LOL someone dumped a whole bunch of eth on kraken for 147USD which got snatched in a second.
Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2
May 22 2017, 05:05 PM
3,291 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Nowhere Everywhere |
LOL someone dumped a whole bunch of eth on kraken for 147USD which got snatched in a second.
May 22 2017, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ May 22 2017, 06:12 PM) Bitfinex added XRP for trading : https://www.bitfinex.com/posts/204 I actually quite like Ripple. Especially when now it's under 30cents.It looks like XRP is making inroads especially on XRP/USD pairing. I guess this enables traders more options rather than needing to rely on BTC in BTC/USD pairing. |
May 22 2017, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ May 22 2017, 06:26 PM) Hey, waiting for you to comment something on Ripple leh. So sad nobody wants to discuss ripple. Haha later tonight I'll post - I wrote my thoughts over the weekend with regards to observations and fundamentals. Noob opinions la though.... so bear with me.Again, as mentioned before, I feel that ripple is doing everything correctly, and making lots of progress. Of course, acceptance and actual usage is still in progress but if they are successful, I think XRP price will be much much higher. For those interested in ripple, I've put all the important news in the links in the front page. Not suggesting for anybody to buy, kindly do your homework. Anyway, I don't think I will buy ripple at the moment. Just hodling what I have. Bought in around 40+ cents which caused ripple to crash. Yes that was me. Bought in again at 36 cents. Now licking my wounds... sort of..... |
May 22 2017, 07:18 PM
Since I have my tablet with me at work... My elementary thoughts for you kmarc - Let me know what do you think.
I quite like ripple for the same reasons why I like stellar lumens (even more maybe). 1. Cheap cheap cheap. 2. Ripple has shown solid use cases (e.g.: use case where they could facilitate monetary transfer between fiat which does not have a trading pair) 3. Financial institution interest in Ripple 4. Lightning fast transactions The problems I have with ripple is: 1. It should not b be too volatile for its use case. Intermediaries (i.e. liquidity providers) will be required to cushion this volatility. 2. There are loads of it out there, 60% owned by Ripple - Sure 88% is placed into escrow, but what happens after that? That ties in to volatility - When they are released (even gradually) into the market over time, what happens? |
May 22 2017, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ May 22 2017, 07:47 PM) Thx for the reply. Here's what I think of your comments. 1. You're absolutely right. In my humble opinion about its market cap and the overall cryptospace - right now (even with the rallying) I still think the cryptospace is in its infancy. In time useless coins will drop off, new coins with improved use cases will come by. In comparison, the DotCom Bubble took place in the trillions. And that was 20 years back. If Ripple is going to work with financial institutions, I would be inclined to imagine that 13bil market capital is... Something which could still grow further.1. I guess it is cheap per coin but in terms of market cap, that's already 13 Billion! Whether that is too much or still too little remains to be seen. However, for me, I feel Ripple will want the price to be higher, based on what they posted recently. 2) Agreed! 3) Yup. And also the fact that exchanges are now accepting XRP/USD pairing will make it even more attractive 4) Yup. I transfer from Polo to my hardware wallet, very fast. The only slow thing was waiting for Polo to accept the transfer. 5) Intermediaries - Yeah, they did mentioned that : http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/ripple...4b0b28a33f62915 6) 60% own by Ripple - I thought they already explained everything here? https://ripple.com/insights/ripple-to-place...tal-xrp-supply/ 5) When intermediaries are involved, Ripple could become reliant on them. Business conditions may need to be set out for intermediaries to be attracted (as banks would generally not want to foot this volatility), and they could have a say in setting XRP's volatility. Though this in turn does make XRP attractive for one of my trading methods (a stable coin which could be used to hedge against volatility while trading, so to ensure minimal losses while gaining), however point 6.... 6) Just questions in my head lah since I have not seen anything like this happen before. Say price of XRP is relatively stable then. When the escrow contract activates, then... How does this impact overall value of XRP and how would the market react? I would imagine XRP to have a temporary (since whatever is unspent will be set back to escrow) volatility upon flooding of supply, in which how would intermediaries and market react? Hmmmm. That said, I did stock up on Ripple also so........ Hahaha. This post has been edited by Enigmatic: May 22 2017, 08:43 PM |
May 22 2017, 10:03 PM
Nasdaq and Citi. Holy crap.
May 23 2017, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(kmarc @ May 23 2017, 10:54 AM) Dunno. Mobilego is actually my first love.... ermmm, I mean my first crowd sale. I guess the opening price is higher than the initial investment value and people just going for profits? Yeap - and ANT is looking bullish now so let's see where we go with that. I think enigma was saying that he still earned 30% profit when ANT listed even with a drop of 50% of initial price. Oh ya, I'm just thinking whether game will drop after the crowd sale. I'm sure people are buying game now for the discount. The price already almost tripled since the start of mobilego crowdsale. Not sure if the other ICOs will follow suit - as in with the price increase immediately after release on exchanges. As always, do due diligence, read the white paper, and only if youre comfortable with the project then only invest in it. This post has been edited by Enigmatic: May 23 2017, 12:22 PM |
May 23 2017, 01:56 PM
I'm not sure what to feel about the recent update w.r.t BAT tokens - Increased cap. Will review when I have time.
May 23 2017, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(lowya @ May 23 2017, 02:24 PM) what i try to say is, due to it's limited supply, if say ETH is fully mined one day, would all miners stop mining as there are no more coins to mine, and that causes the ledgers be 'wiped out' when all the mining servers goes offline? ETH is not capped; however issuance could be decreased and upon PoS, likely issuance will be much lower.Upon hitting the cap (e.g. bitcoin), miners could still earn from transaction fees, therefore being the incentive to maintain full nodes. This post has been edited by Enigmatic: May 23 2017, 02:50 PM |
May 23 2017, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(archangel22 @ May 23 2017, 03:55 PM) I am not too sure if the issuance rate was solely determined by the developers themselves or voted by the community for the case of ETH (Homestead). Have to check back. But we won't be seeing infinite as the difficulty bomb will lead to lower issuance rate (exponentially) as more blocks are being mined.QUOTE(kmarc @ May 23 2017, 04:08 PM) A lot of people ask this and if you google, there are some articles on it. There's one answer which is quite funny "Bitcoin will be last mined in 2140. You'll be dead by then so why worry?" LOL!And Ethereum will enable us hoomans to travel to the moon! And hopefully our names are written on history books as lunatics who joined the Ethereum revolution more than a century ago. But I think it's a valid question even if we'd be dead then, especially if we want to look into cryptocurrencies being a sustainable ecosystem without the disadvantages of fiat. |
May 23 2017, 07:17 PM
May 23 2017, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(lowya @ May 23 2017, 07:04 PM) It's was just a conference, not mass adoption bro. lowya - ping me up again this weekend if I don't get back to you on this. I totally understand where are you coming from. Crap day at work and it's only Tuesday.On safety, 50mil has be hacked from the old ETC (ethereum classic), and before the hacking, wasn't the distributed decentralized ecosystem supposed to provide a resilience system? Disclaimer: I have not read about how the hacking was done. and i read many sources said that ether is supposed to be limited supply, but u said it's not, i am a little confused actually. Also, something of unlimited supply (if it's true) also tells you that it's not that precious. |
May 24 2017, 06:47 PM
May 24 2017, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(roy_zu @ May 24 2017, 03:28 PM) Addendum: Aragon is performing really nicely now. Initially I thought this is a non-organic growth (whales in charge), but looks like I might be wrong. If it stays around this price range for the next few days then it might actually have the potential to break past 3. Especially with Token Submit coming up. As usual, not a recommendation to buy. This post has been edited by Enigmatic: May 24 2017, 06:53 PM |
May 24 2017, 07:18 PM
May 25 2017, 11:14 PM
May 26 2017, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(Saladz @ May 26 2017, 01:03 AM) thanks bro. There's a discount going on right now - Since ETH just hit past 200USD (around 210USD) there's a drop as people cash out their earnings, so it is going for around 185USD now.may i know which wallet are you using? where can i learn more about ETH? how to buy etc. i also heard that we should wait for discount first before buying? is there such a thing? haha Btw first post on this thread will guide you through how you can buy some. The general idea is to get bitcoins then trade it for ethers on an exchange. Add: now 170 LOL. I sense panic sells. This post has been edited by Enigmatic: May 26 2017, 01:34 AM |
May 26 2017, 02:30 PM
May 27 2017, 02:05 AM
Snatched up a couple more ethers by liquidating the more stable coins I had.
165USD ethers... Nice. |
May 27 2017, 01:49 PM
I know the drop looks scary (from 200USD to 140USD), but this will be nothing more than just a bleep in the long run.
![]() Invest, not trade. This post has been edited by Enigmatic: May 27 2017, 01:50 PM |
| Change to: | 0.2704sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:10 PM |