> is there still any value with SPM 9A?, flooded on the street.

SUSgsem984
post Mar 18 2017, 09:23 AM, updated 9y ago

216 posts

i recently interview a batch of candidates for an executive position in my company, to my surprise, almost everyone of them have super duper excellent results in SPM, although later on their diploma or degree result showed varied outcome.

my staff told me nowadays SPM is kacang, as long as you memorize the past 10 years series questions, then any tom dick and harries also can score 9A.

is it true?

Blofeld
post Mar 18 2017, 09:24 AM

4,703 posts

get scholarship

if one degree course worth RM100,000, very worth it.

can save that money for house downpayment next time.
mafioso
post Mar 18 2017, 09:25 AM

6,155 posts

Must they know how to use google translate if they work in your company?

Since you mostly will write email in chinese characters
ycs
post Mar 18 2017, 09:26 AM

4,232 posts

ask your staff go take SPM and don't come back until got 9A's brows.gif
Baconateer
post Mar 18 2017, 09:26 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

i guess ur company dont hire ppl other thn those who can read mandarin..

cuz everything u do must be in mandarin and no translation offered..

or u ask them use google translate..
BS8110
post Mar 18 2017, 09:27 AM

128 posts

SPM is more for getting placement at higher education (university, college, etc) and education funding especially scholarship. Unless it is the highest education level that person can attain.

Once the person got PhD, master, bachelor degree or diploma, those will superseed SPM in terms of education importance.
amxpayne67
post Mar 18 2017, 09:27 AM

The Coon
718 posts

Pretty much is true, but getting 9A for SPM it just to give you a better chance for better further study opportunities. Not really that compelling when going to apply for a professional of of their career choices though.
Ludwig.
post Mar 18 2017, 09:28 AM

LOOOL
539 posts

can someone tell me how hard it is to get 9a / a+
Momox
post Mar 18 2017, 09:29 AM

No value la just for popularity only la this As. They all have the same skills.. which is do exam. What to be proud of?
kimp
post Mar 18 2017, 09:29 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Ludwig. @ Mar 18 2017, 09:28 AM)
can someone tell me how hard it is to get 9a / a+
no study = hard la
Blofeld
post Mar 18 2017, 09:30 AM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Mar 18 2017, 09:25 AM)

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Mar 18 2017, 09:26 AM)
i guess ur company dont hire ppl other thn those who can read mandarin..

cuz everything u do must be in mandarin and no translation offered..

or u ask them use google translate..
zephyrus9999
post Mar 18 2017, 09:30 AM

649 posts

Go tarC full scholarship for alevels. Don't fall for those Taylor sunway trap, don't think they give 100% full unless ur daddy mummy loaded. It's Cambridge alevels and u tend to find more hardworking and independent students in former that latter. That's what I did. Then do good for it and get full scholarship again to tertiary education.
When come out u can see ur baby peers spent 100k++ for education and yours is totally free.
MR_alien
post Mar 18 2017, 09:31 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

9A too normal nowadays
try getting 1A...now thats rare brows.gif
Rusty Nail
post Mar 18 2017, 09:32 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

where's the .cn news?
why you translate this time?
Kucing Terbang
post Mar 18 2017, 09:33 AM

32 posts

more option to choose for further study, plus better chance to get sponsor.
adamhzm90
post Mar 18 2017, 09:33 AM

1,389 posts

when no A people bash say not hardworking, when get straight A people like ts said no use pulak
internaldisputes
post Mar 18 2017, 09:34 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

9A's is easy... but straight A+, now that's rare. i think there's only a few hundreds students getting that kind of result. i used to be in the same room with a 9A+ student when i was doing my foundation. he's the smartest person i ever met. he's a member of MENSA i think.
ikankering
post Mar 18 2017, 09:35 AM

42 posts

can do job.
no problem.

ok if gaji kecik.ok if OT pay cheap.

still ok for me even no A.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Mar 18 2017, 09:38 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(gsem984 @ Mar 18 2017, 09:23 AM)
i recently interview a batch of candidates for an executive position in my company, to my surprise, almost everyone of them have super duper excellent results in SPM, although later on their diploma or degree result showed varied outcome.

my staff told me nowadays SPM is kacang, as long as you memorize the past 10 years series questions, then any tom dick and harries also can score 9A.

is it true?

The standard of SPM has been dumbed down since the early 2000s. Now it's more like a joke.
SUSrevious
post Mar 18 2017, 09:39 AM

During my year, SPM results can land you with a good job position. Like supervisor and even manager (+ experience). Now days SPM can get what jobs?? Office boy? receptionist?
iSean
post Mar 18 2017, 09:41 AM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

is it true?

A and A- Kacang . A+ is whole another level.
Especially linguistics department. And level of bluffing for those non Bumi took Pendidikan Moral.

Also science stream in SPM really most memorization on pure facts and play around with the rules except for Biology.

2A+ 3A 3A- candidate here. Revision in last 6 months before SPM.

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 18 2017, 09:42 AM
cj7
post Mar 18 2017, 09:50 AM

357 posts

depend on what kind of value you talking about. Malaysia education not based on critcal thinking anyway, so go figure.
taiping...
post Mar 18 2017, 09:52 AM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Mar 18 2017, 09:25 AM)

mois
post Mar 18 2017, 09:53 AM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

Score 9A, complain education too easy. Not score 9A, say students bodo. Cb you people.
guilt79

149 posts

is it true?

Maslow Hieracy of Needs.

SPM is the self actualization to some. That's why, the real test is after SPM.
wueytshuan

38 posts

Acquired 9A+ for full scholarship sponsor from JPA which mean Government will sponsored all of your $$ for your degree especially if you want to study abroad. Different experience could lead to a better jobs perhaps.
norazwan79

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

9A maybe kacang. But 9A+ insane....
limeuu
post Mar 18 2017, 09:54 AM

12,291 posts

The value was in the jpa scholarships.... Unfortunately the current generation is too late... No more now....

If you got a jpa medicine​ overseas scholarship, it's worth​ 1mil....

And yes,grade inflation has made As common....When the jpa scholarships first opened for pendatangs in 99, you can get one with just 6a....Very good already ...By the time the scholarship ended last year, you need 9a+ to qualify...
noresit
post Mar 18 2017, 09:57 AM

yeah, coz if im employer, i also will hire them coz that at least shows them have dedications. but does not mean other with lesser A is not as good, other aspects like leadership skills is equally important
SUSKinitos
post Mar 18 2017, 10:00 AM

572 posts

we sack all old senior dead wood staff and hire as many 9A SPM as we could afford

Producrivity increase alot

PakBelalang2014
post Mar 18 2017, 10:05 AM

76 posts

During of interview, the hr mentioned they normally look at ur spm as it can be validate on kementerian pendidikan, but for diploma, degree n etc just gv interviewer to review as they can assess better also having multiple institutes and no centralize portal it had for hr to validate.

Summary: Hr always looks at ur spm first

This post has been edited by PakBelalang2014: Mar 18 2017, 10:06 AM
limeuu
post Mar 18 2017, 10:05 AM

12,291 posts

Got many As still complain....

How would you feel if your doctor only got 5b in spm?....

That's all that is required to be eligible to enter Msian med schools....With a lot of money of course....lol
limeuu
post Mar 18 2017, 10:08 AM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(PakBelalang2014 @ Mar 18 2017, 10:05 AM)
During of interview, the hr mentioned thry normally look at ur spm as it can be validate on kementerian pendidikan, but for diploma, degree n etc just gv interview to review as they can assess better also having multiple institutes and no centralize portal it had for hr to validate.

Summary: Hr always looks at ur spm first
Spm is the last common exam majority of students take....After that, all kinds of pathways, all kinds of degrees....Quality difficult to confirm....

So spm is useful for basic benchmarking of Candidates against each other....
SUSsgshuhu
post Mar 18 2017, 10:10 AM

9A > got scholorship > study abroad > work in o&g > drive ferrari
samftrmd
post Mar 18 2017, 10:13 AM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

Why are TS even waste time looking at SPM result anyway?
SUSKinitos
post Mar 18 2017, 10:16 AM

572 posts

SPM 9A+ > All England Champion

TSOM
post Mar 18 2017, 10:19 AM

2,145 posts

so all guaranteed a scholarship??
RicoT
post Mar 18 2017, 10:22 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(BS8110 @ Mar 18 2017, 09:27 AM)
SPM is more for getting placement at higher education (university, college, etc) and education funding especially scholarship. Unless it is the highest education level that person can attain.

Once the person got PhD, master, bachelor degree or diploma, those will superseed SPM in terms of education importance.
Sadly not the case for Board of Engineering Malaysia, if your bachelor degree is not from a recognized university, but has attained Master/PhD in a famous and recognized one, you still cannot register as a graduate engineer here.

This post has been edited by RicoT: Mar 18 2017, 10:23 AM
D10yrspain
post Mar 18 2017, 10:25 AM

286 posts

In msia u got spm is good enough to be minister already, cukur
SUSKinitos
post Mar 18 2017, 10:30 AM

572 posts

IAM one of those very rare species that enrol for UK degree right after SPM paid by malaysians taxpayers

Before completing i got long waiting lists of top grade GLC waitng to hire me

D10yrspain
post Mar 18 2017, 10:31 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(connext @ Mar 18 2017, 10:26 AM)
I don't believe. I bet all those ministers got to have at least a degree or better.
Nah u only need to be yes man with minimum spm.
ridhwan.kamarul
post Mar 18 2017, 10:32 AM

Dont like this la bro..people have worked hard for that. Give them credit a bit la bro
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Mar 18 2017, 10:37 AM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

Not really. Just Kasi better chance. Compared to others.

But if no fully utilized. Still bodo bertingkat juga.
coolstore
post Mar 18 2017, 10:38 AM

1,524 posts

1990 era, u scored SPM 5A (max 5 subjects), u can go australia studying medical under gov sponsor

then the standard degrade century by century, u should who bear the great responsibility...

until there were lots 13A SPM scorers last time that students seems fight for as much as A as possible (juz like wanna break the world record). then ministry had to step in to stop this unhealthy trend, limiting student maximum subjects. else may can see 15A above now...

just one big and simple word to describe: the standard degrading so much

juz like what whole Malaysia social economy is facing
RicoT
post Mar 18 2017, 10:43 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(connext @ Mar 18 2017, 10:25 AM)
I think should not be too much of an issue, this is because if your degree is not even from a recognised university, you are unlikey to be able to enter a recognised university for masters/phd program.
You sure boh... The university in Taiwan, then to Singapore.
myteam94
post Mar 18 2017, 10:46 AM

438 posts

9A's only
if those 9A's student can get 4.0CGPA stpm
I'll respect them

myteam94
post Mar 18 2017, 10:47 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(ridhwan.kamarul @ Mar 18 2017, 10:32 AM)
Dont like this la bro..people have worked hard for that. Give them credit a bit la bro
What about those did not score any A's
Did anyone give them a credit?

This post has been edited by myteam94: Mar 18 2017, 10:49 AM
BS8110
post Mar 18 2017, 10:48 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(RicoT @ Mar 18 2017, 10:22 AM)
Sadly not the case for Board of Engineering Malaysia, if your bachelor degree is not from a recognized university, but has attained Master/PhD in a famous and recognized one, you still cannot register as a graduate engineer here.
Yeah, that's a bummer when it is about accreditation.
andyng38
post Mar 18 2017, 03:58 PM

2,402 posts

Is the SPM grading scale still classified under the OSA?

0.0214sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:27 AM