Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

3rdEdition
post Apr 1 2017, 02:37 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(K1d0 @ Mar 31 2017, 11:37 PM)
KilJim Bro thank you so much for introducing me the agent, finally secured a nice location at not bad price  rclxms.gif He is really a good and professional agent  smile.gif
pm me the agent. currently finding one too
3rdEdition
post May 3 2017, 04:19 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ May 3 2017, 02:23 PM)
lol...no lor...
like not happy at all,then say they start voice out d haha...
i say i cannot see singaporean also xD
soon in future there might be more singkie outside singapore than in singapore itself.
extinction is coming lel
3rdEdition
post May 12 2017, 04:23 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(vincentleong @ May 12 2017, 03:11 PM)
Um... Not really. I've been driving my Malaysian car into Singapore everyday. But then again, my colleagues said I should really get a car in Singapore instead. They claimed that even with COE thrown in, it's cheaper to get a car in Singapore than having to pay for the VEP and other costs on a daily basis over 10 years. I have not worked out the TCO to determine whether that is true. If any sifus here can advise that'd be great as well. notworthy.gif

Oh, to add context, I'm already working in Singapore. smile.gif
ur colleagues could be right.
it depends how long will u be commuting between MY SG. If commuting on every working day for more than 6 years, probably better to buy a SG car.
3rdEdition
post Jun 2 2017, 12:56 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(samtbt38 @ Jun 2 2017, 12:41 PM)
i dont drink & dont mind pasar food, but still i want single room bc i value my sleep time
thanks. how far ur place from office? why still got transportation cost?
he's refering to ezlink/nets flashpay for mrt/bus public transportation.
not to forget set aside expenses for phone and allowance for your parents.
IMO 1000 per month is doable but kinda tight and no life lol.
3rdEdition
post Jun 15 2017, 08:48 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(apathique @ Jun 14 2017, 07:40 PM)
Hi guys,

For those of you living/working/studying in Singapore, can I know what things would you have liked to know before going over?

For example, legal requirements on tax, employment law etc?

Basically, any knowledge (law related) that you couldn't source locally.

Thank you.
general faq on 1st page covers 90%
3rdEdition
post Jun 26 2017, 09:58 PM

213 posts

hi guys, anyone paid msia cc bills using sg bank? or any btr way?

This post has been edited by 3rdEdition: Jun 26 2017, 10:01 PM
3rdEdition
post Jun 26 2017, 10:02 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jun 26 2017, 10:00 PM)
Always

Ocbc bank to AMEX, POSB, m1 , SC

I remember ocbc account got addtional interest if u pay above certain no. Of bill
sry i meant msia cc bills. didnt write clearly.
3rdEdition
post Jun 27 2017, 05:31 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Jun 27 2017, 05:05 PM)
Anyone able to use Digi roaming in Singapore ? As in receiving SMS/call only

My Digi got no service at all whenever in SG even though I've already activate roaming.

Just wondering anyone facing the same problem ?
no issue, still roaming on starhub.
are u using 2G?
3rdEdition
post Jul 3 2017, 10:05 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(iamihaveto @ Jul 3 2017, 01:22 AM)
Hi guys, i am struggling between two options now.

I am drawing 8.5k MYR per month, work life balance, good boss, and friendly colleagues. (Got time to develop my apps and web-site, intent to start my own co. if there is a chance)

But recently, i got a SG job offering me 5.5k SGD, By the look of the director and the speed they process my job application. I think it will be a BIG NO work life balance + heavy workload.

I know the final decision is always lied on my hand but i would like to hear some opinions from the forumers here. Thank you.

*I am a IT programmer
see what u prioritise man. and ur age.
SG with big no work life balance will be depressing especially if no closed ones beside you. You'll miss home, family and friends but you'll get over it over time.
Taking the new challenge is one thing, but is it worth it, is another thing. smile.gif
3rdEdition
post Jul 3 2017, 05:03 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Riolis @ Jul 3 2017, 04:58 PM)
Anyway my EP just went through this morning, and now I need to start thinking about living there in SG.

I'm currently working in Japan, so I cant go check and find place to live in person, so rather rushing to SG one week before I start working and choosing a bad place to stay, I was thinking of staying at an AirBNB for a month and move to a proper place later.

Will that cause a problem, opening a bank account or getting mobile line and all that?
bank account should have some issue as they need you to prove your address using bills,etc unless u have special letter from your company.
mobile line can be opened as long u have the the physical EP card, not IPA.
3rdEdition
post Nov 20 2017, 11:27 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Nov 20 2017, 10:51 AM)
i can reach home in 35-50mins
how??? confirm not 9-6 job
3rdEdition
post Oct 15 2018, 11:02 AM

213 posts

if im 30 and have 10k salary, i rather be in msia together with my loved ones.
3rdEdition
post Apr 18 2020, 08:58 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(ComputerIdiot @ Apr 18 2020, 12:40 AM)
I just receive my 2019 IRAS tax, I have to pay tax for personal income tax 2019.

The picture is showing my total payable tax which is 400.20.

The total personal relief is 1000.

My question here is simple, I believe many of you got experience.

Do I have to pay 400.20 ? Or I do not need to pay anything because 400.20 is under 1000 ?

Is the 1000 relief need to apply first such as (delcaration, for medical, insurance etc kind of relief) with receipt as evidence ? If I do not have anything to claim for relief, I have to pay 400.20 ?

Anyone can advice me please? I am a newbie

[attachmentid=10470714]
IRAS very straighforward one. the tax payable is already self explanatory. thats the amount u need to pay, either one shot or via GIRO
3rdEdition
post Feb 28 2021, 10:30 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Feb 28 2021, 09:53 PM)
hi sifu

how to renew malaysia passport in singapore ?
Msia embassy....

0.2628sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:13 PM