Help me decide on a 12" Subwoooooofer, Boom Boom Boom

TSmADmAN
post Mar 5 2007, 12:43 PM, updated 19y ago

10,530 posts

EDIT: edited entire post complete with specs of everything.... this is
gonna be LONG biggrin.gif planning to do it this saturday.

EDIT: forgot to mention that my box aint big. not sure of size...but imagine a kelisa boot. and the box can fit nicely in between the 2 rear speakers.

hi guys....i need some help deciding on a subwoofer. i was offered these 3
subs with the following prices

- Kicker Comp VR (RM550) (the black colour one tongue.gif)
*specs that i can find (not sure correct or not):*
Product Features

* mica-filled polymineral cone
* Santoprene rubber surround
* dual 4-ohm voice coils for wiring flexibility
* frequency response 25-500 Hz
* power range 50-400 watts RMS (200 watts RMS per coil)

Technical Details

* Model: CVR12
* Item Package Quantity: 1
* speaker_type: Car subwoofer driver
* speakers_nominal_output_power: 400 Watts
* speakers_maximum_output_power: 800 Watts
* speaker_amplification_type: Passive
* speaker_connectivity: Wired
* Vehicle Speaker Size: 12-inch
* Warranty: 1 year warranty

but on woofer it states
600w peak
200w rms
Dual 4ohm

- MTX (model RT12-44) (RM600) (black colour one)

Description 12" Subwoofer
Impedance Dual 4 ohm
Frequency Response 33 - 150Hz
RMS Power (Watts) 200
Rec. RMS Amplifier Power (Watts) 100 - 200
Voice Coil 1.5"
Magnet Weight (oz.) 35
Mounting Depth 5-1/2"
Cut Out Diameter 11-1/8"
Sealed Enclosure Net Volume 1.07ft3
Vented Enclosure Net Volume 1.2ft3
Port Dimensions (Round Port) 4" dia x 14"L
Speaker Displacement .05ft3

- Alpine Type R (RM650) (model SWR-1221D)

* Dual 2ohm DVC
* Peak Power: 1000W
* RMS Power: 300W
* Frequency Response: 24Hz - 1kHz
* Dual Progressive Nomex Spiders
* High Excursion 1" Santroprene Edge
* Custom Cast Aluminum Frame
* Air-Flow Optimised Dual Flare Pole Vent
* Kevlar Reinforced Pulp Cone
* Extra Length Extended Pole
* Magnetically Optimised Motor Structure
* Integrated Tinsel Lead Design
* Designed and Engineered in the USA

as u can see the price difference aint much. soooo...i need u guys to tell
me which is best for me.

the sub will be paired with an Agako EG-2000D Monoblock amp and will be
used to listen to METAL \nn/. specs of the amp are as follows:

EG-2000D
Mono block 4 ohm / 2ohm /1 ohm operational
Balanced low input jack
Line out (pass through)
Variable low pass filter 24dB / oct (40 ~ 230Hz)
Variable bass boost at 60Hz (0 ~ 18dB)
Protection circuit for Thermal, Sp Short, DC Reverse & DC Offset

this is the specs for the Agako XT-3000D, which according to the
fellers at Agako Electronics, are exactly the same as the EG-2000D...except
for some minor
difference in the Frequency Response. specs in above remains the same.

Frequency Response 15Hz~250KHz
RMS power at 4 OHM Stereo 350W
RMS power at 2 OHM Stereo 700W
RMS power at 1 OHM Stereo 1200W
Max Power 1500W
T.H.D 0.1%
Input Sensitivity 200mV~4V
Input Impedance 10K ohms
Damping Factor >200
S/N Ratio 100dB

i need something that lasts meaning can take a good beating.

one more thing...was also checking out the Alpine DDDrive 12" (DDW F30A). cant seem to find specs online. mebbe coz its a discontinued model? any thoughts on this one? heard that the DDDrive are quite legendary.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Mar 7 2007, 10:12 AM
TSmADmAN
post Mar 7 2007, 10:09 AM

10,530 posts

okie boys and girls... first post edited with models and specs of each woofer and also specs of muh amp.

and yeah...gonna need it for SPL since ill be needing the boom boom boom for Metal \nn/

so gimme ur votes, thoughts, opinions.

thanks again guys
TSmADmAN
post Mar 8 2007, 04:10 PM

10,530 posts

cmon guys.....anymore votes on the woofers i posted?

count so far...

4 for Type R (3 from AW forum)
1 for MTX

anymore
TSmADmAN
post Mar 10 2007, 06:16 PM

10,530 posts

okie boys and girls....just got back from doing the sub thingy.

went for the Type R. biggrin.gif

although i preferred the Type S @2ohm...i was worried about burning the sub coz even for a short test can smell something liao.

tested the Type R at 4ohm with some tweaking and yummy. so decided to go to the safe side

thumbup.gif

**total spent on ICE so far RM9370 cry.gif moneyflies.gif cry.gif**

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Mar 10 2007, 06:19 PM
TSmADmAN
post Mar 14 2007, 02:26 PM

10,530 posts

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

the total is inclusive of all parts currently in use AND also all parts that died/ upgraded/ changed/ reworked etc etc etc.

if the parts in my sig (in use) only then itll be significantly less....

i aint insane enough to be overpaying for anything ler tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Mar 14 2007, 02:28 PM
TSmADmAN
post Mar 14 2007, 03:17 PM

10,530 posts

i know....simple reason being itchy... this subwoofer thing oso because my woofer pecah liao. so needed to change biggrin.gif

actually...most of the extra cash was because of changing this and that... this is my 5th woofer liao...still havent found the right/ workable combo yet. been having problems with the woofer setup coz of amp & woofer mismatching causing burns and pecah and bla bla bla

actually i dont really mind the total ive spent... coz its not like i spent all of it in one go... the whole thing is over a period of 3 years. a few here and there added together kinda thing...so not so bad.

@koniglee
im not bothered with home hifi...im pretty happy with my current HTPC + Edifier R501 MK-II. no intentions of changing/ upgrading them.

id rather spend on upgrading my headphone setup as i use that the most.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Mar 14 2007, 03:20 PM
TSmADmAN
post Mar 14 2007, 03:25 PM

10,530 posts

ahahahahhaha....running muh woofer at 4ohms now. dun dare run at 2ohms...last i did that with my alphasonik woofer the damn thing started smoking in less than 2 minutes!! laugh.gif which is the cause of the pecah and the change to type R oso la biggrin.gif

even the type S @ 2ohm oso started smelling something after a short test. so i guess 4ohm is the best for now...

gain on amp is not that high...around 1/4 only if i remember correctly...actually planning on lowering it a lil more.. this Agako im using has HUGE amounts of power man sweat.gif

problem with listening to metal...the boom boom level on diff songs can differentiate ALOT. current setting might be nice for this song but may be too little or too much for another...heh. dont really have the time to get it right yet.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Mar 14 2007, 03:27 PM
TSmADmAN
post Mar 14 2007, 05:03 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Mar 14 2007, 03:55 PM)
Bro, that's not a lot of power leh. Are you sure you're wiring it up correctly? I was using the Orion HCCA 250G4, the power at 1ohm was 800w (underrated, estimated to be at 900+w) and my sub was running on it fine. The max for my old sub was 300w only and RMS was 150w.

I seriously suggest you look see how you are setting up the amp and all before you try another sub. Smoking it that fast is really bad for health! (the wallet health)
bad for wallet? tell me about it sweat.gif

amp is wired as per normal lor. i cant really remember the settings of the damn thing but have to take off seat to check. its the woofer wiring...could be the bridging la...dunno...

but so far if i run on 4ohm the woofer has a higher chance of surviving the puches i give it. so ill leave it for now la.

been thinking of taking off the seat to tweak the amp...but really no time ler sigh sad.gif
TSmADmAN
post Mar 14 2007, 07:11 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Mar 14 2007, 06:42 PM)
well.. taking the seat is cheaper than replacing the sub all the time. Agako or whatever amp should be stable enough to deliver that kind of power at that impedence. Type R and Type S are very easy subs to power up. And I feel it's a waste you're underutilizing your amp like that.

Maybe one day we'll meet up and I'll fiddle with the wiring, Kelisa isn't too hard to mess with. I've dismantled my entire Kelisa before. Hehe
cool dude.... i wouldnt mind ur help with the wiring brows.gif

would be nice to meet up with another ICEr
TSmADmAN
post Mar 19 2007, 03:08 PM

10,530 posts

aiyah...all this talk...when wanna meet??? brows.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSmADmAN
post Mar 20 2007, 09:35 AM

10,530 posts

can come my house la like that...my garage is shaded...

manual for the agako is missing... cant remember where i put it sad.gif
TSmADmAN
post Mar 20 2007, 02:55 PM

10,530 posts

yep...muh house is in PJ...

but someone need to bring tools and some parts if needed.

and of course sunday is the best option for me too. and this month may not work out well for me oso...april has slightly better chances biggrin.gif
TSmADmAN
post Mar 21 2007, 09:05 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Mar 21 2007, 02:58 PM)
Cool then. We meet in april la? Heh
looks like it biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Mar 21 2007, 08:54 PM)
Back to topic:

my suggestion for 12 inch subwoofer is my all the time favourite JL W7!
already bought the 12" Type R laugh.gif
TSmADmAN
post Mar 26 2007, 02:39 AM

10,530 posts

my type r is still running fine man laugh.gif

havent smelled anything yet...

anyway...u guys figure out a date for april la...and ill see if it suits me... i just found out that april gonna be a busy with work month for me..... still might be able to make ti but depends when oso la...

if im not mistaken mid april should be fine.

0.0247sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:11 PM