114 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

chocobo7779
post Sep 13 2019, 07:57 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 13 2019, 03:53 PM)
1440p gaming at RM3k? NOT EVEN CLOSE!

AMD Ryzen 5 3600 - 859
MSI B450M PRO-VDH MAX - 279
Kingston 8GB DDR4-2666 X2 - 290
Galax GTX 1660 6GB - 899
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro 256GB - 209
WD Blue or Seagate 1TB - 169
Thermaltake Litepower 550W - 139
Tecware Nexus TG case - 185

RM3029 total (C-Zone prices)
Technically the GTX1660 does do 1440p, however you need to lower the settings considerably, and reduce the native resolution and applying sharpening filters icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Sep 15 2019, 11:03 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Sep 15 2019, 06:23 AM)
Ryzen 5, 2600
MSI b450m pro-m2
Corsair vengeance lpx, 8gb, ddr4 2666mhz
Wd green, 240gb m.2 ssd
WD caviar blue, 1 tb
Asus strix rx570 4gb
Corsair cx650m, 80+ bronze
Wrong SSD - it's a DRAMless unit, so avoid as a decent one is a decent DRAM equipped unit is just a slight premium icon_idea.gif

The Strix is overpriced and the cooler is not good (ASUS tends to reuse nVidia coolers on their AMD cards, often causing issues such as heatsinks not properly making contact with the GPU). Get an RX570 from a decent AIB such as PowerColor/Sapphire/XFX icon_idea.gif

The CX650M is way overkill and is not exactly a good unit either icon_idea.gif

TristanX may be able to refine the build a bit more icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Sep 15 2019, 01:03 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 15 2019, 11:23 AM)
Hmmmmmm

AMD Ryzen 5 2600 - 589
MSI B450M-VDH Max - 279 (Might be pricing error on C-Zone)
Kingston 8GB DDR4-2666 X1 - 145
Sapphire RX 580 4GB PULSE - 659 (from Viewnet)
Adata SX8200 Pro 512GB - 339
WD Blue or Seagate 1TB - 169
FSP Hexa+ 500W - 159 (from Viewnet)
Tecware Nexus TG case - 185

RM2524 total (Mostly C-Zone prices)
Might be better to squeeze a bit more for an EVGA B2 500W icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Sep 15 2019, 01:04 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 15 2019, 12:38 PM)
Motherboard has good VRM and more features. Can even overclock 3950X. Can go cheaper ones like Asus X750 TUF Plus or Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite if you dont need to upgrade CPU or overclock.

3700X does not have overheat issue. Performance? Laughs at i7-9700K.

https://www.techspot.com/review/1869-amd-ry...0x-ryzen-3700x/

Yes, you can go RTX 2080 for cheaper stuff.

AMD Ryzen 7 3700X - 1399
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI - 1079
G.Skill TridentZ Neo 16GB DDR4-3600 kit - 489
Zotac RTX 2080 Super 8GB DDR6 AMP! - 2379
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro 256GB - 219
Seagate 1TB - 169
Super Flower Leadex II Gold 750W - 499
Fractal Design Define R6 case - 589

RM7842 total (C-Zone prices)

Optional:
Noctua NH-U14S cooler - 359 (if you want cooler CPU)
Plus you can put a 3950X in the future and according to leaked benchmarks, the 3950X even can outperform Intel's HEDT 9980XE icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Sep 25 2019, 01:17 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(zodius @ Sep 25 2019, 09:56 AM)
Hi guys, I am thinking to replace my current "soon gonna spoilt"  U2311H monitor to 27inch monitor to enable 4k. Is my rig below still capable to handle 4k? Is there any part needed to be upgraded to have experience on 4k? My purpose mostly is watching movie, novel, comic reading plus some minor gaming.

CPU: i7-3770K
CPU Cooler: CM Hyper 212 Evo
Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
PSU: Seasonic G-550
GPU: LeadTex GTX670
RAM: Kingston hyper X fury 8gb DDR3 x2
Monitor: U2311H
Minor gaming at 4K? Unfortunately that's not going to work considering your GPU sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Oct 2 2019, 04:55 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(tien171 @ Oct 2 2019, 03:21 PM)
This new Ryzen  3000  seems have so many  compatibility issues . 

i am reading  more people  getting system freeze  due to compatibility issues between  cpu ,  ram , mother board and even  Win 10  and PSU  ! 
IS it worth the  stress and headaches.

you spend good money  and  face problems  like random system freeze.
I think  they will need  more time to  fix all this  issues as more complaints come up.
copy and paste from reddit .
Ryzen 3000 Launch Problem Compilation

All these reviewers have had smooth sailings on their CPUs and Motherboards with weird hickups here and there but it's been a mess for the average joe who can't afford or doesn't want to spend money on a "high-end" motherboard for what is supposed to be budget CPUs. (3600 etc.)

Unfortunately a lot of people who bought supposedly compatible B350, B450 or any updateable with BIOS have been having so many issues it's crazy, I was one of them and I managed to get it running eventually through a lot of headaches and a lot of cursing. People have had issues where their system doesn't post regularly but only sometimes, they had to find out weird ways of holding buttons down so their motherboard actually recognizes their CPU (I mean what the fuck!?), some had their PCs stop posting over night after they thought they fixed it, and just in general crashes and not even being able to update BIOS. I've seen dozens and dozens of posts saying they returned or refunded their motherboards and CPUs, or for some who are not so lucky that said they will wait out for a week or so to finally get a good bios update.
● WHEA Errors with both AMD and Nvidia cards, risking OS Corruption. Still hasn't been acknowledged by AMD. Update: AMD_Robert commented on it already

● NVME not working with earlier motherboards

● Advertised Boost Clocks not being reached

● CPUs not booting even on latest bios (e.g. MSI Tomahawk, MSI x570 Gaming Plus)

● Problems with games (e.g. Destiny 2 doesn't even launch)

● Linux distributions using recent systemd versions are affected by a Zen 2 RDRAND bug

● High voltage when idle (amd_robert already acknowledged it)

● RAM doesn't reach rated speeds

Lowering CPU voltage with an -0.1V offset

Manually setting CPU ratio

Disabling C state

Manually setting timings and speed for memory

system freeze 

Other things I can't remember but should fucking be set up automatically by the BIOS in working condition
Mine has been trouble free so far - my RAM is not even on my board's QVL and the RAM clocked to its advertised speeds just fine icon_idea.gif

All you really need to do is these things:

1. Keep the BIOS updated
2. Keep the chipset drivers updated (download them from AMD's site)
3. Keep Windows updated
chocobo7779
post Oct 2 2019, 04:57 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(treatotrick @ Oct 2 2019, 04:53 PM)
Budget is the main issue a? If i were to get a build 1st, and upgrade in next year like that?
Anything can cut down abit?

And...sifu, i heard market rumors, from a few friends, year end there will normally have a price drop on all the parts, is it true?
Would u recommend to buy now, or to wait till like, pre-CNY, to get a better deal in terms of price?
No, I highly doubt it unless the hardware manufacturer drops the retail pricing. It is sometimes worse to buy the parts at the future due to fluctuating currency icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Oct 2 2019, 04:57 PM
chocobo7779
post Oct 4 2019, 04:02 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Oct 4 2019, 11:44 AM)
Never a fans of ASRock mobo, don't see any reason recommending it after seeing the lame update and cost-cutting on the power delivery. icon_idea.gif

Historically, only MSI spent effort on the first gen Ryzen, the other manufacturers just simply not doing that.  puke.gif The MSI tester, toppc lin also show up actively to tell what they are working on and explain what is working, not working, and the reason behind.
I actually got the Steel Legend instead of the Mortar due to numerous issues supporting Ryzen 3000 CPUs sweat.gif

But so far mine has been working quite nicely so far biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Oct 4 2019, 04:14 PM
chocobo7779
post Oct 4 2019, 04:04 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(tien171 @ Oct 4 2019, 03:14 PM)
great info .
yes  i see your point about MSI  .
they come up with the MAX so fast
That's because the normal version has problems supporting Ryzen 3000 CPUs due to 16MB (128Mb) BIOS chip - IINM MSI even have to trim the BIOS quite significantly in order to fit inside the chip icon_idea.gif

They did manage to support Ryzen 3000 CPUs, but they have to remove (or trim down) some features sweat.gif

https://www.techpowerup.com/257201/bios-rom...ibility-promise

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Oct 4 2019, 04:13 PM
chocobo7779
post Oct 4 2019, 07:03 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Oct 4 2019, 06:45 PM)
Only the very fancy GUI got cut off (still with a basic GUI though), the rest remains.
Ah, that's good to hear biggrin.gif
chocobo7779
post Oct 7 2019, 11:54 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(kona|kona @ Oct 7 2019, 11:40 AM)
both also m.2 what...
M.2 is just only the form factor - electrically it can be either SATA or NVMe (which is based on PCI-e) icon_idea.gif

NVMe will perform several times faster than SATA icon_idea.gif

Also, can you wait for the Ryzen 3500 instead? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Oct 7 2019, 11:54 AM
chocobo7779
post Oct 7 2019, 02:31 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(kona|kona @ Oct 7 2019, 01:53 PM)
ohh TIL

have to do some googling now  blush.gif
Check the motherboard specs on what mode the M.2 slot is - it should either say SATA3 or NVME icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Oct 8 2019, 12:00 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Catnip @ Oct 7 2019, 11:10 PM)
Just curious.. Any reason for waiting Ryzen 5 3500? The i5-8500 (6 cores) processor is about the same (MYR 800+) price range as the Ryzen 5 3600 with (6 cores / 12 threads). Why not go with the same Processor / Motherboard combo in your sig?
Much cheaper pricing + the ability to upgrade further without a motherboard swap if needed icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Oct 8 2019, 12:00 AM
chocobo7779
post Oct 8 2019, 01:45 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(adamchen @ Oct 8 2019, 12:58 PM)
Budget 4000, no need monitor, need ssd, need rog motherboard, can recommend me?
Why do you need ROG board? Also usage? hmm.gif
chocobo7779
post Oct 8 2019, 03:54 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Oct 8 2019, 02:58 PM)
What about this:

CPU: AMD RYZEN 5 3600 RM853.00
MOBO: ASUS ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING RM509.00
RAM: T-FORCE DELTA RGB 16GB (2X8GB) DDR4 3200MHZ RM395.00
GPU: ZOTAC RTX 2060 AMP 6GB GDDR6 RM1,422.00
SSD: XPG 256GB SX8200 PRO NVME M.2 RM205.00
HDD: SEAGATE 3.5' BARRACUDA 1TB RM189.00
PSU: FSP 550W HYDRO GE 80+ GOLD FULL MODULAR RM322.00
CASE: TECWARE NEXUS EVO ARGB TG ATX CHASSIS RM185.00

Total: RM4,080 (E Tech PC prices)

Haggle with them for better price.
The B450-F VRMs are just not very good IMHO - swap it for a B450 Tomahawk MAX instead icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Oct 8 2019, 03:56 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Oct 8 2019, 03:24 PM)
What about these:

CPU: AMD RYZEN 5 3600 4.2GHZ RM853.00
MOBO: MSI B450 TOMAHAWK MAX RM509.00
RAM: T-FORCE DELTA RGB 16GB (2X8GB) DDR4 3200MHZ RM395.00
GPU: XFX RADEON RX 5700 XT THICC II 8GB GDDR6 RM1,995.00
SSD: GALAX 960GB GAMER L SERIES SSD RM388.00
PSU: FSP 650W HYDRO GE 80+ GOLD FULL MODULAR RM368.00

Total: RM4,508 (E Tech PC prices)

Galax Gamer L SSD is dramless which is not recommended.
The Thicc II is one of the worst 5700 XT FYI - you might want to get the Sapphire Pulse/PowerColor Red devil instead icon_idea.gif

chocobo7779
post Oct 8 2019, 04:24 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Oct 8 2019, 04:10 PM)
Those would be over his budget by RM200.
Then the Pulse - it's the same price as the XFX icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Oct 8 2019, 08:15 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Oct 8 2019, 07:28 PM)
Alternatively, can consider Gigabyte RX 5700 XT for the same price too @ RM1,950. See link below for review:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLHP_ubnjfQ&t=497s
The Gigabyte is actually a decent card, unlike the MSI (especially the Evoke OC) where they decided to cut cost by not putting proper thermal pads on the VRAM sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Oct 8 2019, 10:39 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Catnip @ Oct 8 2019, 09:24 PM)
Nvidia all the way....  Radeon RX 5700 XT vs GeForce RTX 2070 Super thumbup.gif

ZOTAC RTX 2070 SUPER AIR 8GB GDDR6 - ZT-T20710E-10M RM 2,049.00
No reviews on that one though sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Oct 12 2019, 01:20 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(nazanto @ Oct 12 2019, 10:49 AM)
Hi all. im interested in building a rig. would really appreciate if you can help me on suggestion as im not really good with technical stuffs.
Thanks!

[Budget] RM 3k max. Lower would be great!

[Purpose] Average gaming, browsing, media.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Monitor resolution] Please suggest me

[Games & softwares that use frequently] The Witcher 3 (this would be the most demanding spec game), Football Manager and some other low requirement games.

[Personal preferences]
If i can get 2 monitors with the budget it would be cool. but if 3k wont be enough thats fine.

[Location]
Penang
Witcher 3 at which settings? Note that Witcher 3 will still bring some much more capable machines to its knees even though it is a fairly old game sweat.gif

TristanX

114 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0429sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:38 PM