Colleague all chinese, keep speaking chinese, MNC with angmoh boss

TSred.merc49
post Mar 26 2017, 11:35 AM, updated 9y ago

Software dev job. Medium sized MNC with angmoh boss. I'm one of the few that dont speak chinese, and I'm the only one at technical level. Other non-chinese speaker are at management level.

Problem is: teammates speak chinese 99.5% of the time. As non chinese speaker, I cant know whether they are discussing work or just talking craps. Other people can join the conversation if they got curious or dont understand, while I can only join halfway when it's clear that they are talking works.

Now, if i ask them to speak english, they will. But they will also just tell me the things halfway, no one will want to repeat every single things that they have said. And I feel like I lost a lot of learning every day since I will know the things halfway but not the whole thought process.

Asking them to speak chinese - dont work.
I have not asked the management to do smtg with it, but from previous places that I've been to, the chinese actually change to speak english....for few days, and then back to old habit.

Now, I'm really lost. All the places I've been, I see same problems. I need to learn from them, but if they keep speaking chinese, I lost a bit every day - and over long term I am losing a lot.

Opinion?

Tldr: Teammates all speak chinese. Talking to them dont help. Even management cant break their habit. How?
SUSTheHitman47
post Mar 26 2017, 11:43 AM

Nuke
1,053 posts

QUOTE(red.merc49 @ Mar 26 2017, 11:35 AM)
Software dev job. Medium sized MNC with angmoh boss. I'm one of the few that dont speak chinese, and I'm the only one at technical level. Other non-chinese speaker are at management level.

Problem is: teammates speak chinese 99.5% of the time. As non chinese speaker, I cant know whether they are discussing work or just talking craps. Other people can join the conversation if they got curious or dont understand, while I can only join halfway when it's clear that they are talking works.

Now, if i ask them to speak english, they will. But they will also just tell me the things halfway, no one will want to repeat every single things that they have said. And I feel like I lost a lot of learning every day since I will know the things halfway but not the whole thought process.

I have not asked the management to do smtg with it, but from previous places that I've been to, the chinese actually change to speak english....for few days, and then back to old habit.

Now, I'm really lost. All the places I've been, I see same problems. I need to learn from them, but if they keep speaking chinese, I lost a bit every day - and over long term I am losing a lot.

Opinion?

Tldr: Teammates all speak chinese. Talking to them dont help. Even management cant break their habit. How?
90% they are just talking crap.

hey you should try find other jobs.
nexona88
post Mar 26 2017, 11:56 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,529 posts

Hmm I think u better find others place to work...

No use work in such environment...

Little Birdie
post Mar 26 2017, 12:00 PM

194 posts

Been there done that. Felt left out all the time. Did the right thing and left them to rot.
TSred.merc49
post Mar 26 2017, 12:35 PM

Little Birdie
nexona88
TheHitman47
Remmie
Quitting the job and join another company and see the same thing?

.net developers are dominated by chinese, 3 previous companies that i joined all same situation. Any ideas? :/
Topace111
post Mar 26 2017, 12:47 PM

2,102 posts

I think it's easier if you just learn chinese. Its an added skill too. If you cannot get them to adjust to you then you have to learn to adapt. Survival skills
Dominion101
post Mar 26 2017, 01:14 PM

104 posts

Apply for Chinese government scholarship, they offer a 1-2 year programme scholarship for non-Chinese citizen worldwide to come to China and learn Chinese language. Go and apply for it. Learning a new language will allow you to penetrate into others culture, besides it will enrich your lives smile.gif

This post has been edited by Dominion101: Mar 26 2017, 01:17 PM
Little Birdie
post Mar 26 2017, 03:07 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(red.merc49 @ Mar 26 2017, 12:35 PM)
Little Birdie
nexona88
TheHitman47
Remmie

.net developers are dominated by chinese, 3 previous companies that i joined all same situation. Any ideas? :/
Switch to another field. Or go to GLC. My first job at an MNC the Chinese language spilled into official meetings with secondary discussions in Chinese I got totally fed up and left.
nexona88
post Mar 26 2017, 03:07 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,529 posts

QUOTE(Dominion101 @ Mar 26 2017, 01:14 PM)
Apply for Chinese government scholarship, they offer a 1-2 year programme scholarship for non-Chinese citizen worldwide to come to China and learn Chinese language. Go and apply for it. Learning a new language will allow you to penetrate into others culture, besides it will enrich your lives  smile.gif
Wah really?
Didn't know have such thing..
Would share info to friends.. See if they interested or not blush.gif
avrilmae
post Mar 26 2017, 03:14 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Mar 26 2017, 12:47 PM)
I think it's easier if you just learn chinese. Its an added skill too. If you cannot get them to adjust to you then you have to learn to adapt. Survival skills
Very much agree!
SUSTheHitman47
post Mar 26 2017, 03:15 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

QUOTE(red.merc49 @ Mar 26 2017, 12:35 PM)
Little Birdie
nexona88
TheHitman47
Remmie

well if you really only love that line of work then deal with it. learn mandarin or something.

oso i dont think thats right, maybe different perspective but from my point of view its not dominated by chinese at all.
WallChecker
post Mar 26 2017, 03:43 PM

315 posts

Dear red.merc49,

My personal view is that before u ask people to change, why not u try to adapt and learn Mandarin/Chinese bit by bit. Working in a team is about team work and trust. U should start by gaining their trust, blend in and then discuss that with them. I am sure Malaysian Chinese is not that bad, u have not seen worse. While u can escalate to management but u will never be in their group and working there become more stressful.
tl;dr, before ask people to change, maybe u can try to adapt and move on. If u find it easy to ask people to change, then it is the same to u, why not.
Ideally, your colleagues should not behave like that, but unfortunately we don't live in ideal world but a realistic world.
hades4eve
post Mar 26 2017, 06:15 PM

193 posts

My boss, pure ang mor from UK can learn to speak and understand Chinese in a year. Why can't you?
jknowsit
post Mar 26 2017, 11:00 PM

360 posts

Are you a Chinese who can't speak Chinese? doh.gif If so, there are a lot of reasons for learning our mother tongue. Although English has became the language of business, culture makes us wealthier and more tolerant. If you can weather this, you'll have potential to work in any big firm. thumbsup.gif
TSred.merc49
post Mar 27 2017, 02:42 AM

QUOTE(jknowsit @ Mar 26 2017, 11:00 PM)
Are you a Chinese who can't speak Chinese?  doh.gif If so, there are a lot of reasons for learning our mother tongue. Although English has became the language of business, culture makes us wealthier and more tolerant. If you can weather this, you'll have potential to work in any big firm. :thumbsup:
No not chinese.

I have worked with big firms (annual revenue of 16b usd considered big?) before yet still encounters same problem.
Bussybody
post Mar 27 2017, 09:26 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(red.merc49 @ Mar 27 2017, 02:42 AM)
No not chinese.

I have worked with big firms (annual revenue of 16b usd considered big?) before yet still encounters same problem.
sign up a mandarin class. Not only for this job but for other opportunities later.

Could be a new chemistry at office for u!
Drian
post Mar 27 2017, 09:36 AM

4,999 posts

why do you need to know what they're talking about.

This post has been edited by Drian: Mar 27 2017, 09:37 AM
sheahann
post Mar 27 2017, 09:38 AM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

all my fren who spoke only english but they actually can understand mandarin...
DarReNz
post Mar 27 2017, 11:10 AM

7,496 posts

are you talking about malaysian chinese or chinese from china ?
abhipraaya
post Mar 27 2017, 05:25 PM

565 posts

It's good to learn another language, especially mandarin. No doubt about that.

But you can't do it in a short term. You are in a technical field and spend every day learning new technical stuff, it takes a lot of time and effort. Been there and done that.

Just get the hell out from that place and find a new job. The place is not conducive when you have to work like a loner and when no one 'sees' you and talks through you instead.

I've heard many situations like these from others and been through it too.

Good luck mate.

This post has been edited by abhipraaya: Mar 27 2017, 05:27 PM
hades4eve
post Mar 27 2017, 07:06 PM

193 posts

No not chinese.

Ok sorry to stereotype. We have been advising a non-Chinese to learn Chinese but we never advice a Chinese to learn Indian language.
Dominion101
post Mar 29 2017, 12:57 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 26 2017, 03:07 PM)
Wah really?
Didn't know have such thing..
Would share info to friends.. See if they interested or not blush.gif
Exactly, you can apply through the Chinese embassy in Malaysia(KL) or Kongzi Institute at UM. The dateline is already pass(24th March) for this year, so, if they want to apply they'll have to wait until next year. In the meantime, it's a perfect time to learn the basics as much as they could before they apply.

This post has been edited by Dominion101: Mar 29 2017, 01:02 AM
DarkAeon
post Mar 29 2017, 10:04 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Mar 27 2017, 07:06 PM)
Ok sorry to stereotype. We have been advising a non-Chinese to learn Chinese but we never advice a Chinese to learn Indian language.
well, since china is investing heavily in malaysia there is merit to learn chinese to be honest

we dun learn a language for the sake of it don't we?
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 29 2017, 10:30 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Haha all the chinese all come out to defend their sinocentric behavior.

This is why people get fed up. XD
Megatronika
post Mar 29 2017, 05:31 PM

281 posts

Opinion?

Just ask them to talk english lah, ask them what u talk ar i dont understand??can u speak english? else find other well-balanced company which emphasize english or balanced racial composition.
HarvinDhillon
post Mar 29 2017, 08:11 PM

81 posts

I think it's easy for Chinese people to ask others to learn the language, try to be part of the team, dont change the team change yourself bla bla bla....

Quite easy to say when you are on the side that is actually doing this, you have not been on the other side that is the receiving end. Trust me if it was easy to just pick up a language while you are also required to work, everybody would be doing it. The fact is that you know you can speak in English or Malay for that matter and is easier to include others but you choose to not do so and speak in Chinese and force others to adapt to you. You think that is team work? You must be fucking joking! That is called just being an ignorant selfish fool only looking out for your own people.

I've worked in many places, and seem to only encounter this in Malaysia. In other countries, even with their shitty English, as soon as they know I am around them, they try to speak in English just so that I am included, only when I am not around that they speak their local language. That is what understanding is.

To be honest it is a losing battle in Malaysia, from my experience handling it, either you start being more vocal and force them to speak English, or you work hard and be good at your job, you dont need to impress this people, you only need to impress your bosses! Some will actually try to change, they will be your best colleagues/friends, while some wont give a fuck, and to them you shouldnt waste your time with, it's a quick way to find out who among your colleagues will have your back and are worth helping as well, if they cant even speak English to accommodate you, what makes you think they will help you at your job lol.

So my advice would be, rather than trying to learn Chinese and try to be part of the group, be better at your job and move up, as soon as your bosses notice you, that is it, you are set wink.gif
jknowsit
post Mar 29 2017, 11:25 PM

360 posts

No not chinese.

Sorry I thought you were a Chinese. That really turn the table on them. They probably never been in racially-diverse workforce and your place has been a Chinese-dominant environment, which makes you "hard to be noticed". I am sure they feel guilty having you left out sometimes. Take some time to adapt. You have nothing to do with it man, you have done your part trying to mix in, but never do something which never meant for you (e.g., take Mandarin class) to ingratiate people.
WallChecker
post Mar 30 2017, 12:58 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 29 2017, 10:30 AM)

I am Chinese but I studied in Catholic school last time, hence my Mandarin is just pasar malam rojak level. I do agree that Chinese came out to defend themselves, because there is no one else will defend them all these years if not they themselves. Back to the context, that is the reason why majority of Malaysian grads are not competitive compared to other countries. Number of grads vs. quality over Asia (Not even across the globe) is low, not saying all but many of them.

QUOTE(HarvinDhillon @ Mar 29 2017, 08:11 PM)
To be honest it is a losing battle in Malaysia
I like this part smile.gif Unfortunately, it was never a fair competition at the first place. Cheers.
HarvinDhillon
post Mar 30 2017, 07:47 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(WallChecker @ Mar 30 2017, 12:58 AM)
I am Chinese but I studied in Catholic school last time, hence my Mandarin is just pasar malam rojak level. I do agree that Chinese came out to defend themselves, because there is no one else will defend them all these years if not they themselves. Back to the context, that is the reason why majority of Malaysian grads are not competitive compared to other countries. Number of grads vs. quality over Asia (Not even across the globe) is low, not saying all but many of them.
I like this part smile.gif Unfortunately, it was never a fair competition at the first place. Cheers.
Yes it was never fair but you don't fight it with more isolation and racism lol

As the saying goes two wrongs don't make a right. In Malaysia everything is a hypocrisy. One hand you make noise the Malays are racist to you cause you Chinese, then you as Chinese treat Malays and Indians with same bullshit racist behaviour which somehow now is okay. It's the same in the Indian community, crying racist but then ownself do it then it's all OK. Hence why I said it's a loosing battle in Malaysia.

I'm a minority within a minority and I never had cliques my whole life growing up and my friends were always a mix. I'm forever grateful for the prospective it gave me.
popcorn513
post Mar 30 2017, 10:15 AM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Most of the times must be talking crap in Chinese and I know your may feel left off from the chat, and I think it would be rude also to ask the majority to change their habit to suit you, learn to adapt
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 30 2017, 11:18 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Mar 30 2017, 10:15 AM)
Most of the times must be talking crap in Chinese and I know your may feel left off from the chat, and I think it would be rude also to ask the majority to change their habit to suit you, learn to adapt
Why would it be rude?
chosenlc
post Mar 30 2017, 11:21 AM

143 posts

so u expect ppl change their life for u which ntg to do with u? typical malaysian
zaman_chem
post Mar 30 2017, 11:35 AM

487 posts

I had to fake Mandarin as my language in my resume just to get opportunity for interview.. I wonder why in production field need to learn mandarin when the general worker is banglas, nepal, myanmar, viet etc.
RViN
post Mar 30 2017, 11:36 AM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Mar 27 2017, 07:06 PM)
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 29 2017, 10:30 AM)

Exactly. The irony is the same bunch of people would probably decry the "racist" and "preferential" treatment if the roles were reversed. If learning Chinese "has merit", then so would learning Hindi wouldn't it? The largest outsourcing firms are vastly Indian dominated, look at Accenture for example. But you will never hear anyone telling someone else to learn Hindi... yet see in this thread everyone coming out of the woodwork with their sinocentric nonsense forcing their narrow views on others.

Also, for everyone defending this nonsense, what is easier, for people who already know how to speak english to be inclusive, or telling someone to go pick up a new language that is notoriously difficult to learn and speak?

I've travelled to many different countries, spent time in places where people have a reputation for being 'arrogant', ie in France, yet even these "arrogant & snotty" French people switch immediately to English when I'm around, even if they're just talking nonsense. Dutch? Same. Italians? Same. Indians? Same. Spanish? Same. Heck, even worked with a couple of Chinese nationals, they were the same too.

Only in Malaysia do I ever feel out of place because I'm treated like I'm not there. Only here there are people being told to pick up a new language instead of telling others to communicate in a common language.

And you know what? I'm sure a bunch of people here would attack Malays for being racist and arrogant and having a "ketuanan attitude", but I've NEVER been told to speak Malay in a working environment. Heck Malays seem to take the initiative to speak to me in English even when their English isn't up to scratch. Chew on that for a moment... but then again some people only think actions can be racist or supremacist if "someone else" does them dry.gif
RViN
post Mar 30 2017, 11:45 AM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Mar 30 2017, 10:15 AM)
Haha.

Using this logic, if the government comes out with a ruling tomorrow that the only language allowed is Malay, you would be ok with that as its rude to ask the majority to change right?

Its not rude, its common courtesy. Something most people here don't learn or bother to learn.

QUOTE(zaman_chem @ Mar 30 2017, 11:35 AM)
I had to fake Mandarin as my language in my resume just to get opportunity for interview.. I wonder why in production field need to learn mandarin when the general worker is banglas, nepal, myanmar, viet etc.
Using the logic of some of the responses here, you should learn Bangladeshi and Nepalese, etc.

But no one will tell you to do that. Hmmmmm...
zaman_chem
post Mar 30 2017, 11:56 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(chosenlc @ Mar 30 2017, 11:21 AM)
so u expect ppl change their life for u which ntg to do with u? typical malaysian
If there is oni 1 Chinese language maybe easy to learn lor..
metaloid
post Mar 30 2017, 12:18 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

I understand your pain dude...the issue with our multi cultural country which still clings on own cultures heavily. As a malaysian we need to work harder as well to learn maybe 3 languages + one dialect. Wouldn't it be easier if everyone regardless of race speaks one language nationally? Example indonesia, australia, japan, europe etc.

This post has been edited by metaloid: Mar 30 2017, 12:22 PM
cappuccino vs latte
post Mar 30 2017, 01:53 PM

743 posts

-

This post has been edited by cappuccino vs latte: Sep 30 2024, 11:45 PM
alien3d
post Mar 30 2017, 02:31 PM

3,740 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Mar 30 2017, 01:53 PM)
I have the same dilemma. My case is all of my colleagues and supervisor speak Cantonese most of the time - meeting and work! This is a financial institution somemore. This issue seem specific to Klang Valley. I'be been to other part of country and also neighbor countries no such problem. Sometimes I'm thinking should I learn Cantonese? I need to pickup so many languages in this country in order to survive...
only knew cantonis from tv show and kl people okay a little bit understand.. nothern penang.. a 'a a .. talak paham yo.. still learning penang dialect bruce.gif maybe i need to watch more taiwan show.. Got good one mah?

This post has been edited by alien3d: Mar 30 2017, 02:31 PM
say_it
post Mar 30 2017, 11:49 PM

521 posts

Alternative to learn Chinese language
Learn java programming language instead
Then you will get to work with bunch of Tamil/English speaking team mate at your work place. But still Tamil is their first priority when come to discussion. biggrin.gif

herojack41
post Mar 31 2017, 12:27 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

1. If you are so unhappy with it....go work with government
2. As a chinese we are force to learn that much language and we succeed
3. Even najib son speak mandarin
4. I'm not defending....just speaking the truth.

SUSmonoikhwan
post Mar 31 2017, 12:31 AM

385 posts

MNC right? Escalate this issue to higher ups. English should be the medium
HarvinDhillon
post Mar 31 2017, 12:47 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Mar 31 2017, 12:27 AM)
1. If you are so unhappy with it....go work with government
2. As a chinese we are force to learn that much language and we succeed
3. Even najib son speak mandarin
4. I'm not defending....just speaking the truth.
Haha you take suka you boleh keluar Malaysia

Lol sound familiar much? I don't get why some people just think they are better than the rest just cause from some race
Stamp
post Mar 31 2017, 06:43 PM

4,864 posts

I would quit and move to another company if I were you.

post Mar 31 2017, 06:47 PM

lost soul
866 posts

talking chinese ? definitely talking crap

they will inform you when need your help

you don't need to worry about missing or learning anything, probably 90% of what they talk are stupid gossip things.

tldr : don't worry, work as if you are in pakistan or nepal where you are hired professionally for your skill, not language understanding.
aku_ker
post Apr 1 2017, 12:25 PM

438 posts

For me this is not professional and plain rude.You need to raise this issue to mgmt, but try to slow talk with your collegue first.If none is working maybe its time getva new job since its affect you so much.
sizune
post Apr 1 2017, 06:19 PM

133 posts

1. Complain to someone who will listen and have power in the Company to enforce code of conduct - english only in office
2. Resign, seek for a better company.
3. Taking the opportunity and learn their language one day you can state in your CV that you can speak mandarin. China investment in malaysia is growing and it is always better to pickup mandarin, 2¢.
4. Do nothing, ignore them and live with it. Most important is how your boss look at you and what are the opportunities given to you.

Cheers

P/s: I noticed that nowadays many young chinese can't really speak english. In my time we text in english, but nowadays they text in mandarin doh.gif doh.gif
mmyang
post Apr 3 2017, 12:25 AM

24 posts

This is very typical Malaysian attitude. But from what I know, most of the time it's taking rubbish/personal things. It's happening in my workplace as well as we have a number of juniors whom are chinese ed. But at least my bosses have always been clear that whenever it's talking in regards to project/work related matters, all communication is to be done in English. So far it's not perfect, but at least my juniors are trying their best to improve their english.

Perhaps you will not be fortunate to change their mentality in terms of work communication anytime soon, but whenever it comes to working your way up to a more managerial role, your communication in english will definitely put you one step ahead of the rest. Esp. if you're working with an ang moh boss.

How bout you take a step back, pick up some chinese terms, work out a better plan on dealing with your chinese speaking colleagues, at least this will show that you are able to overcome these language barrier matters which will be pretty handy in the future of your career.
post Apr 3 2017, 04:38 AM

970 posts

Opinion?

What kind of MNC is this? Good companies have regulations that require all workplace conversations be in the English language.

Perhaps these workers do not have the proficiency in English, which is why they resort to speaking a language other than English? If so, send them for English classes and for new hires, make sure they can speak English before hiring.

If workers fail to comply, then the supervisor can either give less points for performance review which would affect the annual salary increment amount/bonus amount or take disciplinary action including dismissal for repeated offense.

puppyee
post Apr 3 2017, 12:07 PM

97 posts

Tbh, this doesn't only happen in malaysia, but pretty much everywhere else in the world. I have been on the receiving end and also, the one who's been doing it unknowingly.

1 thing you have to understand is that people are used to conversing in their own mother tongue. I had housemates from Penang and despite being able to speak perfectly in english, canto and mandarin, they speak hokkien to each other most of the time and they can just switch to hokkien in the middle of a conversation with me and make me feel invisible. So i got sick of it and just don't mix with them much.. until all of sudden, like a scene from the mean girls movie, they just totally tak suka me and tells me i'm anti-social. When i tried explaining why I do what I do, their only response is "then learn hokkien lah. whats so hard?" ... So you see, chinese can do the same crap to chinese.

Now, I have this indo-chinese colleague who totally can't speak chinese, zilch, and everyone in the group which I have lunch with, are singaporean chinese. Every time we go out for lunch, they'll be speaking in chinese and the indo-chinese guy will sit there, feeling lost. Having been on the receiving end before, I will constantly try to switch the conversation back to english. Sometimes it works, sometimes, it doesn't. Sometimes, I myself, will keep speaking in chinese until i caught myself doing it, then i will switch back to english and try to explain to that colleague what the conversation is about.

I work with clients from different countries and they all behave the same way. When a group of french are together, they'll just start speaking french and forget about your existence. Same goes to indians, germans, etc. Only exception is unless you're a guest in their country. Then, they will speak in a language that you understand. Common courtesy.

It's just habit; not a race thing. Don't play the race card.

Now, what can you do, you ask? You can either:

1) Casually butt in whenever you feel like you want to be a part of the conversation and jokingly say "aiya, cakap apa? saya mau faham" or things like that
2) Suck it up and don't complain but continue to harbor bad feelings
3) Report to management and make a big hooha
4) Go learn the language

The 1st one works like a charm for me. Not sure which one you'd like to try but good luck smile.gif

This post has been edited by puppyee: Apr 3 2017, 12:27 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 3 2017, 12:25 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

More heroes defending racist behavior, by saying its the norm. Such is life in malaysia.
puppyee
post Apr 3 2017, 12:30 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Apr 3 2017, 12:25 PM)
More heroes defending racist behavior, by saying its the norm. Such is life in malaysia.
yup yup, definitely. How dare chinese speaks hokkien to another chinese who doesn't understand hokkien. What a shame! such is life in malaysia, such racism.

This post has been edited by puppyee: Apr 3 2017, 12:32 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 3 2017, 12:43 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Apr 3 2017, 12:30 PM)
yup yup, definitely. How dare chinese speaks hokkien to another chinese who doesn't understand hokkien. What a shame! such is life in malaysia, such racism.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internalized_racism

DarReNz
post Apr 3 2017, 01:16 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Apr 3 2017, 12:07 PM)
Tbh, this doesn't only happen in malaysia, but pretty much everywhere else in the world. I have been on the receiving end and also, the one who's been doing it unknowingly.

1 thing you have to understand is that people are used to conversing in their own mother tongue. I had housemates from Penang and despite being able to speak perfectly in english, canto and mandarin, they speak hokkien to each other most of the time and they can just switch to hokkien in the middle of a conversation with me and make me feel invisible. So i got sick of it and just don't mix with them much.. until all of  sudden, like a scene from the mean girls movie, they just totally tak suka me and tells me i'm anti-social. When i tried explaining why I do what I do, their only response is "then learn hokkien lah. whats so hard?" ... So you see, chinese can do the same crap to chinese.

Now, I have this indo-chinese colleague who totally can't speak chinese, zilch, and everyone in the group which I have lunch with, are singaporean chinese. Every time we go out for lunch, they'll be speaking in chinese and the indo-chinese guy will sit there, feeling lost. Having been on the receiving end before, I will constantly try to switch the conversation back to english. Sometimes it works, sometimes, it doesn't. Sometimes, I myself, will keep speaking in chinese until i caught myself doing it, then i will switch back to english and try to explain to that colleague what the conversation is about.

I work with clients from different countries and they all behave the same way. When a group of french are together, they'll just start speaking french and forget about your existence. Same goes to indians, germans, etc. Only exception is unless you're a guest in their country. Then, they will speak in a language that you understand. Common courtesy.

It's just habit; not a race thing. Don't play the race card.

Now, what can you do, you ask? You can either:

1) Casually butt in whenever you feel like you want to be a part of the conversation and jokingly say "aiya, cakap apa? saya mau faham" or things like that
2) Suck it up and don't complain but continue to harbor bad feelings
3) Report to management and make a big hooha
4) Go learn the language

The 1st one works like a charm for me. Not sure which one you'd like to try but good luck smile.gif
i guess it is different if you understood hokkien but responded in english sweat.gif anyway many people also understood chinese (mandarin, cantonese) but prefers to speak english nod.gif

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Apr 3 2017, 01:19 PM
puppyee
post Apr 3 2017, 02:21 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Apr 3 2017, 12:43 PM)
Point is, it doesn't just happen in malaysia. Nobody's trying to say racism is ok. But no point dwelling in it and hate on certain races because you think this only happens in malaysia and with certain races only (like what some reply pointed out).

Thanks for the link btw, learned something new.

This post has been edited by puppyee: Apr 3 2017, 02:25 PM
puppyee
post Apr 3 2017, 02:24 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Apr 3 2017, 01:16 PM)
i guess it is different if you understood hokkien but responded in english  sweat.gif anyway many people also understood chinese (mandarin, cantonese) but prefers to speak english  nod.gif
no, i don't understand hokkien at all. It was blatantly internalized racism (thanks @ThanatosSwiftfire).

crimv
post Apr 3 2017, 02:31 PM

242 posts

Just blend in .. in my team , im the only chinese while my lead and other member is indian from india.. true story ~
HarvinDhillon
post May 29 2017, 11:43 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(crimv @ Apr 3 2017, 02:31 PM)
Just blend in .. in my team , im the only chinese while my lead and other member is indian from india.. true story ~
So did you learn how to speak Hindi or Tamil etc? Or they speak to you in English?

I bet it is the latter lol
Carl Johnson
post May 30 2017, 09:10 AM

232 posts

Try to learn mandarin, learn how to speak and listen will do.
Mandarin is a lot easier when you learn speaking and listening. Writing no need.

You can try to find new job but I think it is just short term solution.
government employee mostly malay, private mostly chinese (you can blame najib for that). Private company will even more Chinese dominant in coming yrs when china invest heavily (start with alibaba)
For your own future good try to learn chinese( slowly is ok do not need to rush) because China going to own msia soon (just kidding but you know part of it is true eg proton). tongue.gif

If you wonder why not learn tamil. We will when India have more influence over the global market but now it is China. Just like few dacade ago when everyone learn English because US have influence over the global market. Even US young generation are learning chinese now.

ps. I am working in sg. As you know english is the main language for sg but even that my company MNC speak chinese a lot. That include the singaporean also.

Chinese know mandarin is normal.
Malay or India know mandarin is rare. You will shine in future.

This post has been edited by Carl Johnson: May 30 2017, 09:16 AM
Win Win Inspiration
post May 30 2017, 09:20 AM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(Dominion101 @ Mar 26 2017, 01:14 PM)
Apply for Chinese government scholarship, they offer a 1-2 year programme scholarship for non-Chinese citizen worldwide to come to China and learn Chinese language. Go and apply for it. Learning a new language will allow you to penetrate into others culture, besides it will enrich your lives  smile.gif
Constructive advice. smile.gif
Dominion101
post May 31 2017, 12:01 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ May 30 2017, 09:20 AM)
Constructive advice. smile.gif
Thanks. Actually, I've been learning Mandarin for the past 11 months so I wanted to share it here.
By the way, I applied for the scholarship this year and manage to get pass through the candidate selection in Malaysia. biggrin.gif
中国我来了 !哈哈
HarvinDhillon
post May 31 2017, 06:23 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ May 30 2017, 09:10 AM)
Try to learn mandarin, learn how to speak and listen will do.
Mandarin is a lot easier when you learn speaking and listening. Writing no need.

You can try to find new job but I think it is just short term solution.
government employee mostly malay, private mostly chinese (you can blame najib for that). Private company will even more Chinese dominant in coming yrs when china invest heavily (start with alibaba)
For your own future good try to learn chinese( slowly is ok do not need to rush) because China going to own msia soon (just kidding but you know part of it is true eg proton). tongue.gif

If you wonder why not learn tamil. We will when India have more influence over the global market but now it is China. Just like few dacade ago when everyone learn English because US have influence over the global market. Even US young generation are learning chinese now.

ps. I am working in sg. As you know english is the main language for sg but even that my company MNC speak chinese a lot. That include the singaporean also.

Chinese know mandarin is normal.
Malay or India know mandarin is rare. You will shine in future.
lol some people will never change. It is not about learning the language it is about not being freaking rude!

Learning a language, any language for that matter is enriching. It has shown to keep your brains sharp longer as well.

However like I said, the problem is not the language, it is the action of deliberately ignoring or not including someone who doesnt speak your language. You know you have a common language to include everyone in the discussion but you choose to speak in a language that one or more persons cant. That my friend is just being an asshole!
donald88
post May 31 2017, 06:41 AM

366 posts

Opinion?

It is difficult to ask your teammates to change their habits. My advise is to just ask one of them about the discussion. If it is something you know then try interjecting. It may be rude to do so, but eventually they will change to converse in a language you understand because it will be tiresome to keep explaining to you.
Carl Johnson
post May 31 2017, 08:40 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(HarvinDhillon @ May 31 2017, 06:23 AM)
lol some people will never change. It is not about learning the language it is about not being freaking rude!

Learning a language, any language for that matter is enriching. It has shown to keep your brains sharp longer as well.

However like I said, the problem is not the language, it is the action of deliberately ignoring or not including someone who doesnt speak your language. You know you have a common language to include everyone in the discussion but you choose to speak in a language that one or more persons cant. That my friend is just being an asshole!
Your ideal of world is too naive. Not everything will go like it should be. There are asshole everywhere. You can run away or you can embrace it. The company will still running with or without you(he).

You can change the company that speak all your language. But you will meet another kind of asshole. You just cant run away forever.

DO not assume ppl should treat you like what you think should be. They dint own you anything. Try to blend in instead of complain we are not kid anymore.

Of course you can choose to quit.
Win Win Inspiration
post May 31 2017, 09:29 AM

2,724 posts

QUOTE(Dominion101 @ May 31 2017, 12:01 AM)
Thanks. Actually, I've been learning Mandarin for the past 11 months so I wanted to share it here.
By the way, I applied for the scholarship this year and manage to get pass through the candidate selection in Malaysia.  biggrin.gif
中国我来了 !哈哈
So you will be studying in China very soon mate? smile.gif
Congratulations!
HarvinDhillon
post May 31 2017, 03:53 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ May 31 2017, 08:40 AM)
Your ideal of world is too naive. Not everything will go like it should be. There are asshole everywhere. You can run away or you can embrace it. The company will still running with or without you(he). 

You can change the company that speak all your language. But you will meet another kind of asshole. You just cant run away forever. 

DO not assume ppl should treat you like what you think should be. They dint own you anything. Try to blend in instead of complain we are not kid anymore.

Of course you can choose to quit.
When you tolerate assholes, you just keep encouraging them.
In the end the world will be surrounded by assholes.

So in your view that is fine?

To be brutally honest, I find Chinese people like you are the first to shout about racism, like you did in your initial post about how the government is discriminating with all the public sector being Malay but when Chinese people are practicing the same communal bullshit it is okay?

I might be naive, but at least I want to live in a better world where people respect each one another. Speaking Malay or English ain't the hardest thing to do. It will help improve your command of the language as well, after all you can speak Mandarin etc when you are surrounded by all Mandarin speakers or even just at home, so you wont lose the command of the language. See its a win win but as usual you wont see it that way, instead you will defend this kind behaviour and just brush it off like you did.

And to be honest despite all the talk about English taking a back seat, let me remind you, almost all the world knowledge is in English, all educational books, all research and scientific journals, heck even most of the internet is in English, so I would put more effort in improving it if I was you. Just look at the Chinese from China, even they are taking English classes by the millions, there is a whole BBC documentary about it, and here you are about Mandarin taking over the world sweat.gif ? Mandarin might have more speakers overall but almost 90% of them are confined to a single country, that doesnt mean much. In 10 years India will have the world's largest population and market, so you going to start advocating Hindi then? Since it will have more native speakers?

Carl Johnson
post May 31 2017, 04:19 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(HarvinDhillon @ May 31 2017, 03:53 PM)
When you tolerate assholes, you just keep encouraging them.
In the end the world will be surrounded by assholes.

So in your view that is fine?

To be brutally honest, I find Chinese people like you are the first to shout about racism, like you did in your initial post about how the government is discriminating with all the public sector being Malay but when Chinese people are practicing the same communal bullshit it is okay?

I might be naive, but at least I want to live in a better world where people respect each one another. Speaking Malay or English ain't the hardest thing to do. It will help improve your command of the language as well, after all you can speak Mandarin etc when you are surrounded by all Mandarin speakers or even just at home, so you wont lose the command of the language. See its a win win but as usual you wont see it that way, instead you will defend this kind behaviour and just brush it off like you did.

And to be honest despite all the talk about English taking a back seat, let me remind you, almost all the world knowledge is in English, all educational books, all research and scientific journals, heck even most of the internet is in English, so I would put more effort in improving it if I was you. Just look at the Chinese from China, even they are taking English classes by the millions, there is a whole BBC documentary about it, and here you are about Mandarin taking over the world  sweat.gif ? Mandarin might have more speakers overall but almost 90% of them are confined to a single country, that doesnt mean much. In 10 years India will have the world's largest population and market, so you going to start advocating Hindi then? Since it will have more native speakers?
1) Yes, I will go and learn Hindi no doubt. Actually I am learning Japanese and Hindi myself though the progress is slow.

2) Government mostly malay is a FACT.

3) From your writing, you are the type of person that try to blame the world other then yourself. Assholes or not you cant change them and they got no obligation to change for you.

4) English is not taking a back seat at all. You are wrong. Is chinese catching up. You can close your eyes for that but the world not going to stop for you. Just when you open up your eyes again you realise it is ady too late.

yes you and me got different opinion and I respect that. There is just no right or wrong in this world.

There got 2 types of response for this kind of post.
1. The type that embrace it.
2. The type that against it.

I am the former and your are the latter.

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
HarvinDhillon
post May 31 2017, 06:51 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ May 31 2017, 04:19 PM)
1) Yes, I will go and learn Hindi no doubt. Actually I am learning Japanese and Hindi myself though the progress is slow.
Good for you, like I said before in my earlier post, it is always good to learn a new language. Especially when you are younger.

So? that gives you the right to be racist as well? To advocate that just because someone is being shitty to me, gives me the right to be shitty to others? For me it's just hypocrisy, cause you condemn the so called facts which I dont deny but then you defend equally racist behavior rather than calling it out. It is also a FACT btw that the private industries are mostly Chinese and they are comfortable speaking in Chinese dialects even when around other non Chinese speaking staff. The FACT is that this is also rude and disrespectful even more so cause these Chinese speaking staff arent Chinese nationals (Ie if they were can be forgiven) but they are Malaysian and should have a decent enough command of English or Malay.

3) From your writing, you are the type of person that try to blame the world other then yourself. Assholes or not you cant change them and they got no obligation to change for you.
Not even close, I only hate racists and those who defend them, cause for me any form of discrimination is bad and there is no justification for it smile.gif
Yes they got no obligation to change but doesnt change the fact that they are assholes and will remain so. As I said above, it is easy to be inclusive, cause after all we are all Malaysians and we have common languages which we learn from primary school, ie Malay and English, so how hard can it be to be inclusive rather than exclusive? Unless you are just selfish and feels no need to do so?

4) English is not taking a back seat at all. You are wrong. Is chinese catching up. You can close your eyes for that but the world not going to stop for you. Just when you open up your eyes again you realise it is ady too late.
Hmm that is your opinion and I respect that but I beg to differ. If you look at various studies online :-
"Look online for an answer to that query—posed in English—and you’re likely to encounter a website last updated in 2003, EnglishEnglish.com. The site’s “English Facts and Figures” page asserts that “80% of home pages on the Web are in English, while the next greatest, German, has only 4.5% and Japanese 3.1%.” The sources behind this assertion are unclear, but it’s consistent with early research on linguistic diversity online. In 1997, Geoffrey Nunberg and Hinrich Schütze released a study estimating that 80 percent of the World Wide Web’s content was in English. The Online Computer Library Center followed in 2003 with a study estimating that 72 percent of online content was in English."

You will realise that is far from the truth as you can be. Even UNESCO has raised an alarm cause they are worried that the prominence of English might make other native languages extinct. The interesting thing here is not the largest native speakers but the fact that English by far remains the 2nd language of most of the world's population. Yourself and me for that matter, I am 100% sure English is not our native spoken language but it is our 2nd, and that is what makes all the talk about the decline of English just pure nonsense in my view. China might have the highest number of native Mandarin speakers, but how many people in the world can say that Mandarin is their 2nd or 3rd language? Not many I am willing to bet.

yes you and me got different opinion and I respect that. There is just no right or wrong in this world.

I can just sum you up in Gandhi's quote "An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind"

I would much rather have the world try to work things out inclusively then being exclusive and clannish.

This post has been edited by HarvinDhillon: May 31 2017, 06:57 PM
shioks
post May 31 2017, 07:00 PM

627 posts

Get the boss to fire Chinese speaking colleagues. You win.
Carl Johnson
post May 31 2017, 07:28 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(HarvinDhillon @ May 31 2017, 06:51 PM)
Good for you, like I said before in my earlier post, it is always good to learn a new language. Especially when you are younger.
So? that gives you the right to be racist as well? To advocate that just because someone is being shitty to me, gives me the right to be shitty to others? For me it's just hypocrisy, cause you condemn the so called facts which I dont deny but then you defend equally racist behavior rather than calling it out. It is also a FACT btw that the private industries are mostly Chinese and they are comfortable speaking in Chinese dialects even when around other non Chinese speaking staff. The FACT is that this is also rude and disrespectful even more so cause these Chinese speaking staff arent Chinese nationals (Ie if they were can be forgiven) but they are Malaysian and should have a decent enough command of English or Malay.
Not even close, I only hate racists and those who defend them, cause for me any form of discrimination is bad and there is no justification for it smile.gif
Yes they got no obligation to change but doesnt change the fact that they are assholes and will remain so. As I said above, it is easy to be inclusive, cause after all we are all Malaysians and we have common languages which we learn from primary school, ie Malay and English, so how hard can it be to be inclusive rather than exclusive? Unless you are just selfish and feels no need to do so?
Hmm that is your opinion and I respect that but I beg to differ. If you look at various studies online :-
"Look online for an answer to that query—posed in English—and you’re likely to encounter a website last updated in 2003, EnglishEnglish.com. The site’s “English Facts and Figures” page asserts that “80% of home pages on the Web are in English, while the next greatest, German, has only 4.5% and Japanese 3.1%.” The sources behind this assertion are unclear, but it’s consistent with early research on linguistic diversity online. In 1997, Geoffrey Nunberg and Hinrich Schütze released a study estimating that 80 percent of the World Wide Web’s content was in English. The Online Computer Library Center followed in 2003 with a study estimating that 72 percent of online content was in English."

You will realise that is far from the truth as you can be. Even UNESCO has raised an alarm cause they are worried that the prominence of English might make other native languages extinct. The interesting thing here is not the largest native speakers but the fact that English by far remains the 2nd language of most of the world's population. Yourself and me for that matter, I am 100% sure English is not our native spoken language but it is our 2nd, and that is what makes all the talk about the decline of English just pure nonsense in my view. China might have the highest number of native Mandarin speakers, but how many people in the world can say that Mandarin is their 2nd or 3rd language? Not many I am willing to bet.
I can just sum you up in Gandhi's quote "An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind"

I would much rather have the world try to work things out inclusively then being exclusive and clannish.
Sum it up, you just blame other rather than try to improve yourself.
There is not racist, just language.
There are many malay or indian who know mandarin.

Look online for an answer to that query—posed in English --> because you only know English and Malay of course. I get answer from both english and mandarin. Even youtube or porn I type in both language to find the things I want.

An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind--> nonono, we not going an eye for an eye not even close. You learn a language you again, they dun even gain anything, not even close to an eye for an eye.

You got cancer (from yourself or from family genetic) and doctor cant fix you (society).
You blame doctor rather than just try to fix it yourself ( get healthy diet go exercise).

Go figure out.

This post has been edited by Carl Johnson: May 31 2017, 07:41 PM
HarvinDhillon
post Jun 1 2017, 03:45 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ May 31 2017, 07:28 PM)
Sum it up, you just blame other rather than try to improve yourself.
There is not racist, just language.
There are many malay or indian who know mandarin.

Look online for an answer to that query—posed in English --> because you only know English and Malay of course. I get answer from both english and mandarin. Even youtube or porn I type in both language to find the things I want.

An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind-->  nonono, we not going an eye for an eye not even close. You learn a language you again, they dun even gain anything, not even close to an eye for an eye.

You got cancer (from yourself or from family genetic) and doctor cant fix you (society).
You blame doctor rather than just try to fix it yourself ( get healthy diet go exercise).

Go figure out.
Yea you go fix your cancer with healthy diet smile.gif, lets see if that fixes things shall we.

Shows your level of thinking, and keep excluding others and forcing them instead to learn your language and conform to you.

Carl Johnson
post Jun 1 2017, 07:07 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(HarvinDhillon @ Jun 1 2017, 03:45 AM)
Yea you go fix your cancer with healthy diet smile.gif, lets see if that fixes things shall we.

Shows your level of thinking, and keep excluding others and forcing them instead to learn your language and conform to you.
healthy diet and lifestyle do can fix your cancer. you can go google and you will know. but of course not all.

I think you got hard time accepting it because it is "my" language?
Once you learn it , it is your language.

blame doctor? accept your fate and do ntg? do smtg to imporve your self? your choice

This post has been edited by Carl Johnson: Jun 1 2017, 07:25 AM
Promezclan
post Jun 1 2017, 02:50 PM

Just in the last week, I've been in separate conversations where people switched respectively to Hokkien, Mandarin and Cantonse - once there were only three people, including me. Should I learn all three languages? I already speak 4 languages fluently and am learning a 5th. Do I need to speak 8 languages just to talk to people in my city?
sonyman
post Jun 1 2017, 03:02 PM

1,043 posts

go learn chinese la, not that difficult.... everything add a Laaaa laaaa, can already laaa........

no shame in using wrong chinese, ppl will admire your courage to use those chinese words in a different way.

chinese speaking ppl. always malu, not so much of a leader, and most of the time, wait and see........

tell me im wrong.... ah , best of all, they have a 1 gb memory and can memorize and playback exactly word by word in a presentation.

heck, they will tense up all the time when speaking in front of an audience.
geforce88
post Jun 1 2017, 03:06 PM

2,841 posts

definitely agree!
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 1 2017, 04:33 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

This thread is why racial harmony will never happen. Its always one race that will dominate.
skylinelover
post Jun 2 2017, 11:19 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

Hai yah. Just learn lo. Do what Romas do ma. Hahahaha.
andrekua2
post Jun 2 2017, 11:26 AM

13,478 posts

Does it affect your job? If no, why bother?

Sometimes when just chit chat or talk cock, its not easy to translate from one language to another. Given the different dialects in Chinese, you really have to learn the language to understand the joke/bullshit.
andrekua2
post Jun 2 2017, 11:29 AM

13,478 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 1 2017, 04:33 PM)
This thread is why racial harmony will never happen. Its always one race that will dominate.
Majority win...

Like when we went to SRK, even amongst Chinese, we talked in Malay because sometimes we speak different dialects. Malay was the common language for both of us. Then when I slowly picked up their dialect, then I could join the conversation and enjoy it.
HarvinDhillon
post Jun 2 2017, 06:21 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 1 2017, 04:33 PM)
lol thats cause for the ones who agree with this and the ones with the excuses to "Just learn the language la" are going to be the ones first to shout when they are racially discriminated against, but when they do it is fine, others need to adapt.

That is why discrimination is rife in Malaysia! and will never change cause everyone is just out looking after their own "clan"
viex
post Jun 2 2017, 06:30 PM

249 posts

That's why when the job description writes "must be able to speak Chinese", there is a very good reason for it, too bad many munks misunderstood it.

0.0499sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:49 PM