Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

Fiona Chin
post Mar 22 2020, 09:11 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Mar 22 2020, 07:48 PM)
Not wrong. How about your friends and family in Malaysia?
Or maybe the places during your childhood 😂
They are those high achievers needed to convert to citizen for buying good class bungalow and promote to high ranking officers maybe minister in the future. Lower middle class like us convert or not also no difference.
Fiona Chin
post May 8 2020, 11:19 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(garlicpesto @ May 7 2020, 01:06 PM)
happy holidays everyone.. stuck in a dilemma about future of my job.. am in my mid 20's now and here are my options for the next Quarter:

a) SGD50,000 PA continue my job in Singapore and live alone with rent.
b) SGD42,000 PA but shift to KL office, rent free and spend in MYR.

Same job scope, same position. Im in the midst of applying PR as well if that helps.

Regards
Of coz b) if family around KL, if not still the same as SG. Tax you better pay to IRAS, if not your PR renewal they will ask you a lot of things, according to friend's friend's friend experience. No contribution to SG still keep the PR for what. My PR renewal ICA ask why always overseas, need submit IRAS, CPF and company letter why they post you overseas.
Fiona Chin
post May 13 2020, 11:19 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(ZachGL @ May 12 2020, 10:08 PM)
Hi Sifu, I am a now at a crossroad and need some opinions.  icon_question.gif

I have always wanted to work in Singapore, because power of x3 currency. I managed to get into NUS Computer Science this year but I come from an average family and can only afford part of the fees. The tuition fees, living costs and accommodation round up to roughly 100k sgd. While I am still trying for scholarships, I think that chances are slim and I'd like to assume I dont get the scholarship first. If I choose to pay for the fees myself, together with some financial aid and loans, I will be able to afford NUS but I will be 50k-60k sgd in debt with interest starting after uni. If I work part time in uni, I might be able to reduce the debt by 10k sgd.

The average pay of a computer science graduate from nus based on survey is roughly 4000 sgd (I dont know how real these numbers are but I will assume them to be accurate) so if I set aside about 1000 - 1300 sgd monthly, I will be able to pay off the loan within 5 years. Another advantage of studying in nus is that the environment is very competitive and I will be able to grow a lot in uni. But is this path worth all the pain and debt??? After all I am a simple man, I just want to save up money and retire early.

I also applied to UM but the result will be out this August, so if I am going to UM, I will have to reject NUS. Here, I'd really like to ask the sifu if it is hard to work in Singapore after graduating from local public u nowadays. I know last time a lot of ppl worked in SG after studying in M'sia but I heard recently they have tighten immigration laws and make it harder for non-Singaporeans to get job in SG. Especially now that covid-19 has hit both Singapore and Malaysia hard economically. I will be able to graduate debt free this way but it is unsure that I will be able to get a high pay job in SG or at least grow into someone that can get a high pay job in SG.

While I understand that which uni I go will not be relevant after several years of working experience, but I think that the first job that I get will have a major impact on my following jobs. In that way, NUS will give me lots of advantage to be more competitive and the more prestigious grad cert. The downside will be, of course the debt, stress and potentially not getting good enough a job to pay off the loan. UM however, looks like a more financially sound decision and will give me a leg up in saving money. Downside will be I might not get a good job or be good enough to get a good job since not competitive enough and also SG now preferring SC > SG uni grads > overseas uni grad.

Sorry abt the essay, but I will really appreciate your opinions, didnt post this in education essentials because my focus is more towards working in SG.
NUS still offer full tuition fee loan and living cost loan? Used to be a place where poor kids go. NUS very generous during my time, full scholarship and living cost per month drool.gif . Most of them took up the tuition fee loan if not offered scholarship and repay back. Being local graduates have higher chance of getting PR supposedly, and higher chance of getting job compare to oversea degree. Apart from the brand name, alumni matter and network also major comparison. UM still far behind from NUS in most employers' view I supposed.

Worth the debt or not depends on yourself though. Many uncertainties and outcome. Investment meh, spent 50k sgd in debt, next time guarantee get 4k sgd salary, 5 years debt clear, return x%, compared to UM debt free, return x%. Might as well take all the time and money required in uni, start and invest early, sure better of than those fresh graduates after 4 years. Let me try it on one of my toddler, start investing his playschool fee and keep him at home only, and the other one send to oversea uni, after 30 40 years will let you know the outcome see who doing better.

Personally I will choose NUS, not a bad school, but not the best. Still a lot of the more prestige uni will overpower NUS degree when come to employers' preference. But for your budget, those prestige school are out of range.
Fiona Chin
post May 21 2020, 04:46 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(daimon @ May 21 2020, 01:59 PM)
not sure about the loan and etc

but all i can say if u graduate from NUS and you are staying in Singapore, it is quite easy for you to get a job starting as an intern is much more easier i believe....

but malaysians who are staying in malaysia applying for a job in SG will be tougher

so dont worry about getting a job in Singapore
Used to be like that, 99% automatic PR after graduate. Now no more. Student pass expired, no job after graduation, on tourist visa, 3 months then balik rumah.

QUOTE(Darrendanson @ May 21 2020, 03:23 PM)
Really? Didn know MP can help to expedite. May I know how long u stayed in SG when applied?
Why sounds like Malaysia gahmen already, want run away from the tolong menolong system, come here same.
Fiona Chin
post Jun 1 2020, 01:19 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(xIncite @ May 30 2020, 04:09 PM)
SGD lo... RM1mil net worth maybe only can get average terrace house in KL
1 mil sgd, say start work 25 years old, retire 45, 20 years. 1 mil in 20 years every month u need approximately 4000 savings biggrin.gif . Easier by buying toto.
Fiona Chin
post Jun 2 2020, 11:28 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 2 2020, 03:37 PM)
Normal fluctuation la. End and early of month rate tends to be lower - movement of salary cross border
Think too much. Like scoping a pale of water from the sea, the sea level will drop noticeably laugh.gif . If SG gahmen will let SGD fluctuate due to that small amount of movement, the economy no hope liao.
Fiona Chin
post Jun 5 2020, 04:42 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(ComputerIdiot @ Jun 4 2020, 11:38 AM)
ok thank you. Another question to ask is about if I never work in Singapore for the latest 3 years already but 2 years I did work. So after 5 year will I be able to renew PR? Also if I able to renew another 5 years I don't work there no more tax for next 5 years....So next time I renew again chances they don't allow is low or high. In what situation they won't allow renew
Don't sell fish ok, many of your countryman on waiting list for the quota to be free up so they can reside happily ever after in SG. Hoarding a slot after leaving SG just for the sake of having some own convenience only make other people who really need it life more miserable.
Fiona Chin
post Jun 25 2020, 05:27 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(chaos32 @ Jun 25 2020, 01:43 PM)
My memory must be slipping then.
When the father was there, its always on weekend because work is more important.
Fiona Chin
post Jun 28 2020, 08:43 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(braveboy @ Jun 28 2020, 02:55 PM)
Had been in Singapore for slight more than a decades. Had acquired PRship & even bought a flat there. At the same time I also own a business & house in Malaysia. When I first went to Singapore I like there but over the years I beginning to hate the place & the people (Singaporean & Malaysian SG PR or ex-Malaysian but Singaporean now - act like Singaporkean). While not all are bad but majority of them are fake and ultimate asshole. Thank god I will be leaving that freaking island & go back to Malaysia to concentrate my own business. Best of all is I get to enjoy driving my A250 AMG in Malaysia & no need to take bloody bus or MRT in Singapork.
Wah boy, do business and drive Mercedes leh. I only can afford a Toyota brand car and stay home mum now in Malaysia. Sigh last time working in Singapore so much better. Why have to leave with sour emotion leh, good come good go more cool.
Fiona Chin
post Jun 29 2020, 04:05 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(braveboy @ Jun 28 2020, 08:50 PM)
So you had settle down in Malaysia? You can always return to Singapore to work if you find youself too good to work in Malaysia. Kids may let your parents or parents in law to take care.
No way leh can't afford to leave my kids until they are 99 years old. More lovely than money. Good luck in your future endeavor.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 6 2020, 12:03 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(garlicpesto @ Jul 5 2020, 02:15 PM)
hey guys.. in an unfavourable situation here..  after 1 year think im gonna get axed in the upcoming weeks.. any possible way to stay around SG lawfully?

if not.. whats the condition/best way forward to moving my things (3-5 luggage bags) back to Kuala Lumpur? I initially planned to get friends to drive in from JB and pickup my stuffs but unsure what the border situation is right now..

also, whats the best way to transfer $30k-$50k back to MY account? Have yet to check with banks but most remit sites (singx, transferwise, M1) albeit good rates have service fee north of $100++
worst case i go withdraw $1,000/$10,000 bank notes and wrap grasp it tightly throughout my trip back haha..

TIA...
There are very few 10k notes available openly in the market. MAS stop issuing the notes for its high value to counter money laundering. Banks are told to hold and return the 10k notes to MAS if people deposit it. At most you can get 1k notes which still a good way to transport your money. Entering Malaysia or most countries you need to declare it if over 10k usd, they always tell you on the flight right when descending. Just fill a form, no need worry if its legit. People moving a lot more money everyday, your case won't be a rare case that you need to explain anything. Be careful though carrying that amount of cash, imagine your whole working life in SG gone in few minutes.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 26 2020, 11:17 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 26 2020, 03:38 PM)
Any of you got experience with applying LTVP for Parents as SPR?

https://www.ica.gov.sg/pass/LTVP/pass_LTVP_apply_parent
The ICA website seems to imply that the parent must be in Singapore on 30-days white card then only can apply for LTVP. Wondering if we can apply for LTVP for them while they are still in Malaysia (to take advantage of upcoming RGR / PCA on 10 Aug.
Cannot la already stated leh, minta tolong like Malaisia meh. Unless you have strong reason then go appeal. Since covid is new thing maybe on case to case basis. Say if no people take care baby you on childcare leave your bank will lose how many millions per day. Officer you want SG go into more recession or not.
Fiona Chin
post Nov 10 2020, 05:01 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(cfc @ Nov 9 2020, 04:03 PM)
thanks for the quick reply
if i work and stay inside singapore, technically i am allowed to bring back 1 bottle of wine when i travel back to msia every few month right
jus worry there is special limitation for PR and owrk permit holder that i do not aware of
No special limitation for PR and work permit. Only the 72 hours restriction but custom don't usually check on that if you don't trigger them. Only by flight, and Changi duty free is not that cheap. Can bring duty free into Malaysia, but not into Singapore if departure is from Malaysia. Only those bottles that are hard to find in Malaysia are worth to get from Changi. My boss used to ask me to buy for him every week when I go home last time, no issue from custom both side.

This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Nov 10 2020, 05:02 PM
Fiona Chin
post Nov 18 2020, 02:26 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 17 2020, 02:12 PM)
his statement is completely misleading one la. listen to him 10% you can go holland.

I am a SG PR with SG driving license.

1. SPR are not allowed to drive foreign vehicle in Singapore doesn't matter you hold Msia license or SG license.
2. When you convert your license to SG license, By Malaysian law you cannot keep your Malaysian license. No issue driving in Malaysia as Malaysia recognize SG license.
3. I can even buy a car in Malaysia with my SG license.
4. I had an accident with my brother's car in KL and claim insurance. All matter to insurance company is you the insurance cover note have your name or not.
5. Whether you can drive your friend's car or not depends on the insurance cover note and not your license. If your name is covered for the car, back to point 2.
2. I still have my MY license together with SG license. Malaysia Boleh!
Fiona Chin
post Nov 20 2020, 04:46 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 18 2020, 06:02 PM)
Rakyat Malaysia pun boleh. The law clearly say must cancel my license if getting sg one. But don’t care, asal BOLEH.
My parents just pass me the thing and ask me go sit for exam, nobody say anything else, some 20 years ago, maybe pegawai see the driving license photo young and sweet he got stunned and forgot about canceling in the system wub.gif .
Fiona Chin
post Dec 15 2020, 11:19 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 15 2020, 10:15 PM)
I see, thanks for the info. 10 day quarantine for a short visit with full PPE attire doesn't sound that great
You ok if others go into SG for short urgent matter without quarantine and cause another spike and all go back to Phase 1 with shops close?
Fiona Chin
post Jan 26 2021, 02:31 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Jan 26 2021, 01:56 PM)
whoa sifu. how to pay 0 tax?

apply for citizenship liao.
By earning less than 20k per year, 0 tax. You are welcome.
Fiona Chin
post Jan 28 2021, 03:49 PM

1,172 posts

Better email to IRAS to ask about how they classify you given your circumstances. IRAS official reply is much better than quoting statements in forum when they audit you.

My boss's accountant say if he do all his work in Malaysia like signing docs and video conference stuff, he no need to pay Singapore tax, but to Malaysia. The country you should pay tax to is where you perform the work, not where the work come from. But he still report tax to IRAS to maintain the PR, while Malaysia income to LHDN.

The definition is not clear, say you have SG PR, MY citizen, some other country's PR, then report tax to who if all the 3 places area generating income. Report to 1 country and the other 2 as oversea income? Or report to all 3 countries for what you earn there?
Fiona Chin
post Jan 29 2021, 10:11 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(fusionxoxo @ Jan 28 2021, 07:54 PM)
my understanding is depends to where you perform your job

example a foreigner (no matter whats the nationality), is employed by a PRC company in china, but are performing the role in Malaysia, he surely will be subject to taxing in malaysia even thou the salary might be paid by a PRC back in china to a china account ? just like all malaysian working in SG now, no matter where or which company he being employed , but he is performing his role in SG and reside here, surely he is taxed by IRAS, no ?

same for malaysian, whether he is SG PR or not it doesnt matter, but he reside in malaysia and perform his role in malaysia, should be under malaysia taxing too ? no ?

just that i not sure how the malaysia taxing will be about to track this. Like someone mentioned, SG company pay direct to SG bank account. Not sure how malaysia government will be tracking ? as long as the guy dont declare , i cant find any reason LHDN will know his overseas earning .... maybe track by remittance from overseas ?

rclxub.gif
Its get complicated when the person is employee of few companies, directors of another few companies at different countries, shareholders again, with rental and stocks income, stay 2 months here, few months there, another few months just holiday at some weird place doing golden handshake for new deals rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif biggrin.gif

The last paragraph mean the undeclared money is considered as black money. Have to keep it under pillow. Like those people keeping cash in unit of kilograms like what you see in MACC news biggrin.gif .
Fiona Chin
post Mar 11 2021, 12:36 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(fusionxoxo @ Mar 11 2021, 12:11 AM)
Tax issue again

but this time in MY dealing with LHDN, experience from my friend

he travel daily from JB pre-covid era, so consider as "tax resident" back in MY

he got investment in some commercial properties back in JB, but due to covid, he had to stay long term in SG, and did not went back to MY last year

recently he just gotten news that LHDN charging him 2020 tax for his commercial properties income with "non-resident" rate , since he did not went back MY to be qualified as "residential"

he say the percentage is 30%+

i think MY government really very hungry recently, just careful if anyone got investment back in MY
Why not report as oversea income to IRAS then?

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.2936sec    1.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:22 AM