[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

boon213
post Jun 11 2017, 03:06 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 11 2017, 12:58 PM)
Get better power supply like Super Flower Leadex Gold or EVGA Supernova. Another option is Samsung 850 Evo 250GB. Casing also matters. Bigger casing tends to accumulate heat at lower rate.
I also think that a better psu and case would be the better option. Unfortunately the cheaper leadex gold is harder to find, so it has to be the G3. I have also considered the samsung evo, but realized that I already have a 1tb hdd and I definitely will buy a new ssd in the future, and for now I just need a good boot ssd to hold os and maybe some games. SSD is definitely upgradeable later on.

Can you give me more insight on how much performance will be impacted if I choose 8gb 2800mhz ram compared to 16gb 3200mhz ram? Not only is this less ram, but also slower (I can't seem to find 3200mhz 8gb ram kits), which impacts ryzen's performance.

How much frames will I be losing? Is the performance loss noticeable? Is it worth cutting to get a better case and psu?
boon213
post Jun 11 2017, 03:33 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 11 2017, 03:26 PM)
Just watch the price. If the added price for the RAM speed enables you to buy better CPU or GPU, ignore it. Better CPU or GPU still trumps higher RAM speed.
I'm already set on cpu and gpu; ryzen 5 1600 and rx 580 8gb I am sure will satisfy my needs. The only dilemma here is that the added price for ram speed enables me to buy a better case and psu. With that said, how much will the performance impact be if I keep the same cpu and gpu but lower the ram size and speed? Keeping in mind that lowering the ram size and speed won't get me a better cpu and gpu (but better case and psu)

EDIT: I think I understand what you mean by that now. You're talking about if the price itself is high enough to be able to upgrade the cpu/gpu; not whether if I am actually upgrading them. Sorry, my bad

EDIT 2: Right, so I've done the math and found that the price difference in jumping from 8gb 2800mhz to 16gb 3200mhz is 334. With 334 the most I can do is move from 1600 to 1600X; can't get into R7 range. (R5 1600 is 1039, R7 1700 is already 1599, RM560 difference). As for gpu, the cost of current gpu is 1439, add with 334 is 1773 which is still in the range of RX 580 and 1060 6gb; can't get into 1070. So I guess it is worth the upgrade, yes? Am I correct?

This post has been edited by boon213: Jun 11 2017, 03:39 PM
boon213
post Jun 11 2017, 05:31 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 11 2017, 03:54 PM)
Yes, you can find Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming at RM1799. Just look for it at Garage Sales.
You still havent answered my question about ram performance, difference between 8gb 2800mhz and 16gb 3200mhz
boon213
post Jun 11 2017, 07:17 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 11 2017, 06:07 PM)
Not much. 16GB RAM size is the future though.
Alright then, thanks for your help!
boon213
post Jun 17 2017, 02:19 PM

44 posts

Hello everyone, this time instead of asking for opinions of my own draft I would like to see what everyone else would come up with, especially the sifus.

First of all is the question of budget; How much do I actually need to spend on a brand new gaming pc (rig only without peripherals) in order to comfortably game at 1080p 60fps high settings for modern games? What is the "sweet spot" for the amount of money to spend on a new rig for just 1080p gaming without any streaming or editing?

[Budget]
Answer to the question above (budget includes rig only, no os or peripherals)

[Purpose]
1080p gaming only, 60fps at high settings, no streaming or editing, pure 1080p gaming machine

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Hitachi Travelstar 5K1000 1TB 2.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Modded Skyrim, GTA V, Witcher 3, Dragon Age Series, Mass Effect Series

[Location]
Selangor - KL

Thank you!

This post has been edited by boon213: Jun 17 2017, 03:32 PM
boon213
post Jun 18 2017, 12:46 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 17 2017, 09:13 PM)
For what we have today, I would go for these if I upgrade

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 - 1599
Asus Prime B350M-A - 445
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 - 260
Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming - 1799 (from Garage Sales)
WD Blue or Seagate 1TB - 210
Super Flower Leadex Silver 550W - 359
Corsair Spec case - 299

RM4971 total (C-Zone prices)

Somewhere in the future, I would add third party heatsink and overclock.

Thanks so much Tristan, you are as helpful as ever.

Would you consider R7 1700 + 1070 the sweetspot for 1080p? I would think that that set up is more ideal for 1440p or 1080p at higher framerates. What about R5 1600 + 1060/580? Not good price/performance ratio?

This post has been edited by boon213: Jun 18 2017, 12:46 AM
boon213
post Jun 18 2017, 05:40 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 18 2017, 01:31 AM)
Yes

I wouldn't want to go for less because of what I've experienced right now. I like to max out settings at 1080p. Even GTX 1070 drops to 30ish FPS on a few games.
Interesting opinion. I was starting to consider R5 1400 or Pentium G4560 and a 570 or 1060 3GB because I thought R5 1500 + 580 would be too much for my purpose (as I said I don't do any cpu/gpu intensive tasks other than gaming), but after what you said I guess the 1600 + 580/1060 6GB is a relatively safe, mid-range option. I feel much more comfortable making the purchase now (since you said even R7 1700 + 1070 isn't enough! I just want to make sure I'm not throwing money away and wasting it on hardware that's too powerful for my needs)

Thank you!

EDIT: Also do you have any recommendations for a good micro ATX case? Possibly in the range of the Corsair Spec cases or cheaper?

This post has been edited by boon213: Jun 18 2017, 05:48 AM
boon213
post Jun 18 2017, 05:21 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 18 2017, 11:33 AM)
You can try looking for Bitfenix Prodigy M. Should be around RM339. Don't know much about MATX case.
Thanks. Regarding PSU, Super Flower units are very hard to find. What do you think of Corsair TX series? TX550 in particular

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Jun 18 2017, 04:20 PM)
You can try check on Fractal Design Focus G Mini or Tecware Quad for that price range  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thank you, I've looked up, watched videos and just saw the quad at Low Yat. Quite interested, do you have any opinions on the quality/building experience?
boon213
post Jun 18 2017, 05:42 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 18 2017, 05:38 PM)
If it is 2017 version like this one.
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...=print&reid=520

Then it should be good.
Neat, thank you! Do you think it's worth coughing up extra cash for a fully modular unit (specifically an EVGA Supernova G3 550W) or will the semi modular TX do just fine? I'm having a dilemma as the EVGA unit costs RM80 more and can only be found online, while the TX is cheaper and can be bought along with the other components I want in one store. Should I spend slightly more money and go out of the way just to get the G3?
boon213
post Jun 18 2017, 06:50 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 18 2017, 06:28 PM)
That's up to you. Both are good brands.
Thanks tristan!
boon213
post Jun 19 2017, 12:26 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(clement7621 @ Jun 19 2017, 12:06 AM)
R5 1600+GTX 1060 or R5 1600+RX580 ? Since GTX 1060 is cheaper than rx580 , is it worth it for the value given the cheaper prices ?
When are you building? There are no 580s to be found at the moment. I would go for 580 for FreeSync, but unfortunately due to cryptomining if you're looking to build soon the 1060 is your only choice. The 1060 and 580 are very similar in terms of performance, trading blows with each other in many titles.
boon213
post Jun 21 2017, 03:20 PM

44 posts

Hi, this might not be the appropriate place to ask this but I'm hoping over here got more sambutan.

I'm choosing between these two monitors for my new 1080p60 build consisting of Ryzen 5 1600 + GTX 1060 6GB:

- Acer R221Q 21.5" IPS Monitor
https://www.lelong.com.my/acer-21-5-r221q-f...8-05-Sale-P.htm

- AOC I2280SWD 21.5" IPS Monitor
https://www.lelong.com.my/aoc-21-5-i2280swd...8-02-Sale-P.htm

Which one should I get??
boon213
post Jun 21 2017, 05:26 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 21 2017, 04:10 PM)
Best place to ask this question is monitor forums.

https://forum.lowyat.net/MonitorDiscussions
It's pretty dead sad.gif asked there 2 days ago still no response. I was hoping sini ada lagi banyak sambutan
boon213
post Jun 22 2017, 03:25 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(arffrhn @ Jun 21 2017, 05:46 PM)
Yes. It won't be affecting the gpu performance.
As both is about the same, I would go and check the color display personally if I were you. Anyways, the acer is a bit warm to my liking. Don't know about the aoc.
Thanks man, I actually found out the AOC has no HDMI, which is a deal breaker for me. Acer it is!
boon213
post Jun 29 2017, 06:47 PM

44 posts

Hi, sorry to bother the flow of this thread, but is any owner of Ryzen 7 1700 willing to part with their stock AMD Wraith Spire LED cooler? I really like the looks but of course cannot buy anywhere. I asked in Garage Sales already, wanna see if there's anyone interested in this thread. PM me ya smile.gif
boon213
post Jun 17 2022, 01:56 PM

44 posts

Hey guys,

Currently have a rig with a Ryzen 5 1600 and a GTX 1060, built in 2017.

Thinking of upgrading GPU to eventually play Starfield (maybe play around with Cyberpunk at highest settings possible), what's the best value I can get for around 5k?

Browsing on Shopee I can see GTX 3080 Ti is in the 4-5k range, RX 6800 XT got one for 3.5k, and RX 6900 XT seems to be in the 4-5k range as well.

Which would be the best value between the 3?

Thanks in advance!
boon213
post Jun 18 2022, 06:15 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 17 2022, 02:18 PM)
Do you have info on your motherboard brand and model? You might be able to save on this one.

Wait a bit longer on the graphic card. Price may drop some more due to crypto price crash.
I have a MSI B350M Mortar. Yeah I have been hearing about potential price drops and I'm keeping an eye out. In terms of price to performance, it seems like the 6900 XT beats the 3080 Ti in the same price range for now. Do you think the 3090/Ti will ever drop price to be worth buying?

0.0590sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:07 PM