Lester1987
post Mar 23 2017, 05:21 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 22 2017, 08:38 PM)
is this the email? ICA_Feedback@ica.gov.sg
https://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=362

i couldn't identify. please advise. did you go down to ICA to update or just email is good enough?
I think you can do it after your approval. ICA will have a form for your employer to fill when you complete your formalities.
Lester1987
post May 19 2017, 02:05 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(DuckLim @ May 18 2017, 05:27 PM)
what is the standard salary of this job scope?
Need to look at JD to determine. Desk engineer can be someone that help users plug keyboard and mouse ($1.5-$2k) to someone that handles everything from server/network/infra ($3.5-$6k)
Lester1987
post Jun 13 2017, 01:29 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ Jun 13 2017, 01:05 PM)
What is the drinks actually that goes by the name of [Fishing]?  biggrin.gif
chinese tea that is made from tea bag. the string when u pull to make the tea is like the fishing action.
Lester1987
post Jun 13 2017, 01:45 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ Jun 13 2017, 01:39 PM)
Ah understand now! Good metaphor!
And they really call it [Diao Yu] there?
yes, if you looking for chinese tea, you have to order "diao yu". when I first arrive in Singapore. I ask my aunty to buy me "cina teh ais". she scratch her head so end up order 1 diao yu and 1 cup of ice for me. laugh.gif
Lester1987
post Dec 13 2019, 10:10 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Radec @ Dec 11 2019, 11:52 AM)
Dumb question, but is it possible to open an SG CIMB Bank account while I'm still here in Malaysia?
Yes, As long as you have a singpass account, you can do it online and transfer $1k to the account number generated.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 12 2019, 07:55 AM)
If you are not residing in SG why should the government grant you permanent residence? icon_idea.gif
JB address is allowed. dont mislead people if you dont know.

QUOTE(tampinmy @ Dec 13 2019, 10:00 AM)
NO, you need to go to their branch
dont mislead people if you dont know.

QUOTE(tampinmy @ Dec 13 2019, 10:03 AM)
Find a friend or colleague who's willing to "loan his address". Explain to them it's just mailing purpose. Once you got your PR and done your NRIC, after 2 -3 months, change the address to your Malaysia address by emailing ICA NRIC dept.
Also please inform your friend before hand the consequences. When you put your IC address to their address, Your income will automatically be included in their "household" income. If they are getting some perks from the gov, it might breach the income ceiling and their tongkat might be taken back by the gov.
Lester1987
post Dec 20 2019, 02:55 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Siwon18 @ Dec 19 2019, 12:41 PM)
Hi everyone,

Can I know how to check with IRAS the total days I'm Singapore? In order for me to calculate the personal tax? I have been working in this current company for 169 days and previous company for 17 days (included weekend and public holidays). I also have stayed in Singapore for weeks.

Am I counted as resident tax or non-resident tax? The number of days are only counted during working period or staying in Singapore? Or combine both together?
if you just started working and still working in SG, you will be calculated as tax resident la. here is the example.

salary 4k per month. 48k per annum. you start working in August 2019.

august till dec = 4k x 5 months. = 20k.

salary earned below 20k = no tax.

days stayed in SG less than 183 days. but you still continue working in the same company.

for 2019, the company will declare 20k for you. you no need pay a single cent since its below 20k. But for 2020, assume you still earning same salary,

you will pay the tax for 20-30k = 2.5%, 30-40k = 3.5%, 40-48k = 6.5%

250+350 + 520 = 1120.

Hope that clarify your queries.
Lester1987
post Dec 20 2019, 03:43 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Siwon18 @ Dec 20 2019, 03:40 PM)
My problem is that I'm not continue working in this company anymore. My last day will be 23rd December.

My current company - 8 July 2019 - 23rd Dec 2019
My previous company - 22nd April 2019 - 8 May 2019

I also have stayed in Singapore for a week or so after my employment period.
Therefore I'm unsure on how IRAS will calculate the no.of days I'm in Singapore since the tax resident and non-tax resident are a huge big difference in term of percentage.
then prepare to pay 15% tax. that's all. biggrin.gif
Lester1987
post Dec 20 2019, 03:55 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Siwon18 @ Dec 20 2019, 03:45 PM)
But do they counted the previous company as well? I mean overall 2019 working period?
If so the total sum up did add up to 183 days.
to get the exact date, you need to look at both of your company's employment pass / s pass / WP issue and cancellation date.

That is the only proof you have to fight for the days you stay in Singapore as a resident.
Lester1987
post Feb 4 2020, 02:09 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(bettertomorrow91 @ Feb 3 2020, 11:50 AM)
Hi Guys,

Would like to ask something regarding the income taxation in SG if I were to stay in JB (I will be working for a SG-based company). I will be starting my new job on the 4th of May, 2020.

From IRAS, quote:

"Period of Stay (inclusive of work) in Singapore - At least 183 days in a year will be regarded as a tax resident"

My question is,

a. Does it mean, as long I enter Singapore for that day, it will be counted as 1 working day?
b. Does it count by accumulated hour? For example: 8 hours per day, I need 3 working days to be considered as 1 full day in Singapore?

My biggest concern is, for the remaining year of 2020, would I be taxed at a flat rate of 15%, or will it be falling under progressive tax resident rate?

Thank you so much in advance
4th May you should be safe la. They calculate the day you start work.
Lester1987
post Feb 6 2020, 05:12 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(SolidLiquidGas @ Feb 6 2020, 03:44 AM)
Hi all sifus, I’m a degree fresh grad. Anyone heard of ExxonMobil in Singapore? I’m going through the recruitment process for Operations Technician position. Mind to share some insights?
mackiddo
Lester1987
post Mar 4 2020, 05:09 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(afiqsabri @ Mar 3 2020, 01:28 PM)
guys, planning to go back to work in singapore, I need to know something...how long it will take to clear the tuas check point...3 years ago I went through Woodland which roughly took 1 hour.. anyone knew how long it will take through tuas using motorbike...
I masuk through Woodlands and keluar by Tuas. my work hours a bit flexible. usually i leave home around 8am. reach checkpoint around 8:30, most of the time will clear around 10-15 mins. worst case scenario 30 mins (exclude cocked up time like system down etc). balik via Tuas. The queue also around 30-40 mins usually. i reach there around 6-6:15pm usually. We have a telegram group for bikers with around 900 members in it providing live update on bike queue.

QUOTE(afiqsabri @ Mar 3 2020, 01:29 PM)
another thing, when can we installed the "smart tag" for the motor bike, after receiving the EP card ?
The IU i think can install anytime one. As long as you bring your bike to any VICOM center can do already.
Lester1987
post Nov 17 2020, 02:12 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 13 2020, 11:14 AM)
may I know where this bolded part is stated?
I am unaware of this, and would really like to know if this is really true.
his statement is completely misleading one la. listen to him 10% you can go holland.

I am a SG PR with SG driving license.

1. SPR are not allowed to drive foreign vehicle in Singapore doesn't matter you hold Msia license or SG license.
2. When you convert your license to SG license, By Malaysian law you cannot keep your Malaysian license. No issue driving in Malaysia as Malaysia recognize SG license.
3. I can even buy a car in Malaysia with my SG license.
4. I had an accident with my brother's car in KL and claim insurance. All matter to insurance company is you the insurance cover note have your name or not.
5. Whether you can drive your friend's car or not depends on the insurance cover note and not your license. If your name is covered for the car, back to point 2.
Lester1987
post Nov 17 2020, 02:40 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(henrytlh @ Nov 17 2020, 02:25 PM)
I'm a SG PR with SG license too, but I was told that I cannot drive privately owned cars in Malaysia due to insurance not covering me hence only able to drive cars from car rental company.

Summary: Can only drive Malaysia car if you are covered under the insurance.
this includes Malaysia license holder. nothing to do with which country's license you are holding. You try drive your friend's car with a Malaysia license but your name not in their insurance cover note and get into accident see what happen. shakehead.gif
Lester1987
post Mar 30 2021, 12:23 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Mar 29 2021, 09:03 AM)
You're back again after taking a break from your imaginary stories  biggrin.gif
Business owner, drive a BMW with a few wives right?
he is contradicting himself. he keep emphasizing money is not an issue for him, then say he like driving.

If money is not an issue then can always buy a new maserati in SG ma. brows.gif
Lester1987
post Feb 16 2022, 03:18 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kribrigdefoo @ Feb 14 2022, 08:07 PM)
Questions:

1. Can an EP approved if the place of residence is not in Singapore.
2. Is there any terms that state that an EP holder must stay in Singapore for at least how many days in a year?

Asking as a full-time-remote-engineer-wannabe.
The complication doesn't comes from SG side but rather the country that you will be working in. If you are employed in SG but work from home in Msia for example, you are generating your productivity in Malaysia and you should be paying tax to LHDN instead of IRAS. Your company and you can be fine heavily if someone report you to LHDN. Most companies especially MNC will not take the risk. Unless you have an exemption from LHDN mentioning won't tax you due to covid then you are fine. There is a FAQ published by LHDN on exempting the tax for those working from home in JB due to border closure.
It subject to a few criteria that you need to meet.

1. you are a daily traveller before covid and you are stuck in JB now due to border closure.
2. There should be no change in your employment contract (means you cannot switch employer during this period).
3. you will continue your daily travel when border reopens.
Lester1987
post Jun 20 2022, 11:47 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(ahjummma @ Jun 20 2022, 09:52 AM)
Which industries are the chill ones?  unsure.gif
most MNC in SG emphasize on work life balance. to be honest all the company i work in SG more chill than those i work in KL.

0.2827sec    1.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:41 AM