The rental price also affected by location and gender and room availability.
Easier to rent anywhere as a female (note the female environment tags) and IF you don't mind staying with owner.
It will take awhile to hunt for right place right location and looser house rules that fits the right budget and not being insanely far from work.
Don't because of 50-100 bucks you make your life difficult by renting at the far sides (long commute is another thing you will hate); plus check bus availability and interval (NOT ALL PLACES in SG have excellent bus connectivity that I don't even bother looking at timetable coz 3 routes all can go to work)
Superb locations in Serangoon also listing for 1.1k nowadays..
In general no need to fully limit oneself to rail network.
My office is NE, I also rent in Serangoon ($900 all inclusive) coz excellent connectivity by bus -
but locals tell me because of that and the proximity to NEX I pay more than usual
Apply more. 300.
What job are you looking for?
LI is the way.
Else, also check out MCF portal for those jobs they have trouble filling up.
You are the traffic, cannot complain sia

Thank you! What's NEX and do you find Serangoon a good area to live other than connectivity?