what i'm going to use it for - gaming, uni assignments and surfing the web

klonoa_90
post Dec 2 2008, 10:21 PM

hi,i'm an engineering student and need some suggestions here;
1- budget between 4k-5k
2- mainstream
3- uni n college
4- gaming(online games), assignments and web browsing.
- some photo editings

i'm currently survey-ing for dell xps m1530(or the "new" dell studio xps)/hp dv4/macbook. any suggestions?
EmperorScorpion
post Dec 2 2008, 10:33 PM

To get rich, you have to be making money while you're asleep
1,027 posts

If my budget is around 3000+ i will get a HP laptop
yoonseong
post Dec 26 2008, 01:09 AM

59 posts

hp? search in google...then u will find out many hp notebook having overheat problem for no reason. Same to mine.. my system board have damaged twice in 2 years due to overheat problem. The second time cost me 1.+k to repair, and i hav giv up the notebook. Besides, i am not using my notebook for gaming..never.

This post has been edited by yoonseong: Dec 26 2008, 01:11 AM
drifit
post Dec 26 2008, 03:50 AM

69 posts

notebook overheat may due to some reasons;
1. poor ventilation, notebook shall place on at hard flat surface. not on soft or clothed surface such as bed, sofa ... etc
2. cooling pad is an added advantage if one wants to use for a prolong time
3. not under direct hot sun
4. air-conditioned room isnt as good heat reducer as a normal table fan

as notebook using a small fan to dissipate heat, one need to be cautious or take estra care to reduce its heat.
klonoa_90
post Dec 27 2008, 10:50 AM

QUOTE(yoonseong @ Dec 26 2008, 01:09 AM)
hp? search in google...then u will find out many hp notebook having overheat problem for no reason. Same to mine.. my system board have damaged twice in 2 years due to overheat problem. The second time cost me 1.+k to repair, and i hav giv up the notebook. Besides, i am not using my notebook for gaming..never.
I've heard that too. But i was'nt quite sure. Is it HP in general? Or maybe there are some models that have this overheat problem? icon_question.gif
Btw, what model of HP u used?
law1777
post Dec 27 2008, 12:38 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

my cousin used her HP for 1 and a half year. she dun play any game on it. never had problem! not even to say what overheat problem. she keep recommending HP laptop. maybe some of u are just unlucky
sevenwatch
post Dec 27 2008, 01:21 PM

86 posts

i dont know. but i heard lots talking bout Dell is a good brand
Noodles
post Dec 27 2008, 01:58 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(sevenwatch @ Dec 27 2008, 02:21 PM)
i dont know. but i heard lots talking bout Dell is a good brand
DELL is good in term of their customer service blush.gif biggrin.gif
Juggerballz
post Dec 29 2008, 10:16 PM

349 posts

dell service is very good, my m1530 graphic card burned, played crysis on high for 4 hours ++, and i call dell , tmr dell come straight fix, then can play d, but u want high end for laptops, it's a little bit pricy, but 3k range is for normal users, surfing the net, play dota all those crap la, i nvr use toshiba etc, dell is join my opinion la! rclxms.gif

Added on December 29, 2008, 10:18 pmstudio....dell invented xps, XPS = xtra perfomance system, and the designs are cool, u want high end studio also 7k+ la, xps also somemore design is breathtaking, xps m1730 rox

This post has been edited by Juggerballz: Dec 29 2008, 10:18 PM
monmonku
post Dec 30 2008, 10:25 AM

I thought of buying the dell inspiron mini 12, but am not sure whether the spec is ok for my usage. I'm going to use it for my assignment, surfing and watch dvd (if possible). Expectatation price rm1k-2k, and the screen size that i prefer is below 13"..any suggestion on other notebook that can be considered?thanks..
HJR
post Feb 26 2009, 12:56 PM

Added on February 26, 2009, 1:03 pm
QUOTE(monmonku @ Dec 30 2008, 10:25 AM)

I thought of buying the dell inspiron mini 12, but am not sure whether the spec is ok for my usage. I'm going to use it for my assignment, surfing and watch dvd (if possible). Expectatation price rm1k-2k, and the screen size that i prefer is below 13"..any suggestion on other notebook that can be considered?thanks..
well, i think that you must be a travelling person.

i just think that 12 inch is really hard to watch DVD. if can why not you take the low end vostro series the 1310. it has intel celron processor which i think suited for basic application, 13.3 inch screen, and a dvd drive that is not available with inspiron mini but a little haevy than mini. i think the last time it was advertised with the price tag of 1700++.

if you don't mind you may check out the toshiba L300 sereis, compaq cq sereis (amd processor one) and lenovo g430. all of these have price taq of 1700++ and less than 2k but the spec are basic only and 14 inch screen. however it still enough for the basic application you mentioned and it beter than the vostro spec i mention. the downside will be the wieght.

have a thought about it. thanks.

This post has been edited by HJR: Feb 26 2009, 01:15 PM
parkahn89
post Jun 10 2009, 03:54 AM

Hi y'all...I wanna ask a few things...can anyone tell me which laptop is better? Between HP Pavilion dv3 or Lenovo Ideapad Y450? It seems from my opinion, I would spend my money on HP....maybe some expert on forums can tell me?? rclxms.gif Thanks...
daphnee90
post Jun 10 2009, 01:09 PM

hi.. planning to get Asus F80Q.. Any suggestions bout this model?? Anyone use it before??
Wynn
post Jun 10 2009, 01:18 PM

24 posts

Any idea where to buy the battery of Acer Aspire 5551ANWXCi ?
imthebest
post Jun 16 2009, 11:00 PM

im planin to get lenovo Y450 and 1st time to use laptop after 5 year use desktop..any suggestion??
maxilias
post Jun 17 2009, 12:41 AM

1,184 posts

budget about below 3k, whats the most decent one for a gurl for normal browsing?.wont lag, and comes with good integrated fan ?..hehe..value for money laptop..any recommendation?
latias93
post Jun 17 2009, 01:53 AM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(maxilias @ Jun 17 2009, 12:41 AM)
budget about below 3k, whats the most decent one for a gurl for normal browsing?.wont lag, and comes with good integrated fan ?..hehe..value for money laptop..any recommendation?
There are many options here.. for full sized laptops,you might wanna look at the Acer Aspire line, HP/Compaq, or even Dell. (not recommended if you are very short-tempered in customer services when your laptop breaks down!)

Oh, if it's just normal browsing and occasional music or videos.. and maybe a little paperwork or anything, you could get one of those netbooks (small notebooks you see people using in Starbucks). Currently the most popular ones are Asus Eee PC and Acer Aspire One, but MSI Wind is also good! Price range is very attractive, usually from less than RM1000 to RM1500 tops.

This post has been edited by latias93: Jun 17 2009, 01:53 AM
maxilias
post Jun 18 2009, 01:08 AM

1,184 posts

ouh. okay, thanks for the info, will look into it. But brands such as compaq and dell always has complains such as being unstable for compaq and for dell, (i dunno why, but seems like popularity drops)

how about brands such as toshiba, lenovo, and asus ?
Scanart
post Jun 18 2009, 02:50 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Jun 17 2009, 01:53 AM)
Currently the most popular ones are Asus Eee PC and Acer Aspire One, but MSI Wind is also good! Price range is very attractive, usually from less than RM1000 to RM1500 tops.
Hi All,

Take a look at the cool range of MSI notebooks launched by us in KL Tower recently: http://www.goldfries.com/goldfries-at/msi-product-launching/

MSI has the slimest notebooks with their X-Slim series: http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=prodpage...135&cat2_no=665 thumbup.gif

Thank you. icon_rolleyes.gif

106 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 >Top

0.0213sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:28 PM