Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies v2

klthor
post May 15 2017, 05:31 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ May 15 2017, 05:23 PM)
no, it is only taxable because the trading was done in Malaysia, a corporate entity in malaysia.

So, what you are talking is not applicable.

Try search the taxable income/ corporate/ share law in Malaysia.

You can google online, dont be lazy
i dont have to google as income tax act 1965, company act 2016 are at my finger tips. so believe whatever you want, i wouldnt comment much if you wanna think 'if only the trading was done in malaysia, a corporate entity in malaysia'. how do you prove its done in malaysia is another whole new chapter, read what is 'derived' in malaysia. im just amazed by people who can firmly say it is 100% not taxable when i myself have doubt about it once in awhile. this is not a tax topic, i wouldnt wanna comment much. i would be happy if you guys tried with millions of profit, get into court with LHDN and win a land mark case law. that will make my life easier, at least i dont have to doubt about the taxation of my btc.
klthor
post May 15 2017, 05:52 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ May 15 2017, 05:35 PM)
Dude, with the virtual card you can. The physical card also supports paywave.

ATM support is also coming, like you can convert crypto into fiat at any country.

Like this is it, you can already skip banks for small payments, you speculate a little bit on crypto and get profits with free spendings.
im a low risk taker, wouldnt speculate those small alt-coin much... to tell you something funny, i left roughly 0.5eth back when it was USD 8 / eth in one of my wallet because of my lazyness to switch on my faulty laptop.... and i remember it when i was cleaning up my notes, now its 45usd... crazy world of cyto currency. as for the payment thing, to me its still far away ... at least another 5 years or more. i know you are a hardcore eth guy, you must be happier than myself when i discover my 0.5 eth spare change.
klthor
post May 15 2017, 06:24 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ May 15 2017, 05:57 PM)
You mean 5 more months right? I'm average actually, just relaying what I found from Reddit and elsewhere.

Do you know what's better than getting rich?

Making others rich as well, with real stuffs, not your typical get rich quick junk.
as long as everyone are aware of the risk of these coins. no harm promoting, it can be 100 usd or 10 cents. i left 10 daos there as well, i think it worth nothing now.

see you in 6 months time. see if i can pay tnb with my eth and btc.

This post has been edited by klthor: May 15 2017, 06:25 PM
klthor
post May 15 2017, 11:22 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 15 2017, 07:37 PM)
EMC2 is flying!  biggrin.gif

Yeah, supply and demand. So we can conclude that we already bought some cheap supplies!  rclxms.gif
klthor, you seem to be more familiar with these tax issues. We were actually discussing about income tax and government's view on cryptocurrencies some time back. I have no problems with government taxing me IF THEY CAN COME UP with a clear-cut guide on cryptocurrencies. As it stands, I doubt anything concrete will come out for at least a few more years.

As such, legally-speaking, what do you think would be the best course of action if one were to earn a substantial amount from cryptocurrencies? Say one day I earn 500k and decide to liquidate. Besides keeping quiet and get free maggie mee for the rest of my life  drool.gif , what should we do in terms of income tax? Of course, I'm not going to be the guinea pig and be the first one to tell them.  biggrin.gif Let others do it first, especially when there are no clear-cut guidelines.  dry.gif
problem is that there is no clear guide line. look at google, fb, apple case. they moved their profit to tax heaven, but the amount is so fraking huge that everyone is thinking a way to tax them. like i have said, its very blur until lhdn actually made a move. if i were you, i liquidate and buy whatever i wanted but keep 30 percent of your profit for tax related issue. i just dont wish to sell off my beloved house to pay tax just in case lhdn win the case.
klthor
post May 16 2017, 03:10 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ May 16 2017, 09:57 AM)
Depends on how much you are invested in it.
Your "small player" may be different to the definition of others. smile.gif

Normally, if you are just starting out, with let's say a few hundred ringgit invested, then don't bother getting a hardware wallet yet.
You can use any of the various online secure wallets for now.
You only need one when your stash gets significant enough and you have decided that you are serious in this investment.

I have mentioned my "Rule of 5" to others before (and this is purely my own recommendation), if your investment in cryptocurrencies exceed 5 times the cost of a hardware wallet, then it makes sense to go and get one.
Currently, a Ledger Nano S is going for slightly less than RM400, so if your investment in cryptocurrencies exceed RM2k, you should get one.

Hope this helps, and welcome to the exciting world of cryptocurrency.
lol. i hit 5 times of the wallet price... im a cheapskate, so i scatter all my crypto here and there like polo, xbitasia, bittrex pc wallet, and lappy etc... guess its time for me to invest in a proper wallet. thanks for the guidelines.
klthor
post May 17 2017, 05:49 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ May 17 2017, 04:55 PM)
Hi guys, was planning to buy my first ETH and looking at the first post, there are 4 places to buy BTC/Luno, which one has faster transaction/lower fees?

EDIT: I tried coinhako but the verification (selfie with IC etc) really bums me out.
xbitasia need your ic too. last time coinbox was easiest but bank account closed down. banks worried money laundering if user could not be identified.
klthor
post May 26 2017, 10:10 AM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(maranello55 @ May 26 2017, 09:56 AM)
nope. its my nicehash stats

aww cpu miner ~~~ so hows the profit like? never done cpu mining before haha....
klthor
post May 26 2017, 10:19 AM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ May 26 2017, 10:15 AM)
leeching company electricity sure profit  cool2.gif
lol thats what im thinking.
klthor
post May 26 2017, 10:54 AM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 26 2017, 10:34 AM)
Polo has issue and i suggest everyone must check and reconcile every balances in the account.

See attachment and luckily I can remember how much I bought.. Otherwise, they eat you.
whats the problem there? cant see anything wrong also.
klthor
post May 26 2017, 03:11 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ May 26 2017, 02:26 PM)
Would it affect ETC too or they are a separate thing?
ETC and ETH are both diff and yet same thing. just diff chain, but the founder of ehterium is in ETH. so expect future development in ETH, for ETC it is a totally diff management and developer... let see how it goes, but so far... eth rise, etc rise, eth drop etc drops but there is a delay... this is due to the supply and demand of eth and etc which is whole another chapter. play etc or not, its up to you... long run, eth >etc... short term gain speculation = pandai pandai la.
klthor
post May 26 2017, 04:01 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(Chelsea-Fan @ May 26 2017, 03:36 PM)
Guys a noob question here.

Is the crypto trading include saturday and sunday too?
24/7 online gambling platform, have fun.
klthor
post May 28 2017, 12:36 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 28 2017, 07:37 AM)
I'm actually considering starting mining and doing research on it. Unless you have a mining farm, it seems small-time miners will have difficulty getting the coins. Small-time as in one or two gpu setup. However, it seems that you would probably do better if you join a mining pool. Profits are not instant but it seems you can probably get back your money spent after 6 months to one year. I guess a 3-4 or more GPU setup would be preferable. If you can handle the hassle of setup, maintenance, trouble-shooting, down-time, hot room, etc, why not give it a try?  smile.gif
6 months return is not really possible, consider 1 to 2 years. i started mining 1 and a half year ago and have yet to get my return. if you are mining eth now with 3 ~4 cards, i guess it will take you 15 ~20 days to get 1 eth. and 2 months from now, i guess it will take you more than 1 month to get 1.
in addition, no ppl knows when is eth pos... once its here, miner will have to adapt.

This post has been edited by klthor: May 28 2017, 12:39 PM
klthor
post May 28 2017, 01:20 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 28 2017, 12:56 PM)
I will be very happy if can even reach USD 5!!!  rclxms.gif
Wished I had access to those hardware and the support needed to setup such farms. Those people probably can get those hardwares cheap. Not like the hardware in Malaysia which is marked up by huge amounts.
What hardware are you using to mine at the moment?

If I start mining, I will mine whatever coin is the most profitable one. Zcash looks promising at the moment.
so far i guess still eth, zcash never try before. consider okay now compare to what i used to start last time. the shops here selling mobo for mining, last time i have to actually ship them in from US. same goes to risers, so hard to get risers back then.... now you can buy everything from 1 shop, if you ask the shop now they might even recommend which hardware to use. then china also came up with their own ready to use mining pc with 8 gpus if im not mistaken... expensive but good for newbies, no need to setup.
klthor
post May 28 2017, 02:08 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 28 2017, 01:57 PM)
Haha, your "last time" is my "now"! Still difficult to get in Sibu. Yesterday I went to ask a local shop for a multi PCI-E slot mobo. They have one 3x PCI-E which is one of the highest range mobo costing like 1.4k!  sweat.gif

Cool. Coins are recovery although nowhere near previous high.
hahha, you need to get it from KL then...
klthor
post May 29 2017, 09:57 AM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ May 29 2017, 01:30 AM)
I see. What gpu u use right now and and if you dont mind to tell, how much profit per day u make?
Im interested in mining right now because I saw a lot of malaysian ppl sharing their gpu mining screenshot at facebook. One of them even make RM3k per month. Thats crazy, this will be a good alternative to pay my uni fees.

I already go to that website. But i dont know how to use hahaha
depends on how much you invest. let say rm10k worth of assets, in good times like now you make like 1 to 2k a month. in bad times, you cant even have the enough money to pay for your electricity. are you able to fork up rm 600 a month?
klthor
post May 29 2017, 10:39 AM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 28 2017, 02:35 PM)
Probably order online. I'm thinking of getting ASROCK Z97 Extreme 4 which has 3 PCI-Ex16 slots, selling for RM649 : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1459154

Need to look around some more.....
never use that mobo before, im just learning from my friend and its fun... its more for the fun part, not really for the earning part... if i can get back my investment before those parts broke down, then im happy. about mining mobo, its better for you to look for more pci unless you do not plan to expand. heat treatment is important too, make sure to get an extra table fan and spread your gpu widely.
klthor
post May 29 2017, 03:42 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ May 29 2017, 03:01 PM)
No, it's not always 1:1.
It usually (and very easily) swings a couple of percent each way.
Just like recently when it dropped to as low as USD 0.92.
I personally use Xbit Asia and have never encountered any problems at all.
Yes they're not available on weekends, and the spread is not always the best due to lower liquidity, but other than that I don't have any issues with them.
same, been using xbitasia for sometime. like their withdrawal. they will email you follow by CIMB's email. the spread swings 2 ways, sometimes its cheaper than international price, sometimes its higher than international price like now. to me its simply a supply and demand of btc in malaysia, if no many ppl selling btc in malaysia... then the price of BTC in malaysia is higher than the international price. crytpo is not like gold or forex, the diff btw countries and platform is small.... even polo value is different from bitrek. im considering to move out my btc from polo because rthe lending rate sux. not even 0.1% a day.
klthor
post May 29 2017, 04:01 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(sirxl @ May 29 2017, 03:54 PM)
from year 2014-2016, btc lending rate on polo was hardly 0.05 % per day, so you are pretty lucky to get 0.1% per day the last few months.
i did not lend out during 0.5% era, not attractive at all. until recently, 0.1 0.2% a day. maybe its becoz of the alt coins surge, ppl brw btc to speculate alt coin... that is why the 0.1 and 0.2%... gonna try other platform to check out their lending rate.
klthor
post May 30 2017, 12:25 PM

5,469 posts

time to offload eth smile.gif would not join the rocket this time. USD40 and 80 era, USD 200 is good profit for me ed. now waiting for BTC to reach RM13k smile.gif
klthor
post May 30 2017, 03:43 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ May 30 2017, 03:38 PM)
zamans98 - I will explain in better detail later why this is a concern. It has nothing to do with being Asian or being cheap. It has more to do with the protocol of Bitcoin architecture.

Unlike WooTz I am not a millionaire yet so I'll need to work. laugh.gif
let me guess according to my knowledge.

if im not mistaken, bitcoin transfer fee is fixed. and it suppose to be the cheapest way to transfer fund compared to bank wired etc...
eth transferred fees is based on %. however, eth is build for DAPP and ether is not a currency but gas for these smart contracts...

but in the end, screw the basics.... 99% are speculators who care less what they are supposed to be... how many of us purchase eth and use it to run DAPP?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2089sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:38 PM