views

TSJabraan
post Mar 27 2017, 12:29 AM, updated 7y ago

Getting Started
68 posts

27/3/17
Height: 170cm
Weight: 67kg(as of 3/17)

Hi, I've been lifting for abit over 2 years now(cumulatively. it's been 3 years since i began but I took about a year off in between due to a severe wrist injury) and I've never really had clear goals since the beginning up until about a few months ago where I got to know a lot more about powerlifting through watching youtube videos and such. Used to watch the Hodge Twins for general bodybuilding advice and for the laughs biggrin.gif but later on I started watching Omar Isuf, and later Silent Mike, Mark Bell and others and really got interested in powerlifting. I realised that after awhile, the whole 'aesthetics' just didn't mean anything to me anymore and I wasn't really training with a purpose. Now, I have a very clear goal, gradually building up my strength in the 3 main lifts and hopefully in a few years, I'll be attending powerlifting meets and such.

So, although I've been lifting for a couple of years now, up until a few months ago, I've only been training my upper body(yes you know them leg days? I skipped ALL them leg days). I had this mentality that I didn't want my legs to grow big cuz for some reason I hated the look back then. So, I guess in the sense of powerlifting(Bench, Squat, Deadlift), you could say I'm a beginner except benching. Started squatting(with a smith machine as my nearby gym doesn't have a squat rack cry.gif ) about 3 months ago and I've only started deadlifting bout 2 weeks ago(deadlifted 2 sessions so far).

Well, I just discovered this section in Lowyat and seems like a good idea to document my progress. Gonna update once in a while(probably when I hit new volume or one rep max(ORM) PRs) Here are my current stats:

Bench: 100kg(ORM)
Squat(Smith Machine): 80kg(5x5, ORM not tested)
Deadlift: 110kg(5x5, ORM not tested)

Npad
post Mar 27 2017, 10:18 PM

Casual
356 posts