Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

soonming
post May 22 2017, 11:14 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ May 22 2017, 11:11 AM)
Kopitiam for "spam"

They (EEA) released it themselves, that's a fraction of the 250 members hinted by Andrew Keys, DTCC and State Street is who's who enough, this will send shockwaves.

Take note it took 20 days for me to get verified on Gemini, now imagine the average folks who got wind of this news.

Bull trend of 2017 confirmed. Now let's hope there isn't bugs and black swans toward the moon.
Ppl will only believe what they want to. There is no truth. Only perception.
Maybe they reported as such gains is too good to be true coming on the heels of the jjptr scam earlier.

Let's see where this trend leads us.
soonming
post May 22 2017, 02:26 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ May 22 2017, 01:35 PM)
So I've just encountered my first issue with POLO.

Been lending out my coins before and never faced issues till this morning.

Lend out a portion of my BTC holdings as a loan at 0.30%/day for 5 days.

The lender apparently gave me back my coins after 4 days and I've only received my capital back without any interest. Bloody polo! bangwall.gif

Lodged a ticket to support and I'm expected to wait for 96hours before asking the MODS to escalate my ticket.
I just realised I never checked how much I got back... Could have gotten screwed and not realise it
No wonder I am nowhere near millionaire status. Not even close! Lol!

Thanks for noticing this. We can help each other out by noting these discrepancies and pay attention to it.
soonming
post May 25 2017, 03:26 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ May 25 2017, 01:56 PM)
then how can they manipulate it as it's 1USD ?
how can it be 1.06 ?? LOL
6% gst lol
soonming
post May 26 2017, 10:25 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ May 26 2017, 10:22 AM)
APA ranchiaooo.......lol.....
ur boss think u super hardworking, Naik ur gaji, u earn extra from mining....
kek
This.
Win win
Doesn't get better than this

soonming
post May 30 2017, 10:00 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ May 30 2017, 07:34 PM)
tl;dr

Bitcoin transaction getting expensive and slow - Is a real problem.
Decreases adoptability and utility, which in turn may impact long term value of bitcoin if people gets frustrated and move to another equivalent cryptocurrency.

Full response below.
Right. Now I have a bit of time.

The reason why transaction fees are increasing is because bitcoin as a whole has gained popularity, and the limited block size translate to a linear growth of block creation demand with the increase of number of transactions. When you have huge demand for block creation, limited number of miners and high difficulty, you get slow, expensive transactions.

How this could be a problem? After all what you just need to do is to hold bitcoin and not transact, right?

Well, this could impact utility and adoptation of bitcoin. Like I have mentioned earlier, what gives cryptocurrencies its value is the value of utility, may it be privacy (DASH, PIVX, Monero), speed (Ripple, Lumens), flexibility (Ethereum), scarcity (basically any coin with a cap). Now bitcoin is failing on speed and flexibility (though SegWit and Rootstock may come to the rescue), and bitcoin is not inherently anonymous if compared to the protocols privacy coins offer especially when care is not taken. High transaction fees results in the inability to do micropayments, as your transaction would never be mined (you could potentially pay more than you transact!). As an asset class the cryptocurrency world is filled with altcoins, so while this asset class has a capped supply, it could be viewed as "not scarce" as it is trivial to introduce another new cryptocurrency (adoptation is another story, but that relates back to the value of utility I have mentioned).

Ultimately if not dealt with, could cause "The Flippening" where people start seeing bitcoin reflecting a lower value compared to other cryptocurrencies, subsequently moving their money to others, causing a bearish trend and you could lose money.
The point here being, there is a reason why some of us talk about bitcoin being slow and expensive and etc. And while you might not appreciate the technicalities behind the situation (which is perfectly fine btw, serious), but as more people get onboard bitcoin, the impact is real. So I would discourage people from simply brushing off the situation as that Paypal/IPO/BON/bank transfers etc have their own charges - Which by the way, is a bad example as these transactions involve intermediaries and counterparties, being totally the opposite nature of the decentralised ecosystem of bitcoin.
Very pertinent points indeed
If you hold Bitcoin but you are unable to transact it definitely impacts utility and value of the coin.
I know next to nothing on the tech behind it but it seems if you can't do anything with the coin it becomes a white elephant and that... Is definitely not good!

soonming
post Jun 1 2017, 10:50 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 1 2017, 08:36 AM)
https://www.humblebundle.com/books/linux-bo...tent=cta_button

You guys interested in reading about Ethereum and solidity?

I'll buy it for you guys, as a gift!
Me. If u giving it out...
Thanks!
soonming
post Jun 3 2017, 01:43 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 2 2017, 11:37 PM)
Hype on Digibyte? https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@lepton/...necraft-warning

Digibyte vs. Minecraft (WARNING)
Another one : https://www.reddit.com/r/Digibyte/comments/...with_minecraft/

Note : I unloaded another 10% based on this news. Will see what happens after this.....
I rem someone on here saying crypto movements make no sense at times. This is perhaps one of those times, unless some ppl know something we don't know...
I was surprised at its meteoric rise. Pleasantly though.
Let's see where this leads to...
soonming
post Jun 3 2017, 10:05 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(Ash1988 @ Jun 3 2017, 09:55 AM)
It's true 50k will trigger flag for AML checking.
I work in a bank.
Is this a new rule or has it been there for ages?
Means if each transaction is 49999 it's ok? What if multiple transactions? Will it be flagged?
Just asking. I wish I had this issue to worry about.

soonming
post Jun 4 2017, 04:22 PM

187 posts

What's fueling sia's rise?
And I see digibyte is still on the up
Folding coin too though I don't have any. But looks good for the sake of humanity if can be run in our spare time.
I think there is a section dedicated to folding somewhere here...
soonming
post Jun 4 2017, 05:08 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 4 2017, 04:35 PM)
One million siacons can buy how many vegas? tongue.gif

I'm referring to AMD Vega line-up la.... wink.gif
I have no idea. Maybe only now people found out about siacoin. Another reason could be that there's not much roadblocks compared to when it was at 50 sats. Last time, to get to 100 sats saw a 600 BTC roadblock while the path to 150 sats saw a 1,500 BTC roadblock!!!!
And it took some time to overcome those...
And I saw the volume has surpassed ethereum and only second to digibyte
Maybe more money is pouring in, that's why easier to get over the blocks
As more money goes in if take an average of distribution all coins will see a rise in volume
as unlikely for people to concentrate on the big names only
At current price I feel it's still a good buy
But that is my opinion only, not back by any kind of analysis. Not even noob analysis

soonming
post Jun 4 2017, 05:21 PM

187 posts

Oh. And I noticed something
Everything the price of sia increases they disable withdrawals
May not be EVERY time but when I notice it that's usually the case
Not a coincidence I think
soonming
post Jun 7 2017, 04:32 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(chuckiee @ Jun 7 2017, 03:51 PM)
Don't use numpad to enter. Use onscreen keyboard or the number on top of your qwerty
This is a good point. Is it due to fear of Key logger?
And can't they just decipher ur strokes based on the blogs if using numbers on top of the qwerty?
Just asking cos I got zero knowledge on this
soonming
post Jun 11 2017, 03:49 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 11 2017, 03:16 PM)
Good catch!  thumbup.gif I would have gone deep sea fishing this morning if not for the unusual red sea due to ETH. Didn't know what to expect so I just stayed at the side.
I guess a lot of us don't do mining.

A forumer actually suggested a separate thread for mining.......

What do you guys think, should there be a thread for mining? If so, I don't think it should be in finance section....  hmm.gif
My opinion
Mining should be separate
As like you said it's not under finance

0.1979sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:55 PM