Buy Macbook without OS, Possible?

TSjackal1950
post Mar 4 2007, 02:39 AM, updated 19y ago

572 posts

I wonder can you buy MacBook without the OS. Just like compaq bundle with FreeDOS? If possible then how much will that 1.8Ghz MacBook cost?
youngkies
post Mar 4 2007, 02:44 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

i dont think that is possible. all apple mac is bundled with mac os.

but if u can prove that you dont use the mac os, maybe u can claimed for a refund for it.

there is a customer in UK, first to be able to claim back a refund for microsoft XP that came with the DELL laptop he purchased. but he proved that he didnt need to XP because he use Linux, hence the successful refund.

but for apple mac, i dont think that is possible though.

and lastly, why do you need a macbook without OS?

This post has been edited by youngkies: Mar 4 2007, 08:02 AM
ed0gawa
post Mar 4 2007, 02:50 AM

coconut
4,398 posts

Most probably he got Mac OS cd already?
Deadman.Inc.
post Mar 4 2007, 03:02 AM

575 posts

Erm.. you don't buy a Ferrari and say "can you take away the engine?"
sdien
post Mar 4 2007, 07:06 AM

46 posts

i think it is more like...
you buy an apple computer, you get a free osx and ilife with it.

that is, if you buy one now, you'll get osx 10.4 and ilife 06 for free.
if you buy in june or sept, you'll probably get 10.5 and ilife07.

TSjackal1950
post Mar 4 2007, 11:02 AM

572 posts

already got MacOSX software.. just dont wanna waste money buying new version of MAC OSX

This post has been edited by jackal1950: Mar 4 2007, 11:25 AM
tishaban
post Mar 4 2007, 11:06 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(jackal1950 @ Mar 4 2007, 11:02 AM)
already got MacOSX software.. just wanna waste money buying new version of MAC OSX
OSX for Intel is not available for retail, so unless you work for Apple what you have is illegal.

macball
post Mar 4 2007, 11:26 AM

259 posts

Hmm...actually I remember about this similar thread saying that a guy walks in the APPLE show room and ask the sales personel, " can we get cheaper MAC without the OS preinstalled ?"

It causes a stir as ppl in this forum replies the thread with --- "" BOSS!!!!! SAYA MAU ROTI TELUR TAK MAO TELUR or BOSS, CURRY MEE TAK MAO CURRY !!! "

hehehe.......it is not possible, unless u have PC and install v MAC OS, that is possible!!!

GOOD LUCK to u anyway. CHeers ~~ HAppy Chap goh mei...

PPL say u throw KAM, hope for a guy, throw banana hope for money, dun expect to throw apple hoping for a MAC ..haha.........
youngkies
post Mar 4 2007, 12:03 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 4 2007, 12:06 PM)
OSX for Intel is not available for retail, so unless you work for Apple what you have is illegal.
what he meant is:

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Mar 4 2007, 03:50 AM)
Most probably he got Mac OS cd already?
@TS

you wont get discount because you dont want the mac os.

and apart of that, you have to make sure the ur mac os cd is ppc based or intel based as newer mac is intel based only.

wei
post Mar 4 2007, 01:07 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Reason of being no OSX Intel in retail is because all hardware that support OSX Intel already shipped with it. There's no older hardware that need to upgrade to it. Unlike PPC, which there's still many machine that might shipped with OS9 or 10.1 - 10.3 need the upgrade.

If you have the "downloaded", "copy from friend", "burn by my friend" or even "Lowyat plaza" version, shame on you. shakehead.gif

If you own more than 1 same model of Mac and want to save some $, maybe you can eBay the installer DVD later. There might be some buyer that lost or damage their DVD. Don't ever hope Apple retailer will bother to remove the OS and give you discount.
ezinger
post Mar 4 2007, 01:20 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

damn i didnt get the chance to bash him first ;/
SUSMike3300
post Mar 4 2007, 02:53 PM

6,866 posts

If you have interest in buying Apple computers, you do know well of the almighty OS Ten. The reason people get a Mac is because of it's OS, the beauty of the hardware is just the bonus.

Maybe you're just buying pack of chips and looking for the bonus which is just a mini toy. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Mar 4 2007, 02:54 PM
xaw5126
post Mar 4 2007, 03:15 PM

3,488 posts

they're all correct, but one thing to note here. Since we're talking about Apple products, why not get the details from the source >
www.applemalaysia.com.my

can also phone them tomorrow morning, 03 27111 888.
ezinger
post Mar 4 2007, 03:34 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

wow u actually gonna call them and ask if they sell their macs without osx? thats embracing idiocy sleep.gif
xaw5126
post Mar 4 2007, 05:02 PM

3,488 posts

why not... its a valid question... and at least you get an answer from the people responsible.

I mean, its better than all of us here, out of which... only 5 people or so are actually working *inside* the system
ed0gawa
post Mar 4 2007, 06:38 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(ezinger @ Mar 4 2007, 03:34 PM)
wow u actually gonna call them and ask if they sell their macs without osx? thats embracing idiocy sleep.gif
IS there anything wrong with it?
It is just a question... just like .. "any discount? Any free gift? blablabla"

If i have the money and i would like to buy a Ferrari without engine... i think Ferrari would give in.. lol since customer are always right... biggrin.gif
expantyhoesthief
post Mar 4 2007, 06:42 PM

426 posts

imposibble lar.TS..exworker from apple corner here
prasys
post Mar 4 2007, 06:46 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Oh , thats why we have x86 clones and apple

Makes sense ?
allvin
post Mar 4 2007, 07:12 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 4 2007, 07:46 PM)
Oh , thats why we have x86 clones and apple
Makes sense ?
Makes alot of cents.. laugh.gif tongue.gif OSx86 roxk... rclxm9.gif
ezinger
post Mar 4 2007, 08:35 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

yes! lets be oblivous consumers! we are always right!

MAMAK! AIS KOSONG KURANG MANIS BUNGKUS!!

0.0188sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:12 AM