Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

poor_engineer
post Mar 15 2017, 12:43 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Mar 15 2017, 11:15 AM)
i think the longer u wait the higher chance u have i guess...
my friend get news in 3 months time ,rejected.
me...since jul,i check ytd approved biggrin.gif
Congratz rclxms.gif Jul-Ma, 8 months wor... Nowadays waiting period so long
poor_engineer
post Jun 5 2017, 05:06 PM

96 posts

[quote=wen94qin,Jun 5 2017, 10:38 AM]
[quote=IwanAGP,Jun 5 2017, 10:15 AM]
Sorry then I'm in electrical field can't help much tongue.gif

Quite true. But see your salary requirement also. Down here I think manufacturing and semicon jobs quite much less d. Too high cost biggrin.gif If programming I think got better luck. Some of my friends doing quite well in programming field.
Oh ok, thanks for the tip
Any sifu around to help ?advice for a future electronic engineer going to SG make for a living ?

[/quote]

For microelectronic field, Front End moves faster than Back End in term of career progression. This is due to high turnover rate as the working environment is much more stressful. Comparing to manufacturing in general, you will see your pay higher than low tech field but comparing to professional job market as a whole, manufacturing line is the lowest. Definitely able to earn enough for living but very very basic lifestyle.
poor_engineer
post Jun 6 2017, 08:23 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jun 5 2017, 08:38 PM)
I did have one friend worked for a semicon before. Earn bloody a lot from the overtime but no time to rest. Sometimes midnight work till 3-4 then 10am got meeting. Siao one... After OT he's getting like 5k+ for a fresh grad. He quitted just few months after that. Too pathetic. Never really bother to ask what he did when he was inside though.
It's true and OT money only good for junior. Once the base pay hits the ceiling and then the engr realizes his workload still requires him to work OT without additional pay bangwall.gif
poor_engineer
post Jul 6 2017, 01:48 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 6 2017, 12:40 PM)
True... To buy the same thing in Malaysia vs Singapore is more than 3 times the effort.

Just bought a laptop for 2.4k which is like 1 month salary.  Imagine if I work in Malaysia the same thing might costs me 3 months salary.
Complain for the sake of complaining mah...
Laptop $2.4k dry.gif that is quite a high end machine, can afford macbook liao
poor_engineer
post Aug 23 2017, 09:58 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Aug 23 2017, 08:12 AM)
semicon. yes the one nearest to johor  brows.gif
Micron of GF?
poor_engineer
post Jan 20 2018, 05:00 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(Cokey @ Jan 19 2018, 11:13 PM)
My comparison for working in SG vs MY - Assuming you are 30 y.o and will be working till 60 yo with EPF currently @ RM100,000 and didnt buy luxury, only $$

SG
$100,000 pa = $70,000 pa Savings in EPF = RM210,000 pa savings in EPF

MY
RM100,000 pa high tax bracket and higher expenses (Car, toll, petrol, car maintenance) = RM60,000 pa savings in EPF

All of this savings you put in EPF which avg 6% compound return pa, how much will you have when you age 60.

SG - 21.3 Million = RM106,500 per mont pocket money (6% pa interest)
MY - 6.5 Million = RM32,500 per month pocket money (6% pa interest)

You are losing RM74,500 per month if you work at MY and your kids going to hate you when you pass your legacy to them.
[attachmentid=9530748] vs [attachmentid=9530736]
Would someone explain to me what does that mean? rclxub.gif
"$100,000 pa = $70,000 pa Savings in EPF = RM210,000 pa savings in EPF"
poor_engineer
post Apr 10 2018, 09:12 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Apr 9 2018, 10:50 AM)
Suddenly all become so Patriotic, meanwhile all these years working in SG , nvr bother go back Malaysia to work and contribute more

No offence , but cold hard truth
Voting is a right as long as anyone still holding Msia IC. Nothing to do with contribution and patriotism. For me, i simply "dulan" BN and will make sure i cast my vote against them whenever i have the opportunity icon_rolleyes.gif
poor_engineer
post May 14 2020, 12:56 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(singguli @ May 14 2020, 05:51 AM)
Sgd 4k for 1st class graduate as I know
$4K salary is very common. My company just an average semicon MNC in Singapore. We are paying Msia tier1 grad $3.6k and Singapore tier1 grad $4k. Top IT firms should be much higher than this. And we are talking about today's market. 4 years down the road i expect at least $300-500 higher than today's.

Just make sure you score first class honor and then plenty offers for you to pick. We seldom able to attract NUS first class grad because the hiring market is too competitive. Nowadays I even got rejected by UM/USM good candidates when we extend offers to them...
poor_engineer
post May 14 2020, 03:00 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ May 14 2020, 02:56 PM)
Does your company take in UTM graduates?
Bunch of UTM folks in my company biggrin.gif
poor_engineer
post May 14 2020, 03:02 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ May 14 2020, 03:00 PM)
Bunch of UTM folks in my company  biggrin.gif
UM, USM, UPM, UTM... even UTAR (I'm from UTAR)
poor_engineer
post May 15 2020, 01:50 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ May 14 2020, 03:49 PM)
Is EE(mechatronic) & EE(electrionics) in demand in Singapore?
I don't have large data to tell the demand... My department demanding for EE but currently on hiring freeze. I guess this period most companies are more conservative in hiring.

0.0429sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:47 PM