Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot
Al3x0174
Mar 5 2019, 04:07 PM

I plan to go Singapore to work and hope some sifus here can help me a bit.
I have 12 years working experience in Costing and Management Accounting but I only have a diploma. Currently I'm working as a Costing and Management Accounting.
What is the range of salary I should put as my expectation? I'm currently taking my CIMA (ACCA equivalent qualification). Will my diploma affect the application for EP?
For expenses, my budget as below
1) Rent - 800 2) Transportation - 120 3) Mobile - 50 4) Food - 400 5) Insurance and others - 150
is this enough for a single guy?
Where would be best for me to job hunt aside from jobstreet?
Al3x0174
Mar 6 2019, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(leodinouknow @ Mar 6 2019, 10:32 AM) transport, entertainment need more la, sometime need take taxi and going karaoke what. unless u is otaku everyday shut in house type. That's just basic necessity. I don't budget entertainment, holiday because those activities are based on whenever I feel like it. I don't like karaoke, pubs, coffees, but I do like to travel. Even now I like to stay home. My hobby is cooking, watching youtube, reading. Maybe if at SG I can go gym or swimming.
Al3x0174
Mar 6 2019, 12:48 PM

If I managed to get a job at SG, I doubt I will stay in JB and face the traffic. isn't worth the time.
What is the range of salary I should put as my expectation? I'm currently taking my CIMA (ACCA equivalent qualification). Will my diploma affect the application for EP?
Where would be best for me to job hunt aside from jobstreet?
Al3x0174
Mar 6 2019, 01:45 PM

SGD800 would get you RM2,400. rental in JB, transportation to SG and back, maybe save 200SGD... unless its SGD4-500
Al3x0174
Mar 6 2019, 03:19 PM

QUOTE(aLertz @ Mar 6 2019, 03:13 PM) i also thought the same... well it's give and take la... u spend more time on the journey...then live like a king in JB  Based on SGD800 as rent, how much would you save?
Al3x0174
Mar 6 2019, 04:08 PM

QUOTE(leodinouknow @ Mar 6 2019, 03:58 PM) rm300 small room, rm450 master room in jb. transport additional $50 ba from $100 if live in sg. 150sgd stay big master room plus transport out in with inside sg $150. dont forget food price also divide by 3. so about $150sgd, count $200sgd food ba, eat more luxury food. if live in jb is 150room150transport200food, total $500sgd spend if stay jb compare to your 800room100transport400food. try to use math 500sgd with $1400sgd different. con is time and energy. peak season not enough bus need walk 30mins over the bridge. well. based on your experience rent + transport to and from SG is 200 vs 800 in SG so saved 600. Assume its a 8-5 job, you need to wake up 5am? and reach home 8pm? Food wise, you still have to eat lunch in SG right? or tapau from JB as well?
Al3x0174
Mar 6 2019, 04:19 PM

True. but based on that calculation of saving 900 a month, for a family person, 8-900 could do a lot for the family.
for singles like me, I would just stay at SG. probably get a 5-600 room with cooking allowed. not so taxing to the mind and body.
Al3x0174
Mar 6 2019, 04:31 PM

well.. I still hope to get a job first. if I can share a room that would be even better
Al3x0174
Mar 6 2019, 05:25 PM

I'm sure there are works that you can do at night for come pocket money
Al3x0174
Mar 7 2019, 11:40 AM

Wow. so basically just stay home after work. don't do anything except self improvement.
basically you cant do any transaction at all as a seller then. regardless of service, product or online.
Al3x0174
Mar 7 2019, 02:43 PM

Still, for me getting a job is important.
any tips?
Al3x0174
Mar 11 2019, 02:19 PM

QUOTE(GetHappy @ Mar 11 2019, 02:14 PM) Anybody applied PR with much success? So far two my of my buddies have succeeded in it. 1 applied post-6 months of working, the other, 10 months of working in sg only, both PR process & results out in a MERE 2 months. LOL What’s their occupation? And income level?
Al3x0174
Mar 27 2019, 02:17 PM

QUOTE(Malformed @ Mar 27 2019, 01:48 PM) Hi guys, hit me up if you're interested. Ill send the invite already sent but no reply yet
Al3x0174
May 23 2019, 02:19 PM

Ask the bank ma. nothing wrong with staying with relatives
Al3x0174
Jun 11 2019, 11:30 AM

as I know you have to dispose your property within 6 months. from what I heard people transfer it to a company and by pass that
Al3x0174
Jun 11 2019, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(raymondloh @ Jun 11 2019, 11:34 AM) During my time, I did dispose one of my properties and have the S&P ready to show to the HDB officer. Alas, did not even ask...... so if you own more than one property, you just need to show one? then what if just tell them don't have? they don't check? harder for people who bought house for their parents as well.
Al3x0174
Jun 11 2019, 11:51 AM

QUOTE(raymondloh @ Jun 11 2019, 11:49 AM) Same situation as yours.My parents are staying in a house under my name. I sold my house with S&P in hand. Is ready to explain to the officer that i have another house that my parents are staying..... the officer did not ask about any properties outside of singapore..... Wow. then lucky you. but If they caught, don't know what's the penalty. and also they have the 6 months time to dispose.
Al3x0174
Jun 11 2019, 12:09 PM

anyway sg very kiasu and strict. just be ready for the consequences when arise.
Al3x0174
Jun 12 2019, 09:27 AM

QUOTE(55665566 @ Jun 12 2019, 09:20 AM) But I always heard they say don't declare your oversea property. And they said buy more Malaysia properties before convert SC to enjoy tax free purchases  you buy as SC, you still get RPGT tax. 5% higher than Malaysian. I don't know if converted SC can hold property below 1M here. but if they can then good. how about when passed away, how to give to next generation?
Al3x0174
Oct 27 2020, 01:55 PM

QUOTE(fusionxoxo @ Oct 27 2020, 09:44 AM) thanks for ur reply yeah my heart tell me to go for the new offer also, as current job sucking my 50% salary for another 2 more months and high risk of being layoff in future ..... I highly doubt the company would hire and lay you off within a year time. Hiring isn’t cheap and if they are in trouble I doubt they will hire at this period. Most company would have hold new employment until covid thing is over. Your concern would be more on the job itself. If you like the company or the boss