[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

Ronin_Amin
post Sep 28 2022, 11:10 AM

490 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Sep 28 2022, 11:07 AM)
yeah undervolting, dont think it will cause any issue but it's not officially supported
I use my 5800x3d, Asus B550i with a Galahad 240 aio, ITX case (meshilicious), temp 35-80c (undervolt -30offset) or 45-90c (no undervolt), RTX3070
I also have the ori Fuma2 but obviously it didnt fit so I've never tried it, but I don't think it will be an issue.

I'm also coming from 3700x, games are just way more smooth now, for me its a worthy upgrade.
Thanks for your info. Yeah i got an opportunity since I rmaed the 3700x and will just have to top up for the 5800x3d. Hope my b450 mobo will be stable.
Ronin_Amin
post Nov 15 2022, 02:28 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(Chiggah @ Nov 14 2022, 11:26 AM)
Is now a decent time to upgrade ? Haven’t upgraded for 6 years.

Are the prices OK despite exchange rates ?
Actually having the same question. Thinking of upgrading gpu and monitor.

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Nov 14 2022, 03:41 PM)
price is not OK due to inflation and exchange rates. don't think it'll settle down until end of next year. also depends on your budget....if u have high enough budget anytime is a decent time to upgrade (except maybe during the crypto boom period last year)

unless you're looking to upgrade to previous gen CPUs and GPUs then the price could still be fine. prices are dropping at least for stuffs like AMD Zen 3 CPUs, Nvidia RTX 30 series etc.
Would the performance increase of next gen gpu justify the increase in price? Or will the price be too high?

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Nov 15 2022, 11:00 AM)
global problem for forex now.. but for ur its huge different de.. ur i7 tat time lose badly to an i3 now
Meaning exchange rate is so bad now?
Ronin_Amin
post Nov 15 2022, 07:33 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Nov 15 2022, 05:00 PM)
the current next gen gpu as of writing is the RTX 40 series, and the currently released next gen gpu, as of writing again, is 4090 which starts from ~RM8400 to >RM10k depending on the AIBs. it's very powerful with huge leap of perf increase so it'll depend on yourself whether if you are able to justify the price with what you're going to do with it. the next GPU for the 40 series lineup would be 4080 16GB, but it has a price tag of 1199USD, starting at RM6300 MSRP, releasing the next day(s) or so.

the AMD counterpart will be released next month, and it'll be cheaper as the top end RX7900 XTX starts at 999USD MSRP. as how local pricing goes, I'd say it starts at RM5k or so.

what is your current spec anyway?
I am probably aiming at something around 4070, 4060 and amd equivalent for an upgrade. Im just not sure whether the performance increase over 3080 ti (cheapest ones at below 4k is my budget) would justify it.

My thinking is that i should buy a monitor alongside the gpu as well (current monitor is spoiled)

5800x3d
1060 nvidia
Asus b450f
Seasonic 750 focus
Ronin_Amin
post Jan 8 2023, 11:07 AM

490 posts

Hi. What psu wattage do i need if i wanted to get a 4070 ti?

Other parts are:
5800x3d
16gb ram (maybe thinking to upgrade to 32)

Current psu is seasonic focus 750
Ronin_Amin
post Jan 8 2023, 12:44 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 8 2023, 11:42 AM)
This site has been around for a long time....

https://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/msi_g...o_review,6.html

4070 Ti is spoonfeeding Nvidia's greed.
Ah so my current psu should be enough.

Any other recommendations besides the 4070 ti then?
Im playing AAA games on 1440p 144hz monitor and would like to try ray tracing too (especially in cyberpunk).

With all the news in China, im scared we will get back to a 2021 situation again, otherwise i might just have waited until all new gen gpus come out
Ronin_Amin
post Jan 9 2023, 10:25 AM

490 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jan 8 2023, 06:01 PM)
if u worried then stick to full amd build lo.. ur 5800x 3D got boost features with the amd gpu oso.. + 5% performance
Do you mean the 7900 xt? Thats is even more expendive than 4070 ti

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 9 2023, 10:02 AM)
Yeah, no increase in price / performance. This generation of GPU shows the greed of manufacturers. Many buyers are blind.

We usually get better price / performance for next gen.
It sucks for people in my situation. Current gpu outdated, new gen gpu available but too expensive, last gen gpu available but of course slower and still no price drop even after 2 years.

For people shopping for gpu every 3-4 years, i guess we just have to wait.
Ronin_Amin
post Jan 14 2023, 01:45 PM

490 posts

Hi. Current ram is 16gb gskill trident z neo, 3600mhz c16. I am planning to upgrade to 32gb by adding to more sticks but haven't found the exact model as mine, is it ok to add c18 or lower speed ram sticks?
Ronin_Amin
post Sep 18 2024, 03:43 PM

490 posts

Noticing something weird with my pc, suapect its a dying drive. Any recommendations for a replacement m.2 ssd 2tb or 1tb. Use case is mostly gaming/media.
Ronin_Amin
post Sep 19 2024, 01:41 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Sep 19 2024, 09:44 AM)
kc3000

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Sep 19 2024, 10:26 AM)
If it is not system drive then you could go for cheapo drives like Kingston NV2 as the operations will be largely on read.  wink.gif Otherwise start with at least WD SN580.
Yeah already have another ssd for c drive. Thanks
Ronin_Amin
post May 3 2025, 10:15 PM

490 posts

Current SSD sometimes not being detected after sleep, I'm scared that its dying.

What are the recommended SSD nowadays? Mainly for gaming, looking for 2tb size. Can use both SATA and M.2.

Problematic current SSD is Transcend SSD 220S
Ronin_Amin
post May 3 2025, 10:42 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ May 3 2025, 10:32 PM)
Kingston KC3000 icon_idea.gif
Hint: use the SSD tier list - https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1B27...dit?gid=0#gid=0

0.0626sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:55 AM