Colleague all chinese, keep speaking chinese, MNC with angmoh boss

TSred.merc49
post Mar 26 2017, 11:35 AM, updated 9y ago

Software dev job. Medium sized MNC with angmoh boss. I'm one of the few that dont speak chinese, and I'm the only one at technical level. Other non-chinese speaker are at management level.

Problem is: teammates speak chinese 99.5% of the time. As non chinese speaker, I cant know whether they are discussing work or just talking craps. Other people can join the conversation if they got curious or dont understand, while I can only join halfway when it's clear that they are talking works.

Now, if i ask them to speak english, they will. But they will also just tell me the things halfway, no one will want to repeat every single things that they have said. And I feel like I lost a lot of learning every day since I will know the things halfway but not the whole thought process.

Asking them to speak chinese - dont work.
I have not asked the management to do smtg with it, but from previous places that I've been to, the chinese actually change to speak english....for few days, and then back to old habit.

Now, I'm really lost. All the places I've been, I see same problems. I need to learn from them, but if they keep speaking chinese, I lost a bit every day - and over long term I am losing a lot.

Opinion?

Tldr: Teammates all speak chinese. Talking to them dont help. Even management cant break their habit. How?
TSred.merc49
post Mar 26 2017, 12:35 PM

Little Birdie
nexona88
TheHitman47
Remmie
Quitting the job and join another company and see the same thing?

.net developers are dominated by chinese, 3 previous companies that i joined all same situation. Any ideas? :/
TSred.merc49
post Mar 27 2017, 02:42 AM

QUOTE(jknowsit @ Mar 26 2017, 11:00 PM)
Are you a Chinese who can't speak Chinese?  doh.gif If so, there are a lot of reasons for learning our mother tongue. Although English has became the language of business, culture makes us wealthier and more tolerant. If you can weather this, you'll have potential to work in any big firm. :thumbsup:
No not chinese.

I have worked with big firms (annual revenue of 16b usd considered big?) before yet still encounters same problem.

0.0182sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:39 PM