Neighbor doing online business at home, Was it against the law?

TSViolet Ling
post Mar 8 2017, 06:50 PM, updated 9y ago

177 posts

My neighbor just moved in to my neighborhood and is doing online business inside the house.
Previously they operate the business in a shoplot, because of rental increase, they shift everything in their office to this house. They have 3 to 4 workers. They parked their car around the neighborhood.
Their business is about e-commerce(internet business) selling make-up products etc. So daily Pos Laju van will come over their house and collect all the parcels to send for their customers.

I would like to ask, it is legal to conduct online business in a house?

Red_rustyjelly
post Mar 8 2017, 06:55 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(Violet Ling @ Mar 8 2017, 06:50 PM)
My neighbor just moved in to my neighborhood and is doing online business inside the house.
Previously they operate the business in a shoplot, because of rental increase, they shift everything in their office to this house. They have 3 to 4 workers. They parked their car around the neighborhood.
Their business is about e-commerce(internet business) selling make-up products etc. So daily Pos Laju van will come over their house and collect all the parcels to send for their customers.

I don't think so. unless they got no credit report or no pay tax.

This post has been edited by Red_rustyjelly: Mar 8 2017, 06:55 PM
TSViolet Ling
post Mar 9 2017, 01:02 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Mar 8 2017, 06:55 PM)
I don't think so. unless they got no credit report or no pay tax.
You don't think so means it is legal?

Any authority I can refer or report to? For example majlis perbandaran of that area?
SUSGrowTentProject
post Mar 9 2017, 01:26 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(Violet Ling @ Mar 9 2017, 01:02 AM)
You don't think so means it is legal?

Any authority I can refer or report to? For example majlis perbandaran of that area?
majlis perbandaran only take action if the general surrounding of the house is affected ...

for example -- you say cars (presumably belonging to the staff), are they parked haphazardly or obstructing traffic ?? ..... Trash -- are they properly disposed off ??

you can check whether the owner have proper permit to store the stuff at home ... some dangerous stuff (flammable/combustible/aerosol stuff for example) need special storage if stored in bulk
or else check with health authorities whether the products have permit
McFD2R
post Mar 9 2017, 09:25 AM

1,074 posts

How are their operations affecting you?

1. Are they noisy? Doubt they are if they are doing online trading. Sure, they may have products coming in and out, but is that a nuisance to you?
2. Are the workers harassing your family?

What is your reason for reporting? Not enough place to park for your own cars?
aaronpang
post Mar 9 2017, 09:35 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

Yes such business is illegal...

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia...ased-businesses
foxray
post Mar 9 2017, 09:57 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Mar 9 2017, 09:35 AM)
This article is talking about a pet shop, a solar panel showroom and a kindergarten though. All of which are not online businesses and require customers to physically go there hence traffic congestion

This post has been edited by foxray: Mar 9 2017, 09:59 AM
jovigrunge
post Mar 9 2017, 09:57 AM

2,607 posts

It's illegal. Any legal business should have a license from the authority. Home tuition are illegal too! Kindergarten in the neighboring area illegal too! Opening a burger stall outside your house is illegal too! Everything must have legal approval from relevant authority Unfortunately as you know our country is famous for dedak and also the spirit of Malaysia Boleh. flex.gif

This post has been edited by jovigrunge: Mar 9 2017, 09:58 AM
aaronpang
post Mar 9 2017, 10:20 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(foxray @ Mar 9 2017, 09:57 AM)
This article is talking about a pet shop, a solar panel showroom and a kindergarten though. All of which are not online businesses and require customers to physically go there hence traffic congestion
The nature and type of business is irrelevant.

Land title for residential does not allow people to carry out sort of business.
Utilities bills, quite rent and assessment fees following residential rates is cheaper than commercial rates.

Business requires a special permit to conduct business in residential area and land conversion fees. Those permit only granted in very special circumstance.

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Mar 9 2017, 10:26 AM
badai
post Mar 9 2017, 12:03 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Mar 9 2017, 09:57 AM)
It's illegal. Any legal business should have a license from the authority. Home tuition are illegal too! Kindergarten in the neighboring area illegal too! Opening a burger stall outside your house is illegal too! Everything must have legal approval from relevant authority Unfortunately as you know our country is famous for dedak and also the spirit of Malaysia Boleh.  flex.gif
eh they have working hours. those thing operate after working hours. you want to pay the overtime?
TSViolet Ling
post Mar 9 2017, 04:45 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Mar 9 2017, 10:20 AM)

Utilities bills, quite rent and assessment fees following residential rates is cheaper than commercial rates.

Business requires a special permit to conduct business in residential area and land conversion fees. Those permit only granted in very special circumstance.
+1
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 9 2017, 04:56 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Online business also cannot?
Just register SSM not enough? Business premise license only required if need to serve customer (something like that no?)
abubin
post Mar 9 2017, 05:18 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 9 2017, 04:56 PM)
Just register SSM not enough? Business premise license only required if need to serve customer (something like that no?)
nope. residential is only for lodging. no businesess can be running there. So TS, you can complain to local municipal council like DBKL or MPPJ. They will take action. I understand how the person running the business is affecting the neighbour.
aaronpang
post Mar 9 2017, 05:45 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 9 2017, 04:56 PM)
Short answer is NO tongue.gif

Land use title already states residential yet still insist to run a business from housing area dry.gif seriously.

Residential and commercial property govern with different set of laws, rules and regulations to follow.

Scott Garden SOHO is commercial title, besides paying more for utilities, notice "Keluar" sign inside the unit.

There's a whole bunch of other differences that don't apply to residential.

If anything goes wrong in residential area IE: employees trapped inside house during fire. Who will get prosecuted for breaking the law? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Mar 9 2017, 05:49 PM
r3d2
post Mar 9 2017, 10:33 PM

237 posts

Most online businesses are run from home. Unless they are very big and making a nuisance to you, I think it would be better not to complain. Just live with it and maybe you can get a discount from what they are selling.

dect
post Mar 9 2017, 11:06 PM

25 posts

Still have not answer how this is effecting you? Parking? Noise? Or are you just being a brown nose with an attitude?
LeonTan
post Mar 10 2017, 12:30 PM

**SHINE**
2,161 posts

Actually should be ok, as long dont affect other ppls.

Nowadays economy not good, dont kacau other people punya rice bowl la.

As long they didnt kacau u
Mel2
post Mar 11 2017, 08:16 AM

861 posts

It can be disturbing if you see extra cars (their staff's) parking around and hearing pos laju vans zooming in and out every day.

Now they have 3 or 4 staff. Maybe they just started.

How they can affect neighbours depend how often one stays at home.

If you go out to work daily, no effect one. Haha.

Usually residential areas have very limited spaces to park cars. To share it with random cars can be quite frustrating.

Like me, I reserve an empty space outside my house for my visitors. But my neighbours' tenants kept occupying it. They park wherever they can. Can say they got kacau me or not? They think not. But I say YES.

This post has been edited by Mel2: Mar 11 2017, 08:17 AM
Mrsaitama
post Mar 11 2017, 09:25 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(Mel2 @ Mar 11 2017, 08:16 AM)
It can be disturbing if you see extra cars (their staff's) parking around and hearing pos laju vans zooming in and out every day.

Now they have 3 or 4 staff.  Maybe they just started.

If you go out to work daily,  no effect one.  Haha.

Usually residential areas have very limited spaces to park cars.  To share it with random cars can be quite frustrating.

Like me,  I reserve an empty space outside my house for my visitors.  But my neighbours' tenants kept occupying it.  They park wherever they can. Can say they got kacau me or not?  They think not. But I say YES.
U just jelly of ur neighbors, btw ur outside house not ur peivate parking, anyone can park there unless u buy that road/park.

Stop being a dick, learn to tolerate, not like he kacau u. U also didnt even use the park.
gogocan
post Mar 11 2017, 09:32 AM

486 posts

Get the company name & reg. No and report it to LHDN.Do something good to your country
Mel2
post Mar 11 2017, 10:59 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(Mrsaitama @ Mar 11 2017, 09:25 AM)
U just jelly of ur neighbors, btw ur outside house not ur peivate parking, anyone can park there unless u buy that road/park.

Stop being a dick, learn to tolerate, not like he kacau u. U also didnt even use the park.
Tell me how to deal with selfish ppl.

His house same design as mine. Can fit 5 cars in.

I have 4 cars and all parked inside. If course I need empty spaces outside for my visitors. Sometimes I have to park 1 or 2 cars out so that I can use the other car parked furthest inside.

But he parks only 1 car in. 2 outside his house. 2 outside mine. Our house 45' wide. Can park one car each on both sides. Gate in the middle.

Yes. You can say it's public road. But no bandaraya ppl come sweep it. I have to maintain my house frontage.

And pls lah. Be a gentleman. I don't have a dick.lol.
Mel2
post Mar 11 2017, 11:11 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(Roadhacking @ Mar 11 2017, 09:43 AM)
Now Malaysian trend

1 house 4-5 cars
Malaysian trend is to park anywhere they like as long as they don't block the gate. Haha. No shame one. Live at house number 5 tapi park car outside house number 9, for example.

They are not used to pay for parking. Dah biasa double park. If stay in condo, don't bother renting car park, just park outside condo.

As long as tak kena saman means it's ok.

This post has been edited by Mel2: Mar 11 2017, 11:12 AM
SUStikaram
post Mar 11 2017, 11:59 AM

10,722 posts

Is old folks home also illegal?

Bring home take care baby from working couplease also illegAl?
duckhole
post Mar 11 2017, 04:40 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(Mel2 @ Mar 11 2017, 10:59 AM)
Tell me how to deal with selfish ppl.

His house same design as mine. Can fit 5 cars in.

I have 4 cars and all parked inside. If course I need empty spaces outside for my visitors. Sometimes I have to park 1 or 2 cars out so that I can use the other car parked furthest inside.

But he parks only 1 car in.  2 outside his house.  2 outside mine. Our house 45' wide.  Can park one car each on both sides.  Gate in the middle.

Yes.  You can say it's public road.  But no bandaraya ppl come sweep it. I have to maintain my house frontage.

And pls lah. Be a gentleman. I don't have a dick.lol.
it is 100% illegal to do business in a residential home as there are rules and regulations to follow when opening business offices. as people have shown need to have exit sign la, fire extinguishers, and many more safety precautions to ensure the people working there are safe.

BUT if you were to report to the local council, they probably might not take action as this is just a small fry and not a big problem. Also if they do give the owner a visit, they might just go for kopi duit. In the end the problem still remains, the 'enforcers' make some pocket money monthly and the owner now knows who reported them + they know where you live.

It does take some investment money to start a business no matter how small it is, and some people are quite bitter when they lose money. Are you sure these few parking space for your visitors is worth risking the safety of your family and property? innocent.gif

SUSautoman5891
post Mar 11 2017, 05:01 PM

No but must pay tax.
Mel2
post Mar 11 2017, 05:37 PM

861 posts

Our authorities usually happy with such "illegal business". More opportunities for side income.

If residents making noise about haphazard parking, the authorities will go draw yellow lines. Saman will follow.

Report or don't report? Haha.
Blofeld
post Mar 11 2017, 05:47 PM

4,703 posts

Usually residential areas have very limited spaces to park cars.  To share it with random cars can be quite frustrating.

Like me,  I reserve an empty space outside my house for my visitors.  But my neighbours' tenants kept occupying it.  They park wherever they can. Can say they got kacau me or not?  They think not. But I say YES.
I share with you the frustration.

But i'm afraid that inconsiderate ppl will not understand this because they think it's OK to randomly park their cars anywhere as they like.

They don't see anything wrong in blocking others.

They don't see anything wrong in causing inconvenience to others.

Why? Because they are inconsiderate in the first place.

I have experienced those customers parking directly in front of the gate. They just leave the car like that to walk into their premises. I was thinking like who the heck parked in front of my gate.

Another case was another customer who parked the car right up to a few inches before our gate sweat.gif and we couldn't even open the gate.

My father got angry and slammed the gate on the car.
Mel2
post Mar 11 2017, 06:09 PM

861 posts

Ya. Lots of selfish and inconsiderate ppl around.

I don't understand why my neighbour's visitor not parking across her gate but chose to park across my gate.

Maybe she saw us just arrived home.

Well. We did. Just reached home from outstation. After unloading our luggage, used the toilet then wanted to go out makan.

But the gate was blocked. Couldn't even open it.

It was very late at night. Not nice to horn also. We were all hungry but not angry until slam her car. Haha.

Tolerate lor. What to do.
CoffeeDude
post Mar 11 2017, 08:15 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(Mel2 @ Mar 11 2017, 06:09 PM)
Ya. Lots of selfish and inconsiderate ppl around.

I don't understand why my neighbour's visitor not parking across her gate but chose to park across my gate.

Maybe she saw us just arrived home.

Well.  We did.  Just reached home from outstation.  After unloading our luggage,  used the toilet then wanted to go out makan.

But the gate was blocked. Couldn't even open it.

It was very late at night. Not nice to horn also.  We were all hungry but not angry until slam her car.  Haha.

Tolerate lor. What to do.
Hockey stick biggrin.gif
SonnyCooL
post Mar 11 2017, 08:39 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

cause road belong to public not urs ..... so everyone can park
max_cavalera
post Mar 11 2017, 10:06 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(Violet Ling @ Mar 8 2017, 07:50 PM)

Enterprise/sole propreitor no issue....business address oso can hantam resdiential address...but hrd to get business loan la...

Thats why ppl upgrade to sdn bhd once the biz takeoff and revenue exceed 500k per annum
SUSbananajoe
post Mar 12 2017, 10:29 PM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

So what about services ?
Supergoola
post Mar 12 2017, 10:32 PM

82 posts

Go report tnb , maybe they will remove the fuse. But make sure you have some proof 1st
mars2003
post Mar 12 2017, 11:04 PM

123 posts

Although law doesn't say it's illegal to do online business in house. You can only complaint to local authorities if it's affect the neighbourhood.
Heck some people even drive lorries various sizes and park in the neighbourhood and that's illegal too.
Only thing u can do is pray for their business to get off n make it big. So they move out find bigger space.
Every small business that are home run seldom or never get raid by authorities. Heck newspaper always publish stories of those who make in house cookies, nasi lemak, and etc etc etc in house.
If there no smell. No clogging drain. No noise interference u cannot complaint. That it.

0.0270sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:35 AM