Help me decide on a 12" Subwoooooofer, Boom Boom Boom

izso
post Mar 14 2007, 02:08 PM

48 posts

My advice bro, stop going to that shop you spend your money at and look for others. Almost RM10k for all that is... questionable.

I had a PHD2200 (200w x 2), JL W3v2 sub, Alpine 9855, Alpine MRD605 (600 x 1 at 2ohm), Helix Competition A2 amp (150w x 2), Dynaudio 240MKII comp speakers, Phoenix Gold Zeropoint RCAs and full Stinger speaker cables. All new and paid just slightly above RM11K

RM1000 more than you only leh.

But aiya.. nevermind. End of the day it just boils down to whether you like the sound it produces or not.

This post has been edited by izso: Mar 14 2007, 02:11 PM
izso
post Mar 14 2007, 03:21 PM

48 posts

wahlau.. jaga ur poor woofers a bit more la.. hehe.

get the impedance right and don't crank the gain up too much on the amp. Match it with the HU volume and voila.. the perfect bass. Well.. for me anyway

and seriously, if u had said ur sig was worth 9k, i loan u my big stick u go beat your installer. laugh.gif
izso
post Mar 14 2007, 03:55 PM

48 posts

Frequency Response 15Hz~250KHz
RMS power at 4 OHM Stereo 350W
RMS power at 2 OHM Stereo 700W
RMS power at 1 OHM Stereo 1200W
Max Power 1500W

Bro, that's not a lot of power leh. Are you sure you're wiring it up correctly? I was using the Orion HCCA 250G4, the power at 1ohm was 800w (underrated, estimated to be at 900+w) and my sub was running on it fine. The max for my old sub was 300w only and RMS was 150w.

I seriously suggest you look see how you are setting up the amp and all before you try another sub. Smoking it that fast is really bad for health! (the wallet health)
izso
post Mar 14 2007, 06:42 PM

48 posts

well.. taking the seat is cheaper than replacing the sub all the time. Agako or whatever amp should be stable enough to deliver that kind of power at that impedence. Type R and Type S are very easy subs to power up. And I feel it's a waste you're underutilizing your amp like that.

Maybe one day we'll meet up and I'll fiddle with the wiring, Kelisa isn't too hard to mess with. I've dismantled my entire Kelisa before. Hehe
izso
post Mar 18 2007, 06:10 PM

48 posts

Sure can. Wira or Kelisa, no problemo!
izso
post Mar 20 2007, 07:30 AM

48 posts

Anytime la. But best time is on Sunday.

Where you two located? I can go PJ. The only thing we need is tools, a place to DIY (preferably shaded) and lots of patience.

Oh btw madman - you still have the manual for your Agako?
izso
post Mar 20 2007, 02:21 PM

48 posts

Cool.. it's set then. but choose a nice date. this coming month end is qing bing so may clash with prayers and all
izso
post Mar 21 2007, 02:58 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Mar 21 2007, 02:14 PM)
I oni follow Seefu Izso advice,he is my good seefu and i m a very obedient disciple  tongue.gif
Eh.. icon_question.gif I cannot escape from the clutches of the great Alpine F1 snake poison king tai kor tohsan!

And seefu my ass. I haven't even audited your car before!

Added on March 21, 2007, 2:59 pm
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 20 2007, 02:55 PM)
yep...muh house is in PJ...

but someone need to bring tools and some parts if needed.

and of course sunday is the best option for me too. and this month may not work out well for me oso...april has slightly better chances biggrin.gif
Cool then. We meet in april la? Heh

This post has been edited by izso: Mar 21 2007, 02:59 PM
izso
post Mar 22 2007, 05:04 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy(R) @ Mar 22 2007, 09:15 AM)
izso selling his JL W3V2 ar? laugh.gif
Erm.. yeah. But not suitable for the fella la. And erm.. who are you?
izso
post Mar 25 2007, 12:53 AM

48 posts

O_o

Wahlau.. I got myself my very own stalker.

Madman - so have you burnt your type R so far? Hehehe
izso
post Mar 28 2007, 05:16 PM

48 posts

madman - ok will do. I might be quite busy myself.

tohsan - wah.. I am your greatest fan! Full Alpine F1!

0.0190sec    1.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:07 AM