Which brand of laptop is the longest lasting?, Added IBM

TSSylpheed
post Mar 7 2007, 02:40 PM, updated 19y ago

687 posts

I'm doing some research on what laptop to buy, one of the biggest factors is how long the laptop last, since some of the components you can't really repair them cheaply.. (a broken keyboard.. LCD spoiled and such)

Among the brands, which one is the best?

Do share your comments on especially their customer support, how long till a component spoil on you, which component broke first.

remember, this is regardless of design of the laptop.

But if a plastic or something falls out, that's considered not long lasting.

Added IBM and Acer and BenQ
V3000
post Mar 7 2007, 03:20 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

I vote IBM smile.gif
Design may not the best, but im sure their build are far more better then normal lappy!
SUS`````
post Mar 7 2007, 03:49 PM

Come on la TS, your question is so subjective. Lifespan can depends on how the user take care of the lappie, models/batch of a specific brand, either 3rd party battery is used etc. If the user is rough, a titanium laptop can't last too.
adriankhoo153
post Mar 7 2007, 03:50 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(````` @ Mar 7 2007, 03:49 PM)
Come on la TS, your question is so subjective. Lifespan can depends on how the user take care of the lappie, models/batch of a specific brand, either 3rd party battery is used etc. If the user is rough, a titanium laptop can't last too.
I couldn't agreed more hmm.gif
killerloop81
post Mar 7 2007, 03:52 PM

SpLiTfIrE
1,429 posts

voted toshiba bcoz d interior design plus inside hardware is from outside manufacturer n stable oso
Quenox
post Mar 7 2007, 05:40 PM

99 posts

IBM ThinkPad rocks !!!
sotong168
post Mar 7 2007, 05:44 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

opps...another potential xxx vs yyy vs zzz brands fanboyz thread blush.gif
Mgsrulz
post Mar 7 2007, 06:08 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

i've never owned one,but the salesman over at the IBM booth i dropped by once played quite rough with an IBM thinkpad..

i wouldnt dream of holding my HP by the lcd and shaking the thing sweat.gif

but so far i've used a compaq,works fine for about 3 years or so..
the paint is starting to wear off(especially the place where you put your palms while typing) but the components are working very well.
much better than my desktop,and the compaq has got more bruises than it!(desktop)
unknowndevices
post Mar 7 2007, 06:12 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

wah!...you got so many options to choose... icon_question.gif
best to ask for it's pros and cons....or depends on your budget... nod.gif
if it really help you...guess will join the vote... icon_rolleyes.gif
support Dell for it's superb customer services...some more the options to customize on your notebook...the offer a 24/7 phone assistance for XPS users...really cool... thumbup.gif
learned lots of new things from them... cool2.gif
hurricane21
post Mar 7 2007, 07:05 PM

Senior Probation
1,389 posts

long lasting?
i dunno yawn.gif

but i voted dell for their after sell service althought i m usin hp sweat.gif
unknowndevices
post Mar 7 2007, 07:12 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Mar 7 2007, 07:05 PM)
long lasting?
i dunno  yawn.gif

but i voted dell for their after sell service althought i m usin hp  sweat.gif
cool... thumbup.gif
s@ni
post Mar 7 2007, 07:13 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,843 posts

IBM for my vote.
and,another,COMPAQ HP
Hackezkk
post Mar 7 2007, 07:26 PM

~::CiPan'S LovEr::~
1,959 posts

compaq...ahahahaha...my speaker casing rust after 3month using..huhuuhh
s@ni
post Mar 7 2007, 07:34 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,843 posts

QUOTE(Hackezkk @ Mar 7 2007, 07:26 PM)
compaq...ahahahaha...my speaker casing rust after 3month using..huhuuhh
i think older compaq.
newer compaq,i dunno.
but then,my early compaq (P3,worth rm11000),long lasting until now even drop from motorcycle at highspeed sweat.gif sweat.gif

unknowndevices
post Mar 7 2007, 07:39 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(sani_othman @ Mar 7 2007, 07:34 PM)
i think older compaq.
newer compaq,i dunno.
but then,my early compaq (P3,worth rm11000),long lasting until now even drop from motorcycle at highspeed sweat.gif  sweat.gif
wow!...you bought your previous notebook priced rm11,000? sweat.gif
erksss...really that strong?felt down from motorcycle at highspeed?... shakehead.gif
wonder...what brand of motorcycles?is it BMW or Yamaha R1... tongue.gif

hurricane21
post Mar 7 2007, 07:57 PM

Senior Probation
1,389 posts

QUOTE(sani_othman @ Mar 7 2007, 07:34 PM)
i think older compaq.
newer compaq,i dunno.
but then,my early compaq (P3,worth rm11000),long lasting until now even drop from motorcycle at highspeed sweat.gif  sweat.gif
rm11000 for p3? ohmy.gif
mind to take pic to show us? laugh.gif
the_registered
post Mar 7 2007, 08:21 PM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

Actually laptops don't have to last that long right? Say it's 5 years old, the laptop will already be outdated. From what I see, IBM laptops are the most durable ones but pricey and ugly design.
biggrin.gif Just my 2 cents yo biggrin.gif
europology
post Mar 7 2007, 08:35 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

IBM is ugly.. but lenovo ones look much better! at least got the curves...
moneyface_mario
post Mar 7 2007, 08:55 PM

Validating
79 posts

r latest models of computers the most lasting n plz tell me what brand is best icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
TSSylpheed
post Mar 8 2007, 12:02 AM

687 posts

QUOTE(````` @ Mar 7 2007, 03:49 PM)
Good point. well i mean regardless on the owner i mean..

What i'm looking for is the General Reputation.

Say forexample, i've heard from alot of friends that IBM makes excellent laptops, but extremely lousy designs.. that sort of thing.

I do agree with you that it really depends on how the user takes care of the laptop. But i mean.. on average.. if you were to take out 1000 Laptop from a certain brand. Which brand would have the most laptops spoilling within a year,
Assuming:

1. All laptops are treated equally
2. All laptops have the same spec
3. Price for each laptop is ignored.
4. Maintanence plans or warrenty plans are ignored also.

Something along this line smile.gif

Nyxator
post Mar 8 2007, 12:24 AM

69 posts

Bought an IBM R51e, last 2.5++ years ago.
Last Sept 2006 swap to an IBM R60 and pass down my R51e to my sister.

Guess what? R51e is almost 3 years and still running fine except keyboard need to change because some letters are missing.

Tried other brands before I think Toshiba should rank second in terms of durability and HP third.

This post has been edited by Nyxator: Mar 8 2007, 12:26 AM
wtm0325
post Mar 8 2007, 08:58 AM

1,796 posts

i voted for IBM

as general knowledge, better capacitors and electronic parts will hv longer lifespan, hence better built quality will usually leads to long lasting

pass statistic already shows the defects of IBM will usually lower compare to other brand, which means their QC control is better

currently using thinkpad r60, it's a different experience from other brand so far. i torture it 24hours without cooling pad, open close lid more than 10 times a day, bring it around with less care, surprisingly it's lid and casing is still as good as the 1st day and it nvr heats up
TSSylpheed
post Mar 8 2007, 09:34 AM

687 posts

Yeah i heard that IBMs are best in terms of "durability" too. Question thoguh, now that IBM is Lenovo, is there any diff in their product? or the "durability" is comprimised ?
hypercrazyd
post Mar 8 2007, 09:36 AM

237 posts

although i voted for Dell, but i think IBM is the best.

IBM - more on Quality and Reliable, need to improve in design.
Dell - More on after sell services
HP - More on quality
Asus, Sony, Fujitsu - Stylish, cool, quality but expensive
BenQ - Not very sure...
Acer & Toshiba - haha, not to mention, cause got bad experience with it.

This post has been edited by hypercrazyd: Mar 8 2007, 09:37 AM
adriankhoo153
post Mar 8 2007, 10:12 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Normally people will vote what ever notebook they are using la..
Quenox
post Mar 8 2007, 10:33 AM

99 posts

I have been using IBM ThinkPad for 3 years plus and I would say IBM ThinkPad is great, the build is so solid. I take less care of my IBM ThinkPad and the condition is still good, there is no loose or crack in any part. Most importantly, IBM ThinkPad has great ventilation. My IBM ThinkPad never heat up even I have been switching it on for like 10 hours a day. The fan is so quiet that I hardly can hear the fan noise even I am in a very quiet room.

Three things I like IBM ThinkPad the most :
1) The legendary full size keyboard
2) The lid design
3) Great ventilation

My 3 years plus Fujitsu LifeBook is not functioning well anymore although I take good care of it. The lid started to crack, boot up becoming slower than before and most importantly, the fan's sound is getting louder and louder.
hypercrazyd
post Mar 8 2007, 10:40 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 8 2007, 10:12 AM)
Normally people will vote what ever notebook they are using la..
Currently im using acer, but i voted for dell, hehehe blush.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Mar 8 2007, 10:44 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

My vote goes to IBM, as it was the last laptop that i used and the PC really served me well for nearly a year... thumbup.gif
the_registered
post Mar 8 2007, 08:23 PM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

QUOTE(Sylpheed @ Mar 8 2007, 09:34 AM)
Yeah i heard that IBMs are best in terms of "durability" too. Question thoguh, now that IBM is Lenovo, is there any diff in their product? or the "durability" is comprimised ?
No. They are still hard like rock. Very heavy too but I guess that contributes to strength
beyond430
post Mar 9 2007, 03:06 AM

-----
1,325 posts

IBM done a lot of testing and research about reliability. 1 of the main reason.
speedguy10
post Mar 9 2007, 03:27 AM

~Do not look at my avatar~
1,828 posts

I support IBM too. My collegue just drag an IBM laptop by its power supply wire. After that, it will work normally.
seancorr
post Mar 9 2007, 08:24 AM

Shut your trap!
582 posts

I wouldn't give my full vote for any brand in perticular as for me as long as u know how to take care of yr stuff it wun let u down. I've seen 2 P3 laptops from Dell and IBM In which is more than 5 years old and it works perfectly.
ajul
post Mar 9 2007, 11:52 AM

100% ONLINE DEALER
1,258 posts

u pay more then u get more quality dude...but b4 u pay, see my thread first..try looking ur best laptop there...,check my signature dude...all range laptop i sell....
porkchop
post Mar 9 2007, 12:33 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

i am using dell, and its kinda lasting already more than 8 years
apisgogo
post Mar 9 2007, 12:35 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

hey, no macbook or ibook or macbookpro aa?
unknowndevices
post Mar 9 2007, 01:24 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Mar 9 2007, 12:33 PM)
i am using dell, and its kinda lasting already more than 8 years
waaaa...which Dell's model that last with you for eight years... shocking.gif
you're really taking good care of the notebook...cool... thumbup.gif
does it functions well up till now...how big? laugh.gif

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Mar 9 2007, 12:35 PM)
hey, no macbook or ibook or macbookpro aa?
wonder why... hmm.gif
apisgogo
post Mar 9 2007, 02:44 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

all macbook/pro user are all in their own thread. smile.gif

if you could identify the weakness of your notebook and overcome it, it would last long enough. e.g, overheating, buy coolpad. biggrin.gif

for me, brand just a brand. i stick to my HP for now. i used have a HP dekstop and it last me for almost 10yrs (without upgrades) and now i just acquire HP notebook (abt a month) we'll see how long it can last.

all brand use same manufacturer (intel, amd, nvidia etc etc) rite? all made from taiwan?
tplcaik
post Mar 9 2007, 02:50 PM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

I voted for IBM. Why no ppl vote for sony?
unknowndevices
post Mar 9 2007, 04:12 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Mar 9 2007, 02:44 PM)
all macbook/pro user are all in their own thread. smile.gif

if you could identify the weakness of  your notebook and overcome it, it would last long enough. e.g, overheating, buy coolpad. biggrin.gif

for me, brand just a brand. i stick to my HP for now. i used have a HP dekstop and it last me for almost 10yrs (without upgrades) and now i just acquire HP notebook (abt a month) we'll see how long it can last.

all brand use same manufacturer (intel, amd, nvidia etc etc) rite? all made from taiwan?
do updates us with your HP notebook conditions... smile.gif
does all the computers are made from Taiwan?...supposed not.. shakehead.gif
there a some parts made from China and Japan right? hmm.gif

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Mar 9 2007, 02:50 PM)
I voted for IBM. Why no ppl vote for sony?
erksss...maybe because of the thread about the Sony sales rep... sweat.gif
people start to rethink about it performance... tongue.gif

apisgogo
post Mar 9 2007, 05:12 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

i dunno, thats y i asked biggrin.gif

can someone with this knowledge explain? basically all these brand (HP,Dell, Toshiba etc etc) they buy for example processors from intel or amd rite and GC from nvidia or ati or intel as well? they just assemble the parts or what?

where the part manufactured? China? Taiwan? i guess many electronics part manufactured there.
THTgadgets.com
post Mar 9 2007, 07:12 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Wow, nobody seems to place any votes for Sony, Acer, or BenQ... Let me guess, like what unknown mentioned, Sony's reputation got tarnished by the sales rep thread...

But i suppose Acer and BenQ, who are both related, already have been known for sub-standard products that always break down, ya? Hehehe, looks like both of them are considered the "Protons" of computer! laugh.gif
Twinchest
post Mar 9 2007, 07:46 PM

387 posts

If u say LOngest Lasting.. Like other forumer had mention, any laptop if u take a good care of it, it will last long... Even my Twinhead P1 266 mmx still with me . Talk about LONG LASTING. But of course when u said obselete, then it's something else. So u can't actually weight the poll in terms of the longest lasting pc. Too subjective in my opinion.
joylay83
post Mar 27 2007, 02:32 PM

854 posts

there are other brands that are not bad also. i saw one panasonic lappie in lyp (price RM10k sweat.gif ) alu case, u can slam the laptop and nothing happens to it. its built for those who want to go to rugged places.

currently my family use samsung x20 (cheap ma... tongue.gif) no problems and quite cool temperature. it has got side air vents. did mpeg2 video capture on 100% battery with pinnacle v10.5, batt lasted me 2 hours.

IBM should be the most lasting in the sense that they are used in police cars in spore. i dun think the police wants their lappie to die half way in an operation rite hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
V3000
post Mar 27 2007, 09:25 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(joylay83 @ Mar 27 2007, 02:32 PM)
there are other brands that are not bad also. i saw one panasonic lappie in lyp (price RM10k  sweat.gif ) alu case, u can slam the laptop and nothing happens to it.  its built for those who want to go to rugged places.

currently my family use samsung x20 (cheap ma... tongue.gif) no problems and quite cool temperature. it has got side air vents. did mpeg2 video capture on 100% battery with pinnacle v10.5, batt lasted me 2 hours.

IBM should be the most lasting in the sense that they are used in police cars in spore. i dun think the police wants their lappie to die half way in an operation rite  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Bro, Use in police car is just peanuts.. tongue.gif
They even use IBM on International Space Station (ISS) too tongue.gif

Refer to Wiki : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:TORU_docking_system.jpg

I also dont think the astronaut or cosmonaut want their lappie to die half way when they trying to do their 'stuff' on space right? tongue.gif

ps. Try count how many ThinkPads they use there..

Cheers!

This post has been edited by V3000: Mar 27 2007, 09:38 PM
EDD!E
post Mar 27 2007, 09:57 PM

170 posts

So far Dell serve me well ...

I'm been using D610 and my current D620 which is give me tiptop performance ...
laptopexpert
post Mar 28 2007, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Mar 9 2007, 05:12 PM)
i dunno, thats y i asked biggrin.gif

can someone with this knowledge explain? basically all these brand (HP,Dell, Toshiba etc etc) they buy for example processors from intel or amd rite and GC from nvidia or ati or intel as well? they just assemble the parts or what?

where the part manufactured? China? Taiwan? i guess many electronics part manufactured there.
.All the laptop builders surely will buy processor direct from manufacturer like Intel or AMD.
.Big player like Acer,Dell, HP ,IBM etc will buy chipset and request Nvidia /ATi manufacturer to assemble the graphic.
.For optical, u won't know what exactly which manufacturer from.This is because branded name will not want manufacturer printed manufacturer's name on it.The optical drive might be manufactured by Lite-on.Sony,Acer are just to name a few.
.Today, most parts are from China consider the cost and overhead is low.The competition of pricing switch those major players looking for the cheapest and low cost product but not too bad quality.

This post has been edited by laptopexpert: Mar 28 2007, 12:24 AM
V3000
post Mar 28 2007, 12:09 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Part are all same i guess, but how they design and how they build the machine lead to how durable and how long can the lappy last.
laptopexpert
post Mar 28 2007, 12:14 AM

QUOTE(V3000 @ Mar 28 2007, 12:09 AM)
Part are all same i guess, but how they design and how they build the machine lead to how durable and how long can the lappy last.
Not really can apply to all brand. sweat.gif
As far as I know ,Sony optical like cd-rom/dvd-rom manufactured by different Taiwan manufacturers.But I want tell your all here is Lite-on do manufactured for many branded and some might using by your now. tongue.gif
As you search from this site or other major site, you will aware that Lite-on used to bring in break-through latest technology.It is just they do not advertise massly.Maybe this is because they have to take care of many oem volume customers. nod.gif

(Some optical might not manufactured by Lite-on,so some of them are quite sensitive drive like Sony ).

This post has been edited by laptopexpert: Mar 28 2007, 12:16 AM
joylay83
post Mar 28 2007, 12:39 AM

854 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Mar 27 2007, 09:25 PM)
Bro, Use in police car is just peanuts..  tongue.gif
They even use IBM on International Space Station (ISS) too tongue.gif

Refer to Wiki : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:TORU_docking_system.jpg

I also dont think the astronaut or cosmonaut want their lappie to die half way when they trying to do their 'stuff' on space right? tongue.gif

ps. Try count how many ThinkPads they use there..

Cheers!
nod.gif nod.gif icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(laptopexpert @ Mar 28 2007, 12:06 AM)
.For optical, u won't know what exactly which manufacturer from.This is because branded name will not want manufacturer printed manufacturer's name on it.The optical drive might be manufactured by Lite-on.Sony,Acer are just to name a few.
.Today, most parts are from China consider the cost and overhead is low.The competition of pricing switch those major players looking for the cheapest and low cost product but not too bad quality.
from my experience arr..... dun buy a lappie with toshiba optical drive one. coz very sensitive and won't read some discs. they can be found in toshiba and dell lappie. so far i found all the TEAC optical drives have no problem and 1/3 of the price of toshiba drive should u need 1 to replace or upgrade. icon_rolleyes.gif i think teac is from taiwan. not sure.

chris_c28
post Mar 28 2007, 01:03 AM

882 posts

Few of the major OEMs build any of their notebooks nowadays. HP has barely had any manufacturing facilities since 2000 I think as it sources its notebooks from Compal, Quanta, Inventec, etc. These ODMs also manufactures for Dell, Acer, Sony, Apple, Toshiba and some Lenovos (all brand name OEMs), so don't be surprised if different branded notebooks are all produced in the same factory. When we talk about reliability or durability, it usually comes down to the design and build materials used in the notebooks. Business notebooks from Lenovo (Thinkpad), HP Compaq (nx/nc/nw) and Dell (Latitude, Precision) are known to have undergone rigorous testing procedures that guarantee the reliability and durability of components. Again, these models are regarded as premium models and usually carry a premium over their consumer counterparts.

It's not possible to determine which brand of laptop is the longest lasting because many brands have both premium models and budget ones. The budget models are usually not as durable or reliable as the premium models. If I were to choose, from experience, I'd say Thinkpads, HP's nx/nc/nw and Dell's Latitude/Precision have the best build quality and reliability. Coincidentally, it is no surprise that they're the most popular in the corporate environment. Toshiba's Tecra range used to be really good too, until they began to trim down their offerings with budget models like the A-series.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Mar 28 2007, 01:04 AM
beyond430
post Mar 28 2007, 02:10 AM

-----
1,325 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Mar 28 2007, 01:03 AM)
Few of the major OEMs build any of their notebooks nowadays. HP has barely had any manufacturing facilities since 2000 I think as it sources its notebooks from Compal, Quanta, Inventec, etc. These ODMs also manufactures for Dell, Acer, Sony, Apple, Toshiba and some Lenovos (all brand name OEMs), so don't be surprised if different branded notebooks are all produced in the same factory. When we talk about reliability or durability, it usually comes down to the design and build materials used in the notebooks. Business notebooks from Lenovo (Thinkpad), HP Compaq (nx/nc/nw) and Dell (Latitude, Precision) are known to have undergone rigorous testing procedures that guarantee the reliability and durability of components. Again, these models are regarded as premium models and usually carry a premium over their consumer counterparts.

It's not possible to determine which brand of laptop is the longest lasting because many brands have both premium models and budget ones. The budget models are usually not as durable or reliable as the premium models. If I were to choose, from experience, I'd say Thinkpads, HP's nx/nc/nw and Dell's Latitude/Precision have the best build quality and reliability. Coincidentally, it is no surprise that they're the most popular in the corporate environment. Toshiba's Tecra range used to be really good too, until they began to trim down their offerings with budget models like the A-series.
nod.gif agree... those model is not same like the normal 1. u may c the spec is almost same with budget 1 but price is totally different, that's the prove..!!

V3000
post Mar 28 2007, 07:11 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Couse the meterial they use on premium model and the time they spend on R&D.. sure abit more expensive but what we get is peace of mind smile.gif

Cheers!
fariq_azad
post Apr 5 2007, 10:01 AM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

me voted for IBM
V3000
post Apr 5 2007, 06:02 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Cheers to IBM supporter! smile.gif

And why Sony and BenQ still got no vote? While Acer got 2 vote jo leh!! hmm.gif

This post has been edited by V3000: Apr 5 2007, 06:03 PM
xin
post Apr 5 2007, 06:21 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

either it is IBM or Toshiba heh i think
V3000
post Apr 5 2007, 06:26 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Apr 5 2007, 06:21 PM)
either it is IBM or Toshiba heh i think
Dont left Fujitsu behind bro smile.gif

xin
post Apr 5 2007, 07:52 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

i plan to get BenQ le ...but no votings here ..kinda scare o ..hehe
V3000
post Apr 5 2007, 08:00 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Just get whatever u like, dont trust this vote too much tongue.gif Soo many user on this forum and we get soo less vote! or maybe try google it before get it smile.gif
fariq_azad
post Apr 5 2007, 08:09 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

Yup.. even though I voted IBM...

I recomended a Fujitsu to my sis coz the design was solid and no nonsense

I also think Toshiba laptops are robust ever since the 486 days...
samus_ng
post Apr 5 2007, 08:16 PM

258 posts

Where is Apple? I'm not voting for anything exceot Apple laptops.
V3000
post Apr 5 2007, 08:18 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Apr 5 2007, 08:16 PM)
Where is Apple? I'm not voting for anything exceot Apple laptops.
Apple die heart fans here rclxms.gif
samus_ng
post Apr 5 2007, 08:21 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Apr 5 2007, 08:18 PM)
Apple die heart fans here  rclxms.gif
Hehe yep I'm an Apple fan, but I use windows too. YOu guys should really add Apple to the poll, their laptops have the apple logo in it, must respect.
V3000
post Apr 5 2007, 08:24 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Apr 5 2007, 08:21 PM)
Hehe yep I'm an Apple fan, but I use windows too. YOu guys should really add Apple to the poll, their laptops have the apple logo in it, must respect.
keke! next time i go get Apple logo and stick on my lappy! Must respect ya! biggrin.gif
Joking.. Ya must add Apply machine on the list also!
TS gone? can Mod edit? hmm.gif
samus_ng
post Apr 5 2007, 08:26 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Apr 5 2007, 08:24 PM)
keke! next time i go get Apple logo and stick on my lappy! Must respect ya!  biggrin.gif
Joking.. Ya must add Apply machine on the list also!
TS gone? can Mod edit?  hmm.gif
Oh no the ones on the official Apple laptops can light up(and no it's white light not those ugly colors). Hmm Can I PM a mod to add Apple? Will he ban me?
chris_c28
post Apr 5 2007, 08:31 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(fariq_azad @ Apr 5 2007, 08:09 PM)
I also think Toshiba laptops are robust ever since the 486 days...
The new cheapo Toshiba laptops, mainly the Satellites and Tecra A series feels cheap in comparison to what they use to make. The only good Toshiba notebooks are those they still make themselves such as the Portege and Tecra M and R series.

V3000
post Apr 5 2007, 09:11 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Apr 5 2007, 08:26 PM)
Oh no the ones on the official Apple laptops can light up(and no it's white light not those ugly colors). Hmm Can I PM a mod to add Apple? Will he ban me?
Doh, i dont think they will simply ban ppl.. if no 1 here then who wanna advertise on their site woah sweat.gif

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Apr 5 2007, 08:31 PM)
The new cheapo Toshiba laptops, mainly the Satellites and Tecra A series feels cheap in comparison to what they use to make. The only good Toshiba notebooks are those they still make themselves such as the Portege and Tecra M and R series.
Really sad to hear this.. couse their new model still very pricey le..

moniqee
post Dec 30 2007, 09:12 PM

7,864 posts

i think Fujitsu lor.... my brother first laptop also fujitsu use from starting college till graduate and use a couple of years working...till he bored with the laptop and sell it off and buy some other brands... ^___^ in my opinion Fujitsu is long lasting lor... from experience with both Brothers last time using Fujitsu laptop... now i'm also using Fujitsu Laptop as my first and hopefully last laptop...
bmkid
post Dec 30 2007, 10:15 PM

342 posts

Using dell now because it can customise the things i want so buy dell ...my choice stil IBM the lasting
be4 tat family member owns a tosiba laptop till now still working but kinda out of date jor...it is just pentium only...
before dell own a IBM laptop...it very lasting...working well...like 6 years old already...
by the way TS why no Gateway brand....i got friend own Gateway laptop 10 years jor stil working...he kind of Gateway fan wor...
Eiraku
post Dec 30 2007, 11:54 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Apr 5 2007, 08:31 PM)
Hear2... The new ones are manufactured in the Philippines, no more in Japan... sweat.gif

QUOTE(moniqee @ Dec 30 2007, 09:12 PM)
i think Fujitsu lor.... my brother first laptop also fujitsu use from starting college till graduate and use a couple of years working...till he bored with the laptop and sell it off and buy some other brands... ^___^ in my opinion Fujitsu is long lasting lor... from experience with both Brothers last time using Fujitsu laptop... now i'm also using Fujitsu Laptop as my first and hopefully last laptop...
Seconded from personal experiance... Fujitsu C2200 + 3 drops from table height = nothing except a problematic fan (I'm blaming dust)... icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0570sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:35 PM