2 2011, 12:47 AM)
Guys any good tire shop to recommend around Salak Selatan/ Sri Petaling area? Thanks a lot!
Perhaps u can drop by Hua Hin Tyres Services in Salak Selatan area with a big yellow Continental Partner signboard beside the Besraya highway. Look for Ah Chuan (the boss) & he can recommend tyres that fits your budget.

Added on April 19, 2011, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(gagak_84 @ Mar 29 2011, 10:21 PM)
did anyone know SONAR tyre?
Sonar brand of tyres are made in Taiwan & made, it sucks big time! If your budget is tight, then better get Achilles brand of tyres than Sonar.

This post has been edited by nd_4ever: Apr 19 2011, 03:06 PM
nd_4ever
post Sep 27 2012, 01:05 PM

586 posts

Just happened to have some free time & login here. Share my experience on the tyres that I've used on my rides before this:

Dunlop FM901 (Made in Japan) 225/40/18
Pros:

- Grippy when already run in after 300 km.
- Water dispersion is pretty good during rainy day but not heavy downpour.
- Nice tread pattern & responsive steering feel during spirited driving.
- Moderate tread wear for the price

Cons:
- Noisy after clocked 10,000 kms with it.
- Treads seems to wear off pretty fast when it's about 50% left.
- Sidewall is a bit soft when taking up heavy turns.

Dunlop Direzza DZ101 (Made in Japan) 225/40/18:
Pro:

- Best entry level UHP tyres which is made in Japan
- Superb grip during wet & dry road conditions even during heavy downpour. Managed to whack up to speed 150 km/h during downpour along NSE highway.
- Silica compound which gives comfortable ride along the way.
- Nice tread pattern & very silent type of performance tyres.
- Still very grippy when near to its TWI life.

Cons:
- Tread wear very fast..... only clocked 30,000 kms with the set of tyres. Daily drive on town area with occasion traveling.
- Noisy when it's almost up to its TWI (Tread Wear Indicator) but still grips nicely.
- Soft sidewall which gives body roll during heavy turns.

Continental Sport Contact 2 (Made in Germany) 225/40/18
Pros:

- Superb handling & steering response during dry road conditions.
- Made your balls bigger as u tends to go faster during heavy downpour.
- Silent & gives comfortable ride.
- Stiff sidewall & makes u sweep corners like a pro driver.
- Overall one of the best tyre ever use before.

Cons:
- Bloody expensive priced for the tyres, paid RM 780 each!
- Wears out fastest compared to other brands of tyres due to its soft compound that gives marvelous grip.
- Prone to sidewall cracks but can be rectified by filling in slightly more air into the tyres.

Continental Sport Contact 3 (Made in Czec Republic) 225/40/18
Pros:

- Very silent UHP tyres available that gives great level of handling & grip for any road conditions except snow.
- Feels like soft sidewall but it's stiff actually..... gives us comfortable ride quality without compromising on performance for our spirited driving style.
- Tends to lower down the noise going thru those yellow lines on higher speed.
- The best tyre that I've used before any other brands.

Cons:
- Superbly expensive compared to CSC2, costs me half of my salary for a set of 4 tyres, RM 880 each!
- Wears out superbly fast like a shredder.
- Ugly tread pattern which doesn't seems to match the price & brand
- Ugly sidewall design which almost identical to those Indonesia made tyres.

Continental Premium Contact 2 (Made in South Africa) 195/55/15
Pros:

- Very durable & silent tyre for the range, way better than the locally produced ones of the same model.
- Softer sidewalls which gives super comfortable ride for daily driving but can tolerate our gangnam styled driving most of the time.
- Disperse water wonderfully during rainy days & heavy downpours.
- Nice tread pattern & sidewall wordings.

Cons:
- Expensive for 15" range of tyres.
- Treadwear is pretty quick I would say as still using right now on my wife's daily ride to work.

Currently running in my new sets of Yokohama A.Drive R1 & Continental Sport Contact 5 on my rides. I'll share my review once it's time to replace a new set of rubbers. wink.gif
nd_4ever
post Oct 19 2012, 07:49 PM

586 posts

Maxxis brand of tires are manufactured in Thailand for most of its model series unless some models are made in Taiwan.
nd_4ever
post Oct 22 2012, 09:56 AM

586 posts

Neuton brand is a subsidiary under Yokohama itself & yes, their HQ is based in S'pore. smile.gif Try to pay a visit to Hin Leong in Klang for Neuton tires as it's very reasonable priced there. smile.gif Good luck!

Added on October 22, 2012, 10:03 am
QUOTE(phas3r @ Oct 19 2012, 11:28 PM)
nice one. so now a fan of euro tires?
Hi phas3r, yup..... I'm a loyal supporter for Continental brand of tires as it gave me superb expectation for all my rides all this while. Managed to clocked super high speed with my previous set of CSC3 on my beloved VW MK 5 GTi Caractere-tuned back in year 2010. Wonderful & great experience indeed...... which the speed is more than 28X km/h. Muahahahaha........

In fact, I'm now running in my set of CSC5 on my rides. I'll share my review on this set of tires soon! wink.gif cool.gif

This post has been edited by nd_4ever: Oct 22 2012, 10:03 AM
nd_4ever
post Oct 23 2012, 10:30 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Oct 22 2012, 12:23 PM)
haha good that youre driving mk5gti as well. stock or modded? should be modded for that speed.
im looking for the tire that is the most stable for 2xxkm/h speed! for some reason, i dont know if its my tire or other components, since a few months ago my 160+ km/h experience is getting less surefooted than before sweat.gif
If my instinct & prediction is right, u are also one of the proud owner of a MK5 GTi too? Mine have been remapped to Stage 2 REVO with K04 turbo kit setup plus some secret recipe tunings. Hehehehe...... managed to whacked the highest top speed previously at 29x km/h which made my balls went up close to my throat once. Hahahahaha.......

U should give your ride a try with the new CSC5 to justify its performance according to your driving style. thumbup.gif wink.gif

0.0609sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:20 PM