> PhD: UKM vs UM, Better? for Biological Science

SUSpixie1989
post Mar 1 2017, 10:59 AM, updated 9y ago

53 posts

I graduated from overseas university and I don't know which uni is better. I don't plan to go overseas for PhD because of scholarship problem. So I think just continue local. Let say I already found good supervisors to do PhD in both universities with research i am interested in. One uni requires me to write thesis in Malay which is a red flag but I love the potential supervisor. While UM is so extraordinaire but i heard lots of students take more than 5 years to complete their PhD. So k can give their opinions. Really appreciate

MY Area of Research: Biological Science/ Cell Biology

This post has been edited by pixie1989: Mar 1 2017, 11:10 AM
myasiahobby
post Mar 1 2017, 11:02 AM

693 posts

SUSruffaz
post Mar 1 2017, 11:03 AM

yes I am a noob
1,066 posts

uitm better. owai
gahpadu

1,438 posts

UM is bestest
SUSpixie1989

53 posts

QUOTE(ruffaz @ Mar 1 2017, 11:03 AM)
uitm better. owai
Already met some potential supervisors there but I wasn't interested with their research
rzam
post Mar 1 2017, 11:06 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(myasiahobby @ Mar 1 2017, 11:02 AM)
ahurgan

36 posts

UMS lor for biological sciences. State of the art equipment too.

Otherwise, UPM got some collab with UMS and Japan...
SUSempatTan

1,678 posts

Wats yr research area?
Blofeld
post Mar 1 2017, 11:07 AM

4,703 posts

UM now requires at least two ISI publications (especially in the science area) as an additional requirement for graduation. This is a setback for many although they have completed their thesis unless u're doing the PhD by publications.

UKM, i dont think they require any publications as a requirement yet.

But still UM is the better one.
nikita zuleica

410 posts

Nope ......Here it is......

Singapore industry much prefer graduate from UKM than UM
ate

629 posts

definitely UM, you doing thesis on what?

adamhzm90
post Mar 1 2017, 11:08 AM

1,389 posts

SUSpixie1989
post Mar 1 2017, 11:08 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Mar 1 2017, 11:07 AM)
UM now requires at least two ISI publications (especially in the science area) as an additional requirement for graduation. This is a setback for many although they have completed their thesis unless u're doing the PhD by publications.

UKM, i dont think they require any publications as a requirement yet.

But still UM is the better one.
Not true. UKM also requires 2 publications as discussed with my potential sv last week
SUSpixie1989
post Mar 1 2017, 11:09 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(empatTan @ Mar 1 2017, 11:06 AM)
Wats yr research area?
Biological science/ cell biology specifically
Blofeld
post Mar 1 2017, 11:10 AM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(pixie1989 @ Mar 1 2017, 11:08 AM)
Not true. UKM also requires 2 publications as discussed with my potential sv last week
Thanks for the heads up.

If that's the case, might as well go to UM biggrin.gif
SUSpixie1989
post Mar 1 2017, 11:10 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(nikita zuleica @ Mar 1 2017, 11:07 AM)
Nope ......Here it is......

Singapore industry much prefer graduate from UKM than UM
And why is that?
Rusty Nail
post Mar 1 2017, 11:12 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

Fzeo
post Mar 1 2017, 11:12 AM

455 posts

UM or UKM? rethink again pls.

mffa
post Mar 1 2017, 11:18 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(ruffaz @ Mar 1 2017, 11:03 AM)
uitm better. owai
uitm is not research university. better enroll in research university. owaiiiiiii. btw, if got good supervisor, ts can go ahead. good supervisor much much better than good university. if ur phd research is very good then it is > whatever university. ur research will be compare with the same field regardless university and very good phd research indeed will bring fame to institution. that is why majority university die2 will ikat candidate if they found the candidate is bright..

to ts..um vs ukm. my vote goes to Um. oldest and prestigious institution in malaysia. Ukm need to wrote in bm some more. Really headache. Not easy to write and explain in bahasa term. btw I believe both uni need to publish in high impact q1 journal.
Ivangile
post Mar 1 2017, 11:20 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(pixie1989 @ Mar 1 2017, 10:59 AM)
I graduated from overseas university and I don't know which uni is better. I don't plan to go overseas for PhD because of scholarship problem. So I think just continue local. Let say I already found good supervisors to do PhD in both universities with research i am interested in. One uni requires me to write thesis in Malay which is a red flag but I love the potential supervisor. While UM is so extraordinaire but i heard lots of students take more than 5 years to complete their PhD. So k can give their opinions. Really appreciate
I think for PhD in Biosciences and if you intended to stay in academy, only publication is important. So whichever lab that work on research that you are interested in and has good publication track record should be good to go (I am not saying just looking at publications, but that's how the academy field work right now). Besides, how's the funding of the potential lab? If the supervisor is not tenured, you might potentially be left hanging once the supervisor contract is not continued.

On a side note, as far as I know, most PhD programmes are funded either by fellowship or the grant from the PIs (at least in Biosciences). Assuming your undergraduate was done in a good standing oversea university (with good grade and lab experiences), I think it should not be a problem to get a PhD position oversea).

Regarding duration, most PhD programmes require ~5 years to be completed (and largely depend on how fast and how lucky you are. Yes, you will need a lot of luck, because even if you are hardworking, your project is shitty or turns out to be not as biological relevant as you hypothesised, there gone your time!). So far I only know Aus/UK/EU phd can be completed within 4 years (For EU, you will need a master for phd,ipso facto, it will be ~ 5 years too).

This post has been edited by Ivangile: Mar 1 2017, 11:24 AM

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0153sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:27 PM